Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free Wok w/ Uncle Ben's Stuff

• 11-02-2010 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭

Buy 3 Uncle Ben's products (500g rice, sauces, etc.), get a free wok. Picked it up in Dunnes today, I assume it's in all the supermarkets. Uncle Ben's a good man for giving out free stuff; I got my old wok from him and it's 5 years old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Ravage1616

Think there's a big storage jar in this as well or maybe completely separate uncle ben offer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

The problem is you have to buy Uncle Bens Sauces...ROTTEN !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Love their Szechuan and Spicy Sweet and Sour. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭lindtee

True, probably one of the worst sauces known to man:( However my dad has one of these Uncle Ben's woks for years and its till going strong. Might be worth getting the rice or something though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

or you can buy three boxes of rice, much better than their sauces! :rolleyes:

it is any three products and I got wok and storage jar :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

Can you use this work with the ceramic flat plate hobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭rameire

Q. Whats a Wok for?

A. For Twowing at Wabbits

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

rameire wrote: »
    Q. Whats a Wok for?

That just made my day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

Can you use this work with the ceramic flat plate hobs

works for me :) bought three boxes of rice ...never to be used ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭colferma

I think that the rice storage thing was last week. You just needed 2 boxes of rice (or the like) to get that, but the wok might be a different situation altogether. I don't think they're a pair or anything -- might be wrong though.

I don't think Uncle Ben is that bad... his rice is grand anyway. There's something suspect about a man who's too finnicky about his rice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,734 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I have always liked Uncle Ben's sweet and sour actually.

Need to branch out into to other flavours but their Chilli sauce (spicy or less so) aren't bad either.

I am very used to them I will admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,713 ✭✭✭branners69

They must do this offer most Valentines, as 3 years ago I got one and wrapped red ribbon around it and gave it to the wife for Valentines Day!!

Of course I had flowers and chocs waiting but was worth it to see the look on her face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Grawns

Deffo have to go for that as the last fee wok is still going strong after years. And it's used about 3 or 4 times a week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

branners69 wrote: »
    They must do this offer most Valentines
    It would be for Chinese New Year. I got giant ceramic bowls one year, still have them, a bowl would have cost more than the sauces themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭colsku

I got this wok before when they were doing the same deal a couple of years ago. rubbish! stuff used to get caked on to the bottom of it as it's not non-stick...

Sorry for being such a pr1ck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

colsku wrote: »
    I got this wok before when they were doing the same deal a couple of years ago. rubbish! stuff used to get caked on to the bottom of it as it's not non-stick...

I was just about to say the same thing. I was in IKEA one day and picked up a bigger wok cheaply, and couldn't believe the difference when I used it - no more chicken marinade to be scraped away after cooking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭chris1970

Uncle bens wok , free at tills in dunnes westside galway, so good its free... picked one up anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭syncosised

I got it there on Thursday, they must have absolutely loads of them to get rid of. You don't have to buy the Uncle Ben's stuff, they're just giving them away! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Connrang

rameire wrote: »
    Q. Whats a Wok for?

When the wifle wont work

The coating on the bottom is coming off mine after 4 weeks!

Useless wok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭banchang

Connrang wrote: »
    When the wifle wont work

Won't wok ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

rarnes1 wrote: »
    The coating on the bottom is coming off mine after 4 weeks!

Useless wok

Same for me. I used it once and it's started to "peel" (if that's the right word) already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭colsku

colsku wrote: »

I warned yiz!