Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The highest road in ireland?

• 01-02-2010 6:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭

Popular knowledge has it that the Conor Pass is the highest road in Ireland but on Google maps it looks like the Wicklow gap is higher. Is it the Wicklow Gap or does anyone know of somewhere higher?

In fact, the Sally Gap appears higher than either of those. Hmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I used to live on the road from the Sally Gap to Laragh and we were always told it was the highest road in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dura Ace

As far as I remember from my Garmin, Wicklow Gap is about 480m, whereas Sally Gap is about 505m. However, at one point between Glencree and Sally Gap, it's about 520m.

It's not a through road, but you can cycle to the top of Kippure. It's about 750m, and the view is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭hynesie

superrdave wrote: »
    Popular knowledge has it that the Conor Pass is the highest road in Ireland but on Google maps it looks like the Wicklow gap is higher. Is it the Wicklow Gap or does anyone know of somewhere higher?

In fact, the Sally Gap appears higher than either of those. Hmmm.
    The Connor Pass is the highest mountain pass in Ireland, but not the highest road. I think people confuse those two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

What height is the road across Mount Leinster, the one with the cattlegrids?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

The road from Sally Gap towards Dublin rises to ~520m and is AFAIK the highest road in Ireland. Sally Gap (~500m) is higher than the Wicklow Gap (~480m) and both are higher than the Conor Pass, as are other passes in Wicklow.

Roads up to TV ariels don't tend to count as they are not public. Kippure goes up to 750m but Mount Leinster goes to 795m. The public road over Mount Leinster is certainly lower than Sally Gap, would have to check my Garmin as to what exactly but it is nowhere near.

Sally Gap is a "Gap" or mountain pass and is the highest in Ireland. The Conor pass is a more dramatic looking "pass"... however even in Kerry the Priest's Leap on the border with Cork, also a pass, is higher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Mullaghanish (sic) outside Ballyvourney Co Cork is also above 700m but like Kippure and Mt Leinster is a private road to a tv mast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Basically, kerrymen are full of it.

Watch as the ensuing posts vindicate my position...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

The Conor PASS is the highest PASS in Ireland:D

Sally GAP is the highest GAP in Ireland, if you want to claim the highest PASS ye should rename it:D

Wasn't Joe Duffy asked to sort this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

niceonetom wrote: »
    Basically, kerrymen are full of it.

But if you google 'Irelands Highest Mountain Pass' you find diddly with the word 'Sally' in it.

And therefore WE WIN.
    lescol wrote: »
    Wasn't Joe Duffy asked to sort this?

Ray D'arcy was supposed to follow this one up, no sound of an answer yet though...

According to the dictionary, a gap is a pass.

Wicklow wins!

gap (gabreve.gifp)
    n. 1. a. An opening in a solid structure or surface; a cleft or breach:
    b. A break in a line of defense.

2. An opening through mountains; a pass.
    3. A space between objects or points; an aperture:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Dura Ace wrote: »
    According to the dictionary, a gap is a pass.

Wicklow wins!

gap (gabreve.gifp)
    n. 1. a. An opening in a solid structure or surface; a cleft or breach:
    b. A break in a line of defense.

2. An opening through mountains; a pass.
    3. A space between objects or points; an aperture:

Referred to, and quoted, dictionary - Fail

when the gate is open you can drive right to the top of mount leinster which is 796m high
    dunno of any higher roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 blade912

Has anyone made a list of the highest points in each county when there is a tarmac road going over the top

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

I'll echo what RoundTower said. I'm originally from Laragh myself and was always told the sally gap was the highest in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

blorg wrote: »
    Roads up to TV ariels don't tend to count as they are not public. Kippure goes up to 750m but Mount Leinster goes to 795m. The public road over Mount Leinster is certainly lower than Sally Gap, would have to check my Garmin as to what exactly but it is nowhere near.

So if you were to leave out what's public and what isn't (as it doesn't really matter for cyclists!!), is Mount Leinster the highest in Ireland then?

There's a road leading up to the TV mast on Achill Ireland, I don't know how high it is, but I'd say that opened to the public - there's no gate or barrier stopping Joe Bloggs going up there - in fact there was a good few tourists up there when I climbed it during the summer - maybe that could be the highest point then.

The highest point on Achill is 671 metres.

So if you were to leave out what's public and what isn't (as it doesn't really matter for cyclists!!), is Mount Leinster the highest in Ireland then?

There's a road leading up to the TV mast on Achill Ireland, I don't know how high it is, but I'd say that opened to the public - there's no gate or barrier stopping Joe Bloggs going up there - in fact there was a good few tourists up there when I climbed it during the summer - maybe that could be the highest point then.
    Whether a road is public or not is more to do with whether it is on private land or not rather than whether there is a gate. I presume the road up Achill is private. I reckon Mount Leinster must be the highest paved road, 796m is the highest point in Leinster full stop and pretty high in the context of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Cool Mo D

...I reckon Mount Leinster must be the highest paved road, 796m is the highest point in Leinster full stop and pretty high in the context of this country.

Not even close. Lugnaquilla is the highest point in Leinster at 925m

Cool Mo D wrote: »
    Not even close. Lugnaquilla is the highest point in Leinster at 925m
    Sorry, I was confused, don't know where I got that from. Highest road of whatever sort in Leinster, presumably the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

not to many roads on the top of lug, if i remember right its 6.5km on the gps off the nearest road to the top.

the road to mt leinster is locked now or was a week ago ,iv walked and drove it .not sure i would want to bring the bike up it. sorry thats try bring the bike up it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭peterako

Have MOUNTAIN biked pretty high up Lugnaquilla....does that count? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

ROK ON wrote: »
    Mullaghanish (sic) outside Ballyvourney Co Cork is also above 700m but like Kippure and Mt Leinster is a private road to a tv mast.

Can you cycle to the top of Mullaghanish or is there anyone there to stop you? Whats the surface like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

peterako wrote: »
    Have MOUNTAIN biked pretty high up Lugnaquilla....does that count? :D

I pushed one to the peak, if that counts. Needed the exercise ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

SomeFool wrote: »
    Can you cycle to the top of Mullaghanish or is there anyone there to stop you? Whats the surface like?
    I rode to the top some years ago (about ten) and from what I remember the road was okay though of course it could have changed completely since. I also think that I was probably on an mtb .
    Another very good climb to the top of a mountain with a mast on top is Mount Gabriel, near Schull. It's 407m and the road surface is excellent. There is a gate at the bottom but I think it's usually open. Fantastic views on a clear day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭superrdave

Jesus. I'm almost sorry I started this thread. Little did I realise I was opening this can of worms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Referred to, and quoted, dictionary - Fail

'tis true though - I was watching Mastermind one night and a very learned looking chap was asked :
    "What's a gap between two mountains called ? "
    He said " Pass"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭boomdocker

the road to the summit of mt leinster IS the highest tarred road in Ireland. No problem to get up there , if you're able :D

the climb from the gate at the nine stones to the end of the road at the transmitter is 2.4km at average 15%, and there is a section approaching the last hairpin thats >20% over a couple of hundred metres

and by the way the peak is 795m (look at the OS map) and not 796m as written on the sign at the gate

and i should know...

http://racing795.com/clubinfo/

boomdocker wrote: »
    and by the way the peak is 795m (look at the OS map) and not 796m as written on the sign at the gate
    The 796 bit is in Co Carlow I believe, it's 795 in Wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

The 796 bit is in Co Carlow I believe, it's 795 in Wexford.

also the wicklow mountains in general are actually decresing in height over time, so maybe it shrank between the two measurements :p

me@ucd wrote: »
    also the wicklow mountains in general are actually decresing in height over time, so maybe it shrank between the two measurements :p
    In fairness with Mount Leinster I think there is a bit of a lean on it and the high point is in Co. Carlow. I think this is for tax reasons. Not sure if the road loops up to this point though, they need to do a Bonette on it.

288px-Mount_Leinster.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

hynesie wrote: »
    The Connor Pass is the highest mountain pass in Ireland, but not the highest road. I think people confuse those two.

www.climbbybike.com puts the Conor Pass at 410 m and Priest's Leap at 463M, which makes it a far higher pass than the Conor Pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Mt Leinster, I've walked to the summit twice, a few years ago, and even though the road is very good, it does get VERY steep towards the end. I can't imagine what it would be like to cycle it !!
    Actually, can anyone just go past the gate and cycle up ??
    A good (short) race would be from Bunclody to the summit :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

i was up on mt leinster sunday ,the gate was open going to the mast .

i was kinda tempted .just kinda

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

jwshooter wrote: »
    i was up on mt leinster sunday ,the gate was open going to the mast .

i was kinda tempted .just kinda

I've done it and it's difficult alright, scariest descent ever.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

I've done it and it's difficult alright, scariest descent ever.

Captain H, what's the best way of getting to mount Leinster from Kilkenny City? Through Borris?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭markcroninbsc

lads come on this is a little bit embarrassing. everyone knows theres no real mountains in ireland, who gives a ****e if the sally gap is 520meters. sher you start it at about 200 so its about 300 of climbing, ya could nearly piss over that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

I'm not sure what the highest road in Ireland is but I suspect it's not quite as high as the pedestal markcroninbsc has placed himself upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

lads come on this is a little bit embarrassing. everyone knows theres no real mountains in ireland, who gives a ****e if the sally gap is 520meters. sher you start it at about 200 so its about 300 of climbing, ya could nearly piss over that

I look forward to witnessing your victory at the Boards Howth TT. 'tis but a bump in the road.

Lumen wrote: »
    I look forward to witnessing your victory at the Boards Howth TT. 'tis but a bump in the road.

haha i said you could nearly piss up it, i didnt say you could piss up it quick.

having said that... i think i could take you ;)

wheres the hill on that route tho? :D

2.34 miles. i'd say id do it in 00:05:06 or if i shave the legs maybe 00:05:04

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJcYWXkt9UE

Dont know where this guy if from. Going down the transmitter road Mount Leinster. Scary business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

Dublin to Kippure summit is 1055m ascent return per my strava. Do it twice and it would be a very respectable Tour stage.

Dublin, Sally, Laragh, Wicklow Gap, Dublin is 120k and 1500m approx. If you threw in Kippure would be a decent effort.