Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Cup 2011

• 12-02-2010 9:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

Anyone planning on heading to the World Cup in 2011. Any advice on the best place to get package deals or is it better to sort it out yourself and book everything individually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

From being there for the 05 Lions tour I'd recommend booking everything yourself, especially if you're going in a group. Its fairly easy to get around NZ by road the only thing you need to worry about is ferry's to and from the north/south island.

I'd get on with ASAP though as there isn't exactly an over supply of hotels in Kiwiland. We did it all in a camper van which was blinding craic.Wouldn't recommend it if you're averse to the smell of dirty socks and ire.

Have fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭nin2010

Thanks for the info, how much did it cost you for the lions tour? We were thinking of booking a camper van aswell since we can just drive around to the different venues rather than messing around trying to get hotels in different cities and not knowing where ireland will be playing etc.

Cant remember the exact breakdown of it but I had a budget of €5,000 for the whole thing including flights and van hire for the 3 weeks. Dont think I went too much over. The four day binge on the weekend of the last test finishing up in the high roller suite in Star City casino didn't help.

Again I cant stress enough to get booking now. Flights are the obvious but van hire and ferry connections are a must. We had the whole thing booked and paid for in May 04 and we pretty much got the last two campervans in the south island(I had to offer to pay in full to secure the second van).

I'll have a look at Irelands itinerary and post some recommendations if you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭powerfade

go onto the RWC11 website and get registered for tickets. They will then alert you when they are going on sale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

nah too far away

We are going to go for three weeks and €5000 is well manageable by that date but booking and paying for everything in the next month or two might be a problem as people need some time to get the cash together.

We could put some deposits on campervans and ferrys alright though. Do you have to book a campervan for the north island and one for the south then, you can't just drive the van accross on the ferry?

We can either go for the qualifiers or we can go for the finals. If we are going for the finals then the tickets would be much harder to get, and more expensive though.. also we wouldn't know the venues until after the qualifiers.

Qualifiers:

Sat Sept 17 Australia v Ireland Auckland
    Sun Sept 25 Ireland v Europe 2 Rotorua

powerfade wrote: »
    go onto the RWC11 website and get registered for tickets. They will then alert you when they are going on sale.

Yeah I have setup the alerts, cheers.

I setup to get an alert when the prices for the WC 2011 are decided from this website for campervans.

http://www.jucy.co.nz/new-zealand-rugby-world-cup.asp

What about booking the campervan sites you park up in, do I need to do that straight away or can we just pull in at one when we get to where we are going?

No you should be ok for the towns and rural stuff as the country is well geared for campervan hoilidays. You'll see laybys with sewage removal signs all over the place. Might be an idea to book a place in Auckland as the best parks are close to the city centre but have only a limited number of places. There are lots of them in the burbs but you'll spend a mint on taxis.

No you can stick your camper on the ferry. We collected them in Christchurch and dropped them off in Auckland on the way out. If you book now you should only have to pay a deposit.

€5,000 was a budget for six years ago. NZ hasn't suffered much from the global downturn. Might be an idea to budget around €6,500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

nin2010 wrote: »
    Anyone planning on heading to the World Cup in 2011. Any advice on the best place to get package deals or is it better to sort it out yourself and book everything individually?

Had been.
    I was really keen to go to Irelands Group match in RotoVegas, where I lived for a year. Not sure if the financials can work what with my pay freeze and my public servant missus pay cuts. (boo hoo, recession..... STFU or GTFO)

I will see how I go, but its looking bad.

NZ is really good for being on a budget when you are there though.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Had been.
    I was really keen to go to Irelands Group match in RotoVegas, where I lived for a year. Not sure if the financials can work what with my pay freeze and my public servant missus pay cuts. (boo hoo, recession..... STFU or GTFO)

I will see how I go, but its looking bad.

NZ is really good for being on a budget when you are there though.

Lol the Kiwis are great at sticking Vegas at the end of all their rural towns. I was in WangaVegas,InverVegas and RotoVegas which is a great spot when you get used to the smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 jgflan

Hello All,

We are going out for the final two pool games and hopefully the 1/4 final. I looked at the camper option which doesnt seem especially cheap to me, so am planning to go the car hire and budget hotel/motel option. I started booking this morning. I've booked accommadation in Rotorua for the Russia game at a fairly good rate for a family of 2 adults and 2 children ($155 NZD per night incl. breakfast - check out Ventura Rotorua). I called a few places in Dunedin for the Italy game and it seems that even some of the motels have been block booked. I'm awaiting replies for others. Ditto for Wellington. I've pre-booked for the match tickets. Car and ferry hire next. Now's the time folks!!

jgflan:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

One of the lads priced it up for us. A big 8 birth camper van all the tickets and flights I think it was working out to something like 8 Grand or something like that for over a month I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Theta wrote: »
    One of the lads priced it up for us. A big 8 birth camper van all the tickets and flights I think it was working out to something like 8 Grand or something like that for over a month I think.

Per person? Seriously? Eek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Yeah. He priced good tickets to a good section of the matches I think. I think he mentioned something like some tickets are working out 200 quid a match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 DKIL1979

myself and himself are defintely heading. we've already booked a Spaceship (costing around e1000 for a roughly a month) that is kinda halfway between a car and camper. it's a hell of a lot cheaper than a campervan and that was what made us go with it. how far in advance will ferries have to be booked, as we are planning to go:

oz v ireland game in Auckland Sept 17
    russia v ireland in Rotorua Sept 25
    italy v ireland in Dunedin Oct 2
    and a quater final if we can get leave off work to stay out for that long.