Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extreme Stew Sausage Madness

• 16-01-2010 12:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭

Is it normal to have sausages in an irish stew? i reckon its not but one of the lads reckons it is.......has anyone ever had sausages in a stew? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Is that not coddle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It's traditional to have sausages in a ' Dubliners Coddle ' not so much an Irish Stew but no harm done if they are put into the mix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Bringthethunder

phasers wrote: »
    Is that not coddle?

Ive never even heard of coddle....:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Is that not coddle?

Yep, coddle.

Gallagher's Boxty House in Temple Bar do it .. tis a fine hearty meal.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coddle

There you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Rashers, sausages, potatoes, tripe and onions.

I'll soon be put straight if I missed out anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

And you call yourself an Irishman. Collins ate coddle the morning of the Easter Rising. :mad:

Go eat some coddle!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Rashers, sausages, potatoes, tripe and onions.

I'll soon be put straight if I missed out anything.

Puke smiley needed.
    Stewed sausages and bacon? Are ye mad?

My mam makes coddle when we've got spuds and onions left in the house

there's always sausages and rashers in our fridge :pac:

My mam makes coddle when we've got spuds and onions left in the house

there's always sausages and rashers in our fridge :pac:

This is gas :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

OutlawPete wrote: »
    This is gas :pac:
    Looks like Electric cooker rings :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Puke smiley needed.

Oh you have NOT lived!

Nom nom nom nom

Boiled sausages FTW! shrivelled up rashers, not so much, but I eat anyway. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Hang on a minute.
    This thread title promised a video full of homosexual antics involving a chap named stewart and yet the thread features a recipe for some primitive form of evil casserole.
    This is not the ladies lounge.

Latchy wrote: »
    Looks like Electric cooker rings :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Dublin forum,tbh.

Puke smiley needed.

I prefer the term boiled.

But, it's feckin lovely.

Don't knock it 'til you've tried it doc.:pac:

/apart from the tripe, I always leave that out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Yeah, what's the dealio with tripe? Mother never makes it with that.

I did have a dispute with one of the old ladies. She said you put tomatoes in Coddle!! My Dad's from inner city Dublin and his recipe is without tomatoes. Maybe in Rialto they do it differently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Tripe?? never had tripe in a coddle in my house.Enough of that country tripe tripe.

Tripe?
    eeew no! :eek:

Although I've been told that coddle is just made to use up whatever was lying around in your house at the end of the week so maybe that lady just happened to have a lot of tripe at her disposal?

Larianne wrote: »
    Yeah, what's the dealio with tripe? Mother never makes it with that.

I did have a dispute with one of the old ladies. She said you put tomatoes in Coddle!! My Dad's from inner city Dublin and his recipe is without tomatoes. Maybe in Rialto they do it differently?

Tripe is...well tripe tbh.
    I couldn't stomach it, pun not intended this time.
    dubtom wrote: »
    Tripe?

Yep, but I wouldn't give you a thank you for it.
    It is the most awful looking food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Puke smiley needed.

Stewed sausages are in my top10 list of yummy things to eat!

Truly delicious. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

My Mammy and Daddy always made stew with sausages! I think they were cocktail sausages? very slippery, weird texture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

Duddy wrote: »
    very slippery, weird texture.

well if thats what mammy and daddy said it was, then it must have been ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

OutlawPete wrote: »

Cyrus from Trailer Park Boys cooking coddle. Nice.

Duddy wrote: »
    My Mammy and Daddy always made stew with sausages! I think they were cocktail sausages? very slippery, weird texture.

They must have left the skin on the sausages when they were cooked.

It should be removed before you eat.:pac: