Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fired

• 13-02-2010 1:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭

So today i got fired for being twisted after doing promo work for the club i used to work in... (not the full story)

But i got promoted to bar staff in my weekend job.

Feel a bit odd about all this happening... still the email was hilarious.

Any good stories about being made unemployed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

So today i got fired for being twisted after doing promo work for the club i used to work in... (not the full story)

Fired by e-mail?

Classy.

All my fired stories involve me begging, and crying ''won't somebody please think of the children!?!''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

What does "fired" mean? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Two Jobs, thats gods way of telling you not to be greedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

"Twisted after doing promo work in a club"--Legend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

1) We need the full story.
    2) We need to see the email that was sent to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Unless you cut and paste the email into this thread I am calling shenanigans on it being in anyway hilarious.

Jinks no come backs!

cool story bro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

Not yet, the suspense is still killing us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

If you're thinking you can hold out on us, I'm going to ba...

Actually wait, I can't do that.
    Still, Post it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Its always a pleasure when your boss has to physically wake you up to fire you. Thats happened to me twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭BarryDoodles

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Unless you cut and paste the email into this thread I am calling shenanigans on it being in anyway hilarious.

Jinks no come backs!

From:offline16.pngL...... [/EMAIL]) Sent:12 February 2010 13:20:25To:
    .ExternalClass DIV{;}hey whats the story , i can sort out you money for you next week but im im sure you know i had to let you go after what happened on sunday
    sorry barry

And of course from FB

RemoveBarry According to my (ex) boss in mantra, she had to let me go after what happened last sunday... now i was drinking monday till friday pretty heavily but i was definately at home saturday and sunday... i really wanna find out what i ''did'' but **** it just pay meabout an hour ago Friends of Friends · Comment ·LikeUnlike · View Feedback (3)Hide Feedback (3)Robert likes this.
    Barry Dooley Saving that e-mail though..
    about an hour ago · Barry On the up side, my manager in Dags Wells bar&restaurant is teaching me how to pull pints on sunday **shakes fist** take that mantra i've still got a job... **cries in a corner** what did i do?
    about an hour ago · Barry O.k so my job description in Mantra was to cause mayhem and be obnoxious... part of this involved pink hair and screaming on the street.. however i see my failing; obnoxiousness did not extend to owners and pulling a pete doherty, sparking up in the club was a tad bit reckless... all i got for working there was a hangover, a pay cheque and an ironic smile... Thoughts? oh and of course i still have a weekend job :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Hahahaha, I laughed out loud.

It's the new Feeky McGee!

Tell us more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

It was hard enough to get the bloody job with the manager being a model... jaw had to be picked up of the ground and all...

EDIT: Can hear people trying to figure out where and what the club is

I assumed Mantra in Maynooth

Then you'd be slightly correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

From:offline16.pngL<snip>...... [/EMAIL]) Sent:12 February 2010 13:20:25To:
    .ExternalClass DIV{;}hey whats the story , i can sort out you money for you next week but im im sure you know i had to let you go after what happened on sunday
    sorry barry

And of course from FB

RemoveBarry According to louise my (ex) boss in mantra, she had to let me go after what happened last sunday... now i was drinking monday till friday pretty heavily but i was definately at home saturday and sunday... i really wanna find out what i ''did'' but **** it just pay meabout an hour ago Friends of Friends · Comment ·LikeUnlike · View Feedback (3)Hide Feedback (3)Robert likes this.
    <snip> Saving that e-mail though..
    about an hour ago · Barry On the up side, my manager in Dags Wells bar&restaurant is teaching me how to pull pints on sunday **shakes fist** take that mantra i've still got a job... **cries in a corner** what did i do?
    about an hour ago · Barry O.k so my job description in Mantra was to cause mayhem and be obnoxious... part of this involved pink hair and screaming on the street.. however i see my failing; obnoxiousness did not extend to owners and pulling a pete doherty, sparking up in the club was a tad bit reckless... all i got for working there was a hangover, a pay cheque and an ironic smile... Thoughts? oh and of course i still have a weekend job :p

Did that make sense to anyone else:confused:

Copy and paste.. sowie but you wanted proof.

Anyway I didn't want to talk about me. Anyone got any interesting ''you're fired stories''?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Copy and paste.. sowie but you wanted proof.

Anyway I didn't want to talk about me. Anyone got any interesting ''you're fired stories''?

i got fired once for being 10 minutes early...

Bitch AKA boss" your 15 minutes late... "

me: " no, my two phones, ipod, the radio and your watch say its bang on 12... Not 12:05, not 12:10... "

Bitch aka Boss " You know where the door is "

me " yeah close your legs... "

bitch aka boss " Gtfo "

me " LAST!1!!!1!!! "

haha i won, not only the convo, but got a whole weeks wage for an hours work.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

fell asleep in a freezer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I went into the boss wedneday, said im leaving to go to australia (gave 1 month notice). they said fine but i'd have to give it to them in writing.
    Thursday i give it to them in writing that im leaving.
    friday, get called into the office and got sacked coz they were trying to cut money in every department. whats the point in paying me for the next month when im leaving anyway. backstards! was relying on that cash for Oz, so had to take out a loan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

What happened in Mantra on Sunday night???

I need to quit my part-time job in a few weeks time (I have a new one). Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭NoDice

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    What happened in Mantra on Sunday night???

I need to quit my part-time job in a few weeks time (I have a new one). Any suggestions?

Em.... Just quit like you said you needed to.....?? ......and.... work in the new job.........????????

I was fired for wearing converse with the slutty uniform I was made wear in a shop years back. Hated the uniform so wore tights with the skirt, converse and wore a shirt over the top. Was called into the office, made stand whilst the boss sat down and told to leave the shop for not listening and to hand the uniform back in. :(

No I did not work in a porn shop. :rolleyes:

Nothing but thursady night and friday morning sre a bit fuzzy.. i'm sure she just mixed up the days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

fell asleep in a freezer

Freezer Geezer! :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Jev/N wrote: »
    Freezer Geezer! :D

The legend has spread :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭dcmu

The_B_Man wrote: »
    I went into the boss wedneday, said im leaving to go to australia (gave 1 month notice). they said fine but i'd have to give it to them in writing.
    friday, get called into the office and got sacked coz they were trying to cut money in every department. whats the point in paying me for the next month when im leaving anyway. backstards! was relying on that cash for Oz, so had to take out a loan!
    They have to give you notice as well. I'd get myself on the blower to HR pronto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

The_B_Man wrote: »
    You can't be fired without just cause, and a paper trail of warning about previous behaviour to back it up.
    You can be made redundant/let go, however if that's the case they're required to give you notice, and in some cases you'll get compensation.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/employment/unemployment-and-redundancy/losing-your-job/losing_job_entitlements
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/employment/unemployment-and-redundancy/redundancy/redundancy
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/employment/unemployment-and-redundancy/dismissal/fair-grounds-for-dismissal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

yeah, they cant fire someone who has quit. you have to get a month's notice on redundancy - which is moot because you gave them a month - or pay in lieu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I've never been fired

Put that in your pipe and shove it up your bum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

i quit when i got poo on my hand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I got fired twice in my life. I was a teen on both occasions.
    Once for giving away free, a box of matches. HONEST.
    The other I perhaps deserved. Someone was trying to steal from a shop I was working in by stretching across a glass counter and tried to grab items and cash.
    I was at the other end of the shop cutting an old style block of ice-cream for another customer.
    I saw the thief trying it on and quickly got the large ice cream knife and chucked it at his head.
    Yes - completely stupid. Thankfully I missed. It was enough to scare him and he ran.
    I still got fired for it anyway. O' well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Biggins wrote: »
    The other I perhaps deserved. Someone was trying to steal from a shop I was working in by stretching across a glass counter and tried to grab items and cash.
    I was at the other end of the shop cutting an old style block of ice-cream for another customer.
    I saw the thief trying it on and quickly got the large ice cream knife and chucked it at his head.

Yes - completely stupid. Thankfully I missed. It was enough to scare him and he ran.
    That's awesome :pac:
    I want a ice cream sandwich now. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I imagined you throwing it, but you, as it were, were a computer as I dont know you physically!

Still fucking awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭5Aces

Thought id look in and see what your at. Good timing. Heard the latest scandal about your argument with the wall ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

They fired you for that, why?

I'd have given you a raise, once you cleaned up the blood.

http://stardustalphaomega.files.wordpress.com/2009/09/pulp-shotgun1.jpg

Should have thrown the ice cream. not the knife. SPLAT! Take that criminals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

>>Yes - completely stupid. Thankfully I missed. It was enough to scare him and he ran

To pick up the knife. Now your'e in trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I got fired from a fast-food place when I was teenager for calling the manager a stringy-looking cunt. He was shouting at me because I burned a load of burger buns while chatting about something with another employee. Possibly the World Cup IIRC.

In my defence, he was extremely stringy-looking.

I imagined you throwing it, but you, as it were, were a computer as I dont know you physically!

Still fucking awesome!

I think this is my post of the day.. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

i got fired for my manager calling me a "****1ng little w8nker"

(we're letting you go because you got your manager so irate that he couldn't control himself mentally around you. We believe that your physical safety is our main concern while around him so in this matter we're letting you go")

I wish i was a teenager again

beat that!!!

God loves spar managers!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If only you were Trent, He would of finished the scumbag off... and the customer...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If only you were Trent, He would of finished the scumbag off... and the customer...

LOL :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I got fired from my first ever job, working Saturdays in a cafe.

I was only 16 and the boss was a bully, constantly belittling me just because I was the youngest person working there. I fcuking hated her, and just snapped one day and threw a tray of 50 freshly-buttered scones straight at the bitch's head!!!

Needless to say, I got sacked on the spot :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

never been fired cos i've never had a job :mad: i'm only a teenager, but it is physically impossible to get a job these days. . . .:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

got fired from the garage forecourt i worked in for dancing.

used to work the evening shift from 5:30-10:30.

one lad and one girl. the girl was supposed to close up the deli and mop behind the deli. the lad was supposed to close up the car washes and shut down the machines and put away hoses brushes etc. lads were not allowed behind the deli whatsoever.

so naturally, i used to make myself a sandwich around 8:30 before tackling the car washes. the girl would keep a lookout on the cameras, and wed swap around when i was finished. got called into the office then one day, and the manager stood there, showing me footage of me, behind the deli, making a sandwich for free (also forbidden), while dancing, with two knives both laden down with butter shaking from side to side.

i got caught because some eejit of a customer reported me for dancing.

oh well...i had been about to leave anyway.