Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Need a plan (Want to run the Dublin Marathon)

• 26-01-2010 12:11AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭

Folks,

I've decided that this is the year I will do the Dublin Marathon. However, the thought's of it scares me. I'm not a hard core runner by any stretch of the imagination. I have however done the half marathon in Connemara in times of c1hr 50min and c2hr 10min in 2007 and 2009 respectively. I probably would have come close to my 07 time were it not for the fact I did feck all training in the last 3-4 weeks.

My problem is that I have no clue how to train properly, I warm up and go running. I don't do the drinks and the protein shakes and what you have as A) I have no clue what to buy or B) not very organised. Motivation is a factor as well, and I can safely say I would have done neither half marathon were it not for the presence of my friend (who is not about at present). So I probably need to get in with a running group???

My fitness is ok (not great but ok), I'm not over weight but I do have a beer gut! which I would like to get rid of! I'm about 5'11' and weight 12-13 stone. Another problem I have is that I smoke (socially); and that happens about 1-2 times a week. Perhaps 2-3 packets in a month. And of course the beer comes with that too, but I've cut down on that a lot since college.

I suppose why I'm volunteering all this info is that I'm looking for someone to give me an idea of what or a even a plan. I want to avoid the gym if at all possible (I like to get out in the open air).

Ideas and comments are very welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭TheLargerBowl

The Hal Higdon novice plans are very good for first-timers, I used the Novice 1 plan last year for my first marathon. If you're going to use one of them, bear in mind that they are an 18 week plan so you would be starting that in late June. Until then, it would be worthwhile entering some shorter races to keep the fitness up and getting an idea of where you're at. The Adidas race series will be on when you're in marathon training, and they're well worth entering too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Hey Stepbar,
    Amadeus set this thread up.....not too many posts in there but a few good comments and some links: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055786069
    You don't have to get in with a running group. It has its benefits but find your feet first. For motivation: Time yourself covering certain laps/distances and enjoy beating the recorded time. Don't push too hard at the start of your road to fitness....Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Hal Higdon also has a Spring training plan, that you can start before the 18-week programme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

One of the misconceptions about marathons is that you need to be a "hardcore" runner - some inexperienced runners think you need all sorts of supplements, cross training and equipment.

You don't - you need a good background in running (which you have), a decent plan (which you've been linked to) and a bit of commitment.

Running a marathon is the easy part - it's the 18 weeks leading up to it that trip up most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Good to see you are looking to get active, start running and do the marathon. Its something everyone should definitely do at least once in their life.

Its also good that you recognise a lacking in your knowledge and the lads have pointed you in the direction of reasonable training plans. They are not gospel however and can, and should be, adapted to you. If something doesn't feel completely right, question it. maybe you need to do longer, faster or slower and shorter.

However training is only one part of the journey to fitness and running a marathon. The other is lifestyle and from what I have seen this is, for most people, the hardest of the two aspects.

Diet, weight and sleep are vitally important to your recovery from training. If you want to run the marathon as fast as you can then you need to address these aspects, if you just want to do a marathon then no real need.

Smokes? Out.

Alcohol? Has its place. Which need not be in moderation - but timed that it is not the night before a big training day, with the acceptance that a good bender will take 4-5 days to clear out of the system, and that beer is hugely calorific and an awareness of how many calories a night out can be.

Which brings us onto a harsher part - weight. Its been said that every extra lb is 2 seconds a mile. A stone weight dropped (over time and assuming its fat) is 12 minutes over a marathon, or there abouts.

At that weight your BMI is 25.4 - which is overweight, albetit only marginally. And an estimated bf% of 23.3% which again is high. (normal male is 15-17%, normal male runner is 8-12%). A reduction in weight will make you run faster and reduce the load on your joints. But again its no biggie but something to consider.

Happy running and good luck with the journey to DCM!

tunney wrote: »
    At that weight your BMI is 25.4 - which is overweight, albetit only marginally. And an estimated bf% of 23.3% which again is high. (normal male is 15-17%, normal male runner is 8-12%). A reduction in weight will make you run faster and reduce the load on your joints. But again its no biggie but something to consider.

Good post. Do you have a link to a body fat % calculator?

Apologies - thought I had put it in......

http://www.brianmac.co.uk/fatcent.htm
    (Down the bottom)

Yes I know its just a guestimate but in my personal experience its close to both bf scales and calipers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

The Hal Higdon novice plans are very good for first-timers, I used the Novice 1 plan last year for my first marathon. If you're going to use one of them, bear in mind that they are an 18 week plan so you would be starting that in late June. Until then, it would be worthwhile entering some shorter races to keep the fitness up and getting an idea of where you're at. The Adidas race series will be on when you're in marathon training, and they're well worth entering too.

I'm using Hal and went from not being able to run 50 metres to an 8.5 mile run on sat......it works.

Good to see you are looking to get active, start running and do the marathon. Its something everyone should definitely do at least once in their life.

Its also good that you recognise a lacking in your knowledge and the lads have pointed you in the direction of reasonable training plans. They are not gospel however and can, and should be, adapted to you. If something doesn't feel completely right, question it. maybe you need to do longer, faster or slower and shorter.

However training is only one part of the journey to fitness and running a marathon. The other is lifestyle and from what I have seen this is, for most people, the hardest of the two aspects.

Diet, weight and sleep are vitally important to your recovery from training. If you want to run the marathon as fast as you can then you need to address these aspects, if you just want to do a marathon then no real need.

Smokes? Out.

Alcohol? Has its place. Which need not be in moderation - but timed that it is not the night before a big training day, with the acceptance that a good bender will take 4-5 days to clear out of the system, and that beer is hugely calorific and an awareness of how many calories a night out can be.

Which brings us onto a harsher part - weight. Its been said that every extra lb is 2 seconds a mile. A stone weight dropped (over time and assuming its fat) is 12 minutes over a marathon, or there abouts.

Happy running and good luck with the journey to DCM!

Great post, i have 2 stone to lose before Cork in June and its a balancing act to get what i need for my training but get the weight down as well.

Final blow out in Lanzarote next week ( with some traininig over there ) and then its 18 weeks of focused work and strict healthy eating.......and no booze apart from a glass of wine on my birthday.

Apologies - thought I had put it in......

http://www.brianmac.co.uk/fatcent.htm
    (Down the bottom)

Yes I know its just a guestimate but in my personal experience its close to both bf scales and calipers.

Can't be right - I'm just under 6' (rounded to ~180cms) and weigh 67 - 68 kgs. Based on that it's saying I have a BF% of 6.6% :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

+1 for Hal. I used the novice plan for my first marathon, and Hal brought me from zero to (in my own head :rolleyes:) hero! Now, he didn't get me there quickly, but I think I was supposed to take care of speed issues, as opposed to Mr Higdon...

ronanmac wrote: »
    +1 for Hal. I used the novice plan for my first marathon, and Hal brought me from zero to (in my own head :rolleyes:) hero! Now, he didn't get me there quickly, but I think I was supposed to take care of speed issues, as opposed to Mr Higdon...

What was your time Ronan, what marathon did you do ???

Can't be right - I'm just under 6' (rounded to ~180cms) and weigh 67 - 68 kgs. Based on that it's saying I have a BF% of 6.6% :confused:

Do you have any muscle or just skin,bones and a beer belly?

67kg is light for 6ft.
    When I used to hit 67kg at 5'10 I'd be 8% by all measurements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

I started training last January with the intention of doing the Cork marathon in June. I only got to train 3 weeks before my poor old knees gave out.I find it too hard running on concrete plus I have had cartilage removed from right knee..playing soccer.

I would defo find it easier if I had a group to run with as my discipline is rubbbish on my own.

Does any know any groups that are preparing for marathons espec in Cork?

ps. Not a runner actually hate it..but want to push myself and have that self satisfied smugness in the pub afterwards.

What was your time Ronan, what marathon did you do ???

My first marathon was New York 2002, 4:39. I finally managed to do a sub-4 hour last year, and hope to come down to three thirty something this year. I had zero running background coming into the NY marathon, so finishing it was a huge achievement personally. Looking back now, I'm sure many, if not most, people can run their first marathon sub-4 if the miles are in the legs, and if the target of just finishing it wasn't so daunting (don't know if that actually makes any sense!?)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It's giving me 3.6%. :eek:

At 6'2" and 75kg ish I think I should start to eat more lard.

ronanmac wrote: »
    My first marathon was New York 2002, 4:39. I finally managed to do a sub-4 hour last year, and hope to come down to three thirty something this year. I had zero running background coming into the NY marathon, so finishing it was a huge achievement personally. Looking back now, I'm sure many, if not most, people can run their first marathon sub-4 if the miles are in the legs, and if the target of just finishing it wasn't so daunting (don't know if that actually makes any sense!?)

Wow its good to hear the results of the plan. I am following novice 2. I am putting in base miles at the moment ( longest run 8.5 miles ) and the 18 week plan begins next sunday.

I was just worried that the longest run is 20 miles and i still have to make that jump to 26 !! Also want to spilt the 3 midweek runs as 3 night in a row would kill me ( at the moment )

My pace on my long runs in about 9m 45sec at the mo and that would give me a time of roughly under 4h 30 min. I 'd be bloody happy with that.

Anyways any orther advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

robinph wrote: »
    It's giving me 3.6%. :eek:

At 6'2" and 75kg ish I think I should start to eat more lard.

A greasy chinese tastes nicer and is prob just as bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Thanks for all the replies.

In terms of diet and specifics what would be recommended?

Also I've found in the past that controlling my breathing has been an issue, and my lung capacity (used to take an inhaler which I will probably need again come training time). Any suggestions here?

Wow its good to hear the results of the plan. I am following novice 2. I am putting in base miles at the moment ( longest run 8.5 miles ) and the 18 week plan begins next sunday.

I was just worried that the longest run is 20 miles and i still have to make that jump to 26 !! Also want to spilt the 3 midweek runs as 3 night in a row would kill me ( at the moment )

My pace on my long runs in about 9m 45sec at the mo and that would give me a time of roughly under 4h 30 min. I 'd be bloody happy with that.

Anyways any orther advice.

I wouldn't be worried about making the jump from 20 to 26, by that stage it's a case of keep on keepin' on!

I was out for a run at lunch time and was thinking about what I wrote earlier. Basically, what has made me go a bit faster over the past nine months is a combination of:
    1. More consistent training (my training was very hit and miss, is less so now)
    2. Intervals and tempo runs (have put some speed in my legs which I didn't think possible, speed being relative of course!)
    and
    3. Running three days a week (I know this seems counterintuitive, but I used to get a lot of injuries. Supposed to do two to three days cross-training to replace running days, but I don't always do those days :eek:)