Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do?

• 05-02-2010 8:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I live in a house share.
    Following a holiday, I arrived home a few days ago to find one of my house mates (the most recent to move in) has moved a dog in, without asking or even telling me.

So, good people of AH, what would you do if faced with the same situation?

I'm at a loss of how to handle things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I adore dogs so i wouldnt do anything. Think of it as something to get you fit :)

/not that you need to btw....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Move an even bigger dog in. Try to get the biggest dog possible so they can't move in an even larger dog.

Alternatively, talk to your landlord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I arrived home a few days ago to find one of my house mates (the most recent to move in) has moved a dog in, without asking or even telling me.

Awful way to speak about your house mates girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭heresjohnnie

Just say no dogs, like...today, dont let it be a thing that you dont mention it for a few days and then bring it up cause ... basically it'll be an accepted norm if ya wait!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Are you in rented accom? If so does the landlord allow it?

It's his problem if he doesn't- just blame him for not allowing the poor little cutey mutt stay in the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

Well it was rude of them, especially if they recently moved in....but do you like dogs? Do you like this dog? Would you be happy to keep it there? What kind of dog is it? Where did he/she get the dog from? Is it going to be inside all the time? Lots to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I'm a seasoned renter and I am still amazed at some of the behavior I see and hear about. This is a perfect example of such behavior, as you say the person was the most recent to move in aswell.

Did the person at least discuss this with the other tenants while you were away?

(I'll see you over in Accom and Prop btw !!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Feeky Magee

Step 1: Naked picture of yourself uploaded to boards.ie.
    Step 2: ??
    Step 3: Problem resolved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I have a dog, he's great craic. But I wouldn't move a dog into a house if I was sharing without running it by all my housemates first. Most rental agreements don't allow pets.

Your housemate is taking the p!ss by doing what she did. If you have a problem with it you should say so now. If you really don't want it there, you should tell your housemate. Tell them you're allergic to dogs or something if you don't want to be confrontational.

Talk about being an ignorant cnut. You have a number of options.

1. Kill the dog.
    2. Kill the housemate.
    3. Kill the dog and the housemate.
    4. Talk about it in a civilised manner, explaining that you should have been consulted about it and try to come to some conclusion that suits both of ye.

Id go for number 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Kiera wrote: »
    I adore dogs so i wouldnt do anything. Think of it as something to get you fit :)

/not that you need to btw....

Nice save ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I love dogs so I'd buy it some treats and give it a hug

phasers wrote: »
    I love dogs so I'd buy it some treats and give it a hug

Whoa, define your meaning of 'love' here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭SubrbanOblivion

Is the dog tearing things up? Crapping on the floor? Going in your room?

If not, don't see a problem.

It's quite a personal thing, the dog could be running about the house shedding hair and licking your dinner while you goto the fridge for the butter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I think phasers means the love between a man and a woman, obviously like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

That's the problem with Dog lovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

I love dogs too, have 2 cool pooches meself.

However, if you dont want it, demand it go and live somewhere else immediately, before it becomes part of the family.

your flatmate doing this is taking the p*ss.

Do you want a diagram?

Because I have prepared one (NSFW)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭pooch90

Is it a hairy little bugger? Our darling doggy is the hairiest little biddy, once that hair gets on your clothes,furniture it's impossible to get rid of,it eventually makes its way into washing machine so your clothes will never be hair free. I'm over it cos it's my dog but if it was someone else's I'd be royally p1ssed off.

Flatmate had no right to do this. Did they have the dog before or just buy it? If they had it before, send it back to wherever it was staying. Check your lease, very very few landlords allow pets in their property.

"Oops! This link appears to be broken." awwwwwwww my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

throw a shoe at the bugger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Any pics of it going in?

Those are private between Rover and I :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Dude.Get laid!!:eek:

AND NOT OFF THE DOG!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

That's a pretty defensive post..I think you're the housemate.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

does it fit in the microwave?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

do the biggest crap you can muster up, on the kitchen table.

call in the housemate, "look what your ba$tard dog done"

fixed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Do nothing. If there's ever a day where the dog has wrecked the place or shít on your bed or bites you after givin' it a good aul kick while your absolutely pissed out of your tree - it's time for doggy to go :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

Tell her your Korean cousins are coming to stay for a few weeks and that she was so kind to get in a celebratory meal. Alternatively feign an allergy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Pretend you're allergic to the dog. Keep sneezing everytime you see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Frighten the dog every time you see the fcuker. It will eventually hit the road :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

cock robin wrote: »
    Frighten the dog every time you see the fcuker. It will eventually hit the road :D:D:D

Nice! :rolleyes:

What do your other housemates think of the dog OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

cock robin wrote: »

or bite your bollix off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Kiera wrote: »
    I adore dogs so i wouldnt do anything. .
    Yeh me too so id love it! Althoooough...a St Bernard is a different kettle of cod.

But...
    TheZohan wrote: »

Your housemate is taking the p!ss by doing what she did. .
    Bigtime! Its so difficult trying to rent a place with a pet. Your flatmate has to know that. Pets are fab, but i completely understand why other people dont have them. I constantly had white hairs everywhere (car,bed,clothes etc) when my dog was alive (:() Stupid and insensitive carryon from your flatmate and id have a word and lay down some rules or kick her out.
    That cracked me up! Disgustin..but cracked me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

I live in a house share.
    Following a holiday, I arrived home a few days ago to find one of my house mates (the most recent to move in) has moved a dog in, without asking or even telling me.

So, good people of AH, what would you do if faced with the same situation?

I'm at a loss of how to handle things.

could be worse..... I read about a girl who came home to find a rag on the table with cum in it where her house mate had jacked off and left it on the kitchen table

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭FannyMcGee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Play this video over and over and over again when the dog is around and then leave the hall door open ;)

AWWW! Outlaw..i love that song!

/Hobo was way cooler than Lassie before anyone says it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

anniehoo wrote: »
    AWWW! Outlaw..i love that song!

Yup, I have even caught myself singing that song while hoovering putting up manly shelves :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

feed it chocolate, lots of chocolate. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

get a dog whistle, blow it at night. or get those plug in dog repellent audio frequency transmitters, the dog will be barking all the time and will have to go!

I love dogs tho so dont follow any of my advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,899 ✭✭✭budgemook

ever see trainspotting? buy air rifle, wait til man and dog are lying down together. shoot dog. dog bites man. man no longer wants dog.

This thread is making me sad

Do yourself a favor buddy, dont turn around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

budgemook wrote: »
    ever see trainspotting? buy air rifle, wait til man and dog are lying down together. shoot dog. dog bites man. man no longer wants dog.

"for a vegetarian rents, you're a fcuking EVIL shot"

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Yup, I have even caught myself singing that song while hoovering putting up manly shelves :p
    Eh try..Ibiza..locked in 2002.Asked the DJ if he had it for the craic...and HE DID!

This was Ibiza remember..8 yrs ago.."too cool for school" and all that!! Unreal!

Im embarrassed (but secretly grand with) how i gave it loads that night.Have still kept the friends i went on hols with so it cant be all bad.

Oh..eh..back OT mmmmm :o

Outlaw..its all your fault,after the Power Ballads/80s thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

anniehoo wrote: »
    Eh try..Ibiza..locked in 2002.Asked the DJ if he had it for the craic...and HE DID!

This was Ibiza remember..8 yrs ago.."too cool for school" and all that!! Unreal!

Im embarrassed (but secretly grand with) how i gave it loads that night.Have still kept the friends i went on hols with so it cant be all bad.

Oh..eh..back OT mmmmm :o

Outlaw..its all your fault,after the Power Ballads/80s thread
    You, my dear, are a legend :)