Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Live4less Unemployment discount card for €10.

• 11-02-2010 8:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭

I came across this on line, anyone on the dole would be interested. Discounts in various outlets when you produce this card. http://www.live4less.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

The chancers want €10 for it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭majiktripp

I'd rather have my €10, but thanks for the link all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭pah

seems to be like an admin fee.

as if being on the dole wouldn't be bad enough - you can get a card that announces it to every customer in the queue behind you. :confused:

card2.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭d31b0y

Some extra reading on this scheme for those interested.

Link.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Can they really check if you're on the dole or not? The Welfare are hardly giving out that info are they? Maybe they're just putting a new spin on the old group-membership scheme thing...

It'd be gas cruising up to the counter at Beshoffs in your snickers khaks and tool belt etc looking for a euro off your fish n chips cos you're on the scratcher.

Get up outta that ye hungry bastárd and head on over to :pac: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055454434

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

pah wrote: »
    as if being on the dole wouldn't be bad enough - you can get a card that announces it to every customer in the queue behind you. :confused:

Thats exactly what I thought .... what price dignity eh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Why not offer the card to everyone. Not trying to knock it but this sort of thing annoys me. Basically these businesses offpeak is during the day when most people are working so they want to get more in the door then. Thats all.

This is BS. Just like off-liciences closing at 10pm to curve drinking but its just to get more people in the pub.

Just like you have to buy a special rail card to get student rail tickets.

Charging for the card is the final straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

rom wrote: »
    Why not offer the card to everyone. Not trying to knock it but this sort of thing annoys me. Basically these businesses offpeak is during the day when most people are working so they want to get more in the door then. Thats all.

This is BS. Just like off-liciences closing at 10pm to curve drinking but its just to get more people in the pub.

Just like you have to buy a special rail card to get student rail tickets.

now THATS a conspiracy theory :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭johnfás

What a fantastic offering... it entitles you to €30 off renting a limousine fire engine for an adult party and to a hair cut at the Grafton Barber for €5 more than they charge a student. Waste of money. If you shop around service providers other than those listed on their website you can do far better irrespective of paying €10 for a piece of plastic.

http://www.live4less.ie/a-z-menu-item-7.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

When it starts to give discounts for booze and fags it may be worth getting. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭Oracle

Yeah it'd encourage the unemployed to spend on booze and fags! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

johnfás wrote: »
    What a fantastic offering... it entitles you to €30 off renting a limousine fire engine for an adult party

what a fantastic offer - where was this when I was on the scratcher? I used to spend a FORTUNE on limousine fire engines to get to the dole office. Coulda saved myself a few quid! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Live4Less

Thanks for the feedback and views on Live4Less.

My business partner and I were on social welfare when we set up this business and are now on the back to work allowance so we are an honest voice of the unemployed. The charge for the card is like pah stated, an administration fee.

The purpose of Live4Less is provide people in a difficult situation an outlet for getting goods and services at a discounted rate which is required now more than ever due to the reduction in income. Some of the offers will be more useful than others but we want to provide a good spread of businesses to provide the most choice to Live4Less cardholders. Many of the companies on board are practical and relevant to consumers even when they find themselves unemployed including pharmacies, gyms, bookstores, hardware stores and national rail travel.

Due to the massive numbers now on the live register the stigma attached to being unemployed or receiving a social welfare payment has abated. Having a Live4Less card does not signify a lack of dignity nor is it a means to announce you are on social welfare, it demonstrates a savy shopper currently in a difficult position who needs to save as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭yknaa

10% of Bohs season tickets and merchandise is a handy saving with live4less. There is no need to arrive at the game in a limo fire engine though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 blueshoes111

I signed up for this card just before Christmas and while I have yet to avail of the fire engine discount :p , I have made some pretty decent savings on the more practical, day to day items. Off the top of my head, to date I've used it for rail travel, gym membership (which I probably wouldn't have been able to afford since being made redundant otherwise), hairdressers, bookstores and the occasional purchase of a sandwich or smoothie. I managed to recover my €10 relatively quickly.

Obviously nobody wants the world and his wife to know that they are on the dole but the card itself doesn't make any reference to the fact that its for people on social welfare and in my own experience, nobody (neither the customers standing behind me nor the staff member that I produce the card to) has batted an eyelid at me using the card. And given last week's live register figures, I would be almost certain that some of those people standing behind you are also in the same boat and have been forced to sign on of late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Live4Less wrote: »
    Thanks for the feedback and views on Live4Less.

Welcome to boards, don't mind them, they are always like this. Grab a hobnob and stay for a while.

Have a job meself but would appreciate any saving I could get if times are bad. Fair play to ya I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

yeah i agree, at the end of the day your offering a service, if people dont want it they wont buy it, simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

rom wrote: »

In fairness:

A. The printer cost money
    B. The cards cost money
    C. Posting them costs money
    D. They are a business, business that do things for free dont tend to get very far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭gollem_1975

In fairness:

A. The printer cost money
    B. The cards cost money
    C. Posting them costs money
    D. They are a business, business that do things for free dont tend to get very far

or alternatively the card provider could charge the businesses themselves for the advertising.

these businesses would be glad of the custom that might come their way as a result of the card.

ultimately the market will determine if its a success