Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joy

• 19-01-2010 7:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭

I have been betting for over 30 years and on more than one occasion I have said those immortal words "racing is fixed".I watched a race today where I might have said those words because the winner of the race was rated 22 lbs lower than the horse he beat.I didn't have a bet but it gave me a great lift to see Ebadiyan,trained by the legendary Oliver Brady,win by a short head.We often hear about top jockeys for the big occasion but NOBODY could have ridden this horse better than John Cullen today.This jockey has been around for a while but today he showed that he is as good,if not BETTER,than the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

Agreed. A much under-rated jock is John Cullen.

Have to say, tho', that I am getting less enamoured with Oliver Brady each passing month.
    His excruciating antics in the unsaddling ring make me cringe. It's Paddywhackery such as his that makes us look like eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭miseeire

Showing the crowd at Naas today what a good jock John Cullen is not going over the top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i have always backed ebidyan but today i didnt as i lost faith in him:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭miseeire

If u have a pc,watch it on atr.He battled so well,led but only 3rd before the last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

miseeire wrote: »
    If u have a pc,watch it on atr.He battled so well,led but only 3rd before the last.

i was watching on the telly. to be honest i was hoping he would be beaten, because i hadnt backed him:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

podsieboy wrote: »
    we discussed this today and cam to the conclusion that brady must be pullin his horses when there fancied lol cause everytime there low odds they do nothing and the next day they win at massive odds i reckon he must be lining his pocket lol

Are you suggesting that racing is dodgy, Sure how would trainers know for sure if there horse would win. And they would hardly pass this info on to others if they did. Well that would be awful behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 stuttgartkelly

Have to say, tho', that I am getting less enamoured with Oliver Brady each passing month.
    His excruciating antics in the unsaddling ring make me cringe. It's Paddywhackery such as his that makes us look like eejits.
    Makes who look like eejits?? Oliver Brady is the kind of character that attracts crowds to racing. We need more Oliver Bradys. Racing for change over in Britain would love to have an asset such as Oliver livening up racemeetings around the country to attract larger numbers.
    He's the best craic of anyone in racing. He gets excited when he has a winner because he is a small yard and deserves to be able to do what he wants.
    When he won the charity race in Punchestown, there must have been over 1000 that stayed around the parade ring for 15 minutes after the race (and it was the last race
    on the card) to join in the celebrations.

UP MONAGHAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭docmartin

yeah, i'd rather listen to Oliver Brady than listen to Willie Mullins telling lies anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

there must have been over 1000 that stayed around the parade ring for 15 minutes after the race
    They gathered around, I would suggest, not to celebrate but rather to egg on and encourage Brady in his antics. A bit like a freak-show I'm afraid ........................ a bit like the people who gather around the local village idiot to wind him up when he "goes-off-on-one".

It's an individual thing, I guess. You are either amused by Brady or you are not. Personally I think he's a loudmouthed boor and a dedicated self-publicist. Neither do I like his hogging of the limelight at every opportunity. His carry-on when he had a placed horse at the Festival a couple of years ago was shameful. The quiet and dignified Dr Richard Newland who had the winner of the race was rudely interrupted by Brady bellowing and roaring "Up Monaghan" and then singing. FFS.

Yes, he's had health issues ................ but Jesus, does he ever NOT mention that. Or his charity work. Yep Oliver, you've told us often enough about that too.

I just can't take to to the man ................... even in small doses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Makes who look like eejits?? Oliver Brady is the kind of character that attracts crowds to racing. We need more Oliver Bradys. Racing for change over in Britain would love to have an asset such as Oliver livening up racemeetings around the country to attract larger numbers.
    He's the best craic of anyone in racing. He gets excited when he has a winner because he is a small yard and deserves to be able to do what he wants.
    When he won the charity race in Punchestown, there must have been over 1000 that stayed around the parade ring for 15 minutes after the race (and it was the last race
    on the card) to join in the celebrations.

UP MONAGHAN

lol

They gathered around, I would suggest, not to celebrate but rather to egg on and encourage Brady in his antics. A bit like a freak-show I'm afraid ........................ a bit like the people who gather around the local village idiot to wind him up when he "goes-off-on-one".

It's an individual thing, I guess. You are either amused by Brady or you are not. Personally I think he's a loudmouthed boor and a dedicated self-publicist. Neither do I like his hogging of the limelight at every opportunity. His carry-on when he had a placed horse at the Festival a couple of years ago was shameful. The quiet and dignified Dr Richard Newland who had the winner of the race was rudely interrupted by Brady bellowing and roaring "Up Monaghan" and then singing. FFS.

Yes, he's had health issues ................ but Jesus, does he ever NOT mention that. Or his charity work. Yep Oliver, you've told us often enough about that too.

I just can't take to to the man ................... even in small doses.

I suppose this is coming from a man that has raised hundreds of thousands for charity like Mr. Brady and also a man that was given 6 months to live a few years ago?

Horse racing must be the only sport that the winner of a race doesn't celebrate with the crowd. Can you imagine Cesc Fabregas scoring a goal and all he does is walk over to Arsene Wenger on the touchline and discuss how he scored the goal? That's why we need more Oliver Bradys.

Begrudgers like yourself can keep bad mouthing him because Brady is his own man and for racings sake, thank God for that. By the way I've never heard such bull as your statement about the reason people gathered around to egg himm on. Couldn't be bothered replying to that!

docmartin wrote: »
    yeah, i'd rather listen to Oliver Brady than listen to Willie Mullins telling lies anyway

Just to back that up, he was on Get On on At The Races earlier and was asked if any of his horses today could pull off a shock, to which he replied "no chance".

Cant get any more honest than that. First time I've ever heard a trainer didmiss the chance of his own horses in such an open and forthright way to the general public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Ok Oliver you're brilliant, we get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Brilliant documentary about him on Radio1 at the moment.