Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Zombie Walk 2010

• 29-01-2010 2:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 33

Hey everyone,
    We're organising a massive Zombie Walk through the streets of Dublin this summer. The walk will finish at one of Dublins top venues where there will be free entry and lots of great bands and lots more.

http://www.facebook.com/groups.php?ref=sb#/group.php?gid=245742538272&ref=nf

We've already had a huge amount of interest from charity organisations, sponsors and the media.

Anyone who wants (or needs) to get involved please PM me now or contact me through facebook!
    So many people have already kindly offered their support already and I can't thank them enough.

How can YOU get involved I hear you shout?
    Well, are you a make up artist, costume maker, researcher even someone who likes to keep crowds on track (stewards) or whatever skills you think will help to make this run smoothly then we need you!

(I also need someone to help me destroy my staircase when this takes place...)

Dublin Zombie Walk summer 2010!
    Join the March of the Dead!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Braaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnzzzzzzzz

[/zombie]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Brunteaphile

So...Is it cool if I bring my crossbow to this...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭MarkHall

Don't warn them dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 LadyJedi

A cricket bat and a few Sade records could prove useful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Deamonn

Dublin Zombie Walk 2010 website is now live.

If you would like to be part of Irelands biggest ever Zombie walk then please go to www.DublinZombieWalk.com and register yourself.

We still need lots of volunteers!

This is going to be a huge event with a great concert at the end in the Button Factory with very special guests!

Look dead, the zombies are coming....

Regestered and ready to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Im disappointed im going to miss this but what a fantastic idea. Good luck to everyone, i hope its an annual event.

Incidentally has this been done anywhere else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Zombie sympathisers. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭NOGMaxpower

how many peeps have committed to going now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Braaaaains

ScumLord wrote: »
    Zombie sympathisers. :mad:
    There are around 200 registered on the site.
    about 2000 on the Facebook site.

Hope there'll be about 250 cause that a good sized horde.

Look Dead, the zombies are coming!!

Since The Dublin Zombie walks creation on facebook it is now approaching over 2,000 members in an incredibly short period of time.

The walk will begin at St. Stephens Green (Leeson St. Entrance) at 2pm

After the walk there will be a concert to celebrate Irelands biggest Zombie walk ever!
    THE MEZZ is the place to be for the after walk party!

Walk starts at 2pm and the gig starts at 4pm so be there!
    All drinks are €3.50 til 11 pm

LINE UP:
    Bebop & Rocksteady
    plus DJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭sean corcoran

i will be there cannot wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Holopimp

I'm looking forward to some braaaiiins!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭RachPie

That sounds AWESOME!

we can only hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Fete

Wish I could go. Going to Edinburgh that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Kitsune9tails

Just bought my clothes for the day and I'm now looking up how to make fake blood :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kerryphoto

sounds awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I will have to practice my sniping skill before the outbreak so I don't accidental shoot a gay in the head by mistake......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Whats the timing like? I have to get out to the Kimmage Rd at around 9 but I'd love to help/join in before that(Hungover, but who's gonna notice?).

Anytime around 1.30 should work if you want to help out. Otherwise 2 would be the time to get there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I saw this today, just happened to be driving through town at the time, ye got massive numbers for it! Some really impressive zombies :D

Processing, available soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Was there as a spectator, fair play to all taking part, had no idea there would be such a large number. Lost you all down at College Green though, the reason I went was to see the zombie/gay clash but I guess there was a reroute or something.

One bad thing was when I saw the 'zombies' with Palestinian flags!!! Never have I wanted to punch the head off of people in all my life! It was a fun day, leave your feckin politics at home for once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭GoldCobra

Processing, available soon.

looks like it was loads of fun, wish i had of been there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Great event well done organisers !

Some pics

http://www.flickr.com/photos/trigger76/sets/72157624238110251/show/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭GoldCobra

Hope its a regular event from now on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Cool vid:D

A great day. Thanks to all who turned up.
    Those who helped.
    Those who took photos and those who where Victims.
    And thanks to those random Bus drivers for the dig out.

Here's to kicking it up next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,139 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Was there as a spectator, fair play to all taking part, had no idea there would be such a large number. Lost you all down at College Green though, the reason I went was to see the zombie/gay clash but I guess there was a reroute or something.

One bad thing was when I saw the 'zombies' with Palestinian flags!!! Never have I wanted to punch the head off of people in all my life! It was a fun day, leave your feckin politics at home for once!

wow you really don't get it do you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

MarkHall wrote: »
    A great day. Thanks to all who turned up.
    Those who helped.
    Those who took photos and those who where Victims.
    And thanks to those random Bus drivers for the dig out.

Here's to kicking it up next year.

Massive thanks to you and the organisers. :D
    *claps, eats their braaaains*

It was a fantastic experience, people really went all out with their costumes and all for a good cause.

I am uploading a few pics from yesterday onto Flickr, if anyone wants to see themselves/other zombies: http://www.flickr.com/photos/orlapix/sets/72157624368044748/ I can put them on Facebook as well if ye want.

Please do. There are loads up. And we're going to try and do an Album of best shots for this year.

And something similar next year.

The costumes where quite impressive at times.

We've already plotting next years one. Maybe on a different weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Saw some photos from this - it looked great!

As a matter of interest did the Zombie Walk and the Gay Pride march cross paths at any point? Now that would have been quite the photo opportunity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭xshayx

4736756023_631615a71e.jpg

4736790815_c8ee848672.jpg

4737428228_8d91611cae.jpg

4736799979_4ccd9ff4ac.jpg

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Saw some photos from this - it looked great!

As a matter of interest did the Zombie Walk and the Gay Pride march cross paths at any point? Now that would have been quite the photo opportunity!

It did not. We had to change the route as not to interfere with the pride march.
    The guards where on alert due to the potential Coir protest againist the march and we didn't want to add to their stress on the day.

We did meet a fair few in Temple bar.
    And everyone got on well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Art monster

Ah cool that Zombie Dublin Walk sounds cool. I see it was held in 2008. Will there be another one held this year of 2010 i wouldnt mind checking it out. espcially me being afriad of them myself and all plus i know a couple of other people who are afriad of them too and they would probably go support the zombie walk if it were to happen again this year around. :P

so was the idea to have collection buckets,to collect money from passers by? didn't see many in the the vid ,i guess they just captured the playacting

There will be more when the full video goes up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Urizen

It was indeed a very good day. Had a glance into one of the buckets as they ere collecting, saw a few notes in there.

On a side note, I love seeing myself in videos :D

What, the link between Zombies and Palestine? No I don't, could you explain please?

so you wanted this to be a 'naughties' remake of a zombie walk one that removes all the societal criticism which made them good in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

You mean the Palestinian flags brought along as a pastiche of how many people adopt certain political positions reflexively or by osmosis, without necessarily learning about issues or thinking them through?

If so, fair play good sire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭cypharius

so you wanted this to be a 'naughties' remake of a zombie walk one that removes all the societal criticism which made them good in the first place?

The traditional social criticism in Zombie movies was about capitalism was it not?

Either way, I think it's meant to be subtle social commentary.

It was in Dawn cypharius.

Not sure what kind of things you guys saw on the day that has gotten you thinking so heavy.

For me the day was a way to see folks get creative and help gather some money for some worthy charities.
    Nothing more nothing less than lets see folks have a good time.

Ah will you go away out of that. People having fun on a Saturday afternoon, that was it. Don't think too much, you're hurting my brain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

, you're hurting my brain!

Mmmhh Brains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Art monster

I just noticed from the videos posted that the zombie walk was only held last week. Rage! :( The vids and photos look brill! :P I would love to get involved with it again when it happens again. Is there anywhere i can check for updates on the next events of the zombie walk in dublin? :D