Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

steer me in the right direction

• 18-01-2010 2:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭

Just looking for a litttle advice please,
    so i met a girl through a friend, while out at the weekend, she seemed very chatty and nice and i got on really well with her. We all went to a nightclub, me, her and 4 other lads and a few more girls and that was grand but it just so happened that me and this girl were chatting nearly all the time we were there, nearing the end of the night she had to go home because she had to catch a flight early the next morn, so she wanted to get a taxi, i walked her out to the door and just kind of said it was nice meeting you, exchanged numbers( dont know why) and take care etc, all very polite and civilised.
    so i went back in and got chatting to some randomer for the next half hour before closing and ended up kissing her which was grand, happy days, says i.
    But i've been thinking today about the events previous, and im wondering, to anybody else it would have looked like we (me and the first girl) were getting on REALLY well and i think maybe she was expecting a bit more than a polite goodbye when she left. The thing is she seemed a really nice girl and easy (for me) to talk to, but she wouldnt be my type looks wise and im just a little concerned that she might think of it for more than i feel it was,( just a good aul chin wag).
    My other concern is how do i handle things next time i see her without being akward or making her feel akward?? Or am i just making a big deal over nothing? Any thoughts ladies or gents?:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Did she ask for your number or did you ask for hers?

If you asked her for her number, it would be bad form to do nothing about it. You got on great with her, you spent all night talking to her, does it really matter that she's "not your type" as clearly there's a compatibility there?
    Maybe something as informal as a "How was your trip, fancy meeting up for a drink on Friday"? Meet up with her, if you get on as well as you did before, then you can decide if you want to make this a "relationship" or if you just get on really well. You never know she may decide that you're a nice guy but not her type. :)

On the other hand, if she asked for your number, then I wouldn't pursue it unless you actually want to meet up with her.

If you bump into eachother again when out, just treat her the same as any man friend-of-a-friend you may have met and talked to on a night out.

I think you would be very silly though to write off someone you get on great with just because they're not exactly what you look for, looks-wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

As the name suggests - that was a bad call. Walking her out, and swapping numbers, suggests more than just friendship. Don't get me wrong, it's very nice and gentlemanly - but it may have lead to her expecting some sort of romantic follow up.

However, I wouldn't be too concerned, she's unlikely to follow up herself (most girls don't) and if you just keep a little distance next time you see her, it won't be an issue. It's entirely possible she was just enjoying the chat herself, and being polite. If you're out in a group again, just try and make it so that the two of you don't end up alone together again, in case she does get the wrong idea.

Chances are if she DID think anything of it, she'll have discussed it with her girls, in which case they'll probably have told her you scored some randomer after she left, and she'll have a better idea where she stands.

Don't sweat over it, just be more careful in future. ;) (The chatting is fine, even walking her to the taxi - but not swapping numbers)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ohanloj3

ruxpin82 wrote: »
    . The thing is she seemed a really nice girl and easy (for me) to talk to, but she wouldnt be my type looks wise and im just a little concerned that she might think of it for more than i feel it was,( just a good aul chin wag).

It seems like even though you had a connection personality wise (you talked all night) that your writing her off cos shes not the typical girl you'd go for look wise. It seems a bit shallow, looks aren't always everything. But on the other front you don't think things meant more than a chat so if she contacts you, you just have to be honest with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭ruxpin82

yeah i kind of said '' so give me your number anyway''....jesus im a tool , what did I do that for?:confused:
    oh yeah i suppose i should say she texted me when she got home saying she 'got home safe, and enjoy the rest of the night' to which i replied half an hour later, '' nice talking to you all night and see you out someother time'',
    i think that my reply was fairly non-comittal, but i dunno, she either thinks im into her or mabey (hopefully) im just a polite nice type of chap and nothing more?
    id hate to think im messing people around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭legend365

Asking for a girls number...

...that means only one thing.