Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Single Lifts '10

• 24-01-2010 1:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭

Since there were loads of people from this forum competing yesterday, I thought I'd make a thread for results/videos/whatever

Was cool getting to meet everyone from here, and I'm pretty sure everyone performed pretty well on the day

Ill post mine up in a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

So here's how my day went

Got there just before 10, weighed in at 104.2kg.

Squat
    #1: 195kg - Good
    #2: 212.5kg - No Good
    #3: 212.5kg - Good (2.5kg PR)

Squat warmups felt heavy, and my technique was way off. Couldnt get my knees out or keep my chest up. When Im training, I have mental cues for these things that come automatically, but that didnt happen yesterday. But I managed to get focused after bing stapled by 212.5, and somehow muscled it up. Really had to fight for it, toughest lift of my life - managed to bust blood vessels all over my face, chest and shoulders, as well as my eyes, but was really happy I made it

Bench
    #1: 105kg - Good
    #2: 110kg - Good
    #3: 115kg - Good (5kg PR)

Really surprised myself here. First 2 attempts were really easy, and 3rd wasn't too difficult either. I think I need a better bench to train on, it made a big difference

Deadlift
    #1: 230kg - Good
    #2: 242.5kg - Good (2.5kg PR)
    #3: 250kg - No Good

Opener was easy. 242 was a bit of a struggle, but never looked like missing it. Really had to fight hard for the 250, and it was extremely, slow, but I locked it out, and dont think I hitched it. Completely forgot to ask the judges why it got reds, which was a big mistake

Finished with a 570kg total, had a great day and really pleased with my lifts. Fairly sure I got talking to everyone who posts here. Had to be drug tested after too, which I suppose is a complement. I've never been as tired as I was when I got home yesterday, I was completely sapped.

Plan for nationals in March is +10kg on squat and bench, and a 260kg DL

vid:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭brutusthebarber

Good job yesterday Podge.. bench looked really solid. That Squat was the most fought I've ever seen.

From my log

IDFPA Single Lifts

Squat

Bench
    110 MISS..mad.gif

Deadlift
    170 MISS

Weighed in at 88.5kg, was worried about the weight during the week so didn't go too mad Thurs/Fri. Had a small breakfast on the morning too just to make sure.

Happy with how the squats went. The 140 didn't feel or look great, but then the 145 was better?confused.gif Weird. 150 is on the cards anyway. Both are PBs too...

Really f*cked off with the bench. My dad has it on his camera phone and I am so close to locking it out. Really don't know how I missed it. Both 100 and 105 felt grand. More work to be done here.

The 170 was quick off the floor but just completely died on me, would have been a nice lift to finish off the day with but it wasn't to be. 162.5 is a 10kg comp PBpacman.gif Happy enough with it, absolutely no deadlift training for the past 3/4 months and it is slowly moving so with a bit of work it should come up.

Great to meet some of the lads from boards, great day all in all.

Now to decide my training for the National Champs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Well done lads. In-comp PR's are what it's about.

That's great going to come back from the miss Podge. Not a lot of people can do that. I don't know why you got reds on the deadlift, looked fine to me! I think sometimes struggling with a weight gets you reds in the IDFPA. Incorrectly so in my opinion.

Brutus, don't worry about the bench. Competition benching is like that.

Sick I missed it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

kevpants wrote: »

That's great going to come back from the miss Podge. Not a lot of people can do that. I don't know why you got reds on the deadlift, looked fine to me! I think sometimes struggling with a weight gets you reds in the IDFPA. Incorrectly so in my opinion.

Does stalling earn you reds? I think there might have been a tiny tiny dip a little bit over the knee which might have been an issue either, depending on how strict they are?

Well done lads on some really big improvements. What was your total last year podge?

kevpants wrote: »

Brutus, don't worry about the bench. Competition benching is like that.

Sick I missed it!
    Does stalling earn you reds? I think there might have been a tiny tiny dip a little bit over the knee which might have been an issue either, depending on how strict they are?

Well done lads on some really big improvements. What was your total last year podge?

Thanks lads, was really happy to come back after failing spectacularly on my 2nd attempt, managed to get a lot more focused for the 3rd

There was a point where the bar completely stalled on the deadlift but I dont think it went down at all

At last years single lifts in February, I a 457.5kg total @ 90kg
    And at the nationals I got 500kg @ 94kg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

I had a feckin 2 and a half hour drive up so i wasn't the freshest!!

Squats were good-

125kg -3 whites
    130kg -2 reds, racked too early!
    135kg -3 whites

Definitely had a 140kg in me I'd say!

Bench, i feckin bombed. was nervey as **** for some reason, cns was a bit dodge after the squats-

105kg -3 whites
    110kg -failed twice

Deadlift was good!

165kg -3 whites
    170kg -3 whites
    175kg -3 whites

5kg PBs on squat and deadlift!! annoyed with the bench tho cos i hit 110 for almost a double last week hungover!

Vid of the deadlift:

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=1243517222083&ref=mf

good to meet some peeps, cardio, podge, hanley, liam henners, think i was talking to a few others but didn't know who they were!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

lol parsley,thyme, i see a pattern :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

lol parsley,thyme, i see a pattern :P

Oooooooh.....

Actually the hungover comment made me think of parsley...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

podge57 wrote: »

Bench
    #1: 105kg - Good
    #2: 110kg - Good
    #3: 115kg - Good (5kg PR)

]

Out of interest - how does your bench rank amongst your competitors ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Podge's bench is very good for the junior division.

the guy who won the Senior bench section in the 110kg weight class got a 160kg raw bench. he also deadlifted 280kg and squatted 220kg AND it was his first competition.

2nd in the bench was 130kg, 3rd was 117.5kg, 4th was 115kg but at a lighter BW than podge so he took 5th and i got 6th in the weight class (out of 7).

Bench is definitely where I am least competitive. It should be much higher, I would say most others with similar squat and dl numbers as me are probably benching 140+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

Podge's bench is very good for the junior division.

the guy who won the Senior bench section in the 110kg weight class got a 160kg raw bench. he also deadlifted 280kg and squatted 220kg AND it was his first competition.

2nd in the bench was 130kg, 3rd was 117.5kg, 4th was 115kg but at a lighter BW than podge so he took 5th and i got 6th in the weight class (out of 7).

Is juniors U18's ?

That's fairly savage lifting Podge if you're that young.

I was just curious about the standard of the comp, I'm not exactly a big lifter but for a one rep on bench I'd have at least been in that top three. I don't actually know what my 1RM is, but I can knock out 8 reps with 110 so I reckon I could have a go at 130. I'd probably have been bottom in the squats and DL's though !

Makes me think I should train with this in mind for next year. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Junior is 20-23 afaik.

The bench press has to have a pause at the bottom which makes the lift a lot harder.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Good showing from everyone on Saturday lads. It was good getting to meet you all. I think there was 6 or 7 of us form boards there at one stage??

Hopefully the bug has bitten for all and you'll be back in March.

Some really good lifting too... Anthony Greeny's 301kg squat was awesome, Shane O'Neill hitting 223kg raw at 21 on the squat was sweet too!!
    Rosco1982 wrote: »
    Is juniors U18's ?

That's fairly savage lifting Podge if you're that young.

I was just curious about the standard of the comp, I'm not exactly a big lifter but for a one rep on bench I'd have at least been in that top three. I don't actually know what my 1RM is, but I can knock out 8 reps with 110 so I reckon I could have a go at 130. I'd probably have been bottom in the squats and DL's though !

Makes me think I should train with this in mind for next year. ;)

Juniors = 20-23

And placing in the comp is largely dependent on who shows up on the day... you coulda one, or you coulda come 7th or 8th if the right lifters showed!!

Another factor to consider is that the lads weighed in at like 9am and were sitting around til maybe 3 o'clock when the benching started. Some of them woulda been coming off squats too which will take a lot outta ya, as the guys who competed with attest to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Well done to everyone (especially the newcomers) who competed. It seems like the Single Lifts and the IDFPA generally is a good fed for both novices and experienced lifters.

I'd say this forum and the posts by the powerlifters here has spurred a number of people to compete who may otherwise not have done so.

I have had many thoughts about competing myself but have always chickened out :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭VIS VIRES

Well done to all the lads that competed on saturday great lifting from everybody..(I think i was talking to most of you at some stage..)

Just like a few of the lads here it was my first comp. It was a long day but a great experience. I was in the junior 90kg category (weighed in at 85kg)

After a bit or a nervous start on the squat i settled down and in the end was happy enough to finish the day with 195/112.5/250... the bench was a bit disappointing but hopefully i'll be able to bring it up before the nationals..

Here's some vids of the squat and deadlift...

squat http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7AKhCwjfmfk

deadlift http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XEbzJneiwyQ&feature=channel

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

VIS VIRES wrote: »
    Well done to all the lads that competed on saturday great lifting from everybody..(I think i was talking to most of you at some stage..)

Just like a few of the lads here it was my first comp. It was a long day but a great experience. I was in the junior 90kg category (weighed in at 85kg)

After a bit or a nervous start on the squat i settled down and in the end was happy enough to finish the day with 195/112.5/250... the bench was a bit disappointing but hopefully i'll be able to bring it up before the nationals..

That was really good lifting man. Very very impressive. You woulda kicked my ass badly at your age and weight. Keep chugging away and you'll be hitting some seriously large numbers in no time. 260+kg's definitely there on the deadlift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

VIS VIRES wrote: »

serious lifting!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

podge57 wrote: »
    managed to bust blood vessels all over my face, chest and shoulders, as well as my eyes, but was really happy I made it

Holy sh!t man - that sounds nasty!

Congrats Podge, Parsley and Vis.
    Did any of ye place? Some seriously big lifts there - ye must have taken some silverware home?