Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Star Wars Concert @ O2 - Rip Off Ireland Still Alive & Well

• 18-01-2010 6:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭

[Mods - couldn't find a better place to put this...feel free to move]

Heard about the upcoming Star Wars concert scheduled for Sunday Mar 7th in the O2. My young lad (6 y/o) is crazy about SW so I thought it would be a nice surprise to bring him along. Cost of entry level tickets? €70 each not including booking fee.

Curiosity got the better of me and I had a look at the SW site to see what the charges were in some of the other countries they're bringing the concert to.

Cheapest Ticket---Most Expensive Ticket
    Ireland
    €70.00
    €106.25
    Spain
    €20.00
    €80.00
    Germany----€32.00
    €76.00
    UK
    £33.00
    £73.00
    Belgium
    €35.00
    €75.00
    Portugal
    €35.00
    €68.00
    Italy
    €40.00
    €68.00

The cheapest seats in Ireland are pretty much the cost of the most expensive seats elsewhere and in two countries their most expensive seats are cheaper than our cheapest!

Can't understand how the O2 can justify these prices. I thought if the last 12-18 months have thought us anything it's that we're waaay overpriced as an economy and things need to change.

Have been a SW fan since I was a young kid but there's no way I could fork out based on these prices on a point of principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Insurance is also more expensive in Ireland, as are utility bills.. so the O2 do have some justification for having higher prices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Insurance is also more expensive in Ireland, as are utility bills.. so the O2 do have some justification for having higher prices

It'll be the utility bills then.
    You'd be shocked to know how much electricity it takes to power the Millenium Falcon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

madds wrote: »
    Star Wars Concert @ O2 - Rip Off Ireland Still Alive & Well

Help me Eddy Hobbs you're my only hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

utility bills.. so the O2 do have some justification for having higher prices

Yeah but they'll all have Lightsavers .. :)

Get it? Lightsavers .. saber saver .. see what i ..?

/Leaves :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

I cant believe there is a SW concert............i hope that band from the cantina are there.......otherwise.....its ghey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Looking at the feedback I should have known better than to post this in AH. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

If this 'concert' is anything like the Kelloggs Star Wars event that was at the RDS back when The Phantom Menace was released then save your money. You'd be better off buying the movies on Blu-Ray and bringing the kid to McDonalds afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Ronanc1

"Thank you! we're the cantina band any requests just shout them out"
    "play that same song"

“You don’t need to see our identification … This isn't the forum you’re looking for … you can go about your business … Move along.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It would be a rip off if it cost €5, load of "Star Wars Make George Lucas A Load Of Money" sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Sorry........yeah rip off Ireland.....isbt there a thread or something for this already!!

D'you know whats a rip off?.........."ten penny bags" costing 60cents now. pfft rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Can't understand how the O2 can justify these prices.

The O2 don't have to justify those prices - they are just the venue that is hired by the promoter to put the show on in.

I think you'll find it's MCD who need to do the justifying here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Additional transport costs. You can drive the tour buses all around mainland Europe and the UK, but to get here you would need to bring everything over and back on a ferry. Ireland is an expensive country to come to for just one gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Kenteach

If it sells out, then the promoters will have justified their prices. If people are dumb enough to pay €70 plus charges then let them. If people can't afford it, then, eh, don't feckin buy them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

OctavarIan wrote: »
    Additional transport costs. You can drive the tour buses all around mainland Europe and the UK, but to get here you would need to bring everything over and back on a ferry. Ireland is an expensive country to come to for just one gig.

yeah thats why belfast is the same price as dublin for gigs and events.........oh wait :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Ireland- The best place to get ripped off. Honestly that is a joke at what they're charging.

just a small comparison

pearl jam belfast odyssey arena £41.50 (€47)
    pearl jam dublin O2 arena €65.70

WWE belfast odyssey arena £20.00 - £55.00 (€23 - €62.50)

WWE dublin o2 arena €33.60 - €76.25

rossie1977 wrote: »
    Pearl Jam dublin O2 arena €65.70

Nice one, I'll take four, thought I'd never get some.

Your a lightsaber ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Anybody over 16 who is contemplating going to a Star Wars concert deserves to be charged triple that, to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

just a small comparison

pearl jam belfast odyssey arena £41.50 (€47)
    pearl jam dublin O2 arena €65.70

WWE belfast odyssey arena £20.00 - £55.00 (€23 - €62.50)

WWE dublin o2 arena €33.60 - €76.25

Yeah, insurance costs, and staff payments are higher in the O2 Dublin, than in the Odyssey.

I love how people complain about prices they will more than likely still pay. Vote with your feet, why bother complaining if you are still gonna pay the ticket price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Bectcha it will still do well though even at those prices.

Its supposed to be an amazing show, but for that money its a bit too steep.

But how much will it be for 50 cent? Snoop dogg? All the rappers pricing seems to be €50 plus.

Most of the music pricing that goes on in irelands large venues is usually shambolic as it is ( refer to any gig in croke park)

Comedians are the only tickets priced well in this country, and even still, some of them outragously so.

I'd quicker pay €70 to see this then €50 to see 50 cent or the likes...

And in all honesty

Can you even put a price on Obi Wan fighting Darth Maul on that screen size in HD? I dont think so..... sounds like a bargain when you think about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

TheDoc wrote: »
    Can you even put a price on Obi Wan fighting Darth Maul on that screen size in HD?

The death of Star Wars was a pretty high price to pay for that movie tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    It'll be the utility bills then.
    You'd be shocked to know how much electricity it takes to power the Millenium Falcon.
    I wouldn't be shocked. Its a safe bet it would be out of this world!

(gets coat again...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

mikom wrote: »
    Help me Eddy Hobbs you're my only hope

I thought the O2 smelled bad... on the outside.

TheDoc wrote: »

Can you even put a price on Obi Wan fighting Darth Maul on that screen size in HD? I dont think so..... sounds like a bargain when you think about it...

Bout tree fiddy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

If you don't think it's worth it, don't go. If you do and you go, you've justfied the high prices which will continue because these things always sell out.

And if you think that's a rip off, buy a pint in the O2

Quint wrote: »
    t.

cheaper than most temple bar establishments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

The O2 don't have to justify those prices - they are just the venue that is hired by the promoter to put the show on in.

I think you'll find it's MCD who need to do the justifying here....

What was the result of that legal action between boards.ie and MCD? Are we allowed to call them a shower of thieving bastards or not?

Quint wrote: »
    If you don't think it's worth it, don't go. If you do and you go, you've justfied the high prices which will continue because these things always sell out.

I hate drinking Guinness out of plastic pint glasses.

End up on JD when I'm at the O2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

cheaper than most temple bar establishments

Even in temple bar €6 for 2 thirds of a pint is expensive. They're 400ml plastic glasses you get in the O2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I've never seen any of the Star Wars movies so I have no jokes...

Ticket prices in Ireland have always been shocking, this is hardly a relevation! Get the train to Belfast or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

phasers wrote: »
    I've never seen any of the Star Wars movies

I have 5% less respect for you now. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

Yoda thought the tickets wouldn't be that expensive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Rip off Ireland doesnt and never has existed.

We live in a capitalist world, where businesses charge what customers are willing to pay for a product/service, and a load of sh1t about supply / demand all that.

If no one paid that much they wouldn't charge that price, however as the way our society works is that people want as much money as they can for themselves, so the business will try to make as much profit as possible by setting prices in such a manner that will aid them to do so.

My most sincere apologies for being part of this society as a consumer and worker. The only solution I suggest to your "Rip-Off Ireland" theory would be to either ring Joe Duffy and have a good moan with all the other aul biddies in the country, or move to China, Cuba, Vietnam, 1980s Russia in your time machine (make this yourself though, they cost a few quid in rip off Ireland)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I was curious as to who would play Jabba the Hut in the show..then i realised Gerry Ryan has an interest in the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

After the rip-off of the Dinosaur Encounters in the Olympia, the SW organizers have learned that we are more than willing to pay inflated prices.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

After the rip-off of the Dinosaur Encounters in the Olympia, the SW organizers have learned that we are more than willing to pay inflated prices.

To say nothing of Yousuf islam and Paul McCArtney..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Yousuf islam gigs are muchh more enjoyable if you bring along your Sky+. At least then you can fast-forward thru the ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 edvedfan

F**k that, just get him a bag of sweets, drive up to the O2, park outside, listen real good and hope it's loud enough for ye to hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Rip off Ireland doesnt and never has existed.

We live in a capitalist world, where businesses charge what customers are willing to pay for a product/service, and a load of sh1t about supply / demand all that.

You're assuming there's such a thing as a free market when it comes to concerts.

All the large venues have deals with a very small selection of concert promoters. These promoters will not undercut each other as it's in their interests to keep ticket prices artificially inflated.

They could easily charge what the Oddessey is charging and still make a healthy profit. obviously they make twice as much when they charge twice as much. It does not cost twice as much to put a show on in Dublin as it does in Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

If they don't play this piece then it's not worth going to. The only good thing about the Phantom Menace for me.

And they should just make some sort of remix with those Jawa's (You know, those little guys in hoods who sell droids) saying their one line over and over again.

I think it was

"Houdini"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

I love how people complain about prices they will more than likely still pay. Vote with your feet, why bother complaining if you are still gonna pay the ticket price.

However, the more ironic thing is that the same people who complain about high ticket prices (which is primarily because of our high cost base in many areas) are precisely the ones who would chew your face off if you suggested that we need to cut their wages/minimum wage/dole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

There are only two real major promoters in this country, MCD (and we all know how they react to valid criticism) & Aitken. Unless you have 4/5 vying with each other then there is little chance of a change.

The problem is Irish people will pound their fists on the bar-counter and piss and moan about the costs yet will still go off and pay them.

If the o2 gigs were only 1/2 full (or less) for each gig, the prices would come down fairly rapidly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Did the OP take into account the average industrial wage is a substantial amount higher than any of the countries listed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

You're assuming there's such a thing as a free market when it comes to concerts.

All the large venues have deals with a very small selection of concert promoters. These promoters will not undercut each other as it's in their interests to keep ticket prices artificially inflated.

They could easily charge what the Oddessey is charging and still make a healthy profit. obviously they make twice as much when they charge twice as much. It does not cost twice as much to put a show on in Dublin as it does in Belfast.
    But if half the amount of people turn up as go in Belfast, prices will come down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭mrbig

Heard about the upcoming Star Wars concert scheduled for Sunday Mar 7th in the O2. My young lad (6 y/o) is crazy about SW so I thought it would be a nice surprise to bring him along. Cost of entry level tickets? €70 each not including booking fee.

I too have a six year old and he is star wars mad, and I too was feeling like a stingy tightarse until I remembered how my father brought me to the first starwars movie in 1977 somthing that I will always remember, So if you can afford it forget about the princeple and go, save the money by not paying you TV licence or road tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

I've gotten a very good quote for running events on a regular basis so I'm sure a professional company like said promoters probably have an even more competitive quote for their public liability and other policys. They have it well covered with the profits they're putting away week in week out running events up and down the country.