Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

another bejesus begorrah tis a grand day to be irish movie

• 31-01-2010 1:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭

http://www.holywatermovie.com/watch-trailer.html

Would ya look at us, we're Irish and we're awful scamps altogether, sure we're robbing a truck but arent we harmless out. Tis all a bit of craic like.

In fairness this one has a few clever references but the whole concept of the movie makes me cry. First Leap Year, now this. people coming to this country are probably expecting to hear fiddle music as soon as they get off the plane cos of crap like this. Does my head in, who funds this stuff? and why oh why are we always portrayed as a bunch of loveable rogues!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I'd like to see more movies like Once that reflect what Ireland is really like, have a Shameless type show on a council estate.....then you'll see the realities of Irish society!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

I wish the Irish film industry would steer clear of producing this sort of tripe. It actually reminded me of Man About Dog which was absolutely cringe worthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Looks awful alright. Can't be as man about dog, surely. (Cue people arriving into thread who actually thought that film was good)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

At least it's about the civil ****ing war/war of independent and how much we hate dem fookin' Brits.

Seriously though? Looked ok. Original, funny - as long as they haven't crammed all the humour into the trailer.

Only the Americans (and the occasional deluded Londoner) come to Ireland expecting loveable rogues and fiddle players and they'll still think that regardless of the movie, so relax OP. It's not like everyone thinks Sheffield is full of unemployed strippers.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Looks like it had the makings of a decent enough film, were it not for the 'oirishisms'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I'd like to see more movies like Once that reflect what Ireland is really like

I know, I know. I've lost count of the number of times strange women have approached me out of the blue and asked me to fix their hoover. As for or the number of times I've just had an impromptu jam session in Waltons, or played guitar down the back of the bus without the driver stopping the bus and me to get the feck off ... well I'm doing stuff like that every day don't ya know. Not to mention that good vibe that exists between our fellow men here, sure even the junkie theives are just scamps at heart.

Great movie, but hardly *that* realistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

It's obviously aimed at an Irish-American market.
    I'd be suprised if we see it popping up in many cinemas here.
    I wouldn't think that many Irish people would actually go and see it anyway.

As for Once, I think he was more referring to the attitudes and people, as opossed to story.
    Sure I remember I set up a band, we were bringing soul to the people, it all ended it tears though, we nearly got Wilson Pickett to play with us but the fecker never showed up.

From the producer of Minotaur and the one of the writers of the animated Inspector Gadget comes a tale of Oirish shenanigans featuring a loveable gallery of rogues as well as Sarah Conner and Tommy Lister, what's not to like?

It doesn't look that bad tbh and it certainly can't be as bad as Man About Dog or any of Paddy Breathnach's recent cinematic abortions. I get the impression that the Oirishness is just there for a laugh and the people behind the film don't honestly believe that we all speak like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

... and filmed in the UK according to IMDB...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    ... and filmed in the UK according to IMDB...
    Harsh.
    If we're going to look silly it would be nice if we were at least teh ones to get money from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Tbh, it doesn't look like utter tripe but still Orishly silly.

One glaring thing though was that all the vehicles have English license plates :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭Doctor Zaius

and the "Garda" car says Police on the side not Gardai!!!

and I'm confused as to why all the people turn into sex maniacs. Just because there's a lot of Viagra in the water, that isnt gonna turn them into sex maniacs, it just means they can maintain sexual function longer!! Viagra doesnt make you wanna have sex all the time!!