Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reports from Killarney

• 07-02-2010 12:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭

Congratulations to 18 players here are in the money!
    Today starts the final day of main event at 3pm.

The blinds is on level: 25,000-50,000 with Ante:5,000

No/Player name/Chip Count/Qualified Pub/County/Favourite Player

1 Elaine Kiernan 2,757,000 The Continental/Laois Phil Ivey
    2 Pat Casey 1,219,000 Murphy/Cork N/A
    3 Sean Bollard 724,000 Kielys of MM/Dublin Nicky Synnott
    4 John O'Donoghue 585,000 Big Slick/Dublin M.P
    5 Maurice sicke 510,000 The Eglington/Galway Martin Sicke
    6 Mark Dawson 499,000 Molloys/Wexford N/A
    7 Patrick O'Reilly 491,000 Delaneys/Laois N/A
    8 Jason Hayes 485,000 Reillys Bar/Limerick Mark"Almand"Ryan
    9 Brian Kavanagh 426,000 The Goose Tavern/Dublin Garath Johnston
    10 Anthony Murphy 420,000 Matt McCoys/Limerick Gus hansen
    11 Austin Sheehy 341,000 The Goose Tavern/Dublin Gus hansen
    12 Martin Byrne 333,000 Jacobs Well/Wicklow Gus hansen
    13 Dean Hunt 299,000 The Rag/Wexford Phil Ivey
    14 Lee Davidson 292,000 Bridge House/Kildare Lee davidson
    15 James Cafferkey 282,000 OD's/Mayo Allen Cumingham
    16 Gerard Connolly 255,000 Callans/Monaghan Phil Ivey
    17 Noel Treacy 250,000 The Beautiful Bird/Galway Gus hansen
    18 Rebecca Deleware 215,000 Olde Bray Inn/Wicklow N/A

Regards Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭winstons pt

Congratulations to our Winners !

Side Event €50 Turbo Freeze-out

Entries: 195 Players
    Total prize pool: €7800

Place €Prize Name
    1st 2000 Lorna Crelan
    2nd 1050 Paraic Duffy
    3rd 750 Padraig Brosnan
    4th 650 Maurice O'Donoghue
    5th 500 Colly Wheatley
    6th 450 Pat Fattray
    7th 350 Tom Dunne
    8th 300 Nick McCann
    9th 250 Niall Welleher
    10th 200 Michael Camen
    11th 200 Stephen Collins
    12th 200 Antoine Denis
    13th 150 James Murnaghan
    14th 150 Noeleen Moore
    15th 150 Enda Mulligan
    16th 100 Monica Ketly
    17th 100 Ken Clucas
    18th 100 Des Corbett
    19th 100 Audan O'Donnell

Regards Paddy

A Big Congratulations to our 19 Winners of our €65,000 Prize Pool!

Place/Player name/Winnings/Qualified Pub/County/Favourite Player

1st Elaine Kiernan €10,000 + WSOP Package Gogarthys/Laois Phil Ivey
    2nd Gerard Connolly €10,000 Callans/Monaghan Phil Ivey
    3rd Anthony Murphy €7,250 Matt McCoys/Limerick Gus Hansen
    4th Lee Davidson €5,000 Bridge House/Kildare Lee Davidson
    5th Maurice Silke €4,000 The Eglinton/Galway Martin Silke
    6th Dean Hunt €3,000 The Rag/Wexford Phil Ivey
    7th Pat Casey €2,500 Murphy/Cork N/A
    8th Martin Byrne €2,250 Jacobs Well/Wicklow Gus Hansen
    9th Rebecca Delamare €2,000 Olde Bray Inn/Wicklow N/A
    10th Jason Hayes €1,750 Reillys Bar/Limerick Mark"Almand"Ryan
    11th John O'Donoghue €1,500 Big Slick/Dublin M.P
    12th Patrick O'Reilly €1,250 Delaneys/Laois N/A
    13th Noel Treacy €1,100 The Beautiful Bird/Galway Gus Hansen
    14th Mark Downes €850 Molloys/Wexford N/A
    15th Brian Kavanagh €750 The Goose Tavern/Dublin Garath Johnston
    16th James Cafferkey €600 OD's/Mayo Allen Cumingham
    17th Austin Sheehy €500 The Goose Tavern/Dublin Gus Hansen
    18th Sean Bollard €450 Kielys of MM/Dublin Nicky Synnott
    19th Lee Devlin €250 The Goose Tavern/Dublin N/A

Please check out photos from the weekend on

http://www.pokerinthepub.ie/GrandFinal/Gallery/tabid/71/Default.aspx

Regards Paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

FEW THINGS PADDY FIRST OF ALL CONGRATS ON GETTING 706 PLAYERS IN KILLARNEY .

BUT DID NOT THE PRIZE POOL NOT INCREASE AT ALL ? FROM THE 65K APROX U SAID AT START OF YEAR .

WITH YE ONLY GIVING OUT 65K IT MAKES THE ENTRY WORTH 92 EURO EACH NOT THE ADVERTIZE 200 YE QUOTED ON BOARDS WAS THERE SOME HOLD BACK ON YERE PART OR AM I MISSING SOMETHING HERE .

ALSO YERE SIDE EVENT SEEMS SHORT AS WELL 195 PLAYERS AT 50 EACH IS 9750 EURO NOT 7800 PAYED OUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

corkie123 wrote: »

BUT DID NOT THE PRIZE POOL NOT INCREASE AT ALL ? FROM THE 65K APROX U SAID AT START OF YEAR .

WITH YE ONLY GIVING OUT 65K IT MAKES THE ENTRY WORTH 92 EURO EACH NOT THE ADVERTIZE 200 YE QUOTED ON BOARDS WAS THERE SOME HOLD BACK ON YERE PART OR AM I MISSING SOMETHING HERE .

ALSO YERE SIDE EVENT SEEMS SHORT AS WELL 195 PLAYERS AT 50 EACH IS 9750 EURO NOT 7800 PAYED OUT
    The €50 was inclusive of €10 reg fee .( 195 x €40 = €7,800 ) . I hope that clears that part up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭michellegavigan

great weekend in kilarney! congrats to Elaine , brought the money to laois! well done. Damo how is the head, i have lovely pics of ya on facebook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Irish-Princess

In regards to the above, You prob all seen my debate over trying to sell the tickets, and I did say the ticket price would end up going down and down and down hence my point was proved that really John Smith shouldnt have told me what i could sell my ticket for, as he himself was quoting the wrong amount for ticket value. I did end up selling my tickets, it got to a stage where i was soo peed off with the arguments with the organiser over my ticket that i sold them for 100e each to get rid of them. Looks like now my tickets shouldnt have been allowed to be used as i quote, "any ticket sold over the price will not be admitted to Killarney" Just tought i'd prove my point :D

On the other hand Congrats to you Elaine glad to see you did it for the girls.

The reports I got back from Killarney were awesome a few friends went down and they had a blast, they said it was very well organised and they had never seen anything like the set up for it, it was like something off tv, so fair play to the lads for setting up a good tournament.

See i'm not a total b!tch i proved my point and complimented the tournament all at once, so i dont have all bad things to say... :D;):P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Maddogg

the whole of this type of tourney was not the money but to give pub players the expereince of play a large event.....and i think they did that

I hope your look runs for Elaine in WSOP

did you have your baby yet Irish-P?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Maddogg wrote: »
    the whole of this type of tourney was not the money but to give pub players the expereince of play a large event.....and i think they did that

Yes by all accounts they did this and all reports I have heard were very positive.

There does seem to be a small bit of confusion about how much the tickets were worth.

i did indeed maddog, he's a little angel, when he's sleeping :D

Congratulations........ Irish-P

i hope all can put the this issue behind them now and look forward to more events like this.......from what i heard Elaine deserved to win this weekend well done

ps wel run weekend except for that paddy fella has a serious attitude when under pressure :) chill man

Well done Austin Sheehy 17th (very unlucky against Elaine)
    Well done to Lee Devlin 19th (Very Unlucky against Elaine)

Well done to Mary from Portarlington for dodging that K5 hearts......she know what i mean :)

Damo, your still a luckbox..................
    Denis does your face ever hurt from smiling so much :D

well done to all the dealers and all TD's envolved

i had a great time dodging all the donks (i dodged 650 of them) :eek:

yeah well done elaine,

My mates didnt make it to the money on the main event but one made it to the final of the big freeze out and also others won money on the cash tables.

Would have loved to have taken part but my little man is to young to leave he will only be 3 weeks on wednesday!!!

But we are all organising to go to the big Ladbrokes event in May, cant wait for that.

I've seen paddy under pressure and he's grand!!! :D although that was in a tournament for prize money of 300e not 10k lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 donk magnet

everything ran perfect thanks to john and neill who ran a cracking event.
    great result elaine wins the big one and i took down the €100 event and the team event . portarlington 3 rest of the country 2.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Irish Iron

everything ran perfect thanks to john and neill who ran a cracking event.
    great result elaine wins the big one and i took down the €100 event and the team event . portarlington 3 rest of the country 2.:D:D

paul delaney got 2nd in last nights $65 f/o, i got the 3rd in team event, you make 2 chops and elaine wins the main event, laois ftw.

Dub13 wrote: »
    Yes by all accounts they did this and all reports I have heard were very positive.

There does seem to be a small bit of confusion about how much the tickets were worth.

they were worth only 90 euro on prizes paid out not what was stated on here of 200 euro because of the no increase in the prize pool .

does that infringe on boards .ie rules i suppose the mods need to look into this who ever they are these days .

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

they were worth only 90 euro on prizes paid out not what was stated on here of 200 euro because of the no increase in the prize pool .

does that infringe on boards .ie rules i suppose the mods need to look into this who ever they are these days .

We will let them have a right to reply first.

Press Release
    The Poker in the Pub Irish Amateur Festival of Poker, which took place in Killarney on the 4th – 7th February, was a resounding success.
    Along with our sold-out side games, approx 1,000 players participated in the amateur event with over 700 players represented in the main tournament.
    Over the last 16 weeks, more than 7,000 unique amateur players, from all over Ireland, battled for the guaranteed €65,000 prize pool.
    We are delighted for the winner, Elaine Kiernan, who, in front of a ‘full house,’ walked away with €10,000 and entry into 7 of this years’ biggest events, including the prestigious Irish Open.
    Elaine, from Laois, said; “Thank you all very much for a fantastic weekend. I really enjoyed myself and, of course, the icing on the cake was winning.”
    Poker in the Pub wishes to express thanks to the amateur circuit. In this economic climate it proves poker is still alive and enjoyed by the masses.
    We know you want to get in on the action for the next event, which will be held in CityWest Hotel in Dublin. Go to our website at www.pokerinthepub.ie to check out which of your local pubs is running league games.
    Poker in the Pub wishes to extend our thanks to all event staff on their professionalism and dedication which contributed to the weekend’s achievements.
    We congratulate all our winners for their resounding success!

7000 PLAYERS PLAYING IN EVERY WEEK FOR 16 WEEKS AND YE STILL ONLY CAME IN WITH 65K ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Press Release
    The Poker in the Pub Irish Amateur Festival of Poker, which took place in Killarney on the 4th – 7th February, was a resounding success.
    Along with our sold-out side games, approx 1,000 players participated in the amateur event with over 700 players represented in the main tournament.
    Over the last 16 weeks, more than 7,000 unique amateur players, from all over Ireland, battled for the guaranteed €65,000 prize pool.
    We are delighted for the winner, Elaine Kiernan, who, in front of a ‘full house,’ walked away with €10,000 and entry into 7 of this years’ biggest events, including the prestigious Irish Open.
    Elaine, from Laois, said; “Thank you all very much for a fantastic weekend. I really enjoyed myself and, of course, the icing on the cake was winning.”
    Poker in the Pub wishes to express thanks to the amateur circuit. In this economic climate it proves poker is still alive and enjoyed by the masses.
    We know you want to get in on the action for the next event, which will be held in CityWest Hotel in Dublin. Go to our website at www.pokerinthepub.ie to check out which of your local pubs is running league games.
    Poker in the Pub wishes to extend our thanks to all event staff on their professionalism and dedication which contributed to the weekend’s achievements.
    We congratulate all our winners for their resounding success!

I don't think this answers any questions that have been asked here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 jackhack

It would still be nice to know how much the entry tickets were worth. If they were worth only €90 how could the reg for the event be €30?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

jackhack wrote: »
    It would still be nice to know how much the entry tickets were worth. If they were worth only €90 how could the reg for the event be €30?

Guys u cant put a value on the entries when u cannot buy seats .. They are Priceless I.M.O.. U qualify for a €65,000 Prizepool for as little as €10. Really dont see the big deal here these guys bust themselves when everyone said this would not work and then they achieve 706 players . I mean of the 100 pubs running Poker in the Pub supplied Chips tables and Itinery they made sure each venue had a Td at each one and results recorded .

Now Reg Fee on the main event this event would in no way cover the cost from teh €30 Reg feee hence the side action and if the sooner players realise what is provided for the reg fee the better . I mean they had over 100 staff of whom i was one i was fed for 4 days and accomodated for four days and thats a costly affair for any operator when u have over 100 staff for an event .€30 for all the players would in no way cover the costs whatsoever .

I ran the main event for Pokerin the pub and it was as good as it gets i needed nothing we were a little stretched with the numbers that evntually showed up ..If u want to sell ur seat to an event i think it should be non transferable and im sure the guys will come up with a system to combat this.

I mean if u dont like it dont pay it o always say it but then u dont play poker . Reg fees will always be higher at Hotels and Festivals because the costs sometimes triple .

Hats off to The Poker in the Pub team on what i think is the start of something huge in Ireland as they are bringing new players into the market which is badly needed .

There is a reason why operators are now reluctant to post here and moving to other forums because we have to answer the same questions over and over again ..And when u dont anwer u get barred . Hence the New forum and it will work fpr these reasons .

Regards

Neill Kelly

Sorry guys, I am still burnt out from the weekend so please bare with me here, now.............
    As far as I am concerned the tickets have no value that is set in stone if someone else has said different then you should talk to them, one person said himself and his wife played in a 4 week league (€20 x 4 = €80) drink for herself and soft drinks for himself (€50 x 4 = €200) travel cost (20) and also babysitting (€30 x 4 = €120) total cost €420, another lad single and within walking distance of the pub drank 2 cokes per night (cos he had work next day) (€6 x 4 = €24) total cost €66, another lad (like the last fella) couldn't win a ticket so his mate (who had won 2) gave him one for FREE, so how can you put a price on a ticket which is only valuable to the owner ?
    If only 100 players turned up for the M/E dos that mean the tickets are worth €650?, now I don't know how many times this was said but we had dealers, floor staff and administration that had to be paid, fed and fixed with accommodation did you want us to take that bill out of the prize pool?, this is why we had to have a reg, this I believe was posted up on the web site and no one complained to me on the day, (if only 100 players), reg fee €65, yea I can see that happening.
    I see that Derek lad is giving you bad habits by leaving your CAPS LOCK on, anyway, yes 7000 weekly players but this dos not mean the prize pool is going to expand,we get €2 per player this gos toward the prize pool & administration costs in the office 7000 x €2 = €14000 mmmmm, we are still a bit short of €65k, and we were just short of reaching the €65k and had to add to it but was not a big problem.
    I hope we can lay this to rest, Regards Paddy

Ok guy's could we try and take the positives away from this event.

These guy's put their neck on the line and gauranteed a 65k prizepool from day 1 .
    They offered employment to many people all over the country and provided them with tables , chips , cards, software . They also provided the venues , posters , flyers and all the support needed to make this a success.
    They gave the ordinary pub player the chance to play in a major tournament that they would otherwise only dream of.(For possibly €10)
    There was roughly 100 staff there for 4 days , all of which were housed and fed and treated and paid very well.

From my own point of view as both an operator and player . This was the first major event that i have worked at and i have to say it was a total pleasure to be there. All wk end it was all hands on deck and everyone helping everyone else.
    It was a pleasure to see so many new faces being introduced to the poker scene at this level, I really only recognised about 10 players that i have seen before.
    This is all good for the game. The whole event ran off smoothly with little or no hassle and all these players will go back to their locals and hopefully spread the word and create even more players that we will all be glad to see playing and boosting the numbers at other events.

Look we all know that you cant run an event like this without a reg fee and if you think that €30 would cover all the time and effort that the owners of Poker in the pub have put into this , pay for accomadation, food and wages then your badly mistaken.

I for one think they should be applauded for having the vision to even try this in the current doom and gloom climate that we are living in .

Im gonna finnish now by thanking all the players that attended and all the staff that worked there and also to Jim and Fintan and also big bad Paddy for putting up with me for the wk end.
    Regards.... Damo

Sorry guys, I am still burnt out from the weekend so please bare with me here, now.............
    As far as I am concerned the tickets have no value that is set in stone if someone else has said different then you should talk to them, one person said himself and his wife played in a 4 week league (€20 x 4 = €80) drink for herself and soft drinks for himself (€50 x 4 = €200) travel cost (20) and also babysitting (€30 x 4 = €120) total cost €420, another lad single and within walking distance of the pub drank 2 cokes per night (cos he had work next day) (€6 x 4 = €24) total cost €66, another lad (like the last fella) couldn't win a ticket so his mate (who had won 2) gave him one for FREE, so how can you put a price on a ticket which is only valuable to the owner ?
    If only 100 players turned up for the M/E dos that mean the tickets are worth €650?, now I don't know how many times this was said but we had dealers, floor staff and administration that had to be paid, fed and fixed with accommodation did you want us to take that bill out of the prize pool?, this is why we had to have a reg, this I believe was posted up on the web site and no one complained to me on the day, (if only 100 players), reg fee €65, yea I can see that happening.
    I see that Derek lad is giving you bad habits by leaving your CAPS LOCK on, anyway, yes 7000 weekly players but this dos not mean the prize pool is going to expand,we get €2 per player this gos toward the prize pool & administration costs in the office 7000 x €2 = €14000 mmmmm, we are still a bit short of €65k, and we were just short of reaching the €65k and had to add to it but was not a big problem.
    I hope we can lay this to rest, Regards Paddy

7000 x 2 =14000k x 16 weeks = 224000 euro bit more than 65k

i think u can give a better answer than above really paddy do u think we all skip maths at school

having read niall post again i find that to feed him for 4 days does cost a lot and as he said if people dont like what the pay out is going to be then dont play which i agree with .
    but i do feel that the guys should also have stated that no matter what amount of players we get the prize pool will only be 65k max

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 ShaneDubber

cant believe how ungrateful some people are.

where else are you gonna get a 65k gtd prize pool for as little as that

10e entry fee each week in the pub that you at least get back if you finish well

then a little 30e reg fee..dont be so greedy..it was basically free..the dealers have to be paid like..the 30e didnt go to the prizepool so why would the 65k increase as the amount of people registered increase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 jackhack

For starters I would like to say that I qualified and played in this tournament which I will say was a credit to all involved. I have played a lot of tournaments around the country and it was ran off as good as anywhere else. Maybe I'm completely wrong and I will apologise now if I am but I was always lead to believe that reg was approx 10/12% of the buy in. I have never complained about reg fees in the past and I totally understand for what and where the reg goes, and a lot of players did not know a reg fee was being charged, they presumed it was part of their ticket.
    You can win a satt for €10 into a €500 buy-in tourney but you know your ticket is worth €500 all i'm saying is there should be a valuation on the seat but as you said yourself Neil the tickets should be non transferable and again well done on a great event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

i think u can give a better answer than above really paddy do u think we all skip maths at school

having read niall post again i find that to feed him for 4 days does cost a lot and as he said if people dont like what the pay out is going to be then dont play which i agree with .
    but i do feel that the guys should also have stated that no matter what amount of players we get the prize pool will only be 65k max

i really dont know what are u trying to prove here or what is ur agenda, people who played the said tournament is not complaining and hence, they are very grateful and pleased with the outcome of the event and here u are trying to discredit us by ur bickering and no non-sense crying about the prize pool.
    like what they said in the previous post, THE MAIN OBJECTIVE OF THIS TOURNAMENT IS TO GIVE CHANCE TO THE OTHER PLAYERS TO PLAY IN A BIG TOURNAMENT ENVIRONMENT WITHOUT SPENDING TOO MUCH MONEY ON A BUY IN.
    and im sure the €30 reg fee was already explain to the other post thats why i dont want to repeat it again.
    i really wish that u saw how we work hard these past few months and to the grand final as well to achieve this objective.
    if u have some issues to the other people that involve in this event please exclude this one bcos its really unfair to us.

thank you,
    dennis reyes

Did the operators ever state the value of the ticket? If not then there is no issue imo. If however they did, then it is a big issue imo. And on the issue of the tickets being non-transferable, was there not a thread on here a few weeks ago where someone was selling one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Moro Man

7000 PLAYERS PLAYING IN EVERY WEEK FOR 16 WEEKS AND YE STILL ONLY CAME IN WITH 65K ?

--

Snap Snap:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Enzo Scifo

i really dont know what are u trying to prove here or what is ur agenda, people who played the said tournament is not complaining and hence, they are very grateful and pleased with the outcome of the event and here u are trying to discredit us by ur bickering and no non-sense crying about the prize pool.
    like what they said in the previous post, THE MAIN OBJECTIVE OF THIS TOURNAMENT IS TO GIVE CHANCE TO THE OTHER PLAYERS TO PLAY IN A BIG TOURNAMENT ENVIRONMENT WITHOUT SPENDING TOO MUCH MONEY ON A BUY IN.
    and im sure the €30 reg fee was already explain to the other post thats why i dont want to repeat it again.
    i really wish that u saw how we work hard these past few months and to the grand final as well to achieve this objective.
    if u have some issues to the other people that involve in this event please exclude this one bcos its really unfair to us.

thank you,
    dennis reyes

No one doubts how hard people worked, what a good tourney it was, how well it ran etc etc. Just coming on here (as with other defenders) about the chance to play a big tourney, dont you know how much money these things costs, guranteed at start, no one complained on the day and the like is not really answering the doubt that is out there.

On one hand Paddy says that that had to add money to the prize pool (so there was no profit made for all those long nights and hard work?). From figures that are being thrown around (and its quess work on everyones part) it could be over 200,000 with only 65000 paid out.

The old CPT tour (remember Clonmel :rolleyes:) eventually crashed and burned because at the end of the day the players had no idea how much was actually being taken from the prize pool on any given night.

Paddy, Denis and others, to put this to bed why not come back with the overall picture from the pubs. I'm sure its available if you look and then all this talk will go away. It really is that simple.

jayus this is gas,if someone badly wanted a ticket why didnt they try an win one like the rest of us! I went to one pub that was running it and i had no luck, so i went to another one the following week and eventually got one there! and even though i had no luck in the first pub it got me out of the house for a few hours and i spent feck all, and even if i spent 60, 80, ar 400 euro i dont give a **** , it was worth it! oh and as for the reg wow 30 quid 6 shots of jagermiester an then throw it up 2 hours later! michelle!

i love your attitude :D

why thank you!

Maddogg wrote: »
    i love your attitude :D
    I said it before and i will say it again . Michelle is the female version of me:eek::D:p;)

heheheheh! so so true! two loud mouths!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 donk magnet

ah come on damo ur not as loud as her nobody could be!!!!!! lol:D:D

john

I beg ur pardon, im nowhere near as loud as Damo! cheeky fecker!:eek: Am i really that bad? i bet liz is louder than the two of us put together!

thank you,
    dennis reyes

thank dennis but 30 euro reg has nothing to do with anything . the whole asking point was money that was taken over the 16 weeks for final and was not paid out thats all .
    if everyone who went are happy then thats ok but the people i spoken to are not they felt it was a big rip off to be honest .

now as i stated early was that if ippt stated that the 65k prize pool was the max they were paying out when the advertise on boards then that ok but from numbers giving they took over 200k for prize pool not 65k they paid out .

now if your happy with that then that ok but some were not .

everyone thought it was great tourie well run but wondered were the rest of prize pool went .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭IPPT

thank dennis but 30 euro reg has nothing to do with anything . the whole asking point was money that was taken over the 16 weeks for final and was not paid out thats all .
    if everyone who went are happy then thats ok but the people i spoken to are not they felt it was a big rip off to be honest .

now as i stated early was that if ippt stated that the 65k prize pool was the max they were paying out when the advertise on boards then that ok but from numbers giving they took over 200k for prize pool not 65k they paid out .

now if your happy with that then that ok but some were not .

everyone thought it was great tourie well run but wondered were the rest of prize pool went .
    Poker in the Pub limited
    Statement
    Poker in the pub ltd is obliged to do annually audited accounts which will be available to the public from October 2010.

Here is the breakdown on the nightly €10 event:
    1. €4 euro to the Prize Pool on the night
    2. €4 euro to the Tournament Director on the night
    3. €2 euro to the main prize pool for the Grand Final
    We have a player base of 7,000 but all are not active every week.
    The league was run for 12 weeks over a 16 week period and the average weekly amount of players was 1700 players, which at €2 per player is €3,400 weekly, giving a total of €40,800 for the prize-pool, which required us to add €24,200. This shortfall was made up by personal loans made by the Directors Fintan Gavin and Christy Smith to the company.
    In relation to the question of qualifiers, they must win their seat in the league. We did decide that a person that had qualified in the league but could not make it to the final would be permitted to transfer their ticket to another player who had played in the league.
    Some people have been trying to put a value on the tickets where there simply is none as the only way to get into the final was to qualify and the number of entrants had no direct relation to the prize pool. For example if only 10 players turned up for the final the 65k would still have been paid out. At no stage did any member of Poker in the Pub put a monetary value on entries to the grand final.
    It is our ambition to bring the big tournament experience to amateur player all over the country and even though there was no profit in the initial running of the league the player feedback was 100% positive. We are expanding all the time and believe that with this increased exposure and sponsorship we can make this enterprise a success. Our aim at the moment is to have a final with a €100,000 prizepool within the year.
    I hope this answers all queries about the event, our intentions are
    a. To provide value and entertainment for our customers
    b. To make a profit while remaining transparent in the process.
    Once again I would like to thank all the players and staff for making this event a rip roaring success and hope to see you all at the tables soon qualifying for the next grand final in June.

Kind Regards,
    Christy Smith, Fintan Gavin and Jim Smith

fintan christy jim

thanks for the detail response and hope the next one will be bigger and better for ye

sean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Enzo Scifo

A good quick response, well played lads.

There is a reason why operators are now reluctant to post here and moving to other forums because we have to answer the same questions over and over again ..And when u dont anwer u get barred . Hence the New forum and it will work fpr these reasons .

Regards

Neill Kelly

Surely as a Tournament Director/Organiser you should realise that all questions should be answered regardless, irrespective of triviality, especially questions of this nature. It shouldn't matter what forum these questions come up on, and i hope that the new forum would agree with this.

WP IPPT