Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DCB - Dublin's worst enemy?

• 28-01-2010 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭

Anyone else think the DCB is a group of bumbling plonkers? First they appoint Paul Gilroy (a Steve Staunton appointment... without the distinguished playing career), then they block the chance for our best centre-fielder, Eamon Fennell, to play...for the second year running! Every big decision to be made...the DCB get it wrong. Kerrymen probably laughing their heads off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Anyone else think the DCB is a group of bumbling plonkers? First they appoint Paul Gilroy (a Steve Staunton appointment... without the distinguished playing career), then they block the chance for our best centre-fielder, Eamon Fennell, to play...for the second year running! Every big decision to be made...the DCB get it wrong. Kerrymen probably laughing their heads off!

He's name is Pat Gilroy as it happens and quite frankly the list of potential managers wasnt exactly awe inspiring.

Also and I dont want this to be taken as a slight on Dublin and this thread to turn into a Dub v The rest crap we see too often here, but imo the DCB are dead right in this case and in general the club scene in dublin is a farce, no player should ever be allowed switch clubs unless there is mitigating circumstances and not just cos they 'feel like it', from my experience of the GAA scene in Dublin it is akin to Camogie in that there is in effect no parish rule and certain lads play for who they like.

And just as an aside with you refernce to Kerry people, tbh if Eamon Fennell is Dublin's best midfielder then yes I suspect they are laughing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Sorry...meant to say Pat. Who are you trying to fool? There were plenty of candidates, candidates with actual managerial experience. Brian Mullins for a start!

Gilroy hasn't a clue what he's doing and we all know it. My worry is that Gilroy will still be here in 2011 because the DCB will again make the wrong call. Dublin to have a disastorous season in 2010. I fear he may get away with it though, probably peddle some crap about the team being in transition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

And just as an aside with you refernce to Kerry people, tbh if Eamon Fennell is Dublin's best midfielder then yes I suspect they are laughing!!

Fennell would've been a grand replacement for Whelan. If we can't get him in the squad Gilroy had better move heaven and earth to get Whelo back. Kerry might not be the force of last year and Tyrone are off the pace. Could be a good chance for us...but fear that Gilroy will make another mess of it.

Kerry, Tyrone?? What about Cork, Galway, Mayo, Meath, Kildare, Derry, Armagh, Donegal, Down and Monaghan all on a par if not better equiped than Dublin tbh and its that over estimation of Dublins ability and standing that makes Gilroys and any potential Dublin managers job nigh impossible.

Has every manager since '95 been a failure? Or are the players simply not good enough? I certainly know where my money would be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭infamous

I am a dubs fan and a realist.

Gilroy-Terrible appointment no previous experience
    Two key mistakes last year

Shane ryan all-star the previous year started zero games under gilroy

Whelan-Hadnt played enough championship ball to be able to compete against kerry when needed.

This year the players arent there. Fennell big strong lad but isnt mobile enough for croke park. He will battle well in obyrne cup but will be found out in croker. I dunno how he could be even mentioned as a replacement for whelan.

Sick of hype and newspaper spreads on palyers like james brogan/paul brogan/dean rock etc these lads are quite literally just relations of footballers.

Still have no full back line

Now have no midfield

Only Have three forwards

Alan-can be class is form the last few years has been sketch, Plunketts unluckily beaten in a club final after a replay in 08, Alan kicked two points in the whole championship campaigh-alarming stat.

Bernard-class act progressing bigtime, tom sullivan didnt give him a sniff last year.

Keaney-capable of kicking massive scores hopefully club form follows through to championship.

The future is bleak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

He's name is Pat Gilroy as it happens and quite frankly the list of potential managers wasnt exactly awe inspiring.

Also and I dont want this to be taken as a slight on Dublin and this thread to turn into a Dub v The rest crap we see too often here, but imo the DCB are dead right in this case and in general the club scene in dublin is a farce, no player should ever be allowed switch clubs unless there is mitigating circumstances and not just cos they 'feel like it', from my experience of the GAA scene in Dublin it is akin to Camogie in that there is in effect no parish rule and certain lads play for who they like.

I agree with a lot of your points, but on GAA transfers I have to disagree. It is an amateur organisation relying on people at all levels volunteering their time and effort. Why shouldn't a lad be able to play for whoever the hell he likes? Yes, I acknowledge that in many areas the whole parish rule has saved the existence of some clubs, but I know of too many players (and I was nearly one) lost to the game completely because of the archaic transfer system. In my own case, due to a number of incidents I stopped playing for a club. As I was heading off to university a fair distance away (hence I wouldn't have been able to travel back anyway) it didn't bother me and I played college football for 5 years. Went back home, put in a transfer to move away from the club I hadn't played for in nearly 6 years to another club (which would have been my 'parish' club). The club contested the transfer and the county board rejected it, even though they and I knew I'd never kick a ball for them again. I didn't play a competitive match for another year, and eventually I got sanctioned the following year. If that transfer hadn't gone through, I would never have played another competitive game. While i don't agree with the emerging 'mercenary' type of transfer, etc, (and iving in Laois now it is a big issue at the moment) I do believe that in an amateur, voluntary organisation, players should be allowed play for whoever they want to play with. A player who wants to play is more valuable to gaelic games than a lad sitting at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Gilroy has had one year in charge with a squad of players who hadn't been good enough to win anything outside Leinster up to that point. I'm not sure what kind of magic people expect him to be capable of. The sad reality is there is a severe lack of quality players on the Dublin scene. At the very least Gilroy is giving a lot of new faces a chance which is hugely important if Dublin football is to to anywhere in the next decade.

As for the County Board decision on Fennell I was disappointed. Going to be two years without club football now and it's not like Dublin clubs are brimming over with midfield talent. I'm opposed to the kind of willy nilly club transfers that happen so often but in this case I feel a lot of sympathy for Fennell. I think that if you're willing to sit out so much football your club should maybe choose to let you go. The fact that the man's work is dedicated to the GAA in Dublin makes it even harder to swallow. I wonder if he had stuck with transferring to Kickhams would it have been allowed this time round? I can understand clubs not being too excited about him going to Vincents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭tomaoo7

To many culchies involved in the Dublin county board-What other county would a chairman with the casting vote oppose the development of fennel on the county team none i would say-And we know where harrington is from fooking Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

tomaoo7 wrote: »
    To many culchies involved in the Dublin county board-What other county would a chairman with the casting vote oppose the development of fennel on the county team none i would say-And we know where harrington is from fooking Cork

Whatever point you have be careful in the way that you make it. Please read the charter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

County Boards always do what's best for their team alright... :pac:

That culchie comment is ridiculous btw. Dublin GAA has been built on the backs of people from all sorts of backgrounds. If it wasn't for "culchies" Dublin wouldn't have enjoyed a tenth of the success they have and will continue to enjoy in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Could be a good chance for us...but fear that Gilroy will make another mess of it.
    Seriously? :rolleyes: We haven't been good enough to win an All-Ireland in any of the last few years (I'm thinking in particular of the Mayo melt-down, which was probably our best chance - and even then, we'd have had to win a final) so what makes you think we would be this year?

We've lost more (in terms of confidence and players who have retired/peaked) than the top couple of teams and other counties (e.g. Cork) have improved big-time in the last few years.

Whatever point you have be careful in the way that you make it. Please read the charter

can'y see how you can pull that comment-is it drop names or what

Tristram wrote: »
    County Boards always do what's best for their team alright... :pac:

That culchie comment is ridiculous btw. Dublin GAA has been built on the backs of people from all sorts of backgrounds. If it wasn't for "culchies" Dublin wouldn't have enjoyed a tenth of the success they have and will continue to enjoy in the future.

Don't be getting upset about the word culchies--What other county board in Ireland would stop a player playing for his county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I don't believe in the Parish system but it seems that the Dublin County Board are starting to try and enforce it again and stop players leaving smaller clubs for the big clubs,not that O Tooles is a small club mind you.

I see where O Tooles are coming from but in effect they have lost Fennell anyway so they should give up the tirade and let him transfer.I'd say Gerry Harrington was under pressure but the status quo is the term thrown around when the chairman of the board has a casting vote and he must have had to release a statement to back up the decision to block it.

As for Fennell,O Tooles are a division 2 team which means they are senior.There is nothing to suggest he isn't playing top football unless the view is that if you don't play AFL1 you are screwed.

Its a messed up situation.He needs to be let transfer but I think the whole saga contradicts the DCB and their support for Gilroy.We need good solid midfielders and without Fennell,we are up the creek without a paddle.

blackbelt wrote: »
    I don't believe in the Parish system but it seems that the Dublin County Board are starting to try and enforce it again and stop players leaving smaller clubs for the big clubs,not that O Tooles is a small club mind you.

I see where O Tooles are coming from but in effect they have lost Fennell anyway so they should give up the tirade and let him transfer.I'd say Gerry Harrington was under pressure but the status quo is the term thrown around when the chairman of the board has a casting vote and he must have had to release a statement to back up the decision to block it.

As for Fennell,O Tooles are a division 2 team which means they are senior.There is nothing to suggest he isn't playing top football unless the view is that if you don't play AFL1 you are screwed.

Its a messed up situation.He needs to be let transfer but I think the whole saga contradicts the DCB and their support for Gilroy.We need good solid midfielders and without Fennell,we are up the creek without a paddle.

With all due respect BB the parish rule and all that it entails is the very cornerstone of the GAA and is what makes it unique to all other sports and without it the GAA would not be in the healthy state it is in today and possibly wouldnt exist at all.

Like you said Harrington really had no choice but to vote no as voteing yes would have been a change and as a rule CB chairman are encouraged to maintain the staus quo in such situations.

Im not going to pretent to know all the ins and outs of this mess can someone clarify because from what I do know it seems that Fennel merely decided he wanted to go to a better club for no real reason, can anyone elaborate it a bit more.

Yeah I agree it certainly doesnt help Gilroy but I strongly feel there is a bigger issue at stake here and those who voted to block the transfer are trying to set a precedent that frivilous transfers will no longer be adhered to.

can'y see how you can pull that comment-is it drop names or what
    Don't be getting upset about the word culchies--What other county board in Ireland would stop a player playing for his county

It is the tone and the insinuation in your posts, the context and the way that you use the word culchie adds nothing to your post as well. This is not the place to discuss it, so back on topic and play nice please

Maybe its time for gilroy to put the foot down- after all its his club that started this sorry mess..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

I think that the DCB deserve credit for what they've achieved in hurling. Instead of chasing after non-sustainable false short term results, they decided to focus on the underage set-up years ago and now see the fruits of the labour.

Very few county boards has the foresight or the patient to do something where it's achievement and results will probably not be see in their current tenure.

It is the tone and the insinuation in your posts, the context and the way that you use the word culchie adds nothing to your post as well. This is not the place to discuss it, so back on topic and play nice please

Well cruiser to many boys from the country with a vote on the Dublin county board ban them i say. Their heart is with their own county not Dublin, not saying they don't to a lot of work for their clubs but from my experience they get a lot back to...What tone would u like me to text in

I think that the DCB deserve credit for what they've achieved in hurling. Instead of chasing after non-sustainable false short term results, they decided to focus on the underage set-up years ago and now see the fruits of the labour.

Very few county boards has the foresight or the patient to do something where it's achievement and results will probably not be see in their current tenure.
    Doing great work with hurling.BUT had no problem bringing mossy O'Brien in to the squad last year played for county before club..:pac:

With all due respect BB the parish rule and all that it entails is the very cornerstone of the GAA and is what makes it unique to all other sports and without it the GAA would not be in the healthy state it is in today and possibly wouldnt exist at all.

Like you said Harrington really had no choice but to vote no as voteing yes would have been a change and as a rule CB chairman are encouraged to maintain the staus quo in such situations.

Im not going to pretent to know all the ins and outs of this mess can someone clarify because from what I do know it seems that Fennel merely decided he wanted to go to a better club for no real reason, can anyone elaborate it a bit more.

Yeah I agree it certainly doesnt help Gilroy but I strongly feel there is a bigger issue at stake here and those who voted to block the transfer are trying to set a precedent that frivilous transfers will no longer be adhered to.

premierstone this saga started a couple of years reasons why fennel wants to leave his club only he knows.First i heard of this transfer was when Vincents were All-Ireland champions it was reported that fennel wanted to join Vincents.The underage mentors and management caused uproar saying if this is the way the club is going whats the point in having an underage structure because it sends out the wrong message to young players Vincents taking in a senior Dublin player..It caused the club to split 50-50 for and against Fennel..For some reason after this row in Vincents fennel tryed to jump ship to ballymun which was blocked..And somehow Vincents got involved again..At the end of the day if a players heart is not with his club why keep him..O'tooles have no problem poaching players for their hurling team from other clubs..:pac:

I see your side of the argument totally but you also have to take into account other factors.The parish rule is all well and good and should probably be adhered to until necessary.I feel if a player is ready to sit out a year of playing for his club,then that player should be allowed go.He hasn't lined out for O Tooles in over a year now.It is quite clear that O Tooles will not benefit from his services ever again and why keep a player who is unhappy with the team?By all means make it difficult and try to hang on but he made it quite clear and O Tooles are getting into a moral victory battle that will only be a stalemate for the foreseeable future until Fennell is let transfer.He is bringing the case to the DRA.Thats how far he is prepared to go.

I feel it is rules like these that turn players off playing GAA and going to rugby and soccer.Thats the flip side of the coin for the pro parish rule opinion.

As for the ins and outs of the situation.Nobody knows the full story but the jist of it is that Fennell wants to transfer to St Vincents because he feels O Tooles is a hurling club and that he is not getting the proper standard of football to help bring him a few steps further in playing for Dublin.He did put in for a transfer to go to Ballymun Kickhams which was blocked.He was head hunted by Pillar Caffrey,Billings and Talty in 2008 and lined out for Dublin since the O Byrne Cup that year.St Vincents then won the club All Ireland and Fennell must have felt the quality and standard of football was good so he put in another transfer request.

I truly believe Harrington wants this sorted out but under pressure his hands are tied.He' wouldn't want to piss off delegates who voted to keep him on as chairman but the result of the vote and his casting vote looks contradictory to the support to keep Gilroy as manager.I don't believe this would have been an issue if Fennell was going to transfer from St Vincents to O Tooles.

Good post here,

The DCB is a well run outfit and doesn't get the credit it deserves.The work done behind the scenes is immense.The referees courses,fixture planning which gets better every year,the structures for hurling development and the way in which they run the championships and the ticket scheme are all commendable.

They do have their faults but so does every other county board.None are perfect but they are professional in their approach to all matters and have to be considered one of the best county boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

It is quite clear that O Tooles will not benefit from his services ever again and why keep a player who is unhappy with the team?
    But it's about precedent as well. If Fennell's allowed to bugger off (fair enough, he's been trying for a while - but his effort to go to Kickham's undermines his position a bit in my mind and shows that he's more focused on where he's leaving than where he's trying to go to) then what's to stop anyone else doing it? People going abroad for a year could even use it as a chance to clear the slate with an old club. I also think that Dublin is a prime case in point for the parish rule - with so many clubs close together (Vincent's, Ciaran's, O'Tooles, Raheny, Clontarf, Barrog, Joey's, Parnell's, Na Fianna), there have to be restrictions on transfers to avoid a situation where there are suddenly only about 5 or 6 super-clubs in the whole county.
    the result of the vote and his casting vote looks contradictory to the support to keep Gilroy as manager.I don't believe this would have been an issue if Fennell was going to transfer from St Vincents to O Tooles.
    As premierstone says though, generally a casting vote is supposed to be used to maintain the status quo, and not just in the GAA either. Not quite sure what you mean by the last part but I'd imagine that the situation might be easier if Vincent's weren't involved at all. The fact that the requested transfer was to the county manager's club, and the potential there for controversy, might have played on some delegates' minds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

I think they made a very brave decision on the Fennell issue knowing full well that he was probably going to take it to the DRA. Would have been easy to let him transfer over. But its a very messy law. There has to be a better way to sort in county transfers out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

For what its worth I think the DCB are a lot better than they used to be, I do think, however that the Whelan/Gilroy team (which is the order I put it in and one which I think reflects reality) is one that will not achieve anything for the county team - not that there was much that Mullins or whoever you think should have got the job could do anyway. Our repeated and abject failure outside of Leinster over the past decade should settle that argument anyway. I remember people on this board posting that Tom Carr was the problem, that Tommy Lyons was the problem, that Pillar was the problem, now its Gilroy that is the problem.

No, its the system that is the problem. The system that as BB has said, if you dont play in Division one you have not got a hope, the system that has allowed 30 players to monopolise the panel for the guts of 8 or 9 years and a system that allows several clubs to have far too much pull and weight.

If the DCB is at fault it is to allow this to happen, and also in indulging in rampent ego mania ( a big hello at this point to our past chairman and his antics with the senior hurling sqauds) and backwards measures (like the UCD Hurling Club fun abd games of the recent past). Not to mention the stupidity in the fixtures system which routinely sees the clubmen being squeezed into playing multiple games at silly times of the year.

Since the parish rule does not apply to Dublin (there actually is a dispensation in realtion to it) I would favour a reordering of the clubs into a more managable series of divisons based on geographical areas, and have semi finals drawn from that idea (ie, two from the northside, two from the southside, or somesuch) in order to allow for the game to be spread more evenly and also to counter the advent of super clubs, which is somthing that surely is counter to what the GAA is about at club level.

Unless things like that are tackled, we will ahve transfer problems and we will have fundamental problems with the senior football team as well and we dont get progress.

Of course, Turkeys do not vote for chirstmas, which is our loss in this instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

looking in at the whole dublin thing the situation isnt the dublin county board its the papers and the dublin radio stations hyping the team beyond belief thats the biggest enemy.im a meathman but i work in dublin and the rubbish you listen to coming up to every game.over the years ive heard one radio station make up derogatory songs and sketches about tyrone and kerry leading into the biggest hidings dublin got.it was as good as writing the team talk for the managers of these teams.theres no harm supporting your team but when its to the point that your sending people into the stands in croke park believing the team only needs to show up then its going too far.

as for DCB i cant understand them letting a lot of players in from other counties,thats whats probably holding dublin back not the whole fennel thing.if they told a player coming in they can transfer in but they have to declare for dublin too im pretty certain it would stop a lot.i mean theres our own anthony moyles moved up to plunketts and is probably keeping a young minor out of that team when by his own admission he just wanted a new challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i would think dublins worst enemy is hill 16 and the day tripper fans. best thing dublin can do is come out and warm up in front of the canal end from now on and remove the Hill 16 ethos from their minds altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

i would think dublins worst enemy is hill 16 and the day tripper fans. best thing dublin can do is come out and warm up in front of the canal end from now on and remove the Hill 16 ethos from their minds altogether.
    You are having a laugh right, do you really pay any attention to what goes on in Dublin club football?

dcr22B wrote: »
    You are having a laugh right, do you really pay any attention to what goes on in Dublin club football?

no, i am deadly serious and given the fact that i actually play for one of the senior clubs in dublin, then yes, i do pay attention to dublin club football...

dublins biggest problem is mental. do you honestly think tyrone were 12 points better and kerry 17?? no way, massive mental block going on there and there has been for years. they lack talent yes, and have issues on the sideline, but they are better than the results show.

I don't think that the problem is entirely mental although I do agree with you that there are a lot of mental scars on the current crop of players. I still feel that we don't have the strength of squad to compete and we've regressed badly since 2007 when we ran ye so close. 2006 will always be the one that got away though.

I'd like to think that Gilroy's mantra of introducing 10 new players to the panel (I have my doubts that he'll find those 10) will enable a group of lads to come through who have no fears of the Kerrys and Tyrones of this world.

for someone that has 6,000 post you my friend are a :o

can you explain your wonderful post so please? ive made that point before and alot of people agree with me. the hill and dublin fans (then the media) are a bigger hinderance than a help. proove me wrong and i will retract my statement rather than coming on here trying to insult me like a little girls blouse!

the thread is are the DCB the teams worst enemy and i am giving my opinion. i think most on here would agree, especially those outside of the city.

can you explain your wonderful post so please? ive made that point before and alot of people agree with me. the hill and dublin fans (then the media) are a bigger hinderance than a help. proove me wrong and i will retract my statement rather than coming on here trying to insult me like a little girls blouse!

the thread is are the DCB the teams worst enemy and i am giving my opinion. i think most on here would agree, especially those outside of the city.
    i dont agree with you-its your likes that can't help to comment on any dublin thread that stirs it up..yeah out side the city will agree with you because you all have the same blood lines:mad:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

rpurfield wrote: »
    If they told a player coming in they can transfer in but they have to declare for dublin too im pretty certain it would stop a lot.i mean theres our own anthony moyles moved up to plunketts and is probably keeping a young minor out of that team when by his own admission he just wanted a new challenge

I couldnt agree more. I can imagine we wouldnt have to many lads looks for transfers into dublin if they had to declare for dublin.

For far to long the attitude has been if you do not play senior club football in dublin you will never get a chance toplay senior football. In some instances youngsters have been encouraged to move to senior clubs from junior clubs in order to get recognition.

Blackbelt Flukey and myself have been at plenty of club o'byrne cup games and we know the raw talent is there but the management over the years have failed to harness the raw talent thats out there.

Welcome back Popebenny. Will we see you in Killarney on Sunday? Better still join myself and Blackbelt for pre match pints in Killarney on Saturday night!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Tomaoo, you've already been warned on this thread. If you want to debate, attack the post but not the poster, and if you can't do so without bringing up the same old Dublin vs The Rest dispute then don't bother posting at all. This thread is regarding the running of the DCB and nothing else.

so daysha its ok to attack dublins sunshine supporters attack hill 16 but say something about anything outside the pale your warned...

I see said the blind man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Tomaoo banned for 5 days for repeatedly ignoring the warnings regarding his snide remarks and arguing with moderators in the thread as well.

Let's try get back on topic now shall we?

Daysha wrote: »
    Tomaoo banned for 5 days for repeatedly ignoring the warnings regarding his snide remarks and arguing with moderators in the thread as well.

Let's try get back on topic now shall we?

Talk about getting stuck in...I like it.:D

Ps. Tamaoo7,your posts are embarrassing to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

thats an extension of the hype thing i was talking about.all the premiership barstool fans with a gap to fill in the summer thinking dublin are a given because the radio or paper told them so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

thats an extension of the hype thing i was talking about.all the premiership barstool fans with a gap to fill in the summer thinking dublin are a given because the radio or paper told them so
    Lack of belief is Dublin's own worst enemy IMO. They just seem to have this Psychological block when it comes to playing the really big games in Croke Park. No one mentioning how DCB secured that Vodafone deal so soon after losing Arnotts deal. A big achievement which will only have benefit to the games in dublin for the future.

No one mentioning how DCB secured that Vodafone deal so soon after losing Arnotts deal. A big achievement which will only have benefit to the games in dublin for the future.

Did they get a particularly favourable deal? I am not familiar with the details. I would imagine that it should not be to hard to secure a sponsor for one of the most talked about and photographed (well May to August anyway) teams in the country.

Nice cheap shot with the dates mentioned ;)

As far as I'm aware, it's €4.65m over the course of the agreement with performance related bonuses so the total will be €4.65m :D

I wish I could be more optimisitic.

dcr22B wrote: »
    Nice cheap shot with the dates mentioned ;)

As far as I'm aware, it's €4.65m over the course of the agreement with performance related bonuses so the total will be €4.65m :D

I wish I could be more optimisitic.

Not an attempt at a cheap shot, over the last number of years that has been the case, now they are hardly the most photographed or written about team when the six nations is on. Over what period of time is the agreement?

I know it wasn't an attempt at a cheap shot hence the ;)

6 year deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

hi im a kildare man that has watched this particular dublin team win leinster after leinster after leinster during a terrible spell for leinster football! now fair play to them as it was earned aswell!

my opinion is this - the fans and the media are to blame for this not winning an all ireland putting endless pressure on a good team but not a great team, why is it always the county boards fault or the managers?

i played in the south dublin division and i know what the standard of club football is and i honestly think its a reasonable standard. now i dint blame the county board at all.

Take a good look at yourselves as a group of supporters! give your hurlers the support they deserve!

hi im a kildare man that has watched this particular dublin team win leinster after leinster after leinster during a terrible spell for leinster football! now fair play to them as it was earned aswell!

my opinion is this - the fans and the media are to blame for this not winning an all ireland putting endless pressure on a good team but not a great team, why is it always the county boards fault or the managers?

i played in the south dublin division and i know what the standard of club football is and i honestly think its a reasonable standard. now i dint blame the county board at all.

Take a good look at yourselves as a group of supporters! give your hurlers the support they deserve!

Your post seems contradicting.Does it have to be a terrible spell for a province if one team wins it 5 times in a row?On the basis that they earned it as well.I believe Leinster has been as competitive as it has been.

Teams and eras come and go.Dublin had a 7 year gap between Leinster Titles at one stage where Leinster was dominated by Meath and Kildare for a few years.Hardly a terrible spell for Leinster.

Also I would use the term "fan" lightly.Any true seasoned supporter that follows the team from January to December (including club matches) will know whether the team is good enough.The pressure is all media,media,media.Stations like 98FM making stupid songs and jumping on the blue bandwagon in Summer.I'm sure the team hardly listen to the average joe soap on the street touting an All Ireland.

The original argument which is going out of sight here is the DCB.Why are the DCB in question?Well they are because of this Fennell transfer saga.The principles they uphold at club level within the county directly conflict with their objectives in supporting the county team.In a sense I can see where they are coming from though.They are thinking long term and the prospect of big clubs getting bigger and small clubs suffering.

As for the hurlers,well the best time I had last championship bar the Kildare game was the hurling matches.Games against Wexford,Kilkenny and Limerick in the championship and also Cork and Waterford in the league.They do deserve more support.Sadly it wont be until Dublin beat a real top team like Waterford,Tipp or Cork in the championship or win a Leinster Title that this support won't grow.

Your post seems contradicting.Does it have to be a terrible spell for a province if one team wins it 5 times in a row?On the basis that they earned it as well.I believe Leinster has been as competitive as it has been.

Teams and eras come and go.Dublin had a 7 year gap between Leinster Titles at one stage where Leinster was dominated by Meath and Kildare for a few years.Hardly a terrible spell for Leinster.

In terms of success at the highest level, i.e. national finals and championships, the current period of success for Dublin has coincided with a bad period for Leinster teams in general. Where as the preceeding period where Dublin had no Leinster titles, coincided with a period where Leinster teams had more success nationally. Not a slight on Dublin really, more of a statement about the current standard of football in Leinster
    The original argument which is going out of sight here is the DCB.Why are the DCB in question?Well they are because of this Fennell transfer saga.The principles they uphold at club level within the county directly conflict with their objectives in supporting the county team.In a sense I can see where they are coming from though.They are thinking long term and the prospect of big clubs getting bigger and small clubs suffering.

I support the DCB on the Fennell issue, if as it seems a player is moving to join a team because they are successful, then it would be to the detriment of the GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,258 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Also I would use the term "fan" lightly.Any true seasoned supporter that follows the team from January to December (including club matches) will know whether the team is good enough.The pressure is all media,media,media.Stations like 98FM making stupid songs and jumping on the blue bandwagon in Summer.I'm sure the team hardly listen to the average joe soap on the street touting an All Ireland.

As for the hurlers,well the best time I had last championship bar the Kildare game was the hurling matches.Games against Wexford,Kilkenny and Limerick in the championship and also Cork and Waterford in the league.They do deserve more support.Sadly it wont be until Dublin beat a real top team like Waterford,Tipp or Cork in the championship or win a Leinster Title that this support won't grow.
    i think leinster has been weak in the last 8 years really barring last season kildare put it up to the dubs and i loved the atmosphere in the stands that day!

now i try not to be anti dublin but the blue bandwagon angers me. i have the upmost respect for true dublin fans!although saying that rivalries are always gonna be there lol!

i know so many dubs that abuse the championship for a session! i mean this from personal experience as i went to a school on kildare dub border and a lot of my friends are dubs!

im not saying its just dublin either the lily whites also have seasoned croke park followers too lol!

i love whats happening with dublin hurlers though im actually really proud of them for what they have achieved!

i would love to see the dubs lift another leinster title (just not the footballers) lol;)!

should be a great season! also think McGeeney is gonna have to control the kildare team more as that Laois game was a disgrace! i couldnt believe that escalated to a brawl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

as has been debated many many times on this board over many years, due to the relative population saize and location of Croke Park it APPEARS that this is the case.

Want me to disprove it? No bother, compare the large attendance that the demonstration last year in Cork in support of the Hurlers as against the actual attendance at the matches after they got their demands...
    no, i am deadly serious and given the fact that i actually play for one of the senior clubs in dublin, then yes, i do pay attention to dublin club football...

dublins biggest problem is mental. do you honestly think tyrone were 12 points better and kerry 17?? no way, massive mental block going on there and there has been for years. they lack talent yes, and have issues on the sideline, but they are better than the results show.

No, the problem is 16 to 20 pages of rubbish every night in the Evening Herald for two weeks before any big match. It is only a case of demand, as the Tipp Star does something similar during the summer but is only out once a week, along with the Nenagh Guardian, I would say that in the approach to a big game they would fill the exact same amount of coverage if they were also daly papers. Again, have a look at the "Cork" examiner and indeed their evening papers.

Well, many people on this board over the years have also disagreed with your point and I have attempted to prove you wrong up there and I will not even mention the appalling attendance the Corok footballers got in a Munster Final invoilving Limerick in their own ground last year.
    Not an attempt at a cheap shot, over the last number of years that has been the case, now they are hardly the most photographed or written about team when the six nations is on. Over what period of time is the agreement?

I wont, our of kindness, refer you to, for example, the usual photoshots of Dublin footballers attending the launch of some sort of GAA promotion in Croke park which we can regularly see clottering up the sportspages at any time of year, nor indeed the trailer for Sunday Sports which I have seen around six times tonight alone and which feature Dublin footballers...

Every county has them, I recall three years ago I posted her about the disgracefull attendance at the All Ireland Hurling Quaters in Croker - Galway, Kilkenny, Tipperary, Wexford, Waterford were all there and the attendance was not even 50,000.

I meet plenty of premisership barstool fans in Tipp, and also in Laois and Offally and Kilkenny and Cork and Limerick.

If your comments are supposed to be against the OP that the DCB have a role and a culpability in the state of the current Dublin Football Team then I fail to see it. I would have thought that you would have invested your time and energy in showing how the DCB have actually advanced them, rather than taken the time to have cheep shots at the Dublin support.