Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being The Only Sober Person

• 29-01-2010 3:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Ciaran187

I've given up drinking (much) lately. I've just had it with hangovers, being broke, doing / saying stupid stuff, that spinning bed, that spinning toilet, the mysterious puke monster that destroys my house when I'm asleep...

Anyway, I have the odd drink but it's just that. Literally one or two max. It's been going good so far except for those nights that go on and on. The ones you love when drunk, but annoy you when sober. People shouting random stuff while you're in the middle of a sentence, derailing a conversation etc.

Just wondering if there's any other non-drinkers out there? How do you cope with messy drunks annoying you like mad? Is it just something you get used to over time?

I also find myself bored a lot when I'm out. I was never big into clubbing but without drink it's all fairly... meh. Still better than a hangover though!

Am I just weird?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Just ignore them, they stop after a while...

I think many people have stopped drinking due to the recession and maybe other reasons...

My biggest problem was the hangover. I hated it. Then you look back and see what money you spent etc etc. I save sooo much money from not drinking, it's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Set up a forum for sober people and arrange a boards beers chess and crackerjacks.

Its not weird to be high on life though. Its just a severe minority in Ireland, truths be told. Theres still a drinking culture in the states say but not in nearly the same form. So much so that you wouldnt feel weird. And actually theres a lot of places I can go on a saturday not and just find coffee etc., the cafes serve a bit of everything on club nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭Fat_Fingers

Ciaran187 wrote: »
    Just wondering if there's any other non-drinkers out there? How do you cope with messy drunks annoying you like mad? Is it just something you get used to over time?

i've been there myself. :) Now i just leave before 11 or 12, just before it gets weird… At that stage they are already nicely tipsy not to know or care who left..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Ciaran187

Yeah, I remember the nights where I think "Right, I've enough money here to get drink, get a taxi home and have plenty left over". After counting the barrells of coins you come home with, you've blown most of your wages.

How can you ignore people though? Just keep talking and pretend they didn't start talking? I suppose that's fair.

Plus, I love telling people what they did the following morning when they've no memory of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,225 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Even though people don't drink, they can still pretend to be pissed.

i've been there myself. :) Now i just leave before 11 or 12, just before it gets weird… At that stage they are already nicely tipsy not to know or care who left..

Good one actually. I'll have to try that out. What about when the OH is with me though? Bail? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Nah, I dont drink a lot either. It depends, some nights clubbing can be good craic, even if you are sober. Other nights are just painful. Either youll get used to people being annoyingly drunk, or theyll learn not to annoy you so much (assuming their your friends!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭TheGod

Am I just weird?

Personally I find you very creepy. I shudder at the thought of you sitting in the corners of the darkest nightclubs, sipping on water...waiting for the perfect moment to jump on your unassuming, intoxicated victims with great composure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Overheal wrote: »
    Set up a forum for sober people and arrange a boards beers chess and crackerjacks.

It's a pity you were joking, I had my chess board and was almost out the door.

TheGod wrote: »
    Personally I find you very creepy. I shudder at the thought of you sitting in the corners of the darkest nightclubs, sipping on water...waiting for the perfect moment to jump on your unassuming, intoxicated victims with great composure.

Hang on a second. I was talking about not drinking only. It's a known fact that I'm creepy, I've made my peace with that. But I will NOT stand for being called a water drinker! My beverine of choice would be Lucozade or some form of Cola perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭xw2lj9uspm1eyh

I don't drink myself when i head out with my mates it's grand when they've only drank a few but when they get drunk.Then the drink talk starts and while they think they're hilarious I'd be bored out of my mind.I usually play pool or darts then.I can't for the life of me go into a nightclub you stick out like a sore thumb if your sober.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I've given up drinking (much) lately. I've just had it with hangovers, being broke, doing / saying stupid stuff, that spinning bed, that spinning toilet, the mysterious puke monster that destroys my house when I'm asleep...

Anyway, I have the odd drink but it's just that. Literally one or two max. It's been going good so far except for those nights that go on and on. The ones you love when drunk, but annoy you when sober. People shouting random stuff while you're in the middle of a sentence, derailing a conversation etc.

I also find myself bored a lot when I'm out. I was never big into clubbing but without drink it's all fairly... meh. Still better than a hangover though!

Am I just weird?

Nope. Meet a fellow non-drinker.
    Was once - not no more for same reasons. Since then I have discovered many like-wise.
    What do I do instead? Go to more comedy shows, theatre, bowling, etc... and still the occasional bar/function.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Hang on a second. I was talking about not drinking only. It's a known fact that I'm creepy, I've made my peace with that. But I will NOT stand for being called a water drinker! My beverine of choice would be Lucozade or some form of Cola perhaps.

Yeah, everyone knows that hard core partiers drink Lucozade, not water.

I honestly don't know how you took offense to this... :rolleyes:

Why thank you for that lovely gem. They're all dry sh1tes though! :D

Technically, I'm not a "non-drinker" though. I'm a "seldom-drinker". Can you set up a forum called "The people who drink occasionally but don't go out clubbing like they used to or drink enough to get drunk or do any mad stuff or anything like that forum"?

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

There's a non drinkers forum. You'll get a sympathetic ear in there.

Personally, i was p*ssed last night, hungover this morning and going out drinking again later. I still enjoy it.

Can you set up a forum called "The people who drink occasionally but don't go out clubbing like they used to or drink enough to get drunk or do any mad stuff or anything like that forum"

This sounds like a f*cking terrible forum.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Yeah, everyone knows that hard core partiers drink Lucozade, not water.

I honestly don't know how you took offense to this... :rolleyes:

Hmmm, let me just try something here that would have come in handy.

[sarcasm]This post is very important[/sarcasm]

Did it work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭TheGod

Personally, i was p*ssed last night, hungover this morning and going out drinking again later. I still enjoy it.

Your some ledge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I've never been the only sober person :) have been the only drunk person plenty of times, I miss that job :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

mendusa wrote: »
    I can't for the life of me go into a nightclub you stick out like a sore thumb if your sober.

Ya don't stick out like a sore thumb.. That's just your own insecurities coming out.

Bet ya think everyone is looking at you on the dance floor too?

If I still could, I probably would now and again. I'm not against drink or drinking or drunks or anything like that. I just don't like being drunk or anything that follows!

Any drinkers here have a non-drinking buddy that goes out with them a lot? I'd like to hear your opinions on the sober ones!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

TheGod wrote: »
    Your some ledge.

No, I'm a c*nt. I like drinking though. I did the not drinking thing for about 9 months and decided it wasn't for me.

Hmm thats a good idea Over Heals,

The High on Life forum

Hmm thats a good idea Over Heals,

The High on Life forum
    Brilliant work old bean! If only I had thought of it myself :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I've stopped drinking purely for monetary reasons,I've been out with my mates a couple of timeswhen theyre pissed and was never more embarrassed in my life!Things they were doing that last year i'd think was cool,were just stupid and now I realise how much of a moron I turn into with drink in me belly.I think I'm gonna have to take up drinking again :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Plus, I love telling people what they did the following morning when they've no memory of it!

Don't do that. It's your choice to not drink and fair play to you if you keep it up, but if someone else wants to have a few pints they should be able to do so without you slagging them off the next day. By all means stay off drink if that works for you, but do not get on any kind of moral high horse. Each to their own.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Don't do that. It's your choice to not drink and fair play to you if you keep it up, but if someone else wants to have a few pints they should be able to do so without you slagging them off the next day. By all means stay off drink if that works for you, but do not get on any kind of moral high horse. Each to their own.

I'm not on any moral high horse. When I was a big drinker, we all used to chill out the next day talking about the random stupid stuff we've done. I just throw a few memories at people and let them remember the rest of the story themselves. Watching their reactions change as they realise the stupid part is brilliant.

edit: But I do completely agree with your point. Some things should be best forgotten. Right, I'm off home. Bored with work for the week. And after all, it is Friday night. Bowling anyone? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

I HATE when the sober person does that, its up there on most annoying things. I have gone out lately and not drank but would never do this to people let them have their fun, if they ask fair enough.

On the other hand people have a right to know something about themselves that others Do and they do Not.

Fine if you ask not to be told, but out of pocket, I would tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

There's two types of drinkers in Ireland - the alcoholics & the recovering alcoholics. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭QuiteInterestin

Know what you mean OP, I don't really drink and that last hour or two of a night out drives me mad. While I'm all up for the pub and nightclub, its trying to get people to move out at the end of the nightclub thats the killer. Drunk people have no concept of time and will gladly spend an hour chatting and laughing at nothing and think they were only there 5 mins. Best advice I can give you is to head home at the end of the nightclub, at least then no one can accuse you of leaving early and you save yourself the hassle of waiting around for the rest of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ear

didnt read post...read the title... if only one sober picture the girls sucking your :eek: it will amuse you much. they will be drunk and all siles and you just knod away and fill the mind with filth for the **** bank when you get home sober

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

There's two types of drinkers in Ireland - the alcoholics & the recovering alcoholics.
    This just perpetuates the myth that drinking is a yes/no proposition. Either you don't drink at all, or you drink till you die? Well, if that's true, it's yet another example of how Ireland is totally unable to learn from the experiences of other countries.
    Why thank you for that lovely gem. They're all dry sh1tes though! :D

Technically, I'm not a "non-drinker" though. I'm a "seldom-drinker". Can you set up a forum called "The people who drink occasionally but don't go out clubbing like they used to or drink enough to get drunk or do any mad stuff or anything like that forum"?

Thanks.
    I'm in the same position: the way I put it, I drink, but I'm a non-Drinker. I might have one Guinness, but then I slow right down and it would go off before I'm halfway down. I can make a shot of Cognac last two hours, for example: I always have the glass in my hand, but barely touch it. In other words: since I can drink alcohol, I'm a drinker, but I don't get drunk or binge, so I'm not a Drinker-with-a-Capital-D. :cool:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

bnt wrote: »
    I'm in the same position: the way I put it, I drink, but I'm a non-Drinker. I might have one Guinness, but then I slow right down and it would go off before I'm halfway down. I can make a shot of Cognac last two hours, for example: I always have the glass in my hand, but barely touch it. In other words: since I can drink alcohol, I'm a drinker, but I don't get drunk or binge, so I'm not a Drinker-with-a-Capital-D. :cool:

Cheap date.:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Jamiekelly

bnt wrote: »
    This just perpetuates the myth that drinking is a yes/no proposition. Either you don't drink at all, or you drink till you die? Well, if that's true, it's yet another example of how Ireland is totally unable to learn from the experiences of other countries.

I'm pretty sure she was joking :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

I never drink when I go out maybe the one due to me going out to get laid and must girls like that you don't get yourself pissed up to the last

Funny story was out there last weak and was chatting up this girl and she said to over the night we have to do shots it cost me €20 euro off drink on the foor but the only good thing to come out off it was I got laid

I found out go out pissed no girls
    No drunk get I easily get girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Tiny Explosions

[QUOTE=
    samapple789
    ;69377136]I never drink when I go out maybe the one due to me going out to get laid and must girls like that you don't get yourself pissed up to the last

Funny story was out there last weak and was chatting up this girl and she said to over the night we have to do shots it cost me €20 euro off drink on the
    foor
    but the only good thing to come out off it was I got laid

No drunk get I easily get girls[/QUOTE]

Are you drunk now?

Because this post looks like it was written by a drunkard!:P:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

mendusa wrote: »
    Then the drink talk starts and while they think they're hilarious I'd be bored out of my mind..

True for the first half hour its mildly amusing but after that they just talk complete $hyte.

Mind you I worked in a place onetime where the only way to find out what was really happening in the company was to get the boss drunk :D
    No drunk get I easily get girls
    After two drinks you talk louder after four drinks shes stopped listening

Enough to have had fun with your friends, but when they start getting into the drink and making less sense, then it's time to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

I'm in the same boat the last year or so OP. Too many mornings not remembering how I got home, discovering I had blood on my hands, or more often, had a black eye and cut lip etc. Not good.

On the plus side of giving up hard drinking (I'll sit over about 2-3 bottles of Corona during a rugger match) is that drunk people are really easy to **** with.
    Their critical faculties are pretty much fscked after a certain point so feel free to play tricks on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭nonsmoker

I like going out and having a few drinks but other nights I have been out and didnt drink. It doesnt bother me I can have a good night either way. I did have 1 friend who refused to buy me a lucozade when it was her round because she didnt want to look stupid buying a non alcoholic drink :confused:

I know a lot of people whose sole aim when heading out for a night is to get loaded, these are usually the same people who go on about how much they drank last weekend and how drunk they were, I think that a lot of it is just all talk...
    I know one of these people, he goes on and on about how much he can drink. One night I discovered it wasnt vodka and 7up he was drinking, but it was straight 7up - he didnt know I was behind him at the bar when he got served and I saw what was put into the glass, a few other friends discovered this as well :)

Its a real eye opener when you are sober some of the things you see but I think it is a real 'Irish' thing that you have to drink when you go out and if you dont you are weird??

It was mentioned here about saving money when you are not drinking, this can be true as some nights I drive everyone home after so they buy my lucozades or whatever as a way of thanking me for the lift. But other nights I have bought my round and it makes no difference as I end up spending much the same as if I was drinking, 'soft drinks' are sometimes more expensive than alcoholic ones!

@samapple > If a man who is very drunk tries to chat to women he usually gets told where to go but if he is sober most of us will at least chat to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭Gerty

Am I just weird?

I used to have that problem a lot as well. I found this website and it's actually made it so much easier on nights out. http://tinyurl.com/3y2nkv3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

OP I am in the same situation but I have no intention of being a non drinker on a night out, I'm just going to go out less and take it a bit more handy. Last night out without a drink was before valentine's, probably not the best idea since I'm single but by christ if I wasn't driving I would have broke and downed a quarter keg of Smithwick's! Still coping with being off the smokes so drink will have to wait a bit.