Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good way to start out?

• 29-01-2010 6:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭

I'm a student still learning the basics. Thinkign ahead, I was considering maybe doing house parties after nights and stuff, to help get my name out there aswell as get a few extra euro together aswell in the process along with needed practice. I know there are a lot of cons, mainly drunken ejit students but a cheap dual cd mixer and 2 active speakers could do a job. So opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

What makes you think you will be paid? Also just get equipment for your bedroom, dont waste money on a mobile setup as a decent set of monitors will do the job for the majority of house parties.

The thing with house parties is you face a constant battle with people wanting a 'shot' of your decks, people thinking your technics can be used as drink holders and the muppet who thinks Pitbull's latest track is a floor filler which every DJ has to have in their collection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

What makes you think you will be paid? Also just get equipment for your bedroom, dont waste money on a mobile setup as a decent set of monitors will do the job for the majority of house parties.

The thing with house parties is you face a constant battle with people wanting a 'shot' of your decks, people thinking your technics can be used as drink holders and the muppet who thinks Pitbull's latest track is a floor filler which every DJ has to have in their collection.
    Well the idea was that I could advertise around the college, maybe charge a small fee and get paid in advance. Was just a thought, could be easier to get my name out there than going straight to a club. Then again after last night in Galway maybe it wouldn't be too hard to get club work.
    I dunno, was just a thought. Cheap mixer and active speakers (€100 for 2) could be worth the pitbull?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

hang on, are you hoping to get paid for playing at afterpartys???????

brianc27 wrote: »
    hang on, are you hoping to get paid for playing at afterpartys???????
    I was thinking of charging a nominal fee to cover having to pay taxis for lugging the gear around, why is this an issue? I'm talking about a nominal fee for the hassle of everything but the main idea was to get my name out there a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭brianc27

never heard of anyone wanting to be paid for playing at an after party, the amount of times ive seen lads (myself included) lug gear around in various taxis to different sessions and never once has money come into it and alot of this was when we were poor smelly students, just seems odd to expect payment for playing at a session, no offense but doubt you'll have much luck with that, it would be easier to get some gig in a student bar, no.

brianc27 wrote: »
    never heard of anyone wanting to be paid for playing at an after party, the amount of times ive seen lads (myself included) lug gear around in various taxis to different sessions and never once has money come into it and alot of this was when we were poor smelly students, just seems odd to expect payment for playing at a session, no offense but doubt you'll have much luck with that, it would be easier to get some gig in a student bar, no.
    Maybe. the idea was to look for opinions first thought it could be an idea but thought a few quid for a taxi would have been reasonable enough doing parties for people i dont know. I mean for mates then course it would be all for the craic but other house parties where the gear is more oikely to get wrecked then thought it would be worth getting at least the taxi paid for, didnt even consider it to be a big deal tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

...muppet who thinks Pitbull's latest track is a floor filler which every DJ has to have in their collection.

Unfortunately that muppet is right, you have to play sh1te at the above events, its what the punters(mostly tasteless) want.

Maybe so, but had a near nightmare situation last night, Club in galway, the "dj" was playing unforgiveable crap but also waiting till one song ended before playing another:o I dont exoect all my favourite songs to be played in a club, but some mixing should be guarenteed.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Cwhyte wrote: »
    Maybe. the idea was to look for opinions first thought it could be an idea but thought a few quid for a taxi would have been reasonable enough doing parties for people i dont know. I mean for mates then course it would be all for the craic but other house parties where the gear is more oikely to get wrecked then thought it would be worth getting at least the taxi paid for, didnt even consider it to be a big deal tbh

Trouble is everyone knows a DJ of some description - whether they have a pro setup or an iPod mixing unit, it's probably sufficient for most house parties and removes the need to pay anyone, even a taxi fee. Plus I think within a mix of people there is a tendency to want someone within the group in charge of the tunes, especially when it's a house party.

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Trouble is everyone knows a DJ of some description - whether they have a pro setup or an iPod mixing unit, it's probably sufficient for most house parties and removes the need to pay anyone, even a taxi fee. Plus I think within a mix of people there is a tendency to want someone within the group in charge of the tunes, especially when it's a house party.
    I thought that might be the case, not so sure in Galway though because in the large student population there really isn't that much interest in the dance scene, a lot more bands and the like.
    I mean theres a lot of focus on me mentioning a fee that was a secondary issue. I thought it could be a good, not the most preferred, but good option to start off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Most of the lads I know wouldn't pay me to play at a house party. They really wouldn't. It comes down to the whole student thing. Now, I have car so that removes the need for a Taxi fare. Maybe use the house party's etc as training and proving grounds, then start approaching clubs / bars etc and ask for slot. DJ-ing is like investing in a company, could take years to get a return on your investment.

You certainly won't get paid to do house parties and the likes. Booze before tunes is sadly a reality these days, even if your gods gift to the decks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Your a very brave man or woman doing house partys, as someone said you will get druken clowns coming up falling all over you gear and wanting a go, If your looking to make money out of it, start off doing mobile gigs in pubs 21'st, 18th, etc, once you have a bit of experience, start handning demos or your cards into disco bars and night clubs, It will be hard to get into a club, but keep trying, and as you said you heard a dj in a club last night in Galway not mixing, Normally when I am playing in a club I have my tunes mixing bang on most of the time, but the problem is most people are so pissed in a commerical club they dont have a clue about mixing, they just want to hear their fav chart muck.

The last house party I played a couple of months ago was a 30th and it pretty much put me off doing something like that ever again. The music that was requested was classic house which was fine, wouldn't be my choice but I can live with playing it - the real fun parts were:
      About 15 minutes into my set this drunken young-one stumbles over and tells me that she has lost her iPhone. I said 'really, sorry to hear that'. She then says in a pretty angry/drunk tone 'make an announcement to see if anyone has it' - I tried to explain that I don't have the facilities to make an announcement but she stormed off.
    • The decks were setup through a crap stereo system and on a very rocky kitchen table which was positioned on a uneven laminate floor - a fckin recipe for vinyl disaster as it is, let alone when people decide the best place to dance is straight in front of me. Records were hopping all over the place and I could barely hear any tunes I was trying to cue.
    • Then came the requests to play a track I had already played 15 minutes before and disgust when I said I don't play the same tracks again. Oh and asking for current chart stuff or 'R&B', again not pleased when I said I didn't have.
    • The real peak of the night was when disgruntled bitch who lost her iPhone decided to unplug the mains and all music stopped. She laughed and said she didn't know what the plug was for. Better still, she did it again about 20 minutes later - a lot of people let it rip on her so she pretty much fecked off then.

I know partly my fault for not having the right equipment on the night in terms of the sound system but I was asked a favour to play at this party and thought feck it, been a long time. Also playing music I'm not really into bored the life out of me but again it had been requested so...

Just some more considerations when you are thinking about doing this!

The last house party I played a couple of months ago was a 30th and it pretty much put me off doing something like that ever again. The music that was requested was classic house which was fine, wouldn't be my choice but I can live with playing it - the real fun parts were:
    • About 15 minutes into my set this drunken young-one stumbles over and tells me that she has lost her iPhone. I said 'really, sorry to hear that'. She then says in a pretty angry/drunk tone 'make an announcement to see if anyone has it' - I tried to explain that I don't have the facilities to make an announcement but she stormed off.
    • The decks were setup through a crap stereo system and on a very rocky kitchen table which was positioned on a uneven laminate floor - a fckin recipe for vinyl disaster as it is, let alone when people decide the best place to dance is straight in front of me. Records were hopping all over the place and I could barely hear any tunes I was trying to cue.
    • Then came the requests to play a track I had already played 15 minutes before and disgust when I said I don't play the same tracks again. Oh and asking for current chart stuff or 'R&B', again not pleased when I said I didn't have.
    • The real peak of the night was when disgruntled bitch who lost her iPhone decided to unplug the mains and all music stopped. She laughed and said she didn't know what the plug was for. Better still, she did it again about 20 minutes later - a lot of people let it rip on her so she pretty much fecked off then.

I know partly my fault for not having the right equipment on the night in terms of the sound system but I was asked a favour to play at this party and thought feck it, been a long time. Also playing music I'm not really into bored the life out of me but again it had been requested so...

Sounds like an eventful night. I have a cheap mixer lined up so all that would be needed would be even a crappy sound system. Tbh the music at forst wouldn't bother me, I'm only starting out so even playing the worst of the worst would be outdone by the experience, at least for the first number of times.

Buying this on monday, would this be good to do a few house parties with? Its relarively inexpensive so could be worth getting? http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=167454&cat=500

Sounds like an eventful night. I have a cheap mixer lined up so all that would be needed would be even a crappy sound system. Tbh the music at forst wouldn't bother me, I'm only starting out so even playing the worst of the worst would be outdone by the experience, at least for the first number of times.

Buying this on monday, would this be good to do a few house parties with? Its relarively inexpensive so could be worth getting? http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=167454&cat=500

You'll grow out of that (provided your serious) in about 6 months. Fine for playing CD's and beat matching, but terribly limited otherwise. You'd be better off with a half-decent laptop and a DJ controller.

ironclaw wrote: »
    You'll grow out of that (provided your serious) in about 6 months. Fine for playing CD's and beat matching, but terribly limited otherwise. You'd be better off with a half-decent laptop and a DJ controller.
    No I have cdjs, but i was thinking about a relatively inexpensive way to do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

About 15 minutes into my set this drunken young-one stumbles over and tells me that she has lost her iPhone. I said 'really, sorry to hear that'. She then says in a pretty angry/drunk tone 'make an announcement to see if anyone has it' - I tried to explain that I don't have the facilities to make an announcement but she stormed off.

Might sound reclusive, but id get far more of a kick just djing to myself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

Man I think you are under a bit of an illusion when it comes to djing.

I really dont see why people would pay you to dj at an after party, in my experience anyway there is usually a que of djs waiting to hae a shot on the decks at an after gaff.

I never really have any trouble with people requesting dodgey tunes or anything tho as felix mentioned, this is probably due to the fact that any after partys i end up in are after a techno night.

But in all fairness ive played many a gig in town recently and havent got paid a cent so i dont see why someone would pay you to play an after party!

Might sound reclusive, but id get far more of a kick just djing to myself...

No not at all, I'd much prefer to play some techno to my cat or one of the kids then do something like that again :pac:

No I have cdjs, but i was thinking about a relatively inexpensive way to do the job.

Why not use your CDJ's then? I have back up decks but I use my main decks when ever they are needed. The back ups are just a back up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

I play parties for free all the time. I've travelled hundreds of miles to play at festivals for free (at my own expense, more to the point!) when it has been in aid of increasing my own exposure.

I have three (paid) club residencies (playing house & techno).

You won't get paid to play at parties.

They're a great way to learn, and a great way for underground dj's to get their names out and learn their skills (its not all beat-matching and tune selection!) but
    A) you wont get paid
    B) its difficult, there will be a lot of effort involved
    C) you wont get paid
    D) you wont get thanked

If you do a hundred parties for free, dragging expensive systems around, or not even getting to use your OWN equipment you might get one paid gig out of it.

If you want to make money, do what others have suggested in this regard, I'm just talking about how you go about getting gigs as a niche market dj. It's a labour of love for sure.

You wont get paid.

For niche stuff: Great way to get your name out there.
    For money: much better options exist.

i.e. "Do you want fries with that?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

i.e. "Do you want fries with that?"

I was thinking more along the lines of "yes I'll play that new britney track, isn't it great?"

In which case you should get onto an agency, talk to a club or whatever.

I think people have ran with the getting paid idea a bit too much. Like I said the prmary focus was on getting playing parties and stuff and trying to get out there rather than that trivial fact of a few quid after playing music. Thought I would make it clear in no uncertain terms that I'm not a young fella with stars in my eyes, the primary focus is on getting to play music and I wanted to know would house parties be a good way to start.
    Bought that numark cd mix1, will do a job now just have to sort music out. Going to burn some cds tonight.
    Is alphabetical and different sections for different genres a good way of sorting cds?

I do it in chronological order, oh and by the way make sure you burn to an audio cd and not mp3. That cd player wont play mp3 cd's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭kotva

I do it in chronological order, oh and by the way make sure you burn to an audio cd and not mp3. That cd player wont play mp3 cd's.

why not use the laptop and the mp3 controller as allready someone writed? I was used in past only a pc with 2 sound cards and the simple mixer. Use a simple Virtual Deck DJ Mixing Suite 1.02 or any other similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

I cut my teeth doing house parties tbh...

I speak a few foreign languages and I've always ended up working in places where I was pretty much the only Irish guy in the department, the amount of French, Spanish, Italian etc heads who are over in Dublin and don't have their own soundsystems, decks, records or whatever with them is mental, used to get heads queuing up to ask me to lug all my gear out to their gaffs on the understanding they'd pay for the taxi fare to lug all the speakers etc over to theirs and back or just pick it up in a car...

Playing houseparties is great experience, the only thing you'll learn more from as a serious DJ is doing a wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

If you play for free and are pleasant and do a good job you might get a few bob on the way out, happened to me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

I'm a student still learning the basics. Thinkign ahead, I was considering maybe doing house parties after nights and stuff, to help get my name out there aswell as get a few extra euro together aswell in the process along with needed practice. I know there are a lot of cons, mainly drunken ejit students but a cheap dual cd mixer and 2 active speakers could do a job. So opinions?

So you think some students are going to pay somebody to practice djing in their house after the pub? haha, you've got a lot to learn sonny.

Consider it a succesful night if somebody offers you a can or a few puffs of a joint.