Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

camping

• 11-02-2010 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭

i hate camping. with a passion. ooh man do i lose the rag when i get killed by the same, poxy ambushy, pr*ck in a game.:mad::mad::mad::mad:
    but, recently i came upon the joys of sniping.:eek:
    my normal gameplan was run like a mad yoke around the edges of the maps, and i did quite well with it, (by my standards anyhow).
    but since i began using the barrett 50 cal i find myself moving slower, being more observant and sneaky and making use of vantage points where possible, like up high on a roof in karachi.:o;)

my question??
    is this camping?
    i hate campers so if i'll annoy others doing this as much as ambushers annoy me, then bye bye sniper rifle welcome back AUG and SCAR-H.
    thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Btwndeyes

s-cogan wrote: »
    i hate camping. with a passion. ooh man do i lose the rag when i get killed by the same, poxy ambushy, pr*ck in a game.:mad::mad::mad::mad:
    but, recently i came upon the joys of sniping.:eek:
    my normal gameplan was run like a mad yoke around the edges of the maps, and i did quite well with it, (by my standards anyhow).
    but since i began using the barrett 50 cal i find myself moving slower, being more observant and sneaky and making use of vantage points where possible, like up high on a roof in karachi.:o;)

my question??
    is this camping?
    i hate campers so if i'll annoy others doing this as much as ambushers annoy me, then bye bye sniper rifle welcome back AUG and SCAR-H.
    thanks
    no i dont think its camping unless ur sitting in one spot all the time. game modes with objective snipers are fine once ur not just sitting down somewhere away from the objective killing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

As i always say , there's no such thing as a " sniper " in cod , i would call the role more of a sharpshooter due to the nature of the game. This requires a lot of skill to do well and is certainly not camping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

thanks lads.

i dont just plank my arse in one place and wait for guys to walk past, but i do frequent the same areas regularly.
    my individual game k/d ratio is about the same as im getting less kills but less deaths also, plus my game satisfaction is gone away up as i enjoy sharpshooting more than i did full frontal assualt type play.

alrite lads, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭RustyBeanTin

what you're basically saying is that you couldnt beat the campers so you joined them, its all right, I also do it but usually only because i play s&d, demolition and that other bomb game cant remember the name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

no. whats he's doing isn't camping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

I only know 2 snipers that run and gun and boy are they good , but lets face it a sniper is the over-seeer of the map , tactical positions and such.

Campers (my view) are the little chits that hide behind doors with a shotgun waiting for you to run past and usually dont ever move.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

i love camping especially on the airport level in the plane, gurenteed a few kills moving form one end to the other end. highrise is great for it aswell camp get a 7 streak 8 streak kill and your laughing then:P:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

major bill wrote: »
    i love camping especially on the airport level in the plane, gurenteed a few kills moving form one end to the other end. highrise is great for it aswell camp get a 7 streak 8 streak kill and your laughing then:P:pac:

Glad your enjoying the game , keep it up :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Btwndeyes

Shammy wrote: »
    I only know 2 snipers that run and gun and boy are they good , but lets face it a sniper is the over-seeer of the map , tactical positions and such.
    i run around with the intervention on hq.. its fun you just need quick reactions... a good mouse and connection but i tend to get a lot of kills doing it.. usually 1-3 chopper gunners a map :):cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,723 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Tried using the sniper rifle for the first time last night. Its great getting kills in one hit, but I just can't stop myself from running round the place like a mad yoke. Or any time I do find a good spot I keep forgetting to be checking behind me and stuff.

I think it's just not my cup of tea though.

I see nothing wrong with camping though. If you keep getting killed by the same guy in the same general area, thats your fault, not his. Kill cams are there for a reason. lot of the time if a sniper hits me, they'll move straight after. You can see the general direction they're going in the killcam and be able to try and anticipate where they'll be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Barrett with Acog and Slight of hand pro lets u run around as much as u want while still being able to aim quickly. Have started using this class a lot this week. Sniping is not camping btw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭jack in the box

Camper are annoyin as fcuk, but i do it myself the odd occasion when i no they'll come back to get me. The majority of snipers are poor, just sneak behind them and bamm, stap them in the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

As i always say , there's no such thing as a " sniper " in cod , i would call the role more of a sharpshooter...

You can call them purple hippos, it doesn't really change anything. All you are doing is playing with words.
    ...due to the nature of the game

Sweeping statement with no explanation that says nothing really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Its hilarious when people complain about campers. Ok so its not a military sim, however if you have ever worked in a squad, then you will know that you need to hold positions and cover each other, if you find a good place to do this, then hold it as long as you can. Now this is team based of course, in FFA its slightly different, its more based on a commando attitude. Fair enough if you can get points running around like a loon, however dont complain if someone finds a goood spot to hold and takes you out on a regular basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

people complaining about camping reminds me of people complaining about juggernaut or using the noob tube.
    It's an option that anyone can use if they want to. If you camp, you're going to get less kills than if you run and gun. If you're happy getting your two or three kills per game, then camp it up camp-lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

LOL @ The OP

Is this camping???

WTF?

Play the game whatever way you want , but runnig around like a lunatic is just stupid and annoying.
    Sittin in the corner of a room with your heartbeat sensor is just stupid and annoying.

What i like to do if im using a sniper rifle is get a nice quiet spot and observe for a few seconds, see where people are moving , get a kill or 2 and move to another spot.

If i am using an assault rifle or sub machine gun i will run from one spot to another , watching the corners and high spots , and try to pick people off , if i am in mid run and come upon another player i usually try and knife em.

Call it whatever you want , I call it tactics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭gerkeo

There is nothing more frustrating than playing a game of capture the flag or domination (objective other than killing the other team) and the opposition team is made up of campers or snipers, sniping has its place but if the opposition team is not balanced then whats the point.

I played capture the flag the other night and the we were getting slaughtered at every turn but still won handy because the opposition weren't going for the flag.
    also I think the game could do with a big team death match option as in ground war but with 12 to 15 on each side for a bit of senseless carnage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭shawpower

I reckon a few guys last night thought I was camping. Both times I was wandering around a map and through my headphones I heard someone running around nearby. I picked a spot, crouched/lay down and waited for them to walk through. BAM! Their dead. And I move on.

Now if they watch the kill cam, they'll see me just lying there and will assume I was just a camper. I know differently, but I wonder how much this happens in the game? Probably not much, but you'd wonder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

shawpower wrote: »
    I reckon a few guys last night thought I was camping. Both times I was wandering around a map and through my headphones I heard someone running around nearby. I picked a spot, crouched/lay down and waited for them to walk through. BAM! Their dead. And I move on.

Now if they watch the kill cam, they'll see me just lying there and will assume I was just a camper. I know differently, but I wonder how much this happens in the game? Probably not much, but you'd wonder...

It definitely happens, in a game of COD4 last year I was sniping on pipeline, I went prone to reload and recover from being hit and this other guy runs right into me, so I knifed him...about 30 seconds later I get a message calling me a 'camping fag'...if he'd only known how I normally play the game.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Who in the hell came up with this name for a tactic called "camping"?
    And why do people have such a problem with it. People are choosing the way to play the game the way they are comfortable with and how they enjoy it. If someone goes to a shop and shells out 50 bucks on a game, they should be able to play it the way they want. Their gameplay should not be dictated by a bunch of people who got the boo hoo's because someone took them out 5 times in a row (not directed at anyone on this forum).

Personally, i congratulate someone if they take me out a few times in a row from the same spot because I have been stupid enough to walk into the same trap over and over again.

Basically, your game, your tactics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

i dont think it is....you have a long range weapon etc.... and are at a vantage point/ window

where as most campers hide in a room with 2 doors with a shotgun and claymores..

btw...camping is alrite on some game types.... demolition, etc...(because rounds swap and then you attack..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Who in the hell came up with this name for a tactic called "camping"?
    And why do people have such a problem with it. People are choosing the way to play the game the way they are comfortable with and how they enjoy it. If someone goes to a shop and shells out 50 bucks on a game, they should be able to play it the way they want. Their gameplay should not be dictated by a bunch of people who got the boo hoo's because someone took them out 5 times in a row (not directed at anyone on this forum).

Personally, i congratulate someone if they take me out a few times in a row from the same spot because I have been stupid enough to walk into the same trap over and over again.

Basically, your game, your tactics.

Not sure where it came from but i remember being called a camper by another player in a game of quake 2 once .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

99.998% of "snipers" in MW2 are campers who return to the same spot over and over and over.

0.001% are decent snipers.

0.001% are excellent snipers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Mousey- wrote: »
    i dont think it is....you have a long range weapon etc.... and are at a vantage point/ window

where as most campers hide in a room with 2 doors with a shotgun and claymores..

btw...camping is alrite on some game types.... demolition, etc...(because rounds swap and then you attack..

I'm sorry but I fail to see the point. If I find or am killed by a sniper/camper I will take note of where they are, stay out of their sight and nade them or pick my at4/danger close class and drop a rather large and painful explosion into their "spot".

What annoys me are the people that cry about camping but seem unable to actually kill the "camper" giving the fact they know exactly where he is holed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

very true cuddles

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I'm sorry but I fail to see the point. If I find or am killed by a sniper/camper I will take note of where they are, stay out of their sight and nade them or pick my at4/danger close class and drop a rather large and painful explosion into their "spot".

My prefered style depending on thier position is an old fashioned stun grenade and while they are bedazzled, a close range pistol shot or close range shotgun blast.....can backfire sometime though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

shawpower wrote: »

Id say this is what most people get annoyed about, they think your camping bacause it looks like you are in the killcam. In reality, i can say maybe once every 7-10 games i come across a player who actually sits in one corner with a heartbeat sensor the whole game.

People seem to want someone to blame other than themselves for losing killstreak oppertunities etc. and naturally, the 'camper' fulfils this role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Praetor

What annoys me are the people that cry about camping but seem unable to actually kill the "camper" giving the fact they know exactly where he is holed up.

Well I don quite agree... the problem or what bothers is not when you have only 1 camper but lets say 4or more. So if you are playing free for all, for example, is very annoying as everytime you go through a building you get shot by one of them, and if you choose to go out through the open field then you get shot by snipers, so dont mind one but when you find too many is a bit frustrating...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

Praetor wrote: »
    Well I don quite agree... the problem or what bothers is not when you have only 1 camper but lets say 4or more. So if you are playing free for all, for example, is very annoying as everytime you go through a building you get shot by one of them, and if you choose to go out through the open field then you get shot by snipers, so dont mind one but when you find too many is a bit frustrating...

Just dont play free for all then, players arent gona run around aimlessly through the map and stand in front of your crosshairs, everyone has a strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

There is your problem. COD is not designed with Free for all in mind, the maps aren't balanced for it, the game play isn't designed for a quake style deathmatch. No idea why people even play that crappy game type when you consider the design limitations placed upon it.

Yeah, you are both right, when you play ffa you know that's the way is going to be. I dont really mind tbh, I mean, its a bit annoying when you are trying to get a chopper or a nuke and you get killed by a guy sitting in corner but sure that's life!

I think that the best way to play ffa is to try to own a part of the map and patrol it (and I dont mean a room but like 1/4 of the map), and keep it under control. But then you have the problem of people respawing inside that area you are patrolling (I hate it when you for ex put 2 claymores on to entrances and a guy respawns right in between them and then smokes you... )... very annoying too hehehe, guess I'd never be happy!!

Anyway when I play FFA I accept that there will be people hiding in the corners with a heartbeat sensors, you are better of using ninja, people are normally so concentraded looking at their sensors that they forget to look to whats in front of them.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Actually I have a classic little story on Skidrow.

We first spawned right beside the big rail gun, I ran in pumped a few rounds into the main middle building. Let go of the gun and ran into the corner of the room. A fella runs in and bam I stab him in the back. Knowing he is going to be annoying I leg it out into the laneway and hide behind the bin, true enough he comes running past and bam stab him again. So i leg it inside the door and hide facing up the stairs. True enough the same guy comese in but is moving slower and bam he gets stabbed in the back.

Now I know this fella is getting really annoyed with me because the whole team are now looking for me. So I hide in the room beside the alley and two of them run past. Bam stabbed one and shot the other. SO I change my approach and leg it over the other side, hiding around the steps beside the rail gun and 4 of them run in to the rial gun building. So the grenade launcher comes out. Bam.... 3 dead and one on last stand. I ran in and stabbed him. So knowing full well they are getting annoyed I balst the rail gun to let them know I am still there. Run over to the right hand side into the little alley way and two of them come into the building to try flank me. Shoot the 2 of them but get shot in the back. I ended up with 24/4/2 at the end of the game and called a camper.

All I could do was laugh at them cos they were all so god dam stupid that not once could they find my "camping" spot!! Half the time I was sitting in the open looking at them but they ran straight past me.

What I would call camping is someone staying in the one spot for as long as humanly possible.

jonny24ie wrote: »
    Actually I have a classic little story on Skidrow.

We first spawned right beside the big rail gun, I ran in pumped a few rounds into the main middle building. Let go of the gun and ran into the corner of the room. A fella runs in and bam I stab him in the back. Knowing he is going to be annoying I leg it out into the laneway and hide behind the bin, true enough he comes running past and bam stab him again. So i leg it inside the door and hide facing up the stairs. True enough the same guy comese in but is moving slower and bam he gets stabbed in the back.

Now I know this fella is getting really annoyed with me because the whole team are now looking for me. So I hide in the room beside the alley and two of them run past. Bam stabbed one and shot the other. SO I change my approach and leg it over the other side, hiding around the steps beside the rail gun and 4 of them run in to the rial gun building. So the grenade launcher comes out. Bam.... 3 dead and one on last stand. I ran in and stabbed him. So knowing full well they are getting annoyed I balst the rail gun to let them know I am still there. Run over to the right hand side into the little alley way and two of them come into the building to try flank me. Shoot the 2 of them but get shot in the back. I ended up with 24/4/2 at the end of the game and called a camper.

All I could do was laugh at them cos they were all so god dam stupid that not once could they find my "camping" spot!! Half the time I was sitting in the open looking at them but they ran straight past me.

What I would call camping is someone staying in the one spot for as long as humanly possible.

hehehe

That happens so often... people need to understand that looking coming back looking for revenge is not profitable!

Killing a random guy and having him coming over and over to get a payback sometimes so quickly, that it wouldnt give me time to leave the spot where I killed him initially is a bit funny, sometimes after 7 or 8 kills he might end up killing you but at what cost? even if you end up getting payback I dont think it is worth it. At first I use to be like that but now I just couldnt care less, I might come back once if I respawn close to where I was killed (which rarely happens) but if he kills me again I can tell you I wont be passing anywhere near there for a while as I know he will be waiting for me!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

hehehe

That happens so often... people need to understand that looking coming back looking for revenge is not profitable!

Killing a random guy and having him coming over and over to get a payback sometimes so quickly, that it wouldnt give me time to leave the spot where I killed him initially is a bit funny, sometimes after 7 or 8 kills he might end up killing you but at what cost? even if you end up getting payback I dont think it is worth it. At first I use to be like that but now I just couldnt care less, I might come back once if I respawn close to where I was killed (which rarely happens) but if he kills me again I can tell you I wont be passing anywhere near there for a while as I know he will be waiting for me!

Well I have had the same stupid fella come after me time and time again on numerous occassions, if that happens I try to make them feel small by jumping up and down and going prone and all right before I kill them. The kill cams do look funny and it really annoys them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 singo

folks its a video game play what way you want
    i've no problems with campers if thats the way they play
    stop taking it so serious and remember its only a video game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Don't mind sniping campers, if the guns and perks are there, you have every right to use them. its people who sit in corners like in the cubby hole in the tunnel in skidrow with dualwield rangers that annoy me. they'll only get one kill on you before you kill them but later in the game, they'll get you again because you won't think to look again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

Sniping = Camping! Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭docdolittle

Sheepy99 wrote: »
    Sniping = Camping! Deal with it.
    So if I run around with an intervention with a ACOG scope on... that's camping. :rolleyes: If you're a good sniper you don't need to camp.

Which, as I've said , 0.002% of "snipers" in MW2 are.

The rest are campers and are, in all honesty, probably even worse than the normal campers because they're too afraid to engage the enemy properly. If you snipe in MW2, there's a 99.998% chance you're actually just shit at the game and I'm sure the majority reading this fall into that category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Campers aren't too bad, atleast you know where to go once they do it once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭craze7

That defeats the purpose of the sniper rifle!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,601 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Rb wrote: »
    Which, as I've said , 0.002% of "snipers" in MW2 are.

The rest are campers and are, in all honesty, probably even worse than the normal campers because they're too afraid to engage the enemy properly. If you snipe in MW2, there's a 99.998% chance you're actually just shit at the game and I'm sure the majority reading this fall into that category.

this is a ridiculous post. I suppose real life snipers are in the thick of the battle? I run around a bit with a sniper but if I find a spot to pick people off from long range. Why would i show an enemy where I am if he runs by, doesn't see me and is much more well equipped to kill me than I am to kill him?

I hate this whole thing that people seem to have against snipers like there is a specific way to do it and if you remain scoped in for long enough you're not good. I can quick scope but why would I put myself in that position if it is easily avoidable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Sneak

omg i couldnt care less about campers.. they camp because they dont have enough gun skill to kill u in normal play.. okay u get killed by them once, take a different route, get in behind them... and please for gods sake if u hav grenades use them

id rather get 10 kills 2 deaths by camping than 20 kills and 22 deaths from running around like a fool,people with heartbeat sensors on their guns are worse than campers imo but play the game the way ye want.

Only one thing for it, let your shooting do the talking.

Private match anyone? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Twilightning

I think camping is very lame indeed. Not only that, but it's beyond me how anybody could actually have fun if "playing the game they want" means sitting in the same corner for 5-10 minutes at a time just unloading into anything that walks past. That says mind-numbingly boring to me.

Sniping doesn't necessarily have to incorporate camping into the strategy. From my experience, if you're squatting in the same corner with a sniper rifle racking up a few kills, I'll usually make short work of you by using some other route to sneak up on your ass and plant a claymore behind you. If you're a decent sniper, you'll move around every 2-3 kills. Kill cams do exist in this game, and many people don't skip them.

tl;dr: Camping is as lame as it gets, but if you're against any sort of experienced player you're not going to last very long in the one spot.

I think camping is very lame indeed. Not only that, but it's beyond me how anybody could actually have fun if "playing the game they want" means sitting in the same corner for 5-10 minutes at a time just unloading into anything that walks past. That says mind-numbingly boring to me.

Sniping doesn't necessarily have to incorporate camping into the strategy. From my experience, if you're squatting in the same corner with a sniper rifle racking up a few kills, I'll usually make short work of you by using some other route to sneak up on your ass and plant a claymore behind you. If you're a decent sniper, you'll move around every 2-3 kills. Kill cams do exist in this game, and many people don't skip them.

tl;dr: Camping is as lame as it gets, but if you're against any sort of experienced player you're not going to last very long in the one spot.
    They pass their time in their hiding spot reading those sites about penile enlargement :pac:

Tbh, one of the funniest things is the abusive messages you get off campers when you repeatedly fire "noob tubes" into the spot they keep going back to. C'est la vie.

see knowing how upset you get over been killed by a camper would make it entertaining for me:P plus i would stay in a corner for no more than 1 minute at most and id get me two/three sometimes six kills and move on.

whats a noob tube?? if you dont mind me asking:o still kinda new to the game:o

major bill wrote: »
    whats a noob tube?? if you dont mind me asking:o still kinda new to the game:o

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Noob%20tuber