Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Upcoming Preview Nights

• 05-01-2010 10:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭

donaghmore asbourne gaa club are holding a cheltenham preview night on fri 26th feb.@8 pm.
    MC on the night Tony o' Hehir

PANEL trainers Tom Taaffe
    Jim Dreaper
    Adrian McGuinness

jockeys Andrew Lynch
    Patrick Mullins

journalist Brian Flanagan (THE STAR)

SPONSORED by BAMBURY BOOKMAKERS
    music & complimentary food served in bar after
    ADM. e20 (incl. bambury free bet)
    tickets available from bambury bookmakers & donaghmore asbourne gaa club 01-8499140 (donashgaa.ie)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Adrian McGuinness on the panel of a cheltenham preview thats
    a bit strange
    cant imagine him having any runners at cheltenham maybe beau michael but that would be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

very poor line-up seem to be local heads.these nights are the greatest waste of time and money ,they may well give a winner for a change=kauto star.I live in Swords and would not go to listen to any of them,so sorry.where is Paul Carberry,Noel Meade,Tony Martin all very local to ashbourne but im sure they charge to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭woodlands

any one of any preview nights anywhere this year ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

sting60 wrote: »
    very poor line-up seem to be local heads.these nights are the greatest waste of time and money ,they may well give a winner for a change=kauto star.I live in Swords and would not go to listen to any of them,so sorry.where is Paul Carberry,Noel Meade,Tony Martin all very local to ashbourne but im sure they charge to much.

What's wrong with local trainers and jockeys supporting local events? And you seem to be intimating that trainers such as Tom Taaffe and Jim Dreaper, both of whom I have great respect for, don't know what they're talking about. Why should a panel only consist of the minority of trainers who have a big media profile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mccarte2

Hi Folks

The Wexford GAA Supporters club in Dublin are hosting a Cheltenham Preview night in Leopardstown racecourse on Sunday 28th February after the pre Cheltenham schooling (around 7pm). The panel confirmed (so far) is Gary O'Brien, Tony Mullins, Kevin O'Ryan, Davy Russell, Matt Chapman and Johnny Ward. Christian Williams is also likely to be added.

Leopardstown are selling a package for racing, schooling and preview night for €25. Tickets on the night will be €20 or can be purchased in advance at a cheaper price still to be confirmed.

All welcome!

There seems to be quite a few posts regarding preview nights, so it'd probably be best if they're posted here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭westlife2010

sting60 wrote: »
    There is no such thing as a poor line up in a preview night. 99% of the punters there know exactly what every horse has achieved and what price every horse is in every race. The 'big' boys are understandably biased when it comes to their horses. Do you want to hear Ruby tell you that he thinks Kauto will win the Gold Cup! Sure what else will he say! Or will he talk down any of his rides for the week... I dont think so. I like when you dont have the 'superstars' of racing at the previews. I find that the likes of Adrian, Pat and my favorite Philip Rothwell (The best panalist i've worked with for knowledge and entertainment value!) will give you a straight from the heart, no bull **** answer to your questions. These lads have been in the racing game for years and i would rather hear an unbiased expert opinion then the sitting on the fence stuff that alot of the bigger lads do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Yeah trainers and jockeys arent going to give much away at these things, its more just a night out for a few beers to talk about the racing with a load of people who know the form, i always enjoy them though.

Pat Keane (who is tight with Ruby) is always fairly straight up, in Waterford last year he basically said Ruby was mad on Mikael D'Haguenet and Cooldine and thought defeat was out of the question.

mdwexford wrote: »
    Yeah trainers and jockeys arent going to give much away at these things, its more just a night out for a few beers to talk about the racing with a load of people who know the form, i always enjoy them though.

Pat Keane (who is tight with Ruby) is always fairly straight up, in Waterford last year he basically said Ruby was mad on Mikael D'Haguenet and Cooldine and thought defeat was out of the question.
    could not agree more.... love these nights with me and the rest of the over opinionated horse racing lovers giving our tupence worth......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Catherine Power

Hi Everyone

Cheltenham Preview Night in the Woodlands Hotel in Waterford will be held this year on Thursday, March 4th. Panel includes Johnny Francome, Davy Russell, Noel O'Brien, Mick Fitzgerald, Nick Luck, Mike Cattermole, Ted Walsh and another new addition this year Tom Segal-Pricewise who is sure to be a popular panellist!!!

Also anyone in attendance on the night will receive a free hat entitling them to free admission to JP Manus Pro-Am in Adare in early July.

Great value for €20. Tickets available at the hotel.

Wow Pricewise, impressive, looking forward to this even more now.

Francome has proved to be very popular at the waterford venue over the last few years but 'Pricewise'will surely be the star attraction this year. Looks like it will be a great evening . Surely Pricewise will give us a few decent value tips!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Long Shadow

3rd March 2010 @ 8pm (Sharp)

Panel: RTE's Colm Murray (MC), Barry Geraghty, Davy Russell, Evan
    Williams, Colm Murphy, Gordon Elliott, Paul Flynn, Donn McLean,
    Paddy Power (Book Maker) and special Conference Call Guest.

Ticket available from Monday 1st February 2010 at (01) 8207888 (Monday -Friday 9am to 5pm) @ €20 each which, includes a free €5 bet with the event sponsors PaddyPower.com. Proceeds in aid of Jockey Injury Fund. Events includes Raffle with Star Prize of All Expenses Paid Return Trip to Cheltenham Gold Cup 2010, and Two Corporate Tickets for Leinster Football Final, along with other prizes. Full Bar facilities along with Finger Food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

No point anyone else posting unless you can top Tom Segal imo:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 eire750

waiting to hear when the glenroyal hotel preview night is on- usually pretty good with dessie hughes, tom taafe, jim mcgrath regular attendees

David Pipe has expressed an interest in attending Waterford Cheltenham Preview night in Woodlands Hotel on Thursday 4th March. Hope to be there and should have few interesting things to say.

If you really want to make a night of it upi can stay in the hotel for just €25 pp sharing or €30 B&B per person. Nice hotel...really good value

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Hot-Rod

Is there any preview nites up north or in the border counties? I went to one in monghan several years ago, and the panel gave me 8 winners that nite!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭culline

Anyone hear of a Preview night for the Dublin City area? Preferably sponsoring a charity and not money driven bookies!?:rolleyes:

most of them are non profit events. the biggest one is prob the Submarine Bar in walkinstown. Very high profile panel (does not mean the best!) night. There is a good one on up in the Village Inn, Clondalkin Village, on March 3rd (wed).Great night sponsored by the Star newspaper and paddy power bookies (2 Ireland match tickets and loads of PP goodies up for grabs)Ticket price €10 and free pint and food also included! and its a charity night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭podsieboy

one in cork is on the 1st if march 8 o clock
    silversprings hotel

panel
    richard johnson
    tom cooper
    norman williamson
    paul nolan
    paul townend
    richie forristal journalist irish indepentent
    paul tully (tully bookmakers)

M.C gerry hannon

admission 15 euro

think also there doin a free bet if u open an account on the night but not sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭gandroid

For Galway punters, I saw a poster today saying it's on Monday March 8 in Salthill Hotel I think. Usual good cause, Barney Curley / DAFA. Can't remember all the lineup but Alan Byrne, Davy Condon, Damien McElroy and Williams from the RP I think. Also Hector is the MC which is one shortcoming imo :rolleyes: Unfortunately I am working that evening so not sure I will catch it unless I finish early...

culline wrote: »
    Anyone hear of a Preview night for the Dublin City area? Preferably sponsoring a charity and not money driven bookies!?:rolleyes:

Hop on the Luas out to Leopardstown on Sunday 28th :)

cheers mccarte,any idea of time/ticket price/line up?

I'll save myself the bother of typing everything :)

Cheltenham%20Preview.JPG

Starting between 7 and 7.30pm.

http://www.leopardstown.com/Content/Leopardstown/LeopFixtures.aspx?id=11816

your a gent, heading yourself?

Am one of the organisers so I'll be shot if I'm not there :)

Ruby Walsh will now be on the Waterford Panel for their preview at the Woodlands Hotel on Thursday March 4th at 8pm, in aid of St. Patrick's Hospital and SVP.....tickets are flying,,,,make sure you get yours now!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Hi Everyone

Cheltenham Preview Night in the Woodlands Hotel in Waterford will be held this year on Thursday, March 4th. Panel includes Johnny Francome, Davy Russell, Noel O'Brien, Mick Fitzgerald, Nick Luck, Mike Cattermole, Ted Walsh and another new addition this year Tom Segal-Pricewise who is sure to be a popular panellist!!!

Also anyone in attendance on the night will receive a free hat entitling them to free admission to JP Manus Pro-Am in Adare in early July.

Great value for €20. Tickets available at the hotel.

That's a stellar line up right there.

Its a class line up, the only qualms id have is that with 9 panelists they wont get much time to give their opinions.

Id drop Russell, Cattermole and Noel O'Brien for next year. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Sub Phil Smith for O'Brien for the laugh. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

eire750 wrote: »
    waiting to hear when the glenroyal hotel preview night is on- usually pretty good with dessie hughes, tom taafe, jim mcgrath regular attendees

Wenesday 10th March Glenroyal.

I've got a list of all the preview night here will post them up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 dosulli8

Anyone got more detailed info on the 2 Dublin preview nights mentioned on here previously in Clondalkin and The Sub? Tickets, lineups etc

Tuesday 23rd February

Glencarn Hotel, Castleblaney Co Monaghan 7.30pm

€20

Thursday 25th February

Kettles Country House Hotel,Rolestown,Swords, Co Dublin 8.30pm

€20

Friday 26th February

Asbourne GAA Club, Co Meath

€20 with free €5 bet.

Rua's Lounge,Redcross, Co Wicklow 8pm

Sunday February 28th

Leopardstown Racecourse

Wednesday March 3rd

Westmanstown Sports and Conference Centre, Dublin 15 8pm

€20 with free €5 bet.

Thursday March 4th

Woodlands Hotel, Waterford City 8pm

€20

Killarney Racecourse,Killarney, Co Kerry 9pm sharp

€15

Round Towers GAA Club, Lusk, Co Dublin 8pm

€10

The Cloch Ban, Clonroche, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford

Friday March 5th

The Judges Inn,Baltinglass, Co Wicklow

€20

Carrickdale Hotel, Carrickarnon, Dundalk, Co Louth 8pm

€20 with free €5 bet.

Sunday March 7th

Dunraven Arms Hotel, Adare, Co Limerick

€30

Knightsbrook Hotel, Trim, Co Meath 8pm

€20

Monday March 8th

Europa Hotel, Belfast

£10 with free £5 bet

Students Union Bar, North Campus, Maynooth University, Co Kildare 7.30pm

€20 and €15 for students.

Saddle Bar, Listowel, Co Kerry 8pm

€10

Tuesday 9th March

Paddy Murphy's Bar, Ballymore Eustace, Co Kildare 8.30pm

Free entry.

The Mill Times Hotel, Westport, Co Mayo 8pm

€15

Wednesday 10th March

Glenroyal Hotel, Maynooth, Co Kildare 8pm

€25 with free €30 betting voucher.

Bridgewater Inn, Sallins, Co Kildare 8.30pm

Free

Thursday March 11th

Grand Hotel, Malahide, Co Dublin

Contact for price.

Francis Mckenna's Pub, Harolds Cross Bridge, Dublin 6 8pm

€25 with free €20 bet.

I didn't have time to write out the guests for each preview night but if you would like to no just ask and I will post them up and any contact details for the nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 dosulli8

Would be great to get details for

dosulli8 wrote: »
    Would be great to get details for

Thursday March 4th

€10

Panel: Oliver Brady, Ado McGuinness, Andrew Lynch, Brian Flanagan(The Star) and Denis Kirwan(TV3)

Thursday March 11th

Panel: Colm Murray(MC), Donn McClean, Tom Taafe, Damien McElroy and Gary O'Brien.

Contact for price.(Noel Kelly - <snip>)

Panel: Patrick Mullins, Andrew Lynch, Ryan McElligott, Ado McGuinness, Anthony Bromley, Gavin Curran(Ace Tele Betting) plus special guests.

€25 with free €20 bet.

Contact Ricky <snip>.

Mod edit: If you need contact numbers for the above Preview Nights please use the PM function rather than posting them here. Thanks

How about the ones at Enniscorthy, Baltinglass, Ballymore Eustace and the Students' Union Bar in Maynooth?

Thursday March 4th

The Cloch Ban, Clonroche, Enniscorthy, Co Wexford

Panel: Liam Spratt(MC), Paul Nolan, Alain Cawley, Sean Flanagan, Dan Walsh and Liz Doyle.

Features the Wexford Launch of the Downtown's Cheltenham CD by Tony Kehoe.

Friday March 5th

The Judges Inn,Baltinglass, Co Wicklow

Kevin O'Ryan(MC), Jessica Harrington, Robbie Power, Tony Mullins, Phillip Rothwell, Colm Murphy, Katie Walsh and Justin Carthy(Chronicle Bookmakers)

€20

Monday March 8th

Students Union Bar, North Campus, Maynooth University, Co Kildare 7.30pm

Kevin O'Ryan(MC), Adrian McGuinness, Patrick Mullins, Gordon Elliot, Ryan McElligott and Paul Carberry.

€20 and €15 for students.

Tuesday 9th March

Paddy Murphy's Bar, Ballymore Eustace, Co Kildare 8.30pm

Pat Nolan(MC), Matt Chapman(ATR), Oliver Brady, Damien McElroy, Robert Catterson, Fran Flood, Paddy Aspel and Daragh Fitzpatrick(Cill Dara Betting)

Free entry.

Cheers.

Woops sorry for posting the numbers up. :o

No problem! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Have you got the panel for the Dunraven Arms in Adare?

Sunday March 7th

Dunraven Arms Hotel, Adare, Co Limerick

€30 - all proceeds will go to the victims of the Haiti disaster.

Panel: Nick Luck(MC), Phillip Hobbs, Emma Lavelle, Nigel Twiston-Davies, Dan Skelton, Eric McNamara, Tom Taafe, Henry De Bromhead, Sam Thomas and Willie Power.

Great panel there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Gdep

Hi guys,

Hope I can ask this here and I apologise for the amateur question in advance but what goes on at these nights other than the panels giving their opinions. I have only gotten into racing in the last year or so and I know a bit but nothing anywhere close to what most on this forum do.

Is it worth my while attending something like this or do you think you would have to be well up on every horse in every race and form and what not? Or are you expected to participate in any way?

If this shouldnt be posted here then I apologise in advance.

Any info would be greatly appreciated lads.

Mainly these nights are what it says on the tin, and provide punters with an opportunity to ask the panelists questions regarding the horses that they'll train for/ride at Cheltenham.

You don't have to do any research beforehand, if you don't want to, and you're not expected to participate, unless, of course, you want to.

It would be an 'education' to go and see what goes on and listen to what other people have to say and why the do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Gdep

Thanks a million convert. Exactly what i wanted to know.

The preview night in clondalkin Wednesday 3rd march.... Trainers Paul Nolan, Philip Rothwell and Jock Andrew McNamara, Paddy Power Bookmaker..... Free pint, food and paddy power goodie bag........ tickets -€10. Have five free tickets for first 5 to PM me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

gandroid wrote: »
    For Galway punters, I saw a poster today saying it's on Monday March 8 in Salthill Hotel I think. Usual good cause, Barney Curley / DAFA. Can't remember all the lineup but Alan Byrne, Davy Condon, Damien McElroy and Williams from the RP I think. Also Hector is the MC which is one shortcoming imo :rolleyes: Unfortunately I am working that evening so not sure I will catch it unless I finish early...
    Nina Carberry too. I'd like to hear about garde champetre,she will be on it for the cross country will she does anyone know? Or would it be McNamara?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 listentotheroar

any info on the Oliver Brady night? Matt Chapman mentioned it at the weekend and said it will be screened on ATR. Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Top Tipster

dosulli8 wrote: »
    Anyone got more detailed info on the 2 Dublin preview nights mentioned on here previously in Clondalkin and The Sub? Tickets, lineups etc

Sub gig has moved to the Cuckoo's Nest on the Greenhills Road in Tallaght

MAIN PADDY POWER PREVIEW NIGHT
    Monday 8th Mar
    Cuckoo's Nest, Tallaght
    Derek Thompson, Paddy Power, Mark Winstanley, Edward O'Grady, Davy Russel, Noel Obrien, Brian Flanagan
    10 euro including 5 euro bet and pint on the night!
    Tickets are available from selected Paddy Power Shops, Paddy Power Customer service (if you're a customer) and the venue itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Top Tipster

any info on the Oliver Brady night? Matt Chapman mentioned it at the weekend and said it will be screened on ATR. Cheers
    Sorry don't have any info on the Monaghan one but here is a list of most of the rest. There is one after racing on Sunday as well in Leopardstown race course.

Sun 28-Feb
    The Goat Grill
    Tom Cooper, The Couch

Tue 02-Mar
    Ernies Pub, Wicklow
    Robbie Power, Gary O'Brien

Wed 03-Mar
    Westmontown
    Colm Murray, Colm Murphy, Barry Geraghty, Davy Russell, Don McClean

Thur 04-Mar
    Dunmore East, Waterford
    John Francome, Mick Fitzgerald, Tom Segal, Rugby Walsh, Mike Catamol, Davy Russel, Noel O'Brien

Thur 04-Mar
    Thomond Park, Limerick
    Gary O'Brien, Michael Hourigan, Eric McNamara, Ken Whealan, Derek O'Connor, Paudi Hasset (Paddy Power)

Thur 04-Mar
    Roundtowers GAA, Lusk
    TBC

Thur
    04-Mar Headford Arms - Kells.
    GordonElliot, TonyMarin, David Casey, Norman Williamson, Barry Geraghty not Robert Power, Nick Nugent host

Fri 05-Mar
    Carrickdale Hotel, Louth
    Gary O'Brien, Gordon Elliott

Mon 08-Mar Maynooth
    Kevin Ryan, Gordon Elliot, Aidan McGuiness, Ryan McElliot, Patrick Mullins, Paul Carberry

Monday 08-Mar
    Cuckoo's Nest, Tallaght
    Derek Thompson, Paddy Power, Mark Winstanley, Edward O'Grady, Davy Russel, Noel Obrien, Brian Flanagan

Tue 09-Mar
    Westport, Mayo TBC

Thur 11-Mar
    Grand Hotel, Malahide
    Colm Murray (MC), Tom Taffe, Damien McElroy, Gary O'Brien, Donn McClean