Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connemara Adventure Challenge

• 31-01-2010 9:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭

Sorry if this has been posted already but cant find any info.

So Basicly thinking of entering the connemara challenge!I have never done anything like it before.just wondering where do i start!! any good sites to get some info would be great and what type of training should i be doing?

any info would be great apoligises again if this has already been discussed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

Elainee not sure where your based or how serious you want to take this (do you want to win it ?) if you want to win I am the wrong person to advise but the thread below is a general thread on Gaelforce from last year and this Challenge is like a GF junior (very junior) .
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055556483&highlight=gaelforce
    Would not really recommend spending time on the kayaking training as you will probably be paired up for this on a sit on kayak and even if your olympic standard you could have someone like me on it with you so all the training will be out the window .
    If you are Dublin based take a look IMRA website , they arrange a great series of hill runs ,all levels are catered for .
    You have about 13/14 weeks so start very small and concentrate on possibly the running to start with maybe 1 or 2km twice a week to start with (assuming your medically fit for it) .
    If you have a bike maybe look to commute to work or get out once a week for 3-5 miles to start with .
    Also take a look at good trail running shoes like Solomon xt's/wings , the grip will be important.
    Stay on here for some of the more experienced guys as there are some serious guys here who are always willing to share advice/exp.
    Hope this helps as a starting point :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭elainee

Elainee not sure where your based or how serious you want to take this (do you want to win it ?) if you want to win I am the wrong person to advise but the thread below is a general thread on Gaelforce from last year and this Challenge is like a GF junior (very junior) .
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055556483&highlight=gaelforce
    Would not really recommend spending time on the kayaking training as you will probably be paired up for this on a sit on kayak and even if your olympic standard you could have someone like me on it with you so all the training will be out the window .
    If you are Dublin based take a look IMRA website , they arrange a great series of hill runs ,all levels are catered for .
    You have about 13/14 weeks so start very small and concentrate on possibly the running to start with maybe 1 or 2km twice a week to start with (assuming your medically fit for it) .
    If you have a bike maybe look to commute to work or get out once a week for 3-5 miles to start with .
    Also take a look at good trail running shoes like Solomon xt's/wings , the grip will be important.
    Stay on here for some of the more experienced guys as there are some serious guys here who are always willing to share advice/exp.
    Hope this helps as a starting point :
    Thanks some good info there. well il hold off on winning it till next year!!:D im fitish run about 8miles a week find it tough tho!play some sports too.am in the mighty munster so imra is a no good. are there any other similar events like this?? any sport will do excluding triathlons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Causeway

Loads more events like this, most are a little bit longer.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055750328

This thread should help.

elainee wrote: »
    am in the mighty munster so imra is a no good. are there any other similar events like this??!

IMRA have some Munster based events that might be worth a look , never done any of them so not sure how difficult they are but you could tag along for a look :

http://www.imra.ie/events/?PHPSESSID=f10641b05533f079ddfae1c960b9ba46

Also take a look at the runireland website for events , some Duathlons here (run/bike/run) that will prepare you for the numb feeling in the legs and 1-2 that are partially off road (Castlebar 27/03),a large amount to choose from and alot of these are in Cork/Limerick/Waterford area incl some IMRA runs.
    http://www.runireland.com/event/upcoming
    Some good road races here also if you want to keep it simple to start with .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭threeleggedhors

Hi guys, like the OP gona be doing the Connemara Challenge for the first time and considering doing the Gaelforce if it goes well. The problem for me is picking a bike with a tight budget 450 quid. A cyclocross is out of the question, looking at over a grand there but would've been ideal. THe problem is that I think a MTB would suit the Connemara one and a Racer would suit Gaelforce. I know nothing about bikes but was wondering if it'd be possible to put reinforced tyres on a racer for the Connemara Challenge because I'd much rather a lighter option ie. a bike that would do me for both events. Asking alot I know .... :confused:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Did you confirm with them about needing an mountain bike for the Connemara challenge? GF is more suited to the road bikes, would be a pain needing a mountain bike for the Connemara and a road bike for GF.

yop wrote: »
    Did you confirm with them about needing an mountain bike for the Connemara challenge? GF is more suited to the road bikes, would be a pain needing a mountain bike for the Connemara and a road bike for GF.

I didn't contact them but it does say on the website that a MTB is really recommended as there's a 7km forest trail, I may have to look into getting the lend of a MTB for the day and maybe buying a road bike for myself, don't think I'll have many other options ...

. The problem for me is picking a bike with a tight budget 450 quid.
    I'd much rather a lighter option ie. a bike that would do me for both events. Asking alot I know .... :confused:
    Threelegged you should probably look at a hybrid bike which is a bit of a cross dresser , this give the benefits of a MTB ride position and the road benefits of a racer , does both reasonably well but neither fantastically .
    Your budget is fine for a new one or if you wanted to go 2nd hand there is great value but be careful where you buy , would recommend a bike shop for the 2nd hand ones .Allow a few quid for helmet,pedals etc .

Not sure where your based but there are a lot of good dealers out there .
    Take a look at the link below ,never been in cycle superstore but it looks great .

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=32&idproduct=28188

On YOP point , these are generally set up for dual use as Gaelforce wasfor both road and MTB bikes, there may be sections where you run with the bike but you might be glad to get off the saddle at that stage anyway!!

Threelegged you should probably look at a hybrid bike which is a bit of a cross dresser , this give the benefits of a MTB ride position and the road benefits of a racer , does both reasonably well but neither fantastically .
    Your budget is fine for a new one or if you wanted to go 2nd hand there is great value but be careful where you buy , would recommend a bike shop for the 2nd hand ones .Allow a few quid for helmet,pedals etc .

Not sure where your based but there are a lot of good dealers out there .
    Take a look at the link below ,never been in cycle superstore but it looks great .

http://www.cyclesuperstore.ie/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=32&idproduct=28188

On YOP point , these are generally set up for dual use as Gaelforce wasfor both road and MTB bikes, there may be sections where you run with the bike but you might be glad to get off the saddle at that stage anyway!!

Thanks toomuchdetail, I've been looking at a few sites alright. I guess maybe a lightweight hybrid might be a route alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 whittey

Bumping this up a little...

Need to get a light backpack for the Connemara Adventure Challenge - anyone able to advise on suitable options?

I'm hoping to signup to Gael Force if I get through this one ok, so willing to make the investment on a decent one now - though not ruling out a quality money saving option either.

What should I be considering ?
    I presume I need to be able to fit mandatory kit inside, and also straps to hold running shoes & let the dry out while on the bike (Gael Force only, will be using MTB & flat pedals for Connemara).

Any advice on suitable options - I think I remember reading some options linked here before but can't seem to find them - think they're somewhere in the 50-page GF thread from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

whittey wrote: »
    Bumping this up a little...

Need to get a light backpack for the Connemara Adventure Challenge - anyone able to advise on suitable options?

I'm hoping to signup to Gael Force if I get through this one ok, so willing to make the investment on a decent one now - though not ruling out a quality money saving option either.

What should I be considering ?
    I presume I need to be able to fit mandatory kit inside, and also straps to hold running shoes & let the dry out while on the bike (Gael Force only, will be using MTB & flat pedals for Connemara).

Any advice on suitable options - I think I remember reading some options linked here before but can't seem to find them - think they're somewhere in the 50-page GF thread from last year.

I used an Inov-8 Racepro 12 backpack for Gaelforce last year, small but has a hydration pack, fits comfortably and could carry all I needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

Is everyone using mountain bikes for this or Hybrids? Doubt there will be many racers as it sounds like most of the cycling is off road. (correct me if I am wrong)

I have slicks on my mountain bike at the moment, so will probably leave them on for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 tommysparks

Two bags I use:

First one for mountaing biking. Also used at WAR:

http://www.camelbak.com/sports-recreation/hydration-packs/2010-mule.aspx

works well. small, but you can fit all the kit/rain gear you need for a spin in it. 3 litre hydration pack

and one for commuting:

http://eu.thenorthface.com/tnf-eu-en/equipment/day-packs/borealis.html?colour=592

30 litre bag. no hydration pack but there is a space for one. loads of pockets. Maybe a bit too big for AR

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 whittey

Thanks for the suggestions folks.
    Found those links to the Innov-8 bags in the GF thread from last year. Had a look & they are £45 online in the UK.
    Had a look in Great Outdoors in Galway today, and they had a sale on.
    Got a Platypus MegaWatt backpack + 2l bladder & hose and a survival blanket for €39 !!!
    The backpack is essentially a bike commuter pack, but will do the business.
    Did a 5 mile run with it this evening, and its fine, nice and comfy.

http://www.maxim.co.uk/fitness/geartest/1416/water_packs.html

As for the bikes, personally, I only have a MTB, so that's what I'll be using, with slicks of course.
    Must invest in a road bike for GF after I sign up for it.

I use a Vango Hydro Trax....

Its dirt cheap compared to the bigger brands, buts its a good bag for these adventure races, its not too big, but plenty of room for the mandatory kit and it comes with a reservoir/bladder

http://www.summits.co.uk/acatalog/info_v_hydro_trax.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Quick question on tyre choice for a MTB...

I read on the GaelForce own forum that a recommendation is tyre rated higher than 70 psi.
    I have some old slicks rated to 65 psi - wondering if they would do the job, or should I be forking out on some new ones.
    I'll need to get some spare tubes & maybe a saddle bag - seem to have lost my previous one, so if I'm getting them I may as well get the tyres too if necessary.

I'd say 65 is probably sound.

No matter what mine are, I wont be changing them anyways.

I've gone with new tyres after some advice on the Cycling Forum. Full slicks may be too treacherous if its bad off-road conditions.

Back to another query...

What clothing to wear - anyone got any advice on whats suitable for this type of race. I've only done 5/8/10 km road races to date, so don't know whats the most appropriate option here.

I assume lycra sprinting style running shorts are fine, but whats the best option on top.
    Going to be going for twice as long as I'm used to, so hoping to avoid the dreaded nipple chaffing.
    Is a compression top with maybe a cycling jersey over it a good option, or is a cycling jersey on its own enough?

Thoughts anyone?

It's only a 10K run so I doubt if nipple chaffing will be a big problem, a bit of vaseline maybe just incase. I'd wait and see what the weather will be like closer to the time for deciding whether to wear a cycling jacket, don't think it'll be too rough looking at the 10 day forecast.

My most important item will be spare socks, heard your feet get pretty cold on the bike if you've got sopping wet feet which they will be after running through Connemara bog.

I've gone for semi slick 65psi tyres for the mountain bike part. Looking forward to it now, 1st time I've ever entered a race of any description.

It's only a 10K run so I doubt if nipple chaffing will be a big problem, a bit of vaseline maybe just incase. I'd wait and see what the weather will be like closer to the time for deciding whether to wear a cycling jacket, don't think it'll be too rough looking at the 10 day forecast.

My most important item will be spare socks, heard your feet get pretty cold on the bike if you've got sopping wet feet which they will be after running through Connemara bog.

I've gone for semi slick 65psi tyres for the mountain bike part. Looking forward to it now, 1st time I've ever entered a race of any description.

I used to not have a chaffing problem, but got it in an 8k race a few weeks ago, so just being extra cautious.
    Will see what the weather brings alright, just want to cover all the bases.

I'll have a few spare socks alright, just in case scenario - if they get wet, they'll get changed.

Well I went down to Leenane for a reccie this evening.
    Did most of the cycle - all of the offroad bit, and I honestly don't see how you could survive it on a hybrid.
    The off-road is very bumpy, rough gravel & stone tracks, so a road bike is a definite no.
    You'll make up the lost time with a hybrid on the road section, but you'll be rattled to bits on the off-road.
    It shook so much I even had to stop at one point & tighten the quick release on the front wheel - make sure you've got it well tight before you leave the bike at the drop-off point.

The road section is up and down, a few hills, so the MTB is a little on the heavy side there, but at that point I think I'll be just relieved after the first run & the off-road shakedown, will be holding back here to save myself for the kayak & final run.

Seriously undecided on footwear - was thinking of doing it in just my regular runners, but having seen the state of affairs down there - everything off-road will be rough & plenty of wet sections, I'm not so sure now.

Not much time to break in a pair of Salamons, though it may have to be done by wearing them every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 peteg

i have a mountain bike with street runner tyres ( slicks ).what do you think

You'll be fine, but there are a few gravelly & muddy sections where the extra grip on the edges of the semi-slicks will help.

Looking forward to it now - I might just catch the adventure race bug. :D

So MTB with knobbly tyres is a no no, ya?

I have slicks on my old MTB, which is what I am gonna use, its a light bike too so not worried about uphill road sections.

How much of the cycle route is off road?

CKWPORT wrote: »
    So MTB with knobbly tyres is a no no, ya?

I have slicks on my old MTB, which is what I am gonna use, its a light bike too so not worried about uphill road sections.

How much of the cycle route is off road?

As it says on the site, roughly half. The battery is gone on my computer so don't know the actual distance. Must get it replaced before the weekend, or get myself one of those Garmins :-)

Knobbly tyres will be fine, but you'll suffer on the roads with the extra effort required.

Slicks it is for me so, will take it easy on the off road sections, and speed up on the road bits...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

What type of tyre pressure should I use for the off road. I'm thinking pump it hard - I'll be rattled but won't get a pinch puncture and less chance of buckling a wheel. But others are saying lower the pressure to make it easier to cycle. This is on a hybrid. What's the opinions here?

I had mine close to the 80psi max rating on the tyre last weekend, and won't be changing it.
    Yes you'll get rattled, but you won't get a pinch as you say, and you won't be slowed down as much on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭madson

By the looks of things not many will be doing the cycling on a road bike, unfortunately I have no choice but to do it on my road bike, I have put 25mm tyres on it but they will not really make any difference. I'm pretty screwed on the offroad section, not looking forward to the race one bit now.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

madson wrote: »
    By the looks of things not many will be doing the cycling on a road bike, unfortunately I have no choice but to do it on my road bike, I have put 25mm tyres on it but they will not really make any difference. I'm pretty screwed on the offroad section, not looking forward to the race one bit now.

Based on what they are saying about the course I wouldn't touch it with a road bike as you could ruin it.

I have a 1/2 ton mountain bike that IF I make it (50/50 chance I will) that I am going to use, not going to ruin my road bike on the event.

good luck tomorrow folks, anyone sees me in a heap make sure u don't laugh lol

Been out for 7 weeks but managed a 5km run today so hope to hell it holds up! :) Fingers crossed. ;)

good luck tomorrow folks, anyone sees me in a heap make sure u don't laugh lol

Been out for 7 weeks but managed a 5km run today so hope to hell it holds up! :) Fingers crossed. ;)

Bhest of luck....

I am in the wave ahead of ya, so I will get a nice free finish line pic of ya.

So how did everyone do, hope you all made it safely round the course.

I finished in sub-3 hours so was delighted with that. Sections of it were a lot tougher than I expected, especially kayaking into that headwind.

Glad to get that completed with no major problems, now to sign-up for GF. :D

That course was way tougher than expected. It was torture, except for the biking...my slicks on the bike were a great idea, wizzing past people on the road.

I think now I could have done better, I could have pushed it a bit more, instead of stopping and walking a few times when I was fecked. Still finised in 2:49, so was happy with a top 100 finish, thats good for me.

The Kayak was hell.

MASSIVE improvement on Gaelforce 2010 so hats off to the organisers, they got a lot of bad reviews last year re organisation, timing chips, lack of food etc but this year it really was an excellent event, the training top was excellent, the food at the end was cracking and the timing sheet when you finished was great to review.

Personally it was a "fear" just to finish it, 7 weeks out without any training put a major doubt in my mind but I finished it in 3.26 so I was happy enough to finish but if I hadn't missed the 7 weeks I could have been a good bit faster.

The first "Leap" over a bog hole and up a bank was a suprise and I am sure there were plenty of "what the hell am I doing here". A nice run then through bog and forest until the 300m+ climb.
    Time to dib - Time 17.54

The hill was boggy and slippy and never ending. Weather was warm so in the shade it drained the hell off me.
    Then to make it worse you could see off to the left the bikes and the temptation was there just to cut a left and head down but instead we ploughed off to the right in near single file.
    Once at the top it again time to dib - - Time 20.28
    The decent was steep and slippy, passing one poor lad getting his ankle on a board with a medic, later met the jeep on the way up for him. From all the events I have done I think this tops the lot for injuries.
    The run down was a mix of running and "arse skiing" as I couldn't land on my right leg as my knee was too weak to take continual pounding. Bank to the left and into the bikes.
    dib - Time 12.03

Pick up the bike, "no cycling allowed in transition" was the shout :)
    Onto the road, a man living on the right hand side fair play had a hose stuck out to wet us, well welcomed. Took in some fluids and tried to get my 1/2 ton bike to move. Hadn't been on a mountain bike in over a year since I bought the Giant road bike and by hell its some difference.
    Off the tar road, down onto a trail, bumpy but not too bad, first hill up that as I was been passed by "new generation" mountain bikes and hybrids. There was a suprising amount of road bikes and punctures to boot.
    One very bad section which I near came off, hit it way too fast and the back tire slide down the bank a little, recovered "the tank" and ploughed on. Weather was warm but very pleasant.
    Onto the tarmac and the whizz of the tanks wheels told me that this was going to be painful, been on this section of road a lot so knew the hills which lay ahead. Every few mins I passed or more regularly was passed by better bikes. The frustration was telling but I could feel the knee tightening so knew that if I pushed I was gone.
    Got to the bike layoff, threw the bike down and then off down the 1km run to the kayak - Dib - Time 66.47

Got chatting to a lad down at the kayaks and we decided to pair up, he had done kayaking once but that was probably more than most there. Took on more fluids and a mars bar. Stretched as best as I could and then headed off.
    This is my 4th time in a kayak and with head wind and current it was very tough going, we made good headway, he had to stop twice for a rest but I was going well. Got a few "clicks" out of my groin but I was sound and ploughed on. Passed 2 and got passed by one. Thought the end would never appear but we both agreed to stick together on the run as we were both comfortable.
    Time on the other lads watch was 24 mins, delighted with that.

We pulled up at the pier and he jumped out first then I attempted to get out, nothing out of legs, again tried to pull myself up, both legs gone. Inside both groins and down the ITB of both legs. Hell pain!! The lads at the kayak were sound out, they had to pull me out of the kayak and onto the stones.
    If I had doubts about finishing then this was it, made 2 attempts to get up but each time the legs just couldn't handle it, locked up and had to sit back down. Girls there showing me how to keep legs up and rub the hell out of them.
    After 8 mins I HAD to go, not that I was challenging for the lead or that but you are always fighting against time.
    Dib - Time 33.00

The girl at the kayak asked me did I want a marshall to collect me, I think the shock on my face was the answer, she told me to walk the rest, again my face answered that.
    I managed to jog, someone said it was 2km from the kayak to the turn onto the Western Way, passed a few on the run and again was passed by some who looked like they had only begun.
    Made the Western Way in 18 mins, was shocked, 9 min per km, I did Westport 5km in 24 mins at Xmas, cursed my knee a few times but just kept going thankful that only 2 days early I wasn't going to be able to do this.

Western Way was nice as we had the wind behind us, expecting hill after hill which dually delivered. Heat again was a factor, no fluids but I had an energy gel which was liquid enough!! :)
    Met a lad on the way and he too had cramps, every time I tried to push on, the ITB started screaming so I had just to quick walk/jog which was frustrating as I knew in full health I would have pushed on well.
    The 2 of us agreed to jog the flats and walk the hills, but we pushed each other on beyond what we thought we could.
    Onto another bog trail and there was Mecca, landed up to my knee in a hole, lucky it was the left leg, no damage!!
    Trodded as best as I could and through the end line
    Dib - Time 55.53
    For a 6km section was probably the worst I have run or even walked but thats the way it goes.

A nice medal in hand, line up for your timing slip and then over to get a lovely cup of veg soup and homemade bread, magic!!!!

The usual comments was "well organised", "the hill was hell" and the "kayak was a dog"

Picked up the bike and cycled the last 4km or so back to the car.

All going well I will be back next year, I think a lot more will. Gaelforce has a lot to live up to!!!!!!

It was absolute torture. This was my first time doing anything like this and it lived up to my expectations - and then some :D

I thought the bog run was going to kill me and then the mountain. I got into a rhythm after that and the rest was easier. Took me 3:40 which I'm happy with - just finishing it was a result tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

It was my first time doing it. ITs worth saying that I thought it was really well organised, the food at the finish line saved me, it was a really nice touch and to be honest that small thing has motivated me to try the full Gael Force West.

The bog run at the start was nice and fun, the mountian climb was a kick in the balls, so tough. The bike section was fun. The kayaking was tough against the wind (and after about .75k I looked back to see the guy at the back just sticking his paddle in randomly making it harder - glad I could give him a rest!)

The last 6k was tough, really tough. My body ran out of fuel and I couldnt run, there was just nothing left in my body! The last 6k took me 1hr 11mins which I should have done in around 40/45 mins.

I came in at 3hrs 26mins which I was happy with, its the furthest distance I have ever raced!

Great event, looking forward to the Gael Force West!!!

My first time to do any kind of a race. Loved the bog run, mountain was tough, the off road mountain biking was my favourite part of the race, gave it beans there.

Fairly shocked at the amount of punctures, had no sympathy for anyone with a racer, saw a few buckled wheels :D. Also saw a runner which some poor guy must've dropped out of his bag, I'm guessing his heart sank when he got off the bike to start running.

Massive shock to the legs getting off the bike, thought they were gonna give way for a second. Felt sorry for the girl I kayaked with coz I hadn't a clue, never been in one, kept heading for the rocks for some reason. Still did it in a decent time though.

For me the worst was the hill climb after the kayak and off the road. It was murder, thought it would never end. The finish line was the most beautiful thing I saw the whole race.

I agree, it was well organized. One thing I wasn't really happy with was the absence of a kit check, I went to the bother of getting all the required items and then I see some people just carrying a water bottle with nothing else :(.
    Was happy with my time 2:54. Might give the big momma a go in August :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 LikePlace

A great event. The weather was stunning and perfect. The views amazing (when you could afford a glance.)

I have a 5 mins video of it on my blog at http://bit.ly/9Sz57q

The video shows clips the starting line, the bog run, the hill climb, the kayak stop, the Western Way and the finishing point.

The forest track was very rough. I saw many more people than I expected with punctures, blowouts, buckles, etc.

My brother got 2 blowouts - but went on to finish in exactly 3 hours. Amazing time!

The kayak was torture. I got soaked and my legs were so stiff afterwards. Took ages to warm up again.

Overall, excellent.

LikePlace wrote: »
    A great event. The weather was stunning and perfect. The views amazing (when you could afford a glance.)

I have a 5 mins video of it on my blog at http://bit.ly/9Sz57q

Can't believe I feature in your video - in the queue for the soup at the end. :D

Thats me in the white & orange top in front of you.
    Thanks for the video, great reminder of the pain. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭BuyingorSelling

Very very tough race, ended up at 32km!! Did well but picked totally the wrong bike, id say it cost me 30 minutes as it was a road bike and so couldnt cycle off road section was expecting a smooth 'forestry tract' not a full gravel road-ah well i'll know for next time. Speaking of which does anyone know when the next similar event is on in ireland? Is the full gaelforce the next one

Did you have a garmin to measure the distance at 32km ?

Just wondering, cos it did seem like more than 26.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Causeway

Speaking of which does anyone know when the next similar event is on in ireland? Is the full gaelforce the next one

Full list here. Diamond Quest Ireland is cancelled so next events are on the 22nd May.

http://www.sleepmonsters.ie/calendar.php
    there is a list of events there

It was 31.5km according to CKWPorts garmin ;)
    http://connect.garmin.com/activity/32577449

Oh now I see why you wanted my garmin link Yop! to pass it off as your own!

Pfft....;)

CKWPORT wrote: »
    Oh now I see why you wanted my garmin link Yop! to pass it off as your own!

Pfft....

Yes thats why it says "By ckwport" on the garmin route numpty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭BuyingorSelling

Yea i got 31.70km on my garmin. Any photos available

Photos are gonna be on sleepmonsters.ie at some stage I believe.

If its like GF, they are gonna charge around 8 quid per digital photo. Bit mental.
    Yes thats why it says "By ckwport" on the garmin route you Legend,you! :D

You will have to get a Garmin now. Ah they're great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Wonkagirl

god there was NO comparison between this and GFW 09 with regards to the organisation.. it was SUPER. tk god it's the same crew doing GFW this yr too, it bodes well..

i did 3.09 and was one of the top 20 females so was tickled pink ,as didnt go a huge amount of training really. agree with all those who say they had little sympathy for the racer-bike users- god knows they'd been given sufficient warning- they got too greedy and wanted speed for the 8km road bit- i mustve seen 20 people with punctures, big eejits.

did anyone else see the cute little boy handing out the medals at the end- what a nice sight after 3 hours of torture- he was adorable!

agree about the kayak- what a dose- it was meant to be 1km but ended up being 2 due to a bit of the cliff caving in the previous week or something- and the goddamn wind that we were rowing into -horrendous. hate kayaking anyway, dont see how anyone woudl get any joy out of it:rolleyes:

bring on GFW:D