Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Happy February Beers

• 05-02-2010 7:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭

McTurcaills - I'll ask Silverfish to embed a map cuz im pants!!!

Saturday 13/02 @ 8pm Over 18's ID Required!

I have spoken to the dude in charge and area is resrved, he is emailing me with details of offers on the night which i will pass on.... So Girls and Boys be there or be a cube!!!

Did ask if we wanted food but think it should be an all or nothing thing cuz you will get people putting money in for food and then other people coming who have not put in money and there being argie bargie!!!!!

Beers???? 26 votes

Yay!
    0%
    Nay!
    50%
    entropiPyr0omb0wyn5ehpij9panda100Larianne[Deleted User]Julesprincess-lalafriday1Fago!xoxyxtomplayaLibertewhite 13 votes
    May!
    50%
    SilverfishXineyBlush_01Ickle MagooCarsinian Thaupikachucheeksminidazzler[Deleted User]MapleClare BearJemmysorrywhatFink Goddie 13 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Nay!
    Thanx Jules

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Nay!
    Yay :) thanks Jules :) Gonna go book me a hotel now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

Nay!
    Yay! Cool, I've wanted to go to a Boards beers for a while now but the dates never suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Jules wrote: »
    embed a map cuz im pants!!!

i've spent way too much time on the internet, i read that as embed a mudkipz :pac:

on topic i'm still unsure as to whether i'll be in the country so i'm a maybe baby.

Nay!
    Happy February beers! I likes it!
    Thanks Jules! :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

if people are wondering, I like beer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

if people are wondering, I like beer...

What is this 'beer' thing that you speak of ?

not the muck I drank in your country, that's for sure.... bud lite?? More like bud ****e...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Nay!
    YAY BEERS!!:D:D

@Creamy: i read it like that too...lol:pac:

Nay!
    Ah god this is ever so exciting :D Lala is like a big kid :)

Yay :) thanks Jules :) Gonna go book me a hotel now :D

there are some nightlinks going back to kildare, wouldnt cost you the arm and a leg a hotel room would,

If people are heading back to kildare, a cab may be cheeper as i've to get back there!

Nay!
    there are some nightlinks going back to kildare, wouldnt cost you the arm and a leg a hotel room would,

If people are heading back to kildare, a cab may be cheeper as i've to get back there!

Night link doesnt go to Enfield and I live 4 miles outside Enfield :( easier to stay up and come home the next day :) Hotel is actually quite cheap :)

i'll be honnest, i dont even know where enfield is in kildare!

Nay!

Enfield is Meath but where I live is Kildare :)

i'll be honnest, i know leixlip and maynooth, after that i'm lost :p

Nay!

Is through that misty expanse of nothing the north side of Maynooth.
    Who knew?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Oh god, the two places that are pretty much Dublin. Back off, city boy, leave my county alone! :P

On topic.... great!

Nay!

Haha head for Galway and you kinda pass Enfield :p

Ill be the one walking about on the night asking people "are you from the internets" :D

hell, i didnt even know kildare existed till i moved here!

Lala, we've all be like that one time or another, dont worry about it:p

Nay!
    Lala, we've all be like that one time or another, dont worry about it:p

Ah Ill be fine after a vodka or ten :)

Vodka.... oh god.... flashbacks!

hennessy is the way forward now!

Nay!

Oh gosh no!! Id be on the floor after a sniff:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

Vodka.... oh god.... flashbacks!

hennessy= epic win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Nay!
    Guys,

can we not have this as an off topic thread, we want new people to come along to our beers and its very intimidating when people are talking about off topic stuff. So keep the topic to the beers please.

Jules wrote: »
    Guys,

can we not have this as an off topic thread, we want new people to come along to our beers and its very intimidating when people are talking about off topic stuff. So keep the topic to the beers please.

sorry Jules :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Deadly I am looking forward to it :D

Ill be the one walking about on the night asking people "are you from the internets" :D

I can't wait till you find one "Hi YEAH I AM FROM THE INTERNETZ TOO!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Nay!
    Reganio 2 wrote: »
    I can't wait till you find one "Hi YEAH I AM FROM THE INTERNETZ TOO!" :D
    Ah sure like i mentioned in another post, there'll be someone to meet up with beforehand so you dont walk in, then walk out of the pub knowing nobody:p

I'll be one of those willing to meet up beforehand, sure i know where the venue is too lol:D We were all beers virgins before:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Ah sure like i mentioned in another post, there'll be someone to meet up with beforehand so you dont walk in, then walk out of the pub knowing nobody:p

I'll be one of those willing to meet up beforehand, sure i know where the venue is too lol:D We were all beers virgins before:pac:

Any chance I can hop into that meet up business? I have a kind of idea where it is but you know being a beers virgin and not too sure where it is. Don't want to risk it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Nay!
    Should be there anyway, if anything comes up I'll let ye know. Is this the place with the food on the cheap ?

Nay!
    Oh my god I won't have any gargling money then.

It's a dry event for me.

If anyone wants me too meet them beforehand to show them where it is, just holla via pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

May!
    Aww, I can't make it next weekend.

I love McTurcaills too! Used to be my local of sorts when I was in college because we worked around the corner. Miss the place.

Have fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Nay!
    n8zPyro wrote: »
    Should be there anyway, if anything comes up I'll let ye know. Is this the place with the food on the cheap ?

Food is only served till 7.30.

I may pop in before meeting friends. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Nay!
    I hope ya do miss, was lovely meeting you last night!

Nay!
    Yay Im getting all excited now :D

Nay!
    I'm not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

My weekend officially became free. So I may make an appearance at this. I was at an AH beers before and it was pretty good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Will most likely make an appearance. Plan is not to fall asleep this time by dancing and dancing and dancing, and drinking. To keep me hydrated of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I've never been to any sort of boards event but I be a bit nervous should I attend. Don't really post in this forum or anything.

Nay!
    That_Guy wrote: »
    I've never been to any sort of boards event but I be a bit nervous should I attend. Don't really post in this forum or anything.

Come along. Everyone started off somewhere. PM someone and ask if you can turn up with them.

Loungers are a nice bunch (Well the ones that aren't me are). Plus, the beers are always a right oul larf!

Shtall it.

Fago_25 wrote: »
    Come along. Everyone started off somewhere. PM someone and ask if you can turn up with them.

Loungers are a nice bunch (Well the ones that aren't me are). Plus, the beers are always a right oul larf!

Shtall it.

I might do later in the week. Might be fun.

Nay!

I was actually going to make this point in this thread but for some reason I decided not to.

Anyway what I was going to write - I went to my first beers in five years on Saturday night and I had a blast!

It can be quite nerve wrecking walking in first but most people don't know everyone else and everyone is always excited to put faces to names.

I'm gonna pop in for a bit on Saturday to meet some more wonderful people of Boards and the great Jules. Oh yes, and then there's Will. I need to return a kick in the shin! :p

Honestly, go for a bit. If you feel a bit weirded out, make your excuses and leave but to be honest that will not happen. ;)

Larianne wrote: »
    I was actually going to make this point in this thread but for some reason I decided not to.

Anyway what I was going to write - I went to my first beers in five years on Saturday night and I had a blast!

It can be quite nerve wrecking walking in first but most people don't know everyone else and everyone is always excited to put faces to names.

I'm gonna pop in for a bit on Saturday to meet some more wonderful people of Boards and the great Jules. Oh yes, and then there's Will. I need to return a kick in the shin! :p

Honestly, go for a bit. If you feel a bit weirded out, make your excuses and leave but to be honest that will not happen. ;)

Thanks Larianne. I think I'm just making myself feel more nervous than I should be. I just don't usually go out drinking by myself without my mates but they're all gonna be out with their gf's for pre Valentines Day crap.

Nay!
    Thanks Larianne. I think I'm just making myself feel more nervous than I should be. I just don't usually go out drinking by myself without my mates but they're all gonna be out with their gf's for pre Valentines Day crap.

Im the very same, my excuse was always that I worked Saturday so now I have no excuse, youll be fine honest :) Im a newbie beers too :)

Nay!

Not saying it's easy to go into a pub you've never been in before and starting talking to strangers from the internet. But you have that in common - Boards!!!

And hey, €4 cocktails, ya just can't go wrong. :D

I was bricking it when I went to lose my Boards Beers virginity. It was held in that wonderful venue called the Capitol and it feels like yesterday almost. I was unsure if to go and had toyed with the idea all day long. Yet for some reason, when it came to 5pm, it was like autopilot had kicked in and was engaged.

All of a sudden I ended up going to the shower, then getting dressed, getting a bite to eat and before I knew it, I was on the Luas into town. I remember walking along one of those streets in Dublin for which I never know the name. I was walking towards the Capitol saying to myself "What the f*** are you doing you mad hoor?" On more than one occasion (about 27 different occasions I think actually) I considered turning around and going straight back home. But I said to myself, how stupid it would be to get so close and to just turn around and walk away.

So I wandered into the Capitol. I know the bar reasonably well and knew the area where they'd be sitting so I went and got a drink and wandered over. I sort of mumbled under my breath "Is this the boards beers?" hoping I wouldn't get looked at like I just had grown a third ear. But it turned out to be grand. Felt a tiny bit awkward but after that, it was plain sailing.

I had good craic that night and met some cool people. I think Master of Nothing and Libertewhite were unlucky enough to bear the brunt of my northern waffle for the majority of the night. However they did so with grace and patience :)

By about midnight though, CinderellaGrandMaster felt like he was going to turn into a pumpkin if he didn't go dancing (I'm talking about myself, don't know why I'm talking in the 3rd or 4th person). So I bide them all farewell and proceeded to commit dance floor arson in my local niteclub. Unfortunately the Capitol was too small and I'd have been breaching several health and safety regulations by cutting loose there and then.

So to summarise my big load of waffle. For those who've never been, come along. It will be my 3rd beers (assuming I don't go to the Nocturnal beers on the Friday night) and sure you know me, I'll be just as nervous as I was the first time, if not more so :D

Im the very same, my excuse was always that I worked Saturday so now I have no excuse, youll be fine honest :) Im a newbie beers too :)

Cool. I guess another factor is the age of the group going. I'm only 21 and others might be a bit older (not that I have a problem with that) and I'm very used to meeting people my own age and conversing with people around the same age on a daily basis.

Kinda weird I know.

Cool. I guess another factor is the age of the group going. I'm only 21 and others might be a bit older (not that I have a problem with that) and I'm very used to meeting people my own age and conversing with people around the same age on a daily basis.

Kinda weird I know.

If it makes you feel any better, I'm so old, me and my friends are all in black and white!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Kinda weird I know.

I felt like that too! I thought I'd be outta my depth or whatever. (I'm 20) Honestly though, it was grand. Everyone is really friendly and there are actually a lot of young(er) people at beers too so you've nothing to worry about. :)

Nay!
    I hang round kids all day in college... I'm 'down' with it. Right on.. :cool:

:o