Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen goods

• 11-02-2010 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭

have any of you ever been offered stolen stuff?

I was living in america a few years ago and there was what amounted to an organised market where all the crack heads went every day and sold whatever they had stolen every morning. cops couldnt prove where they were stealing from so just let it slide. never managed to get anything there though.. turns out asians get up REALLY early and snag all the deals.

Anyway, a buddy got his phone stolen on a night out just recently and it set me wondering, how do stolen goods get fenced in ireland?
    Im sure some end up on ebay, adverts and cash converters etc, but most are surely sold one to one.

ever been offered some?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I dunno, I was never aproached with "hey, want to buy a stolen phone" before...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Oneironaut

mawk wrote: »
    never managed to get anything there though.. turns out asians get up REALLY early and snag all the deals.

Damn you Asiaaaaaaans!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Probably bought some stolen stuff at markets, Athy, Clara etc. or at the Ploughing Championships..not off some randomer on the street though.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

I've been asked once or twice "u wanna buy a new phone m8?", I naturally declined the offers

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

No,just stuff that fell off the back of a lorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Xluna wrote: »
    No,just stuff that fell off the back of a lorry.

Which amazingly still has its packaging in pretty pristine condition. How slow do these lorries drive?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Which amazingly still has its packaging in pretty pristine condition. How slow do these lorries drive?

Well there are local speed limits and diesel conservation is always an issue. These drivers get marked on stuff like that. Lighter truck = better MPG. Personally if I was a truckie I'd always be emptying crap off of my truck. Fecking greens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Well there are local speed limits and diesel conservation is always an issue. These drivers get marked on stuff like that. Lighter truck = better MPG. Personally if I was a truckie I'd always be emptying crap off of my truck. Fecking greens.

What if you're not transporting greens?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

in dublin?

30kph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Dr. Feelgood

I was living in america a few years ago and there was what amounted to an organised market where all the crack heads went every day and sold whatever they had stolen every morning. cops couldnt prove where they were stealing from so just let it slide. never managed to get anything there though.. turns out asians get up REALLY early and snag all the deals.

Anyway, a buddy got his phone stolen on a night out just recently and it set me wondering, how do stolen goods get fenced in ireland?
    Im sure some end up on ebay, adverts and cash converters etc, but most are surely sold one to one.

ever been offered some?

this made me laugh for some reason!

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    What if you're not transporting greens?

Then you're part of the problem and not part of the solution man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

this made me laugh for some reason!

Of course it did, Dr. :)

Then you're part of the problem and not part of the solution man.

Of course he is, Dr. :(

I'm changing profession.

Of course you are, Professor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

I was offered a spurs jersey outside the abbey theatre once.
    Said no for more than one reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

I was walking to the pub before and two blokes in a car drove up really fast "Hey mate, do you want to buy a laptop?". Me: "No". Them "Grand" and sped off!

Another time I was actually in a pub and a bloke came in and was trying to sell someone I knew a "digital camera". Mate asked me what did I think. I said it's not a digital camera to which the seller said, "yes it is, look at the counter on it". That was the only thing digital about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

People who purchase products such as olives from Israeli settlers on the west bank are receiving stolen goods. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Leobin wrote: »
    I was walking to the pub before and two blokes in a car drove up really fast "Hey mate, do you want to buy a laptop?". Me: "No". Them "Grand" and sped off!

That story had me on the edge of my seat :p;)

I would buy stolen goods at the right price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

Was only wondering about this this morning. Hearing of lots of burglaries in the area, where do all the stolen TV's, laptops etc go? How do they sell them on?

BluesBerry wrote: »
    That story had me on the edge of my seat :p;)

I would buy stolen goods at the right price

I thought it was ****e but it was just a bit surreal the way they did it. Had the laptop 'bag' hanging out of the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I know of a few lads, who happen to drive around in vans, who can get you just about anything.
    Give them a wink and a nod at a car auction and they'll inform you of some of the 'other' goods they don't have on display

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

<30kph Grroooaaannnnn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Leobin wrote: »

Be aware when buying dodgy laptops.
    A common ploy is to show you the laptop, and then invite you into the car to make the deal. They will place the laptop in a bag and leave it on the floor. Once you hand over the money, they will give you the bag and drive away.
    Unfortunately, unknown to you, they had 2 identical bags on the floor - the one you have just contains an Argos catalogue or something equally worthless.

dilallio wrote: »
    Be aware when buying dodgy laptops.
    A common ploy is to show you the laptop, and then invite you into the car to make the deal. They will place the laptop in a bag and leave it on the floor. Once you hand over the money, they will give you the bag and drive away.
    Unfortunately, unknown to you, they had 2 identical bags on the floor - the one you have just contains an Argos catalogue or something equally worthless.

Which is why I said no. Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

turns out asians get up REALLY early and snag all the deals.

Maybe they just stayed up quite late. That's what I'd rather do.
    Then again, I'm not Asian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Maybe they just stayed up quite late. That's what I'd rather do.
    Then again, I'm not Asian.

maybe they're on asian time :D and not irish time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

turns out asians get up REALLY early and snag all the deals.

Fluctuations!

FLUCK YOU PADDIES TOO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

People who purchase products such as olives from Israeli settlers on the west bank are receiving stolen goods. :mad:

Fair point but why stop at olives from Israel/Palestine

People who buy oil (or anything produced from same) from Iraq etc are receiving stolen goods

People who buy goods manufactured in a sweatshop are receiving stolen goods

People who buy non-fairtrade produce are receiving stolen goods

In fact just about everything in your gaf (with the possible exception of your collection of pirate DVD's) is probably stolen goods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Fair point but why stop at olives from Israel/Palestine

People who buy oil (or anything produced from same) from Iraq etc are receiving stolen goods

People who buy goods manufactured in a sweatshop are receiving stolen goods

People who buy non-fairtrade produce are receiving stolen goods

In fact just about everything in your gaf (with the possible exception of your collection of pirate DVD's) is probably stolen goods

OOH someone put a non organic weetabix in his bowl this morning