Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jobs anyone?!

• 26-01-2010 1:51pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Anyone know of anywhere in maynooth hiring atm?! I'm in desperate need of a job!

In fact even if you know of anywhere in Wicklow town hiring I'd be happy!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I'm thinking about trying to land a Maynooth job myself. Got one I can travel home to in Donegal every weekend but its getting kinda annoying.

I'd say Mantra will nearly always be hiring staff as clubs tend to have a high staff turnover. Tesco as well probably.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I've tried a couple of places at home in Wickla too but no go it seems.

I might look into Mantra and Tesco. Also gonna try beg Pulse again considering I used to work in the Wicklow Town shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I don't think you're going to find a part time job at this stage due to the fact that most places have probably just let their Xmas staff go, and therefore will have a short-list of people to hire when they need staff.

lucky me...

I did actually try look a couple of different times b4 xmas and even b4 term started but couldnt find anything.

Ah well. I guess daddy is just gonna hafta keep paying for his lil girl... :(

All you can do is keep dropping in CVs to the bigger places I suppose! I'd imagine a few final year students will leave their part time jobs for semester 2 (no, you can't have mine!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Try Liffey Valley too. It was so easy to get a job when I was an undergrad, feel bad for you guys now. Also, you could give grinds in something maybe? Easy money.

Nyeheheheh, I was offered 2 part-time jobs in the past 3 weeks. Working on commission though, feck that!

I might think bout Liffey. Might be hard enough to get work with my hours though and travel times.

Rozabeez Pleaeeeeeese can I have ur job? Don't be mean! Looks like you have plenty to spare! :P

You can have the Ann Summers party one ¬_¬

I need to keep the IT Sales one as a 'maybe'.

Rozabeez wrote: »
    You can have the Ann Summers party one ¬_¬

Ha Ha I'd love to see my dads face if I told him that was my job! Daddy's innocent girl...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Working on commission though, feck that!
    Fudge packing in Dunnes would be better than that!

Ha Ha I'd love to see my dads face if I told him that was my job! Daddy's innocent girl...

You don't tell him. Just tell him the money's coming from those traditional weekend jobs like prostution or drug dealing. He'll understand.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    You don't tell him. Just tell him the money's coming from those traditional weekend jobs like prostution or drug dealing. He'll understand.

Oh yea he'd have no problem with that. I'm learning my business skills you know?! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Thwip!

anyone looking for a reasonably priced guitar teacher or know of anyone looking for one just say:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

theres always selling scratchcards in Dublin if ya get desperate...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 tim_the_conman

Might be a bit late now but Rebel pizza were lookin for part and full time staff not that long ago

Oh yea he'd have no problem with that. I'm learning my business skills you know?! :P

Plus Ann Summers parties = great excuse for boards beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Plus Ann Summers parties = great excuse for boards beers

Not if your a gay male; Not if your a gay male..........

Pfft, if you go it with a closed mind of course you won't enjoy it :P

Actually men can't attend Ann Summers parties.

We'll have an unofficial one. And is that actually the case? Discriminatory no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Too many dildos and vibrators. Last one I was at they made me dress up as a school girl. My mam was also there. Scarlet. Absolutely scarlet.

It's so women don't feel uncomfortable and can let free I think. Fair enough.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Too many dildos and vibrators. Last one I was at they made me dress up as a school girl. My mam was also there. Scarlet. Absolutely scarlet.

pics or gtfo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

I'm actually still laughing fron this.

I had to leave the room when they asked me to give another girl a lap dance. There are some things my mother does NOT need to see.

The hostess can lose her job if a man walks in apparently. Last one I was at, I had underwear on my head and ended up with marshmallow in my hair.

Ah she can hardly help it if a guy wanders in unexpectedly! Besides, in those situations, the girls are probably more likely to get him involved and dress him up and stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Too many dildos and vibrators.

http://www.annsummersparties.ie/gallery.html#her

Ok,
    Firstly I did not know what Ann Summers Parties were that's why I went to the Site. :eek:

Secondly, I clicked on the Gallery because I'm a guy :rolleyes:

Thirdly, I know What one of the things in the pic in the most bottom right is but what the heck is the other yoke? :confused:

I'm guessing it's not a clothes brush

It's an erotic clothes brush

Well when you go to something like that with your mam you can hardly complain like :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

JBoyle4eva wrote: »
    Not if your a gay male; Not if your a gay male..........

That's what the Andy Summers ones are for............

You think the clothes brush is bad? This one reminds me of Manor Mills....

http://d2weypz2veqqsi.cloudfront.net/310/20678-10.jpg

You think the clothes brush is bad? This one reminds me of Manor Mills....

http://d2weypz2veqqsi.cloudfront.net/310/20678-10.jpg

Ah the squeel. Dangerous looking contraption altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I will need to find some work in and around Maynooth next semester. Just wondering does anyone here have any experience of working in any of the supermarkets (dunnes, tesco, supervalu) during the week in the evenings? I'd gladly avail of any hours available in these places and plan on handing in cvs to them all a week or two before we start back.

I imagine it's very hard to find any part-time work in maynooth though consideirng it's so small and you have locals and college students to contend with!

Be prepared to be very very tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭leopoldbloom

There's an interesting observation emerging here.

I heard that the pass : fail ratio was worse this year than in about ten years, and more and more students are working longer hours as their parents cannot afford to bank-roll them any more. So, this implies people are more likely to let their academic work suffer since they either need to work or starve - both of which are deadly to academic performance.

With grants coming in up to six months late, and non-pay cutbacks in the third-level sector affecting basic educational requirements students need to fork out more dough to get the same quality of education as needed in the past - ie. photocopying etc. This in turn brings us back to working longer hours to generate more income, in order to support academics, which in turn suffer as a result of this.

If either the registration fee increases, or full-blown fees are reintroduced this vicious circle will only become more prevalent and Universities will either have to inflate their grades even more, or risk losing huge numbers to drop-outs or fails.

Hmmm.... This post is quickly turning from a casual observation into a policy document.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Arfan

I don't think we want to go into the fees debate here. politics forum is having enough fun with it as it is. I'd say the registration fee will go up, it's been steadily creeping up since introduction.

I've always wondered why the college didn't exploit the cheap labour force it has on hand. You could have undergrads washing windows, trimming hedges, filling potholes in roads(with stones, not their bodies). There's probably some health and safety angle I'm not considering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

There's an interesting observation emerging here.

I heard that the pass : fail ratio was worse this year than in about ten years, and more and more students are working longer hours as their parents cannot afford to bank-roll them any more. .

ye describes part of my college year anyway. although the bigger problem for me was because everyone wanted more hours where i work, it meant working any hours i got even if it got in the way of college work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Alt_Grrr

OP, I think you could get work with the company who solicit direct debit donations to passers by on O'Connell Street,

(face2face I think they are called),

You just need to meet a small quota of new donations and you get paid.

I'm told the staff turn over is quiet high, so there always hiring...
    You get to work outside, meet new people and destroy any self esteem you have...

Just a suggestion...

Or try a few businesses around Celbridge? Some smaller ones might need somebody for a few hours here or there...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Alt_Grrr wrote: »
    OP, I think you could get work with the company who solicit direct debit donations to passers by on O'Connell Street,

(face2face I think they are called),

You just need to meet a small quota of new donations and you get paid.

I'm told the staff turn over is quiet high, so there always hiring...
    You get to work outside, meet new people and destroy any self esteem you have...

Just a suggestion...

Or try a few businesses around Celbridge? Some smaller ones might need somebody for a few hours here or there...

Also get to piss off hundreds more :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 TheManHimself

You can try giving a CV into Heatons near Tesco...they have a turnover every now and then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

HoLa!

There are very very few jobs going anywhere in the local vicinity.
    I'm working in Liffey Valley (M&S), but I got in there 2 years ago and they aren't even accepting CV's from people now, telling them to save the copy!!

Regarding fees...it's all pants!

PS: There is ZERO business for Ann Summers parties in this area...did it for a good few months and there is nothing! It cost me money rather than making money!

Ann Summers parties you say? They should relax the rules and let guys come and business will soar. Maybe...

Ann Summers, not stationary. You wouldn't be interested LR.

We got told this CONSTANTLY that if a man tries to take part, we have to pack up and leave.
    I don't agree with it, I think it's horribly sexist. The whole time I was working for them, there was 3 men we knew of that worked for them. 1 was the Head of the entire company (the founder was a man fyi!) and the other 2 were male strippers who modelled all the stuff at the launch party of the catalogue.

Ann Summers, not stationary. You wouldn't be interested LR.

I had to do a party in Wicklow once. not fun.

Apparently they're very concerned about being over 18 too.

I was at one while I was still in school (though 18) for a hen party and was coerced in to trying on the school girl outfit (CRINGE!) and someone said 'because you're still in school!' or something to that effect and yer wans face dropped (she still managed to keep a firm grip on the rubber willy though :P) and she stuttered 'yyy..y...y..you're over 18... r..r.rr..right?'

Bet the relief she felt was unreal.

Also stinger cause there was a 17 year old there too. :pac:

Yep! Have to be over 18 to purchase, and because a lot of the stuff is a bit "out-there" for people under 18 to be seeing with their delicate unknowing eyes!

So, eh, when's the party in my house happening? You guys set a date, get your gear together and I'll invite all the "girls". It'll be fun, rubber willies ftw :P