Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honeymoon

• 14-02-2010 4:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭

Looing for recommendations for trip away, 10/14 nights for mid august timeframe, ideally would like all inclusive, any suggestions, maybe max budget(not including spending money) about 3-3.5kish? Looming for solid good weather also

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭aldeniro

Any ideas? Would also like if someone could recommend a decent travel agent also,someone who will not rip you off (too much:O)
    i got 2 quotes today for mauritius, one for nearly 6k, and another for basically same details for 4,200. Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

Are any of these any use OP?

http://www.clubtravel.ie/index.asp

http://www.ebookers.ie/

Also maybe if you post a list of countires you'd consider visiting, that way, you might get more help/suggestions?

Cheers for those. Destination wise either mauritius/madives type resorts, all inclusive. Alternatively, maybe the states as an option. FEw of the lads have said that mainland europe is very expensive, but prehaps the likes of cyprus/malta may be ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 JAKEYCAKEY

Myself and the gf went to Mauritius about 6 years ago and its absolutly fab , we flew to Paris then onto Mauritius and then on the way back staying in Paris for 3 nights. We went all inclusive and you are treated like a king.
    I would recomend Legends
    We are getting married next year and looking at Mauritius for our honeymoon but this time we will fly to Dubai and have a few days there

Hope you enjoy were ever you pick

JAKEYCAKEY wrote: »
    Myself and the gf went to Mauritius about 6 years ago and its absolutly fab , we flew to Paris then onto Mauritius and then on the way back staying in Paris for 3 nights. We went all inclusive and you are treated like a king.
    I would recomend Legends
    We are getting married next year and looking at Mauritius for our honeymoon but this time we will fly to Dubai and have a few days there

Hope you enjoy were ever you pick

When did ye go to mauritius last time. We were just concerned about the weather mid aug. SAme goes, we are also looking at barbados with 4 nights in NY on wa home also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 JAKEYCAKEY

The start of their summer is 15 September so you would really be looking at around that time . We went the week from 07/09 and the weather was excellent but I have to say it was hotter in Paris .

The weather is bareable in Mauritus at that time though around 30 -32

But the humidity seems to be low which is great and the sea breeze is lovley.
    You can get hotter but you wont get what you get in there as it is stunning and the people are very friendly . The there is actually a Guniness factory in the Grande Baie and a ralf lauren fadctory which you can go into.If herself like desinger handbags she will be in heavens heaven
    food is nice also french / indian / creole.
    The majority of the population is of Idian decent .
    But to answer you question in mid august you may run the risk of the odd shower but it will still be hot . And to be honest sunbathing in nice weather with a quick shower is actually quite nice and it gives the 2 of you to go back to your room mid day to get "dryed off" lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

i don't know if it is what you are looking for but a friend of mine got married in the summer in austria last year, honeymoon was there too, it was fantastic because one day you could go skiing down the mountains the next you could sunbathe by the pool, best of winter and sun holiday! along with austria's amazing food and sights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 whittey

Did a couple of weeks hols in Croatia last July, absolutely fantastic.
    A few nights just outside Dubrovnik, then a few days on Hvar, on to Brac & back to Dubrovnik before we came home.
    Gorgeous weather, lovely hotels, fantastic swimming/snorkeling.

We organised everything ourselves, as we do for all our hols, so flights, accommodation, car hire etc was all seperate. Can't remember the overall total, but think it would come in under your budget.

Looking to do something in Europe again this July for our own honeymoon - just a pity we did Croatia last year as it would have been ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bigbadcon

Were going to Cancun for 1 week all inclusive in the dreams resort.

Then Vegas for 4 days and then New York for 3 days.

Worked out at €4807 in total..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭billybunty

Hi there - Would you consider Canada? Were getting married in Sept and looking at all posibilities at themoment, were ruling out anywhere both of us have been to and I've travelled a bit so were a little bit restricted with all the usual spots! Am looking at Vancouver/Whistler/ Rockies, something like that and also you can do an alaskan cruise from there also - that may be an option for the OP, unless of course you just want to do the beach / sun honeymoon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bigbadcon

I was also looking at an alaskan cruise but the other half loves the sun :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭BC

whittey wrote: »
    Did a couple of weeks hols in Croatia last July, absolutely fantastic.
    A few nights just outside Dubrovnik, then a few days on Hvar, on to Brac & back to Dubrovnik before we came home.
    Gorgeous weather, lovely hotels, fantastic swimming/snorkeling.

We organised everything ourselves, as we do for all our hols, so flights, accommodation, car hire etc was all seperate. Can't remember the overall total, but think it would come in under your budget.

Looking to do something in Europe again this July for our own honeymoon - just a pity we did Croatia last year as it would have been ideal.

I was also in Croatia in July. Havar is fantastac, was also up at Zadar & Split which were lovely too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 angelfocus20

Hi everyone, my fiance and I are gettin married in Lanzarote in April 2011. We were all set to jet off sumwhere else for honeymoon but it may be the case that his job isn't too secure so to cut costs I suggested maybe staying in Lanzarote for an extra week but it a different resort, sumwhere romantic, and quiet (having spent the week of the wedding with tons of family and friends) has anyone any suggestions on resorts and hotels/villas?