Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The guards are absolute f**kin....Gents

• 13-02-2010 12:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭

Came up to a checkpoint. No tax displayed on the car as I've only bought it, asked me to pull in. No problem guard. Do ya mind if I sit in out of the cold. Not at all guard hop in. Had a lovely chat in my nice cozy car. Showed my license and the photocopy of the cars log book to show it'd been changed to my name and been sent off so just waiting to receive it from Shannon.

Complemented my car and said I was a gent and asked did I happen to have my insurance cert, which I didn't but had the disc. He ran the reg etc and he said he was happy enough. I asked did would he like me to pop into the station durin' the week with my cert and he said not at all I'm happy enough with ya and everything checks out. Safe drive home now and be good.

Thanks very much guard have a nice evenin'.

The guards are lovely people :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Well it seems like standard procedure to me. Any guard that would make a big song and dance about it is just being a cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

You sound pissed. In which case they're even sounder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Agricola wrote: »
    Well it seems like standard procedure to me. Any guard that would make a big song and dance about it is just being a cnut.
    Yeh but it's nice when they're not contrary aul monotonous feckers at the same time :pac:

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Shhhhhhh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

And in six months the summons arrives for not displaying your tax and insurance at your local Garda station :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

We need more guards like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

Bonito wrote: »
    Came up to a checkpoint. No tax displayed on the car as I've only bought it, asked me to pull in. No problem guard. Do ya mind if I sit in out of the cold. Not at all guard hop in. Had a lovely chat in my nice cozy car. Showed my license and the photocopy of the cars log book to show it'd been changed to my name and been sent off so just waiting to receive it from Shannon.

Complemented my car and said I was a gent and asked did I happen to have my insurance cert, which I didn't but had the disc. He ran the reg etc and he said he was happy enough. I asked did would he like me to pop into the station durin' the week with my cert and he said not at all I'm happy enough with ya and everything checks out. Safe drive home now and be good.

What did you expect? a flogging? Normal Joe doing nothing wrong so no problem!!. Are you paranoid about something you have done in the past ? and afraid they may catch you out?

My car wouldn't exactly be quiet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

My car wouldn't exactly be quiet :D

See!!! you never mentined your back seat before. Enought said. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Wow, a guard did exactly what he was supposed to do :eek:

You should've sped off with him in the car, see how much of a gent he would've been then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I told ya they never check the boot for bodies. And you were soo worried!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Wow, a guard did exactly what he was supposed to do :eek:

You should've sped off with him in the car, see how much of a gent he would've been then

Well if he was following procedure he shouldn't have done that. But still, it is fair to say that if didnt he would have been a bit of a dick

Look at it from their point of view aswell though, he lets you off and god forbid there's an accident, said cop is screwed, fired and whole force in disrepute

Same reason why they put people in the cells for drunk and disorderly, they have a duty of care.
    Blame tabloid Ireland

Anyway I'm rambling, cops are great, if you're friendly enough you can get seized lush :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Typical sneaky behaviour from a guard.

He was trying to get a better smell off you, because he thought you were drinking. And instead of telling you to do a breathaliser, which would have been fine if he was given permission from higher ups, he probably wasn't following the rules and was looking for a reason to investigate further. Because you looked dodgy, or you looked like someone who kicked his dog once, or because you just happened to have a type of car that really pisses him off.

Guards are the most untrustworthy of sorts. And while I fully admit a few of them are perfectly nice people, others will lie and deceive to get their own way.

Buceph wrote: »

He was trying to get a better smell off you, because he thought you were drinking. And instead of telling you to do a breathaliser, which would have been fine if he was given permission from higher ups, he probably wasn't following the rules and was looking for a reason to investigate further. Because you looked dodgy, or you looked like someone who kicked his dog once, or because you just happened to have a type of car that really pisses him off.

Guards are the most untrustworthy of sorts. And while I fully admit a few of them are perfectly nice people, others will lie and deceive to get their own way.

are you for real?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I hope he didn't put his nice 'friendly' hand on your lap?;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

are you for real?

You really think he wanted to sit into the car for a chat and to warm his toes?

Grow up.

Grow up.

Some people are just kinda sound and go through life thinking it's easier to be nice to people than not.

Perhaps you aren't one of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Good robust sample of 1 there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 jared86

El Weirdo wrote: »

lol! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

i dont mind gardai....there is just 1 in my area who is a total prick and would do you on anything....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Mousey- wrote: »
    i dont mind gardai....there is just 1 in my area who is a total prick and would do you on anything....

You mean like the kitchen table or the washing machine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Mousey- wrote: »

Even a cactus??:eek:

/gets coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

No, just that he wasn't up to the stuff you paranoidly described?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Give me a lift home one night, couldn't find a taxi anywhere. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Buceph wrote:

Just substitute Guards for AH posters and you are spot on.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Give me a lift home one night, couldn't find a taxi anywhere. Fair play.

I'm sure I read somewhere that if you cannot get home then they are legally obliged to give you a lift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭Pittens

Are you paranoid about something you have done in the past ? and afraid they may catch you out?

He is happy to live in a country where the polis leave people off where they dont have to. In this situation he would be facing a "fine" ( read bribe) in many countries of the world - and int he Worlds Freest Democracy an Angry Cop asking him to Get Out Of The Car Sir with a gun to his head.

aaronh007 wrote: »
    I'm sure I read somewhere that if you cannot get home then they are legally obliged to give you a lift.

It's a myth, up there with they can't arrest you if they haven't their hat on

Maybe they just give you a lift to the station?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I was walking up and down the seafront at the end of the Kilbarrack Road at 4 in the morning. They drove by three times before pulling over to see what I was up to. Once they sussed I was: a.sober and b.sound, they asked did I want a lift.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭heviballs

yeah you're right,they're sooo sound that one of them who used to live with my bro would regularly call in with his partner(also a guard)to their apartment,whilst on duty with cans of beer in tow,stay there untill about 4 or so,do their rounds(Dun Laoighaire area),get the chewing gum into them before clocking off
    on the other hand i have a friend who is a guard and he is str8 down the middle,a very good guard indeed
    on the whole i find them to be arrogant,on edge and difficult to deal with,

not to mention corrupt,check out their stash of cans at Christmas time in our local station from the Junior/Leaving cert confiscations,it's a form of robbery imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

You're going to get good and bad guards just like you get good and bad Irish,black,gay and Protestant people. No point generalising one way or the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

One in a million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

There's something very reassuring about pleasant gardaí. I started a thread recently about my experience with them... I think we appreciate them more than we appreciate nice waiters or nice shopkeepers.

The thing about Gardai is that they aren't trying to sell you anything. And just like ambulance men, or nurses, who don't have anything to gain from being extra helpful or being particularly engaging, that gesture is especially appreciated.

I think a lot of it is also down to relief that you aren't in trouble. When my house was broken into and the Guards came to the door to check up on things, I felt like I'd done something wrong.

I've never committed a crime as far as I am aware, but every time I get pulled over by the Guards, or a Guard approaches me, I always have that doomed feeling, and have to start recollecting any possible legal indiscretions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Grow up.

I love people like you who just have to believe there's a conspiracy or ulterior motive behind everything, no matter how innocent. Gardaí are humans too, you know.

I go into my job most days (bar maybe when I've been out before :P ) and do my best cos' if it's worth doing it's worth doing right. No reason a Guard shouldn't and wouldn't do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

nice change from the usual sorta Garda threads.

Conspiracy Theories >>>

Personal Issues >>>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭heviballs

Xluna wrote: »
    You're going to get good and bad guards just like you get good and bad Irish,black,gay and Protestant people. No point generalising one way or the other.

well in that case is there any point of this thread,surely this forum would be dead if we applied the above to all topics

heviballs wrote: »
    well in that case is there any point of this thread,surely this forum would be dead if we applied the above to all topics

He makes a better argument than you. he's perfectly right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

What!??!...and all this time ive been getting taxis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭xw2lj9uspm1eyh

It all depends on who you meet OP.I was in a car with a guy who got done for 2 points for having no tax one night fair enough.But he needed the car for college so he was coming back in from college and got pulled.He explained to the guard what happened and she said if your story is true I wont give you any points.Following week he gets a letter out 2 extra points for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Most are great :) No problems with them.

I only ever came across one **** and he turned out to be on the take.So no surprise he was scum:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,405 ✭✭✭Dartz

I said hello to a Gard once.

He said hello back.

I hadn't even realised he was a Gard until afterwards, I mistook him for a colleague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

id say he'd probably heard about the toothpick.

mendusa wrote: »
    It all depends on who you meet OP.I was in a car with a guy who got done for 2 points for having no tax one night fair enough.But he needed the car for college so he was coming back in from college and got pulled.He explained to the guard what happened and she said if your story is true I wont give you any points.Following week he gets a letter out 2 extra points for him.

Thats typical beurocracy overlaps, can happen anywhere. You can appeal that and win without a shadow of a doubt

Still a pain in the arse though...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Its great to have courteous, friendly guards when they are undertaking routine checks such as tax and insurance on law-abiding citizens

But it should be recognised that more robust Jack Bauer type guards are needed also to deal with hardened thugs, or if gangland criminals came into possession of depleted uranium. Don't be offended if they dont compliment you on being a gent - they've probably had a long day.

sesna wrote: »
    Its great to have courteous, friendly guards when they are undertaking routine checks such as tax and insurance on law-abiding citizens

But it should be recognised that more robust Jack Bauer type guards are needed also to deal with hardened thugs, or if gangland criminals came into possession of depleted uranium. Don't be offended if they dont compliment you on being a gent - they've probably had a long day.

Very true, everyone can have a crap day at work and be a bit ratty

I have a mate who is a garda and said one of the best days he had at work was going to a nice area and setting up a random breath/tax and insurance check.
    Every car that went through complimented on how great it is to see you out, its a shame you haven't more numbers, enjoy the rest of your day etc etc

It made his week and he was a pleasure to be around that week

Contrast that to when he may arrest someone outside Abra for fighting, egts spit in his face and gets told the whole way home about what a cnut his sister/mother is.

You deal with scum every day and its very easy to have a jaded view of people. Says a lot for the lads who can rise above it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

near enough the same thing happened to me as i dont have any discs in the window, Their dent enough, the only bad guards ive met are few and far between tbvh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

The vast majority of Guards I've talked to were sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yep, any dealings I've ever had with unpleasant gardai are far outweighed by those with very nice ones.