Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Young Scientist O Shea refuses to make a profit.Lets Get Nobel Peace Prize Nomination

• 18-01-2010 6:23pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭

Time for the Facebook campaign to nominate Richard O'Shea for the Nobel Peace Prize.

http://www.siliconrepublic.com/news/article/14890/randd/bt-science-and-tech-winner

Richard has invented a cheap low tech Biomass stove which will revolutionise life for billions of the poorest in the world. There is a strong correlation between absolute poverty and fuel poverty and indeed desertification and depletion of agricultural land.

Anything that can seriously help with the reversal of this depletion and with the amelioration of poverty is always to be welcomed.

The ameleriotation of poverty and the stabilisation of agricultural land will in many cases lead to a reduction in the tensions that lead to civil strife and war around the world.

I never use facebook myself but I think it would be only fair were someone who knows how it works to:

1. Set up a Facebook page to get Richard nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize this year.
    2. Spread the word about the stove itself and get it produced the way Richard wants it produced, widely and cheaply.

I will leave the last word to Richard himself, and well done lad.

“This is not about bringing it to market, this is not commercial, I just want to get this into the hands of the people who need it as soon as possible.”

http://nobelprize.org/nomination/peace/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Someone think of the Corporate Fat Cats! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Does the stove have a lid?,cause I know just the chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Idiot, should have charged royalty of 1c per stove, would still be a millionaire and everyone can still afford that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

This is After Hours.

I'd rather vote for a campaign to nominate Dr Bollocko in honour of hiim getting bollock naked in Galway to raise a few quid. Surely this meets all Nobel criteria?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

How dose it work?

There is just a mention of tin cans and a swiss knife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fair play to him, but how can he produce millions of stoves without profiting from them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Sponge Bob wrote: »

“This is not about bringing it to market, this is not commercial, I just want to get this into the hands of the people who need it as soon as possible.”

Wouldn't sell anyway...........I believe tramps in 80's action movies have the fire in a barrel market cornered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Worst microwave ever!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

And his parents met as aid workers in Africa. Nice to think that it was a genuine comment, and not just something that would sound nice for radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Am I the only one that did not expect Mr. O'Shea to have the accent that he has?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Fair play to him.
    Gave the prize money to charity too. €5,000 I believe.

Also, the Physics category is more suited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

benwavner wrote: »
    Worst microwave ever!!!!!!!!!!
    It's no Funcooker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

How is a biomass stove going to qualify him for a nobel peace prize?

The stove of peace... :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

ahh but After Hours gets more eyeballs and at least one after hours denizen has a facebook Account ....and we have until september :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Terry wrote: »
    Fair play to him.
    Gave the prize money to charity too. €5,000 I believe.

Also, the Physics category is more suited.

Legend. Fair play to him.

That's a guy who genuinely cares.

But wait for it! Someone on this forum will find a way to begrudge him. Why? It's the Irish way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Lol. He is the most Cork like Cork person ever. I love his dry humour. He was being interviewed by that GAA guy from Clare yesterday- 'whats it like to be young scientist of the year?' ROS-'It has a bit of a ring to it alright like' GAA guy-'what made you think of the idea? ROS-'I like fire' GAA guy-'are you a bit of a pyromaniac?' ROS- 'I suppose I am like.' Brilliant!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Fair play to him, but how can he produce millions of stoves without profiting from them?

Funding from trócaire.

Lol. He is the most Cork like Cork person ever. I love his dry humour. He was being interviewed by that GAA guy from Clare yesterday- 'whats it like to be young scientist of the year?' ROS-'It has a bit of a ring to it alright like' GAA guy-'what made you think of the idea? ROS-'I like fire' GAA guy-'are you a bit of a pyromaniac?' ROS- 'I suppose I am like.' Brilliant!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Fair play to him, but as My name is URL points out, is he not shooting himself in the foot since no company is going to make them for free, and if he does manage to get someone to produce them, I can't imagine it being the level of produciton he's expecting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

How is a biomass stove going to qualify him for a nobel peace prize?

The stove of peace... :pac:

The same way Barack Obama got it, no wait! Obama has done sweet f**k all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 pod5564

msg11 wrote: »
    How dose it work?

There is just a mention of tin cans and a swiss knife?

They're called Rocket Stoves - lots of "how to" videos onYouTube
    Have a look at this for example!!!!!!!?!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j8z5befz6ew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

skelliser wrote: »
    The same way Barack Obama got it, no wait! Obama has done sweet f**k all!
    What are you talking about? His tears bring puppies back to life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Not the first person from the Young Scientist to do something like this, in fact you hear of at least 5 stories about this every year. Quite frivilous really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I was not a judge and nor did I see much of the lads project, but from what
    I saw on the Late Late I wasn't the least bit impressed to be honest.
    Is anyone in Africa or the 3rd world really waiting for some boy from Cork to come up with their solution to home cooking?:confused: If this is the standard for the year, then I don't think it was all that great a standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

walshb wrote: »
    I was not a judge and nor did I see much of the lads project, but from what
    I saw on the Late Late I wasn't the least bit impressed to be honest.
    Is anyone in Africa or the 3rd world really waiting for some boy from Cork to come up with their solution to home cooking?:confused: If this is the standard for the year, then I don't think it was all that great a standard.

It's not only about 3rd world aid though, poverty exists everywhere

look at the situation in Haiti for example, there's no electricity in most of the country. Those stoves would come in handy there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

He sounds like a true young gentleman. Fair play to him.

It's not only about 3rd world aid though, poverty exists everywhere

look at the situation in Haiti for example, there's no electricity in most of the country. Those stoves would come in handy there

If you say so;)

Seriously, I saw a can with holes in it; the chap himslef said this, now if Africans or 3rd world countries are really hard up, then fair enough, but somehow I doubt it. I just didn't see anything in it from what was presented. Maybe there is indeed more to it, but I am just going on first impressions and what has been shown. It's all I can go on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Yea, totally cork like.

My Name is O Shea. and I'm the young scientist of the year. But most importantly..... I'm from Cork!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Isn't biomass just a posh word for poo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 pod5564

I think biomass refers to anything that was once living eg wood, turf, pooooo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j8z5befz6ew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Clown.

Anyway, recently we only give peace prizes to people who have done nothing for world peace. Al Gore, Barack Obama...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Fair play to the lad though not taking any of his winnings and that, most of them would grab the money and run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Good idea alright, now they just need food to cook in it

dlofnep wrote: »
    Legend. Fair play to him.

That's a guy who genuinely cares.

But wait for it! Someone on this forum will find a way to begrudge him. Why? It's the Irish way.

The begrudgers are having their say on Liveline at the moment.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

The begrudgers are having their say on Liveline at the moment.

My god the whiners never stop. They'd make you sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

humanji wrote: »
    Fair play to him, but as My name is URL points out, is he not shooting himself in the foot since no company is going to make them for free, and if he does manage to get someone to produce them, I can't imagine it being the level of produciton he's expecting.
    From what I saw of it briefly it looks like the idea behind it is simple construction. It looks like it could be made by anybody from common waste. The clever bit is the plans which makes what ever you put in it burn more efficiently. All he has to do is put the plans on the internet somewhere and let the information out into the public domain. It's really a case of knowledge is power and freedom of information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

I'd love to see George Foreman endorse it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Is he not related to another prizewinner of a couple of years ago? His relation also had submitted a solar cooker or something like that to a secondary competition in the Young Scientist exhibition, I think it was "Africa" themed or something...

I am impressed with his attitude to winning it however, as Sponge Bob rightly pointed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

ScumLord wrote: »
    From what I saw of it briefly it looks like the idea behind it is simple construction. It looks like it could be made by anybody from common waste. The clever bit is the plans which makes what ever you put in it burn more efficiently. All he has to do is put the plans on the internet somewhere and let the information out into the public domain. It's really a case of knowledge is power and freedom of information.
    I think you're right. The idea is not new (so probably the reason why he won't, or couldn't, make any money from it) but it's his simple design that's the clever part.
    His design allows it to be made very simply out of everyday waste products using rudimentary tools. Fairplay to him I say.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    I think you're right. The idea is not new (so probably the reason why he won't, or couldn't, make any money from it) but it's his simple design that's the clever part.
    His design allows it to be made very simply out of everyday waste products using rudimentary tools. Fairplay to him I say.
    I do remember seeing some bucket BBQ on late night TV years ago that just had a load of holes in it and used paper as the fuel. He's probably right to let it out for free and take the credit for being Mr. nice guy as at his age the chicks are probably more important than the money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

dambarude wrote: »

In fairness the reports would have you think he came up with an idea which in all truth he didn't. Essentially he followed an existing design and sent it in as a science project by recording some data on it and suggesting a use. I think some people think the students are inventing things when they aren't.

Nice of him to give the money away but it isn't like he could actually profit from the design or idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

Fair f**ks to him. This is the kind of invention that changes the world. Small incremental improvements to existing designs. This could potentially improve the lives of millions of people. Silver bullet inventions sound better but rarely work in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

ScumLord wrote: »
    He's probably right to let it out for free.....
    But was that even an option?
    He didn't invent the wheel, just a different way of making it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Is he not related to another prizewinner of a couple of years ago? His relation also had submitted a solar cooker or something like that to a secondary competition in the Young Scientist exhibition, I think it was "Africa" themed or something...

I am impressed with his attitude to winning it however, as Sponge Bob rightly pointed out.

Yeah, a girl did something similar a few years back and ended up in Ethiopia filming about it wtih RTE.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    But was that even an option?
    He didn't invent the wheel, just a different way of making it.
    I'm sure the option to refine the idea and turn it into a sellable product was there, although given it would be in competition with other more established brands it would have been an uphill struggle. He's design looks allot more complicated than any other I've seen so maybe it is considerably better. I only saw it briefly and don't know much more about it other than the concept.

dambarude wrote: »

Ah, the good old begrudger card; almost as common as the race card.

Look, just because some didn't see anything special with a can with holes in it that has been around for years doesn't make one a begrudger. I wasn't at all impressed with that choice as the best. Take last years winner for example, far far far better. I think the Africa and third world connection helped his case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He'll be off to the South of France soon, to pick up his Cannes award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Look, just because some didn't see anything special with a can with holes in it that has been around for years doesn't make one a begrudger. I wasn't at all impressed with that choice as the best. Take last years winner for example, far far far better. I think the Africa and third world connection helped his case

Is there an alarm on your pc that goes off once anything positive and contains the word "africa" is posted on boards?

While it's an existing idea, the stove works in a way to produce higher efficiency from less fuel with minimum smoke production.

But feel free to complain "oh, he didn't invent it! rabble rabble rabble". He got up off his arse and tried to do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

will if it helps, it can only be a good thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

But feel free to complain "oh, he didn't invent it! rabble rabble rabble". He got up off his arse and tried to do something.

He didn't really do it for Africa. He did it as a educational exercise to suggest otherwise is over blowing it. Nobel peace prize is way over the top. Simple media questions do not eliminate the fundamentals of what he has done or not done.