Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Valentine's Days - its over!

• 19-01-2010 10:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭

well that time of year is coming up soon. me and my OH decided to down play vday this year. so much so that he is on call that day. we not doing much since i'm in my final year of college and trying to do my research project.

I am planning just to cook him dinner and get in a few bottles of wine. but while cooking dinner i plan to wear something saucey just to make things interesting and maybe to distract him a bit if he is working.

what would you do to make a low key affair interesting??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

mollybird wrote: »
    what would you do to make a low key affair interesting??

Nothing but then again I don't have many options

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Feb 14th is all about the guy pampering the girl. What you're doing sounds more like it should be on March 14th.

I think this year I may do something a but more swanky, I'm admittedly a bit of a cheap ass on these occasions, mainly cos I think the romance should be spread over a lifetime and not a day, but I know how you girls love being spoiled. Any suggestions welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Rayne

Will probably be doing diddly-squat this year!
    I made heart shaped brownies one year, they were a hit!

NothingMan, don't mention March 14th too much, i've gotten away with it this long :)

Might just do a lazy morning in bed with a nice breakkie as it falls on Sunday this year!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

NothingMan wrote: »
    Feb 14th is all about the guy pampering the girl. What you're doing sounds more like it should be on March 14th.

Is it really?

I thought it was a couple thing, rather than a 'just for the girl' thing.

OP, probably best to post this in the Gentlemen's club if you want info on what a guy would find interesting?

Silverfish wrote: »
    Is it really?

I thought it was a couple thing, rather than a 'just for the girl' thing.

Of course I think it's a couples thing. Just thought i'd throw the idea of March 14th out there.

Although, I always buy the gf a lil something, maybe a teddy or balloon or flowers and take her out somewhere and generally pay for everything..... Maybe in my relationship it is a guy treating the girl thing. Maybe I want a little "I love you" Teddy too. But i'd be pretty happy if she just celebrated March 14th with me for once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

never heard of march 14th thing. i just love spoiling my guy. he's so easy to please. trust me he has 5 months of doing it for me as i'm doing my finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

NothingMan wrote: »
    March 14th is my birthday which overrules everything else woo hoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I'll be back at work. THANK GOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

valentines thread? already? :( but.. its like a month away.. the shops havent even got the stuff in.. (& THAT is saying something)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

jellie wrote: »
    valentines thread? already? :( but.. its like a month away.. the shops havent even got the stuff in.. (& THAT is saying something)

Oh yes they have! I just tried to find a birthday card for my sister and got lost in a sea of red envelopes :(

I'll be celebrating the day with my boyfriend in exactly the same way we do every year - by ignoring it completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

We'll be spending Valentine's Day with the Reverend who is officiating our wedding ceremony.

Should be interesting, alright . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Try this... Tokens of Affection :D

Maybe only a few though! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Any and all Valentines threads will be merged into this one. We have single, coupled, married and divorced posters in here and in all fairness it's not for everyone and it has happened every year that the forum gets over run with oh what will i get my boyfriend, or girlfriend or he got me this or where should we go that.

So this is the thread for all of those kind of things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

Will be in Sweden snowboarding with my bf on valentines:D

I would not be a one to buy gifts for xms/birthdays etc, prefer to head out for a meal or go to the cinema or just do something together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i dont celebrate valentines day,even when im not single,I am giving cupcake_crisis a card though this year:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Awe. That's adorable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

We've just had Christmas, his birthday and our anniversary in the space of 3 weeks so we take it easy for Valentines. Just having a meal together and giving eachother a card.

Always thought Valentines was a bit ghey anyway regardless of if I've been single or in a relationship. It makes me cringe seeing girls walking around town with big bunches of flowers that day looking all smug. Not my thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭lizardfudge

Tables were turned on my last year and I had to wander around all evening with a big Rose...

Thankfully I ran into Wibbs that evening and he sat on it.

(Oh... monkeyfudge, using my cousins account... keep forgetting about that.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

Valentines can kiss my ass. I was never into it, but last year when I was with my ex for a year around that date I decided to make him a nice meal.
    I bought meat, me being a vegetarian, this was a BIG deal. I had the perfect meal planned, bought a fondu thingy for desert. All that nonsense.

He promised me he was gonna come to my place, he never did. Why?
    Cause he spent all his money drinking cans the night before.
    Tried to cool down the situation by telling me the great news that his friend was pregnant, I DO NOT GIVE A FLYING FUDGE, YOU WANKER.

So I hate the whole day, think it's a loada bullish.
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Anna Molly wrote: »
    Valentines can kiss my ass. I was never into it, but last year when I was with my ex for a year around that date I decided to make him a nice meal.
    I bought meat, me being a vegetarian, this was a BIG deal. I had the perfect meal planned, bought a fondu thingy for desert. All that nonsense.

Tried to cool down the situation by telling me the great news that his friend was pregnant, I DO NOT GIVE A FLYING FUDGE, YOU WANKER.

Yeah, that was HARSH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Anna Molly

Novella wrote: »
    Yeah, that was HARSH!

That fcuker, I even got you out of the apartment:mad:

It's just a money making racket. If I love someone, I try to show it to them as often as possible, not just one damn day of the year.
    I also don't believe in this present stuff, love isn't materialistic, bite me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

That fcuker, I even got you out of the apartment:mad:

It's just a money making racket. If I love someone, I try to show it to them as often as possible, not just one damn day of the year.

:mad: Hey! I had plans on Valentine's Day last year!

I think Valentine's Day is kind of sweet tbh. Ok, so you should show the person you love how you feel about them every day but I like silly cards and balloons and teddy bears that say I <3 You.
    When you have a someone special, it's nice that there's a day to celebrate it.

+1 million!

I got so sick of my friends comparing gifts that their boyfriends get them that I just don't tell them anything my boyfriend gets me/what he says/what he treats me to etc anymore, it's like one big competition as to who has the best boyfriend, they're all trying to better eachother at the moment with who is getting the best Valentines day :rolleyes: That's not what love is about and a lot of people seriously need to wake up and realise that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

(mind you I did do a ridiculous thing last Valentines but it was allowed under the circumstances and corny tho it all was it was lovely:))

Anyway, aside from that, I don't need a designated day to show my OH that I love him; nor him me. Love isn't about cards and flowers, the little, everyday things, not the grand gestures are what make a relationship. A bunch of flowers won't brighten my day; but the first cuddle of the morning/last cuddle at night will.

Hrm, I don't think it's fair to assume that couples who do stuff for Vday don't understand what love is, or don't love each other because they get each other cards or flowers or whatever.

Some people are into it, some people aren't. I wasn't really gone on it before, but with my bf we do get each other pressies and go out for dinner and stuff, but I certainly wouldn't go so far as to imply couples who don't do that are wrong.

I don't think anybody is implying that tbh??

Love or not there's no getting away from the fact that it is a commercial 'holiday' in the main. And you can buy into that or not; but buying(by the consumer) is the ultimate aim for the card companies/restaurants/jewellers, not celebration of love.

I don't think anybody is implying that tbh??

Well it was the implication I picked up from this post
    Clare Bear wrote: »
    it's like one big competition as to who has the best boyfriend, they're all trying to better eachother at the moment with who is getting the best Valentines day :rolleyes: That's not what love is about and a lot of people seriously need to wake up and realise that.

I mean, I celebrate his birthday, christmas, easter, our anniversary, I just don't see why it's so bad that we get each other gifts on one more day per year. It's not hurting anyone else if we do it, yes the jewellers/restaurants are out to make money on it - but they'll make money regardless of when we avail of their services, so other than sitting home in the dark all year, we'll have to hand over cash at some stage.

That's fair enough, they will make money regardless, but personally speaking I don't need a designated day of the year to get my OH a gift; or spoil him; or go for a meal. He doesn't need a designated day either. I'd imagine we're not alone in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

That sounds like something one of my ex-s would have done!

This year, my fella is living & working up in Dublin, so we've both got the Friday off & I'm heading up to him. It's our first valentines day together and it sounds like he gets really in to it :) He's threatening to take me away for a weekend, but I'm saying no to that cos we're saving for our holidays in June & I can't afford a weekend away.

His other plan is that I go up on the Friday, and we go horse riding, because I love horse riding so he wants to try it out, and then go for dinner somewhere in the city, and I said I'd cook dinner for him on the Saturday night then. TBH I don't care how we spend it, I just want to spend the time with him

I'm getting him a card and we're going out for a meal so it's not like I'm shunning the day, I'm giving the card companies and restaurants money like everyone else on the day is. I'm just saying with a lot of people I know Valentines Day is nothing but a competition and it's things like that that annoy me, making it a materialistic day that has to be better than everyone else and forgetting what it should be about, love. The only reason we don't go all out is that we've had too much on lately with special occasions so it'd just be forcing the day because we feel we have to when we've had enough celebrating for now, Valentines just falls on a bad time of year for us that's all. Nothing wrong with anyone celebrating, each to their own, just saying a lot of people forget what it's supposed to be out and use it as an excuse to show off their relationship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 scatterpillar

Five years ago, my (now) fiance and I spent our first valentines day together. About fifteen minutes into the "date", he was carted off to hospital in an ambulance, mainly due to the fact that he wasn't breathing. I swear, nothing to do with me, seriously! :D

Anyways, crap memories etc etc, valentines day isn't really something we do.

This year, I'm planning a huge night out with the girls, dinner and cocktails and dancing etc :) Really looking forward to it!

To be honest I hate the idea that on this one day you "have" to be nice and romantic etc ... I mean, either a guy is or isn't that way inclined! If he is, he's like that all the time to whatever extent; if he's not, then he's just going to feel uncomfortable being "obliged" to act in a certain way and do certain things. I dunno, it's just really not something that I'd be into at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I am giving cupcake_crisis a card though this year:D

I do that with my friends too :)

I got a few of my friends presents last year ... Just little gifts to cheer them up.
    A lot of them got bummed out about being single and not having a Valentine :(

To be honest, I think Valentine's Day is largely a commercial scam. Why should people feel they have to buy each other gifts and express their love on one certain day a year?
    I don't think love works like that.
    For a lot of people, February 14th = extra financial pressure / feeling bad about being single / a reminder that Bridget Jones' syndrome is coming to get you ... It can be a hard day for many.

Five years ago, my (now) fiance and I spent our first valentines day together. About fifteen minutes into the "date", he was carted off to hospital in an ambulance, mainly due to the fact that he wasn't breathing. I swear, nothing to do with me, seriously! :D.

I got a few of my friends presents last year ... Just little gifts to cheer them up.

To be honest, I think Valentine's Day is largely a commercial scam. Why should people feel they have to buy each other gifts and express their love on one certain day a year?
    For a lot of people, February 14th = extra financial pressure / feeling bad about being single / a reminder that Bridget Jones' syndrome is coming to get you ... It can be a hard day for many.

It doesn't have to be a big financial drain. A nice home cooked meal by the candlelight, followed by a movie and a cuddle would be nice.

To me, it's all about doing something special for your OH and making them feel good.

I agree that that shouldn't be the only day of the year to do that, and those who feel they have to do the big expensive hullabaloo, and only do it once a year need to seriously reconsider how stable they think their relationship is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭serenacat

i'd love to cook dinner for my man with candles
    followed by desert with some gorgeous lingerie

eating out is good but not as special

i also love fires ...hmmmm what to do?

ps is there any valentine gift threads? i cant find one and not sure where to look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Walls

I wouldn't use dynamite I would use RDX instead. I'd set the charges at the start and at the end of THIS THREAD, and then press go for detonation, and then run away as the thread blew up, because Valentine's Day is NOT FOR AGES!!!

What is the matter with you people? All you're going to do is to either (a) describe what you know is going to happen thereby listing information that is totally redundant or (b) set up other folk who aren't unlucky enough to be part of the 'oh don't worry dear I'll pick up your socks' brigade to enjoy that seething element of rage that they enjoy in the face of other women when Feb 14th comes around and they aren't pounced on in the office by the delivery man like some ancient cave man playing 'compare the size of my dragon' mullarkey.

I ask you!

Half the reason women feel so bad about themselves is that they are made to feel bad about themselves from tired old competitions like this one! They don't speak to the passion or depth in a relationship, they don't convey the worth, beauty or desirability of a woman in any way, so what is the big deal?

Anyone? A steak and chips dinner followed by an old knee trembler, so that you can hear him snore while you text your single friends to make them jealous? And just in case we didn't enjoy ourselves and our single status enough, we get to talk about it for WEEKS IN ADVANCE?! What has happened to the universe!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Walls

What I DO intend to do is to buy a flower for ALL my lady friends, single, dating, married and otherwise, and make sure they get something nice. Women are bloody brilliant and they deserve to be told it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

yeah i know a lot of people that get down because theyre single on valentines,even though i never celebrate it on the first one i was single for many years my friend bought me a card and a little doughnut with hearts on it to cheer me up,it was very sweet,I like to show my friends i care about them on that day by getting them a card or something,just something small,i think its nice that someone else does it too:)

Jaysus, I actually feel guilty for doing stuff on that date now.

/shrug.

Jaysus, I actually feel guilty for doing stuff on that date now.

/shrug.

Can I ask would you do this stuff on a regular basis? If so you've no reason to be guilty.

If you don't, you should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 jclarke

candels and rose petals and a nice bath

Fago_25 wrote: »
    Can I ask would you do this stuff on a regular basis? If so you've no reason to be guilty.

If you don't, you should.

Yeah, it's actually no different to a normal day apart from we might go out for dinner. Considering we've had a **** time of it lately, we decided to do something special for it. But we've decided that every year, because to be fair, we've always had a **** time of it.

He's special to me, he knows this. He's in no doubt whatsoever. We're not doing it so I can text my single friends, or rub anyone's faces in it, or compete, it's nothing to do with anyone else in the world, just us.

We don't go out. We don't drink, we maybe go out for dinner maybe once every 4 months or so. So if we pick one day to go out, have a meal, talk, enjoy ourselves, and we take Valentines as an excuse to do that, I don't see how this is somehow hurting all my single friends.

Unless every time my friends mention their mothers, or sisters, I can shun them for being insensitive because I don't have those people in my life any more, and if I can deal with them talking about that, then I think they can deal with me mentioning I have a boyfriend.

I've been single before, I may be single again, I think personally it's important I can celebrate these things while we are together, rather than ignoring the opportunity and throwing his gestures back in his face because people think we're wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I'm single so I'll be doing nothing. However, it's my little ladies birthday so she's my valentine. I always get a lovely handmade card from her where she puts that its from my secret boyfriend or Dermot O'Leary.

She's funny. So I intend to be hungover following the family night out the night before (to celebrate me giving birth to such a wonderful little person) followed by a party with a lot of loud children.

Fun times! :D

I don't think it's fair to say you should feel guilty for doing something on Valentines day and not the rest of the year. The first year with the gf we went out a lot and were a lot more typically romantic, but 4 years in and living together you don't always have the time, money or effort to make a big night of it very often. So I think there's nothing wrong with using the big dates like valentines or an anniversary to spend a little extra and treat each other.

We have a bajillion ocassions where we might make a nice meal, curl up on the couch, enjoy an extra lie in together and they are the real romance, so why not use valentines day to do the typical soppy "I love you" teddy bear/flowers and night out alone thing.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Fago_25 wrote: »
    It doesn't have to be a big financial drain. A nice home cooked meal by the candlelight, followed by a movie and a cuddle would be nice.

we do this practically every night anyway.

i dont believe in all this valentine rubbish and if my OH wasted money on flowers, teddy bears or chocolates - i would kill him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Clare Bear wrote: »
    +1 million!

I got so sick of my friends comparing gifts that their boyfriends get them that I just don't tell them anything my boyfriend gets me/what he says/what he treats me to etc anymore, it's like one big competition as to who has the best boyfriend, they're all trying to better eachother at the moment with who is getting the best Valentines day :rolleyes: That's not what love is about and a lot of people seriously need to wake up and realise that.

Oh Jesus, that's pathetic. I would get a crappy ring and stick it on my ring finger and say ''OOoo well LOOK what MY boyfriend got MEee' just to see the look on their faces that I have 'outdone' them or whatever. Then when they say 'OMG REALLY????'
    I'd say NO ffs. It's not a friggin competition, cop on to yourself. Then kick them and run off with their bags.....

WindSock wrote: »
    I would get a crappy ring and stick it on my ring finger and say ''OOoo well LOOK what MY boyfriend got MEee' just to see the look on their faces that I have 'outdone' them or whatever. Then when they say 'OMG REALLY????'
    I'd say NO ffs. It's not a friggin competition, cop on to yourself. Then kick them and run off with their bags.....

Sounds like you need to dust off the champagne wire and tampon ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Sounds like you need to dust off the champagne wire and tampon ring.

Hey! I said crappy ring. That's a one-of-a-kind designer art piece that is.

It's what we call outsider art!

Oh and here's the head of the lovely rose I got last year:

rosehead.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 kittyboodublin

very Good, Do you know where to get one??????:)