Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I can't believe that it's FREE!!!

• 01-02-2010 2:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭

Okay, since a lot of people have reduced working hours, or you may be unemployed altogether, or maybe like me you have some free days holiday time and are too broke to go actually go on holidays, I thought I'd start this thread about free stuff that you cannot believe is free!

It's not necessarily recreational things, but services in general.

I'm heading down to the National Gallery on Merrion Square later to see a Modigiliani... I can't believe that's free.

And another thing I can't believe is free are the Guards.

My house was broken into recently - the effort the guards went to to track down a dusty old laptop and my girlfriend's pendant really surprised both of us.
    One Guard gave me his private mobile number to call over the weekend because he'd be off duty, another, a female Detective, called to our house to see if we'd done anything about changing and updating the door locks. Shortly after she rang me up to tell me they had found a laptop, and remembering my line of work, noticed that it had that kind of stuff saved onto it. I got my laptop back. I can't believe that stuff is free.

Now before everyone gets onto the tax bandwagon, yes I know we pay for galleries and gardaí with tax - but in fact - not everyone does. I find it really heartening that we live in a society that is willing to provide these kinds of services for our use on a "can-pay/ can't pay" basis - and imo very fairly too. I have to say, for the tax I pay, some of the services are simply excellent.

So, what out there do you enjoy or use, which you can't believe is free!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

well i broke into this guys gaff the other day and nicked his laptop. turned out it was an old dusty type so i handed it into the cops and they got rid of it for free.

runs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I have to say, for the tax I pay, some of the services are simply excellent

And some are bollox beyond belief.
    Try driving through the potholes on the way to the museum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

My house was broken into recently - the effort the guards went to to track down a dusty old laptop and my girlfriend's pendant really surprised both of us.
    One Guard gave me his private mobile number to call over the weekend because he'd be off duty, another, a female Detective, called to our house to see if we'd done anything about changing and updating the door locks. Shortly after she rang me up to tell me they had found a laptop, and remembering my line of work, noticed that it had that kind of stuff saved onto it. I got my laptop back. I can't believe that stuff is free.

Now before everyone gets onto the tax bandwagon, yes I know we pay for galleries and gardaí with tax - but in fact - not everyone does. I find it really heartening that we live in a society that is willing to provide these kinds of services for our use on a "can-pay/ can't pay" basis - and imo very fairly too. I have to say, for the tax I pay, some of the services are simply excellent.

This is AH, hence I stopped reading where I bolded it and made up my own story. I'm now off for a fap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The best things in life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Water...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Fresh air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Smcgie

Can believe boards is free!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I'm heading down to the National Gallery on Merrion Square later to see a Modigiliani... I can't believe that's free.

Go to the Royal Hibernian Gallery too up the road in Ely place. Upstairs is a deadly exhibition worth looking at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

I cant believe air is free that there hasnt been a meter and a tax added:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Blow-jobs. Seriously. It's so cold the hookers are just giving them away just to get somethign warm into their stomach...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Agricola wrote: »
    Fresh air.
    Say that in two years time on a Ryanair flight!
    They will claim ownership and lease their cabin air to you on loan for the duration of travel - for a small fee!
    ...and no, they won't let you bring your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

National Museum, Kildare St.
    Opening hours: Tuesday-Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 2-5pm.
    Admission: Free.

Hugh Lane Municipal Gallery of Modern Art
    Opening Hours: Tuesday-Friday, 9;30am-6pm; Saturday, 9:30am-5pm; Sunday, 11am-5pm.
    Admission: Free; donations accepted.

Chester Beatty Library and Gallery of Oriental Art
    Opening hours: 10am-5pm Tues-Fri; 2pm-5pm Sat; tours on Wednesday and Saturday at 2.30pm.
    Admission: Free

National Gallery
    Opening Hours: Monday - Wednesday, Friday & Saturday 10am-5:30pm, Thursday 10am-8:30pm, Sunday 2-5pm.

Trinity College Top
    Opening hours: Monday- Saturday 9:30am-5:30am, Sunday noon-5:30pm.

St. Patrick's Cathedral
    Opening Hours: April-October: Monday-Friday 9am-6pm; Saturday, 9am-5pm; Sunday, 10am-11am 12:15pm-3pm. November-March: Monday-Friday, 9am-6pm; Saturday, 9am-4pm, Sunday, 10:30am-11am 12:15pm-3pm.

Chester Beatty Library and Gallery of Oriental Art
    Opening hours: 10am-5pm Tues-Fri; 2pm-5pm Sat; tours on Wednesday and Saturday at 2.30pm.
    Admission: Free

Other free things, parks, beaches, the sea, the rivers and the mountains. All playgrounds for people all over the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

The library and the give a penny / take a penny jars.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

mikom wrote: »

Social welfare card for the bus...

...I CAN'T BELIEVE IT'S FREE!!! :eek:

- Drav!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

I cant believe air is free that there hasnt been a meter and a tax added:rolleyes:

If you buy a tin of compressed air spray in a computer shop VAT is levied

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

ziggy wrote: »
    No, I mean we do pay tax.

But I was just calculating it there this morning (one tends to go through one's payslips when nursing a hangover and wondering why you can't afford holidays during holiday time) and it turns out - I pay €127 per 7 days in tax.

€127 per week... that's the kind of money I'd be paying if I had to pay rent to sleep in a dingy one bedroom basement apartment up the road from where I live... and for all that I get gardai, healthcare, my 5 years in university tutiton fees paid for, all of my primary school tuition paid for, knowledge that the government I pay for has just sent €20 million to Haiti...a myriad of things.

Guards aren't necessarily free all the time - but the extra out of hours services those guards provided for my girlfriend and I were and I really respect them for that. I can't believe that's free!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

No, I mean we do pay tax.

But I was just calculating it there this morning (one tends to go through one's payslips when nursing a hangover and wondering why you can't afford holidays during holiday time) and it turns out - I pay €127 per 7 days in tax.

€127 per week... that's the kind of money I'd be paying if I had to pay rent to sleep in a dingy one bedroom basement apartment up the road from where I live... and for all that I get gardai, healthcare, my 5 years in university tutiton fees paid for, all of my primary school tuition paid for, knowledge that the government I pay for has just sent €20 million to Haiti...a myriad of things.

Guards aren't necessarily free all the time - but the extra out of hours services those guards provided for my girlfriend and I were and I really respect them for that. I can't believe that's free!!

How exactly is it free? Seriously, do you understand the concept of the word 'free'?

Naos wrote: »
    How exactly is it free? Seriously, do you understand the concept of the word 'free'?
    I'm talking specifically about the extra effort they made - where I said one garda was going off duty for the weekend but would keep me updated if he heard anything, and he gave me his private mobile number if I needed to ring him.
    the female detective was walking by our house one weekend and spontaneously called in as an off-duty detective to ask us if we did anything about getting better locks since the break in. We had tea together and she gave my girlfriend and I lloads of advice on alarms and window bars. Personally, that was a free service I was really impressed at.

It would encourage me to do similiar things in my own job. Spread the love, you know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Tbh, I'd say it's extremely rare that a Garda would give someone their personal phone number

I'm not even sure if they're allowed to do so.. doesn't all investigative stuff need to go through the proper channels?

Tbh, I'd say it's extremely rare that a Garda would give someone their personal phone number

I'm not even sure if they're allowed to do so.. doesn't all investigative stuff need to go through the proper channels?
    No, unfortunately.

I only happen to know this because there was a Superintdant on the radio recently saying that a huge amount of Irish police stations have no internet or fax facilities, and that a large amount of gardai have to use their own mobiles for professional use because of funding cuts.
    Because a lot of them have no interent at the stations, many guards also have to use their home PCs and home internet to fill out reports etc.

I really don't know how you can put up with all the rubbish involved with being a guard and still have the enthusiasm to give out your private mobile number, or to enquire casually about a closed burglary case to see if they've got better locks. Anyway, that's not the purpose of the thread.

Another great free thing... libraries with free newspapers and National Geographic!

And my neighbours wifi!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Probably their (Garda issue) mobile rather than their actual personal number

More akin to a direct line

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Probably their (Garda issue) mobile rather than their actual personal number
    I doubt it, I would be extremely surprised if regular on-the-beat Gardai are all issued with Garda mobiles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

No, unfortunately.

I only happen to know this because there was a Superintdant on the radio recently saying that a huge amount of Irish police stations have no internet or fax facilities, and that a large amount of gardai have to use their own mobiles for professional use because of funding cuts.
    Because a lot of them have no interent at the stations, many guards also have to use their home PCs and home internet to fill out reports etc.

I really don't know how you can put up with all the rubbish involved with being a guard and still have the enthusiasm to give out your private mobile number, or to enquire casually about a closed burglary case to see if they've got better locks. Anyway, that's not the purpose of the thread.

That is not a service, thats just a person taking a genuine interest in your case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

I doubt it, I would be extremely surprised if regular on-the-beat Gardai are all issued with Garda mobiles.
    AFAIK, all gardai are given a mobile, they're used more nowadays than the radios as the radios aern't secure.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No, unfortunately.

I really don't know how you can put up with all the rubbish involved with being a guard and still have the enthusiasm to give out your private mobile number, or to enquire casually about a closed burglary case to see if they've got better locks.
    +1 Ive come across a fair few cops who are very sound and go above and beyond the call of duty. You might remember the odd cnut, but I've generally had good interactions. Their facilities or lack.... anyway yea different thread.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

I like this thread but isn't there a sunshine and lollipops forum elsewhere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

The wonderful beaches around Ireland (and the lifeguards/coastguard that go with them).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

or living in a decent country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

I can't believe it's not butter free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Redpunto

I can't believe those little pencils and the paper tape measures in IKEA are free, my kids have a field day when we go in there:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

That's not free. They're working an angle. They make you learn stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Redpunto wrote: »
    I can't believe those little pencils and the paper tape measures in IKEA are free, my kids have a field day when we go in there:D

That's how free stuff stops being free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Cool Running

RTE television - I cant believe its free

Some guy called to the house saying he was the TV licence inspector(as if) and I said to him "Ya and im the wallet inspector"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

I'm eternally grateful that social welfare fraud is free. God bless the guvverment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

My next door neighbours internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

THUMBS UP.

Drove back from Belfast today; horrified at the number of potholes *ON THE M1*. Pretty sure some were the same ones I saw when I last drove that way back in October! Hitting a pothole is annoying enough but... at 120km/h??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Can believe boards is free!
    *looks over at red stars*

DAMMIT!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Wazdakka wrote: »
    *looks over at red stars*

DAMMIT!!!

Reference not found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Blow-jobs. Seriously. It's so cold the hookers are just giving them away just to get somethign warm into their stomach...

Ans HIV Tests if she wants more :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

You could always go into the courts and watch the goings-on for free too.
    Never found the time myself, but it's on my to-do list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

You could always go into the courts and watch the goings-on for free too.
    Never found the time myself, but it's on my to-do list.

It's actually good fun. Judge Judy fun, but fun nonetheless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Herbal Deity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

2 pages and nobody has posted "Your mom" yet. Shocking for AH...just shocking.

As for my list of free stuff that I can't believe is free...

Movies.
    Music.
    Porn.
    Games.
    Internet (well, I don't pay for it).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

I cant believe it's free.

Sex.
    I haven't read the small print though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Okay, since a lot of people have reduced working hours, or you may be unemployed altogether, or maybe like me you have some free days holiday time and are too broke to go actually go on holidays, I thought I'd start this thread about free stuff that you cannot believe is free!

It's not necessarily recreational things, but services in general.

And another thing I can't believe is free are the Guards.

I hope the guard paid you for those laptop pics...

stepbar wrote: »
    I hope the guard paid you for those laptop pics...
    I must admit, there was an awkward moment when the laptop ws being handed back. It turned out that after the thieves took the laptop, they proceeded to place all manner of offending material on there in a way that really really undermines women - young librarians in particular.

It really got my blood boiling so it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

And they reset the clock to last week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

Do they have to be things we are actually unable to believe that they are free?