Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

modifying my vw passat .

• 31-01-2010 10:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭

hi guys

i have a 02 1.9tdi it is as basic as f**k what can i do to it to make it non basic looking there is 15in standard rims on it what size alloys could i put on not looking to spend outragious money as it wont be got back if sold .any ideas ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

A nice set of 16's would be ok. mild lowering and get it professionally polished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Has it chrome, that can be brightened up as well. A set of original fog lights by hella would be nice and their not dear either..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

I've seen one of that model passat's on a set of Merc monoblocks, looked pretty good. When selling again, you can put the original wheels back on and sell the alloys separately to minimise any financial loss.

16AMGbig.jpg

Far as I know, baseline Passats doesn't have chrome but comfortline does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

iirc chrome came along mid life 03/04

op have a look here for some ideas !

http://www.passatworld.com/forums/showthread.php?t=243342

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭mlmcelligott

bk1991 wrote: »
    hi guys

i have a 02 1.9tdi it is as basic as f**k what can i do to it to make it non basic looking there is 15in standard rims on it what size alloys could i put on not looking to spend outragious money as it wont be got back if sold .any ideas ?

a nice set of alloys would be a good start. I actually have a spare set too off a 02 passat. think they are five spoke. 3 are in perfect condition and one was kirbed. reason i took them off is because the girlfriend managed to puncture two of them in one go so i put the originals back on. they just sitting in the garage looking for a new owner...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭bk1991

malcox wrote: »
    Has it chrome, that can be brightened up as well. A set of original fog lights by hella would be nice and their not dear either..

no chorme unfortunatly how hard are the fog lights to fit ?the tow ring is at the back of where they would be fitted isnt it ?how much and where can they b got .

by the way its is a tdi red i if that makes much difference .
    what sort of alloys should i be lookin at ?
    can post pics if ya want ?

You can buy them in your local motor factors, they arent to dear either, get the hella ones. Those little panels where your towing eye is just pop out. The lights are easy to fit their is no major wiring at all you have a little box in the car that switches them on and off. Try done deal.ie or adverts.ie on this site, avoid halfords for alloys they havent great stuff.

they look gud what would be the going price . i am from westmeath so will call an see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Dish

Nice set of Eibach spring or H&R will set you down nicely. Keith at www.alloy-wheels.ie will be happy to sort you with what you need, spring and wheel wise!

www.vagdrivers.net is also a site that might be of some help to you. Full of VW enthusiasts :)

they look gud what would be the going price . i am from westmeath so will call an see

I dont know youll pick them up fairly cheap their is a phone number on the ad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

I had a Passat a couple of years ago.
    I bought a set of Audi 17s for it but when they were fitted they rubbed against the inside of the arches.

I had to buy a set of 10mm spacers to get the wheels to fit.
    They gave the car a good chunky look as the wheels now protruded ever so slightly.
    I think using spacers is definitely a good look for a Passat.

I had a Passat a couple of years ago.
    I bought a set of Audi 17s for it but when they were fitted they rubbed against the inside of the arches.

I had to buy a set of 10mm spacers to get the wheels to fit.
    They gave the car a good chunky look as the wheels now protruded ever so slightly.
    I think using spacers is definitely a good look for a Passat.

does it bring the wheels much out ? did you do anything else to it ?

does it bring the wheels much out ?

10mm :D

what colour is the car ?!

15-02-2009-01.jpg

15-02-2009-03.jpg

This look can be got pretty cheap, maybe apart from the alloys (19" ASA AR1 )
    • Votex Style Side-Skirts
    • Boot Lip Spoiler
    • De-Badged Chrome Front Grille
    • De-Badged Bootlid
    • VW Rear Badge Sprayed Gloss Black
    • Full Colour Coding

Looks very well and not too OTT

homer90 wrote: »
    10mm :D

what colour is the car ?!

it is navy /blue il post pics

homer90 wrote: »
    15-02-2009-01.jpg

15-02-2009-03.jpg

This look can be got pretty cheap, maybe apart from the alloys (19" ASA AR1 )
    • Votex Style Side-Skirts
    • Boot Lip Spoiler
    • De-Badged Chrome Front Grille
    • De-Badged Bootlid
    • VW Rear Badge Sprayed Gloss Black
    • Full Colour Coding
    Looks very well and not too OTT

can the crome look be done around the windows and on doors ?

my car is identical to this one , same colour and everything else
    http://www.alhayesmotors.com/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200937195190875

does it bring the wheels much out ? did you do anything else to it ?

http://www.alhayesmotors.com/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=200937195190875

Yeah, you can get different thickness of spacers.
    Mine brought the wheels out by 10mm.
    I think it's a really good look for Passats / Boras.
    Gives them a good chunky look.

A small boot lip spoiler would help.
    Something like this VW-Passat-Spoiler-146.jpg.
    Just don't go mad and stick an EVO spoiler on it :D.

Apart from that lowering it would work as would skirts and full colour coding if it's not already like that.
    There's not much more you go do to a Passat without ending up with a tacky look.
    Subtlety is the key word.

Yeah, you can get different thickness of spacers.
    Mine brought the wheels out by 10mm.
    I think it's a really good look for Passats / Boras.
    Gives them a good chunky look.

A small boot lip spoiler would help.
    Something like this VW-Passat-Spoiler-146.jpg.
    Just don't go mad and stick an EVO spoiler on it :D.

Apart from that lowering it would work as would skirts and full colour coding if it's not already like that.
    There's not much more you go do to a Passat without ending up with a tacky look.
    Subtlety is the key word.

so far what i am thinging 17inch rs8 alloys .foglights ,boot spoiler,diff numberplates,

what about the stickers for top windscreen and a hid kit ?

bk1991

so far what i am thinging 17inch rs8 alloys .foglights ,boot spoiler,diff numberplates,

bk1991

RS8's - done to death and look ****e IMO
    stickers - also look ****e

But hey, each to their own .....

bk1991

RS8s looks good on Passats, try e-bay but if you buy second hand make sure none of them are buckled.

OEM Foglights look good.

Boot spoiler looks good.
    When you're getting the spoiler fitted I'd get any nasty black bits colour coded.

HIDs could be ok.
    I'd avoid stickers though, unless it's one of those hilarious 'My Other Car's A Ferrari' ones. :rolleyes:

RS8s looks good on Passats, try e-bay but if you buy second hand make sure none of them are buckled.

OEM Foglights look good.

HIDs could be ok.

ok stickers a no no so

where could i get the boot sopiler ? and how is it fitted ?
    where would i get the foglights . and how hard are the fog lights to fit ?

what is the norm wit hids just the headlights and put white bulbes in rest to make it look ok ?
    can the chrome look be replicated around the windows?

here is pictures of the car just took em .

9C4D46AFC7CE4813A53C014E867CD101-500.jpg
    840554D3B2D049F6984DADDF580C83ED-500.jpg
    852E1AD23BC748F3829FB4DCB0878D93-500.jpg

ok stickers a no no so

where could i get the boot sopiler ? and how is it fitted ?
    where would i get the foglights . and how hard are the fog lights to fit ?

what is the norm wit hids just the headlights and put white bulbes in rest to make it look ok ?
    can the chrome look be replicated around the windows?

Car looks decent.
    If you're worried about image I'd lose the towbar unless it's required.
    Spoiler is just fixed to the boot lid with screws/bolts but you'd be better off getting it fitted by a panel beater.
    Otherwise it may not sit right or will come loose.

AFAIK you can buy chrome trim kits for the doors.
    There's probably some on eBay but to be honest I don't think it looks that good.

Changing to HID lights is more complicated than just changing the bulbs.
    You will need to install a HID ballast for each light.

Regarding front fog lights.
    Hopefully the car is wired up for fog lights.
    There are two removable panels beneath the headlights.
    Pop them out and see if there's a spare wiring connector in there.
    This is what you'll plug the new fog lights into.
    When you buy the fog lights they'll probably come with special replacement panels for the 2 that I just mentioned.
    The fog lights clip into these new panels which in turn clip back into the car.

Hope it runs good for you, they're a great car.

Car looks decent.
    If you're worried about image I'd lose the towbar unless it's required.
    Spoiler is just fixed to the boot lid with screws/bolts but you'd be better off getting it fitted by a panel beater.
    Otherwise it may not sit right or will come loose.

AFAIK you can buy chrome trim kits for the doors.
    There's probably some on eBay but to be honest I don't think it looks that good.

Changing to HID lights is more complicated than just changing the bulbs.
    You will need to install a HID ballast for each light.

Regarding front fog lights.
    Hopefully the car is wired up for fog lights.
    There are two removable panels beneath the headlights.
    Pop them out and see if there's a spare wiring connector in there.
    This is what you'll plug the new fog lights into.
    When you buy the fog lights they'll probably come with special replacement panels for the 2 that I just mentioned.
    The fog lights clip into these new panels which in turn clip back into the car.

Hope it runs good for you, they're a great car.

Tow bar has to stay I am afraid .I think this would work for the chrome window trim .
    http://cgi.ebay.ie/VOLKSWAGEN-VW-CHROME-STRIP-TAPE-GOLF-POLO-PASSAT-BORA_W0QQitemZ150409184757QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item23051605f5
    I will look and see for wires .if it is pre wired where is the switch ?
    How long does the hid’s last compared to normal bulbs ?
    Do the fog lights come as kit form ? Or do I have get individual lamps and grilles ?
    Where should I be looking for the rs8 alloys ?
    Other than alloys ,fog lights, boot spoiler, hid kit a good polish will do …
    bk1991

I will look and see for wires .if it is pre wired where is the switch ?
    Do the fog lights come as kit form ? Or do I have get individual lamps and grilles ?

How long does the hid’s last compared to normal bulbs ?

Where should I be looking for the rs8 alloys ?
    Other than alloys ,fog lights, boot spoiler, hid kit a good polish will do …
    bk1991

If there is no spare wiring behind those grilles then you'll need to get the new fog lights wired into the existing headlights.
    I think that Passat already has fog lights build into the headlights.
    I'm not sure but I think you turn on the fogs by pulling out the light switch.

Yes, the fog lights will probably come in kit from containing lights and replacement grille panels.

HIDs are supposed to last much longer than regular halogen bulbs.

Try ebay.co.uk for the RS8s.
    Even after paying for a courier to ship from England it'll probably be alot cheaper.

If you go ahead and buy the RS8s you'll probably need to also buy the wheel spacers I spoke about.
    Make sure that they're hubcentric.
    http://www.europerformance.co.uk/pages/guides/h&rsuspension/h&r-track+-wheel-spacers.mhtml.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Hey look on www,vagdrivers.net Irelands Vw webpage, alot of good ideas can be found on it and help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Dish

Id personally stay away from RS8 wheels, id go with Audi A5 wheels if you could get the right offset, think they would look well but each to their own, also i think a lip spoiler would look better rather than the boot spoiler But hey each to their own!:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

worst thing about that blue is its so hard to keep clean well in my expierence. i should know my blue is deadly. its all grand one can go away and spent two or three hours waxing and making the car like new. its its wet straight away it shows all the dirty rain and if its dry it shows all the road dust. get a nice cb aerial for the back. one about a foot long.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

tbh i woulnt spend a whole pile. you just never get the money back. what sort of mileage is on it.

there is 90,000 miles on it .not goen do much .set alloys ,foglights ,hid kit ,good polish .

Youll need to compound it as well that will get rid of scratches and scuffs and bring up the shine..

ok will do
    what alloys would ye be looking at ? hella fog light kit is in or around 300€

ok will do
    what alloys would ye be looking at ? hella fog light kit is in or around 300€

I posted a done deal link there for passat alloys their was loads more there. 300 is robbery round 150 i paid 200 about 7 years ago and i remember ur man told me they would be gettin cheaper. Let me know how you get on there i could put you in contact with him.....

there is 90,000 miles on it .not goen do much .set alloys ,foglights ,hid kit ,good polish .

God 90k is low my 01 had 180k when we departed in feb 07

i got it last augest wit 78,000 miles for 4000k wit new two bar ,timeing belt ,full service ,4new tires ,3mts warenty .not bad was it . cant see any link . i rang motor factors they said hella fog lit kit includeing everything in or around 300€ where did u geturs ? pm me if u have any info greatly appriciated

insurance on it is a bastard 1600.named driver lol

bk1991

I rang that man and he told me he will know monday...

ok cheers i cant find link u posted for alloys .what u think of r32's

bk1991

Here

i can get new 17inch rs4's inc tires for 400€ what would u say ?

Good Value allright i wouldnt be into allows that arent made by the manufacturers as they can be brittle enough. Still cheap if the tyres are ok and there not like duck eggs!!

there are nangkang tyres the rs4's inc tyres from www.alloy-wheels.ie are 600 better tyres i think .

200 is a lot extra i gave up on tyres i was putting pirelli p7000 on me own yoke and getin only 20k out of them and they are 180 a pop. I put on triangles the last time for 60 euro each and they are wearing the course as good. Big wheels are hard minded i have damaged 2 monte carlo alloys on my own which are 17". I think if i could change to 16" i would..

hella fogs cant be got

I may get shot down for this (in fact i know I will) but you could fit DRL LEDs in the space where the fogs go......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

I think if i could change to 16" i would..

Why can't you?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I may get shot down for this (in fact i know I will) but you could fit DRL LEDs in the space where the fogs go......

Good idea colm I know a fella with them on a 08 caddy they look well. They are long (4") strips..

tossy wrote: »
    Why can't you?

Cost to much at this stage..Car will be traded next year anyway..

hella fogs cant be got
    MY man didnt come back to me yet, hold tough