Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ProDrift round at citywest hotel

• 08-02-2010 7:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 26

just saw there will be a round of the prodrift series at citywest hotel in saggart, no excuses now for us dubs not to go see,usually only make it to the mondello round,now i ve no excuses not to catch two rounds, should be fun to have it there,but maybe a bit slow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

ill be their like i am at most takin pics...

if anyone wants any PM me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

i havent followed the drifting since rose green went.is it dying out or what.i never hear of it now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 abceeire1

mondello do practice days every month now, not sure if that s just because they need the money, then must be more good top level drift cars now then ever in the comps, i know some lads are off doing other drift series around the world, but irish standard i dont think has dropped, just a shame all the big names not at all the events,only big drift event i saw last year was in helsinki so hard to say what its like now, but i know that the prodrift day in mondello is there biggest day of the year now with some of the uk things gone, btcc and superbikes i think are both gone, maybe they dont advertise drifting so much now cause it has it following, dont think its got way smaller or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

That drifting that was on before ,ie Rosegreen and Mondello was a ****ing joke... way too expensive to attend and the company hosting it looked like a pack of crooks... why was it so expensive?
    Also the muppet who was on the mic was a grade "A" gob****e..
    Loved himself and was over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

abceeire1 wrote: »
    mondello do practice days every month now, not sure if that s just because they need the money, then must be more good top level drift cars now then ever in the comps, i know some lads are off doing other drift series around the world, but irish standard i dont think has dropped, just a shame all the big names not at all the events,only big drift event i saw last year was in helsinki so hard to say what its like now, but i know that the prodrift day in mondello is there biggest day of the year now with some of the uk things gone, btcc and superbikes i think are both gone, maybe they dont advertise drifting so much now cause it has it following, dont think its got way smaller or anything

the best drift events are the low level ones, no offence to the " Pro " drifters but Imho - When you've 5-7000 spent on a 5000ish tops car ( 10k budget bar tyres spares ) i think its great when they go for it, i mean Really go for it when they have everything to lose, unlike the bigger teams who have more money man power etc.

Also they're normally closer matched, friendly rivalry etc

makes for great craic all round.

Pdfile wrote: »
    the best drift events are the low level ones, no offence to the " Pro " drifters but Imho - When you've 5-7000 spent on a 5000ish tops car ( 10k budget bar tyres spares ) i think its great when they go for it, i mean Really go for it when they have everything to lose, unlike the bigger teams who have more money man power etc.

Also they're normally closer matched, friendly rivalry etc

makes for great craic all round.

i ve car now more suited to drifting, but best crack i ever had was me in my 1000euro carlton gsi and a mate in his 525bmw probably worth 500euro,and two of having a go at twin drifting in rosegreen, best drifting high ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 chuck_g

I had a very bad round in Punchestown this year, loads of problems but a good track layout etc.

Roll on Citywest, it will be a great event.

i was there at punch, only saw team stuff and top 16, i should really get there earlier though, i like seeing more of a variety of cars, which u dont see to much , if you took out everything with a nissan engine yesterday from top 16, there d be only 2 or 3 cars left
    great level of skill i thought, did it make it hard with it not being very smooth, looked lil bouncy in 1st 2 turns
    and thought maybe james dean was into final when he was asked to go at 3rd one more time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Citywest is my back garden, and I'm seriously wondering where the actual event is gonna take place?

I know it's in the hotel, but where exactly, cos all there is is 2 carparks and a Golf Course :confused:

the car park by the gym is huge, and u can start them off far side of the conference centre, i used to work there and wanted so to take the 200 around the car parks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 DECO563

were in citywest would it be have they set up a track or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

They're practicing right now, so I'm gonna pop up and see what the story is with placement.