Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giant Rapid 1 or Specialized Sirrus Elite ????

• 09-02-2010 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭

Hello,

Just looking for any comments anyone might be kind enough to make in relation to choosing between these two bikes.

I currently have a Giant Cypress SE hybrid. Have it about 4 years and its grand for pottering around on. I dont use it an awful lot to be honest but I'm starting to get back into it and I just find it a bit heavy and the suspension bounces around a fair bit going up hills - the gears tend to go into spasm if i try and change them under pressure up a hill as well....

Anyway, I was thinking of getting another hybrid style bike but with more of a road bike edge to it. I'd only be cycling about 20-30 miles really. I'd hope to get the distance up over time but I will never be taking it too seriously - just for fitness.

I'm considering the Giant Rapid 1 - which is costing about 970 euro

or

the Specialized Sirrus Elite - which is about 800 euro or so.

Might be cheaper to get it on-line or what not - but i'll be using the bike to work scheme so need to buy it from someone signed up to that scheme.

Any major pros or cons to either bike that I should be aware of ?? Or even an alternative bike that I should consider ?? It would have to have flat bars and be reasonably comfortable.

Also if anyone could recommend a decent bike shop in Dublin ?

Thanks very much for any comments:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

Personally I would go for the Giant out of those two, as it is basically a road bike with flat handlebars as oppossed to a hybrid, you even get spd pedals with it. You could convert it at a later date if you got more involved with your cycling, all you would need is the bars and sti (brake/gear) levers, and you could always get them through the "wanted" section here for a good price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,939 ✭✭✭Russman

Both good bikes to be sure, my personal choice would be the Rapid, I think its the best looking flat bar around.

I was in the same situation as you a couple of months ago, wanting to upgrade from a old Giant hybrid (mine was a CRS), almost bought a Rapid 2, and ended up going for a proper road bike instead. Couldn't be happier with it, and, like yourself I have no intention of doing huge mileage, its just for commuting and fitness.

Possibly you should consider a road bike, especially if you intend to increase your mileage over time. Comfort was the biggest issue for me when buying (due to hip injury/surgery in the last couple of years) and a drop bar bike can easily be set up in a very comfortable way.

Thats my tuppence worth anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭wersal gummage

Thanks XZ and Russman.

Unfortunately a road bike is not an option for me. I've had surgery on my lower back and a bicycle probably isn't a good idea at all:(

The Giant Rapid is about as aggressive a riding position as I think I will ever get away with. I've yet to try it out though - went into two shops today and neither had it in stock. Heading out to a place in Tallaght tomorrow evening to look at one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭xz

here you go on the bike shop, and they even sell the Giant Rapid 1 http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewContent.asp?idpage=5 probably where you are going anyway, this is in Tallaght

xz wrote: »
    here you go on the bike shop, and they even sell the Giant Rapid 1 http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewContent.asp?idpage=5

thats where i'm heading tomorrow for a look !

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭blobbie

Picked up the Sirrus Elite on BtW in early December.

Not the worst bike (comfortable cycling position) but the rear wheel is a piece of cheap $hit. Requires constant truing (once, maybe twice a week) and have managed to get a couple of punctures. Have replaced the tyre and plan to replace the rear wheel in the near future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

The Giant Rapid is about as aggressive a riding position as I think I will ever get away with. I've yet to try it out though - went into two shops today and neither had it in stock. Heading out to a place in Tallaght tomorrow evening to look at one.
    There is not much difference in the Geometry of the Defy and the Rapid. Ask the guy in the shop to hold them side by side and you'll see they are very similar. The Rapid in fact has a longer reach (measurement D), so the Defy may even be more comfortable.

DEFY.jpg

10Dash-Rapid.jpg

I have owned an FCR (older of version Rapid) and an SCR (older version of Defy) and to be honest I feel more comfortable on the Road bike. I also have lower back/flexibility issues.

Thanks for all the comments, I went for the Giant Rapid. Haven't picked it up yet (bike to work paperwork etc).

Anyway - it has the SPD pedals - I dont know a whole lot about stuff like this. The bike is being supplied with little clip on things with the SPDs so I can cycle it with normal shoes.

If I do pick up a pair of cycling shoes - I just need a pair of SPD compatible shoes ?? I've seen a lot of talk about cleats ???? Be great if anyone could shed any light on this for me !

Thanks again.

I went over my budget for the bike and now i'm looking at shorts, shoes and a heart rate monitor...... just what I needed, another expensive hobby:eek:

My bike came with toe-clips which I hated and couldn't get comfortable with so I ended up getting these:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=5937

and a pair of these:

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=46577

Actually got the shoes up in CSS as opposed to online.

Not very "roadie" I know, but its my first foray into clipless pedals & cycling shoes and, fingers crossed, so far, so good.

Thanks Russman,

sorry i didn't explain myself very well there. the bike i got has the SPD pedals. However, as i dont have bike shoes - they are clipping 'normal' pedals into the SPD pedals - so i can cycle the bike with regular shoes.

Anyway, all i need is a pair of those shoes ?? i can ignore all this talk about cleats ?!

Thanks.

Eh, I'm not really sure to be honest :).
    I think that if you use cycling shoes you'll definitely need cleats of some sort (open to correction here), otherwise they're just runners. The spd cleats came with those pedals that I bought and when i then bought the shoes in CSS yer man fitted the cleats to the shoes for me......

Maybe a set of cleats should come with the pedals CSS are fitting for you ?

I've seen similar pedals to the ones I bought in another shop (made by BBB I think) and the cleats definitely came in the box with those pedals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 borgbob

Hi Wersal,

I am looking for a new bike and Rapid 1 is what I am currently considering.

Have you received yours yet and if so could you please give us your 2 cents on it?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Rapidmike

Hi guys
    thAnks for all your help , bought a new rapid 1 last week and did a 70k yesterday !! Wow!! Coming from a trek 7.5 fx which is a great commuter but I was struggling against my mates carbon racers at weekends . Not any more beat them on short sprints and downhill now after that the engine needs help not the bike!
    I was going to buy the advanced but I needed the xl frame to lower the seat to get a more upright position as I broke my back and neck 5years ago and found drops too uncomfortable due to the amount of time spent on the hoods,advanced wasn't available in xl and bought the 1 instead €1100 cheaper and only 1.2lb heavier !! How much do you pay for a lb ,, nuts' .
    Tried the trek 7.7 fx €1400 !! and nowhere near as good
    in summary
    rapid 1 €990 before haggling and as quick as a defy road bike
    no contest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Armada Security

Hi Guys

I am looking to get the Rapid1, I have been quoted €1,070 and was wondering if the guys that are stating €970 could let me know where to buy it.

I am looking at this bike to get me in shape, would anyone recommend anything else..? I am 6ft 2 and 19st... all advise would be welcomed.

Eddie

Bike prices have taken quite a jump this year. So that will explain it. This thread is from 2010.

Best thing to do is to ring around and see how low you can get each shop to go. Giant are the biggest brand, so the vast majority of shops sell them. There's a shop in Dundalk that sells Giant (and Felt) at least 10% cheaper than anywhere else I've seen. PM if you want details.

interesting to see this thread.
    The Giant Rapid is about as aggressive a riding position as I think I will ever get away with.

says the fella who's now on a road bike with a 130mm stem....
    I'd only be cycling about 20-30 miles really. I'd hope to get the distance up over time but I will never be taking it too seriously

says the fella who's now cycling 140km handy enough on a carbon road bike with a set of (albeit second-hand) zipps !!

says the fella who's now on a road bike with a 130mm stem....
    Join the club.

There should be a "I bought a hybrid when I should have bought a road bike. Don't make the same mistake I did" thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Armada Security

Bike prices have taken quite a jump this year. So that will explain it. This thread is from 2010.

Best thing to do is to ring around and see how low you can get each shop to go. Giant are the biggest brand, so the vast majority of shops sell them. There's a shop in Dundalk that sells Giant (and Felt) at least 10% cheaper than anywhere else I've seen. PM if you want details.

Not to sure how to PM on this am only new to boards.ie

If you can PM me the shop details.

Thanks Ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Join the club.

There should be a "I bought a hybrid when I should have bought a road bike. Don't make the same mistake I did" thread.

what about a "im glad i didnt listen and bought a Hybrid, and ive never looked back" thread :D I picked up a Boardman Hybrid over a full on road bike and im very happy with my decision

projectgtr wrote: »
    what about a "im glad i didnt listen and bought a Hybrid, and ive never looked back" thread :D I picked up a Boardman Hybrid over a full on road bike and im very happy with my decision
    how long ago was that?

a couple of months, and thats after coming from a road bike

You'll be back.:p

I doubt it :D , my Boardman Hybrid with different bar extension is all the bike i need, i understand what makes a road bike "better" but it doesnt suit me at all, ive even had a few friends who are currently using road bikes comment on the bike and how it could change their perception of Hybrids, Road bikes are good they just arent for me ;)