Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda: Vocation or Job?

• 11-02-2010 9:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭

The cops are going on strike in response to govt pay and pension cuts.

Where do these guys get off in their demands for special treatment? There are 10,000s lining up to join the force.

Their smug entitlement complex is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

When are they going on strike ? Could be the ideal time to break some laws :D :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Your attitude is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I think anyone who puts themselves out there, dealing with the scum of the earth on a daily basis, more often than not being abused whilst doing their best should be entitled to a lot more than they do actually get.

Call it special treatment but I'd call it fair treatment myself.

PS What the hell has your rant got to do with the thread title. ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Where do these guys get off in their demands for special treatment? There are 10,000s lining up to join the force.

Their smug entitlement complex is unbelievable.
    The gardaí can't go on strike so whoever told you that was BSing you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Why shouldnt they go on strike. They are doing a thankless job. Taxi workers go on strike anytime someone farts. Loads of people have gone on strike over the years and ye dont whinge about them. Its not the cops fault that thousands want to join them. Im sure the cops patrolling the streets would be delighted to have more people to help them.
    Saying that though , starting an anti guard thread is gonna get you loads of "thanks".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

I'd say more like sentance.

I don't know what drives people to do this work any more than what drives people to endure a job that involves driving past my house at 5am collecting stinking bins. It is one of the most undesirable jobs I can imagine, but like the binmen I'm glad the Gardai bother their asses doing it, and I have a great deal of respect for them.

Personally, I wouldn't have the heart nor the stomach for it. I think most of us should question if we would before we begin our criticisms of Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Personally i dont know what it is about the standard issue garda trousers..

You can put the finest specimen of a woman into a garda uniform and she will instantly turn into a muck savage with a hole on her like a badly assembled airbag

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Beware of the way the news is worded.
    The vast majority wants some sort of action (as does just about everyone who risks losing money) but they have NOT voted on whether they want an all out illegal strike. Indeed even such a vote would be illegal. And I very much doubt that they majority would go for that anyway, cartainly none of the gardai I know would, or could even see such a thing happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

You obviously don't understand what "industrial action short of a withdrawal of labour" means.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0211/garda.html

Sure don't let facts get in the way of an uneducated, garda bashing rant:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭DogmaticLefty

I think anyone who puts themselves out there, dealing with the scum of the earth on a daily basis, more often than not being abused whilst doing their best should be entitled to a lot more than they do actually get.

Call it special treatment but I'd call it fair treatment myself.

Stupid logic.

It's not just gardai who have to deal with skobies on a daily basis. Taxi drivers and city centre shop assistants get spat at and stabbed on a regular basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

Stupid logic.

Oh the irony!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Stupid logic.

It's not just gardai who have to deal with skobies on a daily basis. Taxi drivers and city centre shop assistants get spat at and stabbed on a regular basis.

Paulzx said it all about re the first part of your post.

Not as regular as a member of the Gardai, who is called to assist the taxi drivers and shop assistants who are under the attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Where are option 3 and 4 (Dodge and Scam.)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

snyper wrote: »
    Personally i dont know what it is about the standard issue garda trousers..

You can put the finest specimen of a woman into a garda uniform and she will instantly turn into a muck savage with a hole on her like a badly assembled airbag
    Not the new garda in my local station ;)

ooooffffft!!! :p

Also she says it's sexist to call her a bean garda and demanded we call her garda :D

I'd respect her authority anyway!!!

Bonito wrote: »

Also she says it's sexist to call her a bean garda and demanded we call her garda :D

I'd respect her authority anyway!!!

Fiesty.

Next day your passing bring in a dog collar and leash and ask her if she wants to go for a walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭elsy

Op you haven't a clue they voted for industrial action not including strike only 18 per cent were in favour of strike. my husband is a garda and now due to all the cuts he know earns under 30k a year and thats gross pay without tax and levies he has been bitten punched and im sure more i don't know about and i tell ya now he is one of the good guys that would never abuse his power. the hours are a nightmare we have 2 young children and some weeks he might be lucky to c them twice. all this for 30k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Sure let them go on strike, the army / FCA have our backs.

Except if its snowing, I suppose. Or a bank holiday. Or if an actual crime is taking place.....Eeek! Scratch that! :eek:

elsy wrote: »
    Op you haven't a clue they voted for industrial action not including strike only 18 per cent were in favour of strike. my husband is a garda and now due to all the cuts he know earns under 30k a year and thats gross pay without tax and levies he has been bitten punched and im sure more i don't know about and i tell ya now he is one of the good guys that would never abuse his power. the hours are a nightmare we have 2 young children and some weeks he might be lucky to c them twice. all this for 30k

I work for 19k

I used to earn nearly 40k, i was made redundant twice in 12 months

Its standard 40 hr week but between this and that it ends up to be 50.. for the same money.

I dont have a pension

My boss is an asshole

I dont know if i will have a job next month. Its the private sector.

We have no Union.

I have a mortage a fiance with arthritus at 28 years of age and an 8 year old with a hole in his heart.

Lifes a bitch

Ride the slump like the rest of us.

Have a nice day

he know earns under 30k a year and thats gross pay without tax and levies

Did you factor the allowances into that figure? Is that pre- or post-tax?

The poor chap. If he's so unhappy, he might think about another career? I hear sales is very lucrative (if he can hack it).

I know people with advanced degrees who earn less than 30k. And they're damn happy to have a job that they love doing, despite the fact that they have no pension, will have to work till they're well over 55 and have to pay 100% of their rent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Did you factor the allowances into that figure? Is that pre- or post-tax?

The poor chap. If he's so unhappy, he might think about another career? I hear sales is very lucrative.

I know people with advanced degrees who earn less than 30k. And they're damn happy to have a job that they love doing, despite the fact that they have no pension, will have to work till they're 55 and have to pay 100% of their rent.

I don't think it's entirely about the money: these guys WANT to do the job, they just want to respectflly paid for the job they do.

I think something's wrong when a sales executive gets paid mroe than a guard.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

I'd imagine the overwhelming majority of new Garda recruits join to at the very least do some good and contribute positively to our society.

After a short amount of time, both the job its self, the public they've to deal with, and moreso the absolute corruption of the entire garda force and the public system they're in, (When you're on holidays leave as a Guard , you get paid for unsociable hours for you would have worked if you were there, even though you're not there, and then your colleagues get paid overtime to cover your shift,) lead to the situation we're in now.

It's endemic, and we're paying for it.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I don't think it's entirely about the money: these guys WANT to do the job, they just want to respectflly paid for the job they do.

So what's a "respectful" salary then eh?

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

The cops are going on strike in response to govt pay and pension cuts...

Don't be silly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So what's a "respectful" salary then eh?

Therein lies the question...! It's a good question, but it's something you'd to ask them. Obviously, they feel that they're not getting it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

A-Trak wrote: »
    I'd imagine the overwhelming majority of new Garda recruits join to at the very least do some good and contribute positively to our society.

You'd think people who volunteer to work in homeless shelters were "respectfully paid".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

You'd think people who volunteer to work in homeless shelters were "respectfully paid".

Ehm....you'd do well to read the rest of my post that you've quoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭elsy

sniper by name sniper by nature! that 30k is before tax thats what gross means! we have a 2yr old going thru chemo so i am quite aware life sucks. can i ask the last time someone got shot or stabbed or killed in your line of work?

Taxi driving is dangerous. Bin men handle syringes. Gardai get spat at. Truck drivers get killed. Farmers get caught in machinery.

The difference is that when a Garda gets injured, they get massive compensation and indefinite sick leave.

And besides, you'd think they'd weigh up the risks before they joined the force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

A-Trak wrote: »
    I'd imagine the overwhelming majority of new Garda recruits join to at the very least do some good and contribute positively to our society. get a state pension and retire much earlier than any other sector of society

It's endemic, and we're paying for it.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Vocation my arse, they chose to do a job that just so happens to be on the front-line.

Same as teachers, and nurses etc. They should all be commended for the good work they do but they shouldn't automatically be held in a higher regard than someone working in the private sector just because of their career decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Slugs

they have NOT voted on whether they want an all out illegal strike

Whether you believe it's "illegal" or not is irrelevant. At the end of the day, if the law enforcers go on stike, who's going to enfore the legality?

They have every right to go on strike. It's really down to HOW they go on strike

sniper by name sniper by nature! that 30k is before tax thats what gross means!

So is my19k
    we have a 2yr old going thru chemo so i am quite aware life sucks.

Im very sorry to hear that, i hope the little nipper recovers

can i ask the last time someone got shot or stabbed or killed in your line of work?

More people die in my line fo work every year than in the Gardai. Yes, the gardai do have to deal with alot of sh1t, its not as if he wasnt aware of it when he applied for the job

..anyhow, im from athlone,i dont need to go to work to get stabbed

Taxi driving is dangerous. Bin men handle syringes. Gardai get spat at. Truck drivers get killed. Farmers get caught in machinery.

The difference is that when a Garda gets injured, they get massive compensation and indefinite sick leave.

And besides, you'd think they'd weigh up the risks before they joined the force.

I've worked at the Garda compensation ..... they used to get massive compensation...now they still get over the odds compensation...however the vast majority of garda compensation cases are exaggerated - I stand by this from listening to gardai in court and their "version" of events.

Almost every compensation case the person was an international/county or extremely active person playing sports 4-5days a week....representing the gardai at international events etc....I don't doubt they have a tough job...but they definately get BAD advice when it comes to injuries.

in many of the cases I've sat into - the garda explains that they were very worried about contracting AIDS/Hep-C from some scummer spitting into their eye or on a cut...or biting them..... and despite the gardai being told during training that the actual chance of getting AIDS/Hep-C from a bite/spit ....is negligible (0.02% I think was quoted in court by a garda expert)

Anyway as for this comment - "you'd think they'd weigh up the risks before they joined the force. "

its a tough job they do .... but they should expect it and cant expect that a scumbag/junkie will behave civil towards them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Ruen

Your husband should find himself a handy 9-5.
    He must the only Guard in the country who earns less than €30k what with the rent allowance(€4374 btw), night allowance worth more than double time, Sunday allowance worth one fifth of basic weekly pay, there's a Saturday allowance too:confused:, and of course there's the allowance he gets when on holiday leave to cover allowances that he would've gotten if he hadnt been on holidays.

Fact is Gardai are about the best paid public servants we have and should stop whinging, nobody ever put a gun to anyones head and said 'join the Guards or else'

It's all here http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2009/1112/1224258653768.html about the allowances and substantial overtime for anyone who's interested

whens the last time a garda was shot or fatally stabbed ? (killed by a car I remember before christmas)

EDIT: my recollection is 1996 ..... Jerry mccabe springs to mind

EDIT2: I stand corrected 1999 was the latest I could find.... http://www.esatclear.ie/~garda/honour.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Slugs wrote: »
    Whether you believe it's "illegal" or not is irrelevant. At the end of the day, if the law enforcers go on stike, who's going to enfore the legality?

They have every right to go on strike. It's really down to HOW they go on strike

I really believe that they have no intention of going on a full blown strike.
    It could lead to a collapse of the justice system.
    And contrary to popular opinion they aren't all ignorant gombeens, they are regular joes like the rest of us.

They're just making shapes.

Now while I will always stand up for the Gardai when they get abused for doing a crap job and being ignorant boggers etc, any action they wanna take they can just f off like anyone else in the public sector, we're in a bad recession ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Vacation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

They should all be commended for the good work they do but they shouldn't automatically be held in a higher regard than someone working in the private sector just because of their career decision

Just as they shouldn't be held in lower regard just because of their career decision.
    When times were good there was serious money to be made in certain parts of the private sector. Some people, rather than choose this, chose to join the gardai knowing that whilst pay may have been lower at that time they were entering a secure job with good entitlements.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 fat liar

This makes me sick. These people have guaranteed work and they want more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

In all fairness they knew what job they were getting into.. They chose the profession fully knowing what was out there, knowing they were public service and that they are not able to go on strike..

What ever way they decide to play this its gonna hurt the general public not the gov.. and in hurting the public it will turn any support they have away..imo!!

In all fairness they knew what job they were getting into.. They chose the profession fully knowing what was out there, knowing they were public service and that they are not able to go on strike..

What ever way they decide to play this its gonna hurt the general public not the gov.. and in hurting the public it will turn any support they have away..imo!!

Exactly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The days of 'vocation jobs' are long gone, joining the Gardai is not a vocation. Having a sense of civic duty, or an interest in the community's safety does not make it a vocation. A basic interest or desire is the prerequisite for any career pathway. A lad who has an interest in wood and working with his hands, then becomes a carpenter. So is that a vocation? If so, well then every job could then be categorised as a vocation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

fat liar wrote: »
    This makes me sick. These people have guaranteed work and they want more!

They don't want more. They just don't want less.

Sometimes you have to take the good with the bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 BillyBoyBad

To be fair they're worth every cent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Vocation my arse, they chose to do a job that just so happens to be on the front-line.

Same as teachers, and nurses etc. They should all be commended for the good work they do but they shouldn't automatically be held in a higher regard than someone working in the private sector just because of their career decision

While I wouldn't go as far as that, don't join the a police force and then moan about guns, druggies and assaults!

You signed up for it!

Having said that, there is a lack of respect for authority now that wasn't there years ago. People still expect respect back.

It is undoubtedly a tougher job than 30 years ago, though the Garda murder rate was higher then!

Anyway, back to the OP. Guards and Army officers are servants of the State. They are supposed to be there for us, regardless of politics and economics.

I'd still have sympathy for them, but I'll await the impact of the action.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/images/boundedtile/2010/0212/1224264273478_1.jpg

Gives the phrase "pigs at the trough" a new meaning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

This is a tough one for the After Hours crowd to deal with.
    On the one hand you're asking them to criticise public servants.
    On the other hand you're asking them to criticise the people who, potentially, have the first chance to exact physical retribution on the 'scumbags'.
    This is pitting each of their greatest loves against one another.
    If you want bang for your buck, in terms of attacking the public sector, you should probably stick with teachers.
    Oh my, how they'll flock...