Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forgiveness for Haiti?

• 12-02-2010 11:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭

I was just reading this article

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2010/feb/11/we-should-beg-haitis-forgiveness

And though I do agree with the sentiment that the west should aid Haiti (contraversial I know) I really dont agree with what this lady is saying.

The gist is that industrialised nations have forgiven Haiti its debt, but in reality we owed Haiti all along because of Slavery, US Occupation, Dictatorships, and Climate Change.

Now Climate Change and US Occupation I agree with, and the western support for Hatian Dictators I at least understand, though they could be applied to most third world countries. But paying them back for Slavery??

the author cites the arrival of a french fleet in 1825 who extorted 10 times the GDP of Haiti. But I thought this was in retaliation for the uprising 30 years earlier when the slaves turned their masters off the land.

Surely a tenant farmer, no matter how badly treated does not have the right to just take the landlords land for free. Ireland had to pay. And it was our land we were buying back.

do you agree with the argument that the colonising powers owe Haiti for slavery?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Namoi Klein is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Glenster wrote: »

Surely a tenant farmer, no matter how badly treated does not have the right to just take the landlords land for free.?

Slaves, not tenant farmers and Yep, they do.
    Ireland had to pay. And it was our land we were buying back.

Just because we got shafted is no reason to impose shafting on others.
    do you agree with the argument that the colonising powers owe Haiti for slavery?

Its too far gone now. However events subsequent to that are a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Your notion on tenament farmers depends on a couple of things. How was the land removed. What was the natives forced to farm its touching on the corn suitation in ireland at the time of the famine.

Yes the world owes haiti imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Wrt to Carribean slaves for the most part it was west Africans themselves who sold the people into slavery in the first place, so perhaps it's they should who be seeking forgiveness at this time.

However (even tho I had nothing to do with slavery or Haiti's position in the world) I'll be sure to ask the Haitians forgiveness .... after I get an apology from Britain for decimating my country, robbing me of my native tongue and scattering my people to the four corners of the earth in search of a livlihood. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The gist is that industrialised nations have forgiven Haiti its debt, but in reality we owed Haiti all along because of Slavery, US Occupation, Dictatorships, and Climate Change.

What's this "We" business.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

'The West', as though somehow we are responsible for slavery carried out between Africans and Americans hundreds of years ago?

That's like blaming the Egyptians of 3050 for something I did yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

'The West', as though somehow we are responsible for slavery carried out between Africans and Americans hundreds of years ago?

Never a truer word spoken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Any word on whether Naomi has donated her salary and expense account to assuage the no-doubt enormous Western guilt she is stricken with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

mikom wrote: »
    He's white, he's programmed to feel guilt at a very young age.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Yup, theres nothing like turning up on a piece of land, planting a flag and claiming it's yours.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uEx5G-GOS1k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

And the French, I should add.

m@cc@ wrote: »

No, the linesman told the ref that he did not see any slavery, so thats ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Unless there names were all Paddy and they were born in the Republic I don't feel guilty for nought the French do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

but but but Your Honour Christopher Columbus is Mr America!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The Americans...oh and most of the rest of the developed world.
    ...do you agree with the argument that the colonising powers owe Haiti for slavery?

No. In the words of The Flower of Scotland.. "those days are passed now, and in the past they must remain."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Irish landowners in the carribean? Maybe? They existed. Me and you never owned slaves, but thats not the point.

Wrong.
    You and I never owned slaves.

My question was mainly whether we think that the land taken by the slaves in 179-something became automatically theirs, and if it was wrong for the french to demand restitution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Quazzie wrote: »
    Unless there names were all Paddy and they were born in the Republic I don't feel guilty for nought the French do.

I still would'nt be feeling guilt. Unless I did it myself, but at which point I still probably wouldnt care because I'd have put my morals aside to become a slave trader in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭manc

bonerm wrote: »
    .... after I get an apology from Britain for decimating my country, robbing me of my native tongue and scattering my people to the four corners of the earth in search of a livlihood. :rolleyes:

.....dont forget those Scandinavians (Vikings) who raided and pillaged our country before the Brits ;)

Wrong.

Sentance Fragment.

Linguo sleep now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Wrong.

and you never will with that attitude.

Sentance Fragment.

"SentEnce fragment"
    - Linguo 2.0 (Grammar nazibot upgrade)

"SentEnce fragment"
    - Linguo 2.0 (Grammar nazibot upgrade)

Oh Yeah? But whats with that e? Thats not very smarts.

Don't blame me. I'm only reporting what Linguo 2.0 said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭droidus

My question was mainly whether we think that the land taken by the slaves in 179-something became automatically theirs, and if it was wrong for the french to demand restitution?

If a thief steals something and you steal it from him does he alone have the right to restitution? What about the native Caribbean Indians who were exterminated by colonists?

Slaves have the right to gain their freedom by whatever means necessary. Workers have the right to compensation for their labour.

Slavers have no right to restitution - in fact France should be paying Haiti for the agony they inflicted on it's people. The only reason 'restitution' was paid to the French is because they threatened the use of force, a threat that was maintained by the US until the mid-20th century.

droidus wrote: »
    What about the native Caribbean Indians who were exterminated by colonists?

They lived there though, They did own the land, before they mysteriously died off and they left it to the European Slavers in their wills.

Seriously though The Hatians took land from the slavers, they dont have to pay for it because they are slaves? or becasue they took it from Slavers?
    Slaves have the right to gain their freedom by whatever means necessary. Workers have the right to compensation for their labour.

I'm always nervous when someone says "by whatever means necessary"

If we're talking about rights, do people not have the right to own land?

Keep in mind that the original author is talking about a legal obligation to compensation. I'm sure noone here would argue that slavery is ok or that the europeans did nothing morally wrong. The dispute is over the ownership of Haiti and if the Haitians shouldn't have paid for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

That's because you don't realise that Ireland benefited directly from slavery. There's a good reason why Dublin was known as the "second city of the Empire".

Reading that article you would have to wonder how Naomi Klein feels about israeli compensation to palestinians ? Considering that is contemporary to the age we currently live in.

I'm always nervous when someone says "by whatever means necessary"

If we're talking about rights, do people not have the right to own land?

The right to freedom is a fundamental human right which trumps the right to private property, the right to resist slavery, imprisonment and exploitation is a fundamental part of the UN charter.

Slavery turns this on its head - it states that the right to private property trumps all other rights... Slaves are private property, therefore slavers have a right to own them.

By colonising countries and exterminating the natives in order to exploit their land for profit and then kidnapping (and also murdering) hundreds of thousands of human beings to serve as slaves in order to exploit their labour for profit, slavers and planters lost all moral rights.

In most civilised nations, those found guilty of crimes often have property bought with the proceeds of their crimes confiscated. Thats what this is like. Except of course that the French never 'owned' the land in the first place and the crimes they committed were crimes against humanity.

Wrt to Carribean slaves for the most part it was west Africans themselves who sold the people into slavery in the first place, so perhaps it's they should who be seeking forgiveness at this time.

Absolutely untrue. Slavery did exist, but it was mostly as the spoils of war, etc.between tribes hostile to each other.
    What the Europeans did was slavery on an industrial scale.
    However (even tho I had nothing to do with slavery or Haiti's position in the world) I'll be sure to ask the Haitians forgiveness .... after I get an apology from Britain for decimating my country, robbing me of my native tongue and scattering my people to the four corners of the earth in search of a livlihood. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Gyalist wrote: »
    That's because you don't realise that Ireland benefited directly from slavery. There's a good reason why Dublin was known as the "second city of the Empire".

Ireland, and other European countries with coastlines, as far north as Iceland, also had large numbers of people kidnapped into slavery, and carted off to North Africa (e.g. Baltimore, where pretty much the whole population disappeared overnight a few hunded years ago). Where do the victims' descendants claim the compo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

I despise Naomi Kline, despise her... and everything that she claims to stand for.

Whilst certainly criminal and just as reprehensible, the incidence of Europeans captured in Europe and taken abroad as slaves is miniscule in comparison to the scale and character of the Atalantic slave trade.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Ireland, and other European countries with coastlines, as far north as Iceland, also had large numbers of people kidnapped into slavery, and carted off to North Africa (e.g. Baltimore, where pretty much the whole population disappeared overnight a few hunded years ago). Where do the victims' descendants claim the compo?

Did you see me make an argument in favour of compensation?

There's a good reason why Dublin was known as the "second city of the Empire".

Shares that with Glasgow as well.

Did you see me make an argument in favour of compensation?

No, I was simply asking your advice in these cash-strapped times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭CuriousOne

Please excuse my ignorance but is that 3050 B.C or A.D?

Modern day society with its hierarchical and compartmentalised construct, can easily trace its origins back to its original engineers, the Egyptians. Now, I know that the accepted modern wisdom, promulgated by MacGyver in Stargate, is that the Great Pyramids were/are docking stations for space ships and the like, when it is far more likely that they, the pyramids, represented the power and wealth distributive structure of that ancient society and that same structure is still in existence today, or yesterday if you prefer.

I am assuming you were referring to 3050 B.C and acknowledge an entirely different reply would be appropriate if I assumed incorrectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Saint Ruth

And you don't realise that the Irish were actually slaves too.

Around 60,000 Irish slaves were sent to Barbados...(there are still some left there...they're called "Red Legs").

As for the point, Haiti has been independent for nearly 200 years.
    When should people stop blaming others for their own mistakes and take responsbility for their situation (obviously, that excludes the earthquake. I mean the mess the country was in before that).

CuriousOne wrote: »
    Please excuse my ignorance but is that 3050 B.C or A.D?
    [/FONT]

It's definitely A.D.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

So we've to pay compensation to Haiti even though the only Irish people to ever set foot on their soil are missionaries and Charlie Bird, and we also have to bail out Greece because their economy is fecked....

And as for the price of turnips.....:mad:

Saint Ruth wrote: »
    And you don't realise that the Irish were actually slaves too.

Around 60,000 Irish slaves were sent to Barbados...(there are still some left there...they're called "Red Legs").

As for the point, Haiti has been independent for nearly 200 years.
    When should people stop blaming others for their own mistakes and take responsbility for their situation (obviously, that excludes the earthquake. I mean the mess the country was in before that).

The 'mess' the country was primarily a result of the crippling economic burden placed on it by France, and in the 20th century, by direct and often brutal political and military intervention by the US.

Haiti has been screwed time and again by Western powers. Their history is absolutely appalling.

So we've to pay compensation to Haiti even though the only Irish people to ever set foot on their soil are missionaries and Charlie Bird, and we also have to bail out Greece because their economy is fecked....

And as for the price of turnips.....:mad:

Greece is in the EU. Their problems are contemporary not being blamed on events of 1804. If the greek economy collapses the euro will be in crisis & this will affect us too. Any financial aid from the euro countries to greece will be dependent on the greek govt tackling greek public sector unions as there is no way Irish taxpayers, or French taxpayers, will donate to the greek public sector wage & pensions bill. In the same way that french & german taxpayers simply will not pay for our public sector wages hike and pensions bill if our economy degrades to the same level as the greek.

The 'mess' the country was primarily a result of the crippling economic burden placed on it by France,

In 1804 ? That is really the primary reason they have a basket case economy in 2010 ?
    and in the 20th century, by direct and often brutal political and military intervention by the US.

Haiti has been screwed time and again by Western powers. Their history is absolutely appalling.

The Haitians should take some level of responsibility for their own condition prior to the earthquake of 2010 - blaming it on events of 1804 is not convincing. Papa doc was of our lifetimes and did more damage and he was one of their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

The 'mess' the country was primarily a result of the crippling economic burden placed on it by France, and in the 20th century, by direct and often brutal political and military intervention by the US. Haiti has been screwed time and again by Western powers. Their history is absolutely appalling.

Nothing to do with the homegrown scum then no?

Naomi Klein is a fuking plank.. The type of person who turned to journalism because there was no other options left and has somehow landed a position where she can talk complete shite and have people listen.

Whilst certainly criminal and just as reprehensible, the incidence of Europeans captured in Europe and taken abroad as slaves is miniscule in comparison to the scale and character of the Atalantic slave trade.

The African continent was riddled with slavery on a grand scale before the Europeans showed up in great numbers. It then became a joint venture operation between interested parties on both continents, leading to the huge trans-Atlantic slave-trade which followed.

Morlar wrote: »
    In 1804 ? That is really the primary reason they have a basket case economy in 2010 ?

You should have a look at how third world debt works. Its never ending. The Haitians only finished paying France back in 1947.
    The Haitians should take some level of responsibility for their own condition prior to the earthquake of 2010 - blaming it on events of 1804 is not convincing. Papa doc was of our lifetimes and did more damage and he was one of their own.

Is this the same Papa Doc whose repressive dictatorship was supported by the US from '63 until his death in '71? His son was then supported until '86 and the US continued to support military and right wing elements throughout the '90s culminating in their kidnap of Aristide in 2004.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    The African continent was riddled with slavery on a grand scale before the Europeans showed up in great numbers. It then became a joint venture operation between interested parties on both continents, leading to the huge trans-Atlantic slave-trade which followed.

This simply isnt true. There was slavery in Africa (in West Africa in particular), but the slave trade turned a local byproduct of war into a massive industry.