Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland singlet

• 11-02-2010 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭

Anyone know where I can get an Ireland singlet or a singlet with a shamrock on it? Cant see one anywhere on line only a wrestling singlet or a tricolor singlet. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Only place I know of is here: http://www.irishfit.eu/marathonshirts.html#flag

Have heard good and bad things about the company...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭webpal

thanks, sorry i should have said a singlet that actually has "IRELAND" on it or a shamrock or both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭TrackFan123

webpal wrote: »
    thanks, sorry i should have said a singlet that actually has "IRELAND" on it or a shamrock or both.

You have to run for them ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Reaganomical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I dunno, I'd feel like a bit of a fraud running in one that I didn't earn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I dunno, I'd feel like a bit of a fraud running in one that I didn't earn

Thats just because they don't market them which is good or bad ?

I've been after on of the retro 80's singlets for a while, would love to have one but wouldnt wear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

That does seem crazy. We'd happily don an Ireland Rugby jersey, or football jersey (well some people would anyway) but an athletics jersey/singlet is out of bounds. I know Athletics doesn't have the mainstream fandom of the aforementioned sports, but there's got to be some kind of a market for them (and another source of revenue for the cash-strapped AAI).

Yep but i think they ran out of them last year and didnt have enough for some of the vets who were running for IRE.
    Maybe release another version would be an idea , doent have to be the origional. There is something nice about it when its not so common.

Oh, so they do sell them publicly? Running out of products to sell is a kind of damning condemnation.

No it was a case that the didnt have enough for the people who were running for ireland in the euro masters it think. I've never seen them for sale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I think the singlet should be kept special as unlike rugby and soccer our sport doesnt really have internationally friendlies so to wear the singlet is to represent your country at a big championships i mean Ireland dont send people on the European circuit this is done out of the athletes pocket and is often their sponsors who supply the gear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

They are not sold to the general public. Athletes who receive an Ireland singlet must only wear them on official international events. They are not to be worn while out training etc.
    Occasionally AAI will run out of a certain size. It should be remembered that they supply Juniors and seniors, cross country, road and track and field. They also supply the Masters and IMRA and the Ultra associations so it is understandable if occasionally they run out.

They also supply the Masters and IMRA and the Ultra associations so it is understandable if occasionally they run out.
    That comment was on the basis that they sell them to the public, a basis that has been corrected. Still, Roy Keane would have a field trip. :)

They are not sold to the general public. Athletes who receive an Ireland singlet must only wear them on official international events. They are not to be worn while out training etc.
    Occasionally AAI will run out of a certain size. It should be remembered that they supply Juniors and seniors, cross country, road and track and field. They also supply the Masters and IMRA and the Ultra associations so it is understandable if occasionally they run out.
    Yep I think the amount of singlets needed now much have gone up alot, fairly big teams going to the masters now, great to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Clum

shels4ever wrote: »
    No it was a case that the didnt have enough for the people who were running for ireland in the euro masters it think. I've never seen them for sale.

I think this happened in the euro cross country in Brussels in 08. I think the u23 teams had a mix of singlets with some in the white singlet and others had the green singlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

Athletes who receive an Ireland singlet must only wear them on official international events. They are not to be worn while out training etc.

Where did you get that from?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

I remember when I was a teen on family holiday in Turkey my Da stopping a fella on the beach to ask him where he could get his great Turkey football top, only to be told "ah, you must play for Turkey" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

I might actually buy that Irishfit Ireland T-Shirt. Anytime you go abroad you feel like you are representing your country in some form. Like when you go on holidays and meet people from other countries it then becomes a big deal that you are Irish, and you become proud of it. So it would be cool to run the marathon in Rotterdam with my country colours, and as its not an official Ireland Athletics Vest I see now way that I could be a fraud wearing it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Its pretty easy. Call into the AAI and buy one.I bought one easy enough and some other bits for somebody. It's an aladdins cave of goodies and the bloke in charge is a decent skin.

jinka wrote: »
    Its pretty easy. Call into the AAI and buy one.I bought one easy enough and some other bits for somebody. It's an aladdins cave of goodies and the bloke in charge is a decent skin.

How much would an Ireland vest cost?

Very cheap, but got a few bits way below shop price. If you ring and say you are doing a race abroad and need a vest there wont be a problem. Although the white vest isn't great looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

04072511 wrote: »
    I might actually buy that Irishfit Ireland T-Shirt. Anytime you go abroad you feel like you are representing your country in some form. Like when you go on holidays and meet people from other countries it then becomes a big deal that you are Irish, and you become proud of it. So it would be cool to run the marathon in Rotterdam with my country colours, and as its not an official Ireland Athletics Vest I see now way that I could be a fraud wearing it!

You'll get the odd shout from people at whatever marathon you are doing (I know its Rotterdam for you). Nice to get a 'C'mon Ireland' call from someone. I'm sure you'd get at least a couple of shouts.

That owayo site is great for designing a vest and would be a one off-much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

When did you buy that stuff, can you remember the year? Thats a bit worrying as that stuff shouldn't be getting sold to anyone as I'd imagine it should not be available to anyone to sell. That isn't from protecting the integrity or honour of the vest either, it would be akin to Charlie O' Leary flogging off Irish jerseys to lads who dropped into Merrion Road back in the day. I'd be kind of worried as to where your money went to as their is no official merchandise line. Was it offical gear?

This must have happened a few years ago or else someone needs to get a kick up the backside. Selling Irish vests to randomers running overseas races, thats not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

I agree with Tingle, someone shouldn't be selling them. They are for official AAI sanctioned runners for their events. But I do think a second, similar or alternative vest should be available to the public. Maybe green not white etc. Think of the revenue.

ZuppyLurk wrote: »
    I agree with Tingle, someone shouldn't be selling them. They are for official AAI sanctioned runners for their events. But I do think a second, similar or alternative vest should be available to the public. Maybe green not white etc. Think of the revenue.

Ah now here,get a grip. It's not like a bloody garda outfit. It's a vest with IRELAND written on it. I'm sure they don't want every tom dick and harry turning up to buy them, but look at the Ireland cycling gear. Easily bought in bike shops and my mates have them. Looks great.

You should be able to buy it, like you can with a footie or rugby jersey.I'm not saying you should march up to the AAI office to buy it but they should be made available to buy online etc or through Asics. Remember there are master athletes who have to BUY them for worlds/europeans etc. I got the gear for a mate running a marathon in the states. At the end of the day its not like any Irish standard athletes are GODS who feel sacred by wearing them and mere mortals cannot!:)
    I think it's great that any Irish guy/gal can wear their national colours when racing abroad etc if they want to.Makes more sense to me than some guy wearing his club colours. I bought it last year. Painless transaction!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Ah now here,get a grip. It's not like a bloody garda outfit. It's a vest with IRELAND written on it. I'm sure they don't want every tom dick and harry turning up to buy them, but look at the Ireland cycling gear. Easily bought in bike shops and my mates have them. Looks great.

You should be able to buy it, like you can with a footie or rugby jersey.I'm not saying you should march up to the AAI office to buy it but they should be made available to buy online etc or through Asics. Remember there are master athletes who have to BUY them for worlds/europeans etc. I got the gear for a mate running a marathon in the states. At the end of the day its not like any Irish standard athletes are GODS who feel sacred by wearing them and mere mortals cannot!:)
    I think it's great that any Irish guy/gal can wear their national colours when racing abroad etc if they want to.Makes more sense to me than some guy wearing his club colours. I bought it last year. Painless transaction!

Replica gear is a good idea and should be looked into or even selling old stock.

However dipping into the offical stock for some road running punter when our championship athletes are swapping and scrounging to get gear that matches for a European event is the problem. I am pretty certain that your painless transaction was unsanctioned and a hark back to the old days and the old guard that so many of us here give out about. No dig at you, its the clown who facilitated is the problem.

As I said, this to me has nothing to do with sacredness of the vest, its more to do with logistics and ensuring our proper athletes are properly attired at international events. Some lad who knows some fogie and could pay a few quid for a vest to the fogie without the certainty as to where the money went so that his punter mate could run some ten a penny road race overseas while the proper athletes were running a championship race with a team that had forty shades of green as there was no stock left. Sad, but not surprising.

Some athletes who do wear a vest and trained all their life to get just one may quietly have an issue with this too. Many won't but some will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Very cheap, but got a few bits way below shop price. If you ring and say you are doing a race abroad and need a vest there wont be a problem. Although the white vest isn't great looking.

This has to be a wind up right ? I'd wear an ireland vest if sold in stores. The bit about a decent skin giving away cheap national gear sounds either suspicious or a bit of a joke.

Some oldish Ireland gear has appeared in discount sports stores recently. It is linked to asics Ireland going bust and selling off of old stock in warehouses (I guess). I bought a pair if shorts (for an unbelievable fiver) but haven't had the confidence to wear them yet.

Yeah, the problem is where do you buy a replica vest? If Sonia o'Sullivan went up to the aai and said im looking for gear for a friend running,do you think they would say "on your bike". Provided she paid for it there isn't a problem. if having enough gear is a problem for the AAI surely they can order it off Asics. Do Asics not carry stocks? No runner should have to scrounge a vest when running for his country. That's silly.

I found them to be very professional and friendly on my visit there. There is a kit manager obviously-no dodgy deals I can assure you!!:o

AAI order whatever gear they need from Asics. Asics will fully supply whatever gear is requested of them. The gear is supposed to be available to athletes and teams representing Ireland on International duty. There is no official facility for selling gear online or to callers. To my knowledge, there has never been income from selling singlets in an annual financial report. Singlets and shorts are given free to the IMAA for their members competing for Ireland.
    There have been occasions when Garda, An Post and Revenue teams and others have been given gear ( at a cost ) while competing abroad after officially arranging this.
    There are certain criteria regarding the official gear. One of them is that you only wear the gear on official international duty. Its not meant to be worn in bed or going to the boozer or the local shops. Whether you agree with that or not is a seperate issue.
    As far as I know, the Brits have a similar arrangement.

Its not meant to be worn in bed

I'd love to know how they would monitor this lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

04072511 wrote: »
    I'd love to know how they would monitor this lol

The same way as doping? Snap inspection in the middle of the night to check what your wearing. :):) (I pity the athletes who sleep in the nip)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Moycullen1

As a proud owner of an Irish singlet I am probably biased but I do like the idea that Irish Athletics is one of the few remaining disciplines where you can only get official gear if you earn it. As well as the honour of representing your country there is something special about being presented with the coveted 'national kit'.

That said however I enjoyed wearing a shirt provided by a local charity with whom I had fundraised and travelled when I did the Chicago Marathon which had Ireland written across it. Eventhough I did feel a little bit uncomfortable about it, it was clear from the style of the singlet and the other printed text that it in no way purported to suggest that I was representing Ireland but it did garner a lot of support which was both helpful and enjoyable. I think it should be possible to respectfully wear your national colours while at the same time not infringing upon the accepted styles of our national squads.

I don't however agree that you shouldn't wear an Irish singlet while training. Eventhough I never did and I couldn't now even if I wanted to, given that my singlet hasn't fit me for about twenty years, as someone who is passionate about athletics I like being able to identify the runners who have excelled in the sport.

There are certain criteria regarding the official gear. One of them is that you only wear the gear on official international duty. Its not meant to be worn in bed or going to the boozer or the local shops.

I have never heard of this rule before and I know loads of people with Irish gear - is it documented anywhere? Perhaps it is something that applied in the past but not anymore?

cfitz wrote: »
    I have never heard of this rule before and I know loads of people with Irish gear - is it documented anywhere? Perhaps it is something that applied in the past but not anymore?

Anyone presented with the gear should be told. I presume it's documented somewhere.

Well if it's no longer a rule (or never was), they shouldn't be told.

Moycullen1 wrote: »
    That said however I enjoyed wearing a shirt provided by a local charity with whom I had fundraised and travelled when I did the Chicago Marathon which had Ireland written across it.
    This sounds like my story too :). But mine would have been 10 years ago, chicago rocks/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

I bought an irish fit vest top at the Dublin expo. Was a bit peeved that they were the same price as buying them on line. ANyway, I wore it in Lisbon and last weekend in Seville and it is brilliant. I go alone and without it wouldnt have met or talked with anyone. A frenchman said to me on Sunday." irish woman I am sorry for thierry Henri and started waving his had around. I am truly sorry". Got a few roars from the crowd too.
    Other irish runners said hello and chatted too and definitley helped when alone and feeling nevous, expecially if they dont have much english language where you run.
    I would love to get a second one but am a bit confused. Can you buy other ones or do you have to represent the country to earn one? Sorry for being think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭helpisontheway

Only athletes who earn an Irish singlet by being chosen by athletics Ireland to compete in an international event should recieve them! It would be an absolute disgrace if you could buy them.As another poster eluded a replica kit in a different colour may possibly be acceptable.
    As for when and where you can wear them, athletes are not informed that they cannot wear them outside international events and rightly so.If you earned it i think you have every right to wear it in training at least as who knows that said athletes may never get to compete for Ireland again.As it is alot of athletes wear there Ireland shorts under there club singlets anyway at Irish competitions.

I bought an irish fit vest top at the Dublin expo. Was a bit peeved that they were the same price as buying them on line. ANyway, I wore it in Lisbon and last weekend in Seville and it is brilliant. I go alone and without it wouldnt have met or talked with anyone. A frenchman said to me on Sunday." irish woman I am sorry for thierry Henri and started waving his had around. I am truly sorry". Got a few roars from the crowd too.
    Other irish runners said hello and chatted too and definitley helped when alone and feeling nevous, expecially if they dont have much english language where you run.
    I would love to get a second one but am a bit confused. Can you buy other ones or do you have to represent the country to earn one? Sorry for being think.

Don't mind them.You certainly do not need to represent your country to wear one. Some serious power trippers on this board. I still think you'd be better getting a nice green replica type one. The current Irish vest is a dreadful looking white thing although obviously a great honour to run for your country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

I bought an irish fit vest ...

They are not talking about the ones from irish fit. You can buy as many of them as you want.

The issue is with official Ireland gear that is given to athletes who are chosen to compete for Ireland internationally. That gear is not supposed to be available for anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

They are not talking about the ones from irish fit. You can buy as many of them as you want.

The issue is with official Ireland gear that is given to athletes who are chosen to compete for Ireland internationally. That gear is not supposed to be available for anyone else.

This may have been touched on before, and excuse my complete ignorance here but if you can wear an Irish rugby jersey, and an Irish Soccer jersey, and any county's GAA jersey, what's the problem with wearing an Irish singlet?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

The Rook wrote: »
    This may have been touched on before, and excuse my complete ignorance here but if you can wear an Irish rugby jersey, and an Irish Soccer jersey, and any county's GAA jersey, what's the problem with wearing an Irish singlet?!!

*sigh* because the rugby and soccer jerseys are sold as replicas. The athletic singlets are only given to athletes who represent Ireland and are not supposed to be sold to the public.

As you very rightly pointed out, this has been touched on before. About a dozen times in this very thread.

And personally I would not have a problem if they were selling replicas to the public. Until then, the singlets from irish fit might be everyone's best bet, and the real athletes can wear the real singlets (but not in bed... :p).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

*sigh* because the rugby and soccer jerseys are sold as replicas. The athletic singlets are only given to athletes who represent Ireland and are not supposed to be sold to the public.

As you very rightly pointed out, this has been touched on before. About a dozen times in this very thread.

And personally I would not have a problem if they were selling replicas to the public. Until then, the singlets from irish fit might be everyone's best bet, and the real athletes can wear the real singlets (but not in bed... :p).

Cool, thanks for that ...then I agree!:o

cfitz wrote: »
    Well if it's no longer a rule (or never was), they shouldn't be told.

I've collected official Irish gear to give to athletes and was informed of the rule about only wearing it in competition. I've never seen the written rule though. It's probably a bit like the protocal the State have about flying the Irish flag on the right pole and during daytime etc.

Except that the rules governing flying the flag are documented down the the smallest minutiae!
    If only the government spent as much time governing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Sorry to bring up an old thread but rather than start a new one, does anyone know where I'd get a tricolour or Irish themed singlet? I'm hoping to have a couple sorted for Barcelona on Paddy's day, anyone know of any shops around Dublin selling them?

Before anyone suggests Irishfit, I ordered 2 tricolour singlets from them way back in January only to be told 2 weeks later that there would be a 3-4 week delay. Then today after chasing them, I find out that they won't have them back in stock, terrible experience.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

rom wrote: »

ha ya that looks like I'd need to earn it, gimme a couple of years ;) just a simple tricolour or even plain green is all I'm looking for