Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adequacy of rear lighting on Unmarked cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

In comparison with other unmarked cars through out the world, IMO the single set of blue leds in the interior brake light installed in our cars are inadequate in terms of safety. Please see following videos as examples of good and bad. mods feel free to edit as necessary

Most Traffic cars add their own lights. Beauty of Traffic is they control their own cars and so take the lights off old ones going back and build up a collection. I've seen one in a certain area in Cork with four blues in the back window. Two of the ones usually in break light and two of the bumper repeaters. That one also had rear fog lights alternating and two extra blues in the front grill. Looked very very impressive.

As for the standard issue unmarked blues.....terrible. I wouldnt be taking them on a motorway thats for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

Most Traffic cars add their own lights. Beauty of Traffic is that they are childish ;)

fixed that there for ya

i do agree that the rear lights are crap though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

1922 wrote: »
    fixed that there for ya

i do agree that the rear lights are crap though...
    Ahaha, iv a few good stories about lads in Traffic!! :rolleyes: Anyway, i think there should be at least stobes in the indicator/brake lights, i know there was at one stage way back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Saw a traffic mondeo the other day here with 2x LED clusters in the back window and flashing red strobes integrated into the rear lights, as wel as the lightbar, plus the dashmaster, bumper LEDs and repeaters + wigwags in the front. Impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

Most of the newer unmarked PSNI traffic cars I've seen have red and blue rear LED lighting, very effective and look pretty cool too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

problem is theres no uniformity really. I've seen the standard single LED on the rear and i've also seen cars with the high up LED, an LED on the back of each rear headrest and alternating strobes built into the rear light cluster.
    Someone needs to sit down and decide on a single lighting spec for unmarked (and to a lesser extent, marked) patrol cars, both for the front and back.

The more lights the better. It should look like a bloody christmas tree when they're on but subtle when they're off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Ye me and Irish Polizei had a chat about this...:)

I was just thinking, would clipping red bicycle lights on to the back of headrests be a bad thing?

For example, if you were stopped on a motorway with little or no lighting rearward, you could climb into the back and flick on the bicycle lights.

Or is there something against adding foriegn objects to a patrol vehicle that isn't approved by AGS?

Or you could put christmas tree lights...

donvito99 wrote: »
    For example, if you were stopped on a motorway with little or no lighting rearward, you could climb into the back and flick on the bicycle lights.

They would never EVER get used like that. need to be wired in so everything goes on at once with 1 button.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

Ya I'd have to agree,

The standard of emergency lighting in almost all unmarked cars I've used is very poor. Its certainly is in our current unmarked Mondeo and was even worse in our unmarked Subaru previously. . . . and they are traffic corps vehicles so you are out stopping on dark unlit roads at night.

Our marked cars "have" to be fitted with rear red flashing lights but our unmarked dont??? , , , ,makes sense alright!! . . .Not.

Penny Pinching is all I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

The more lights the better. It should look like a bloody christmas tree when they're on but subtle when they're off.

DubMedic wrote: »

Go to 2.00 mins.
    This is what ALL emergency vehicles should look and SOUND like:P
    I dunno how to post youtube so here's the link

Maybe a bit OTT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭petergfiffin

Just one problem I'd see with that last one is most of the lights are down low. Have had this problem myself in heavy traffic with unmarked cars before as because the lights are in the grille or on the dash it gets obscured by other traffic so it's almost impossible to see which car it is. I know the ones you stick to the outside of the roof are probably "soooo 1980's" but it did make it easier for mere mortals like me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭hedges

Corcioch wrote: »
    Our marked cars "have" to be fitted with rear red flashing lights but our unmarked dont??? , , , ,makes sense alright!! . . .Not.

Interesting point

Just wondering if there is a minium required standard on marked or unmarked vehicles ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

Maybe a bit OTT

At least they'll be seen:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Just one problem I'd see with that last one is most of the lights are down low. Have had this problem myself in heavy traffic with unmarked cars before as because the lights are in the grille or on the dash it gets obscured by other traffic so it's almost impossible to see which car it is. I know the ones you stick to the outside of the roof are probably "soooo 1980's" but it did make it easier for mere mortals like me ;)

The problem with the tear drop light on the roof was that the magnets are not strong enough......subsequently I have gone to quiet a few calls with the roof becon ending up on one of the doors!!!

Corcioch wrote: »
    Ya I'd have to agree,

The standard of emergency lighting in almost all unmarked cars I've used is very poor. Its certainly is in our current unmarked Mondeo and was even worse in our unmarked Subaru previously. . . . and they are traffic corps vehicles so you are out stopping on dark unlit roads at night.

Penny Pinching is all I'd imagine.

Ye I noticed that the Subaru on "Traffic Blues" last summer was ridiculously lacking in lighting, almost non existent on a sunny day.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Nice unmarked Range Rover on the 9 O Clock news tonight.

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1064230

11:28 on the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

landcruiser is sweet too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭Corcioch

donvito99 wrote: »
    Ye I noticed that the Subaru on "Traffic Blues" last summer was ridiculously lacking in lighting, almost non existent on a sunny day.

Ya . . . .not the exact same car . .but a similar one.

Man that Traffic Blues show was complete tripe!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Chief--- wrote: »
    Nice unmarked Range Rover on the 9 O Clock news tonight.

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1064230

11:28 on the video.

Im suprised that was brought out when they knew cameras would be there

More important things to worry about than the press and 999 people out of 1000 don't know or care!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

More important things to worry about than the press and 999 people out of 1000 don't know or care!

Are you for real with your people dont care! Thats why every criminal in the country always wants to know about new unmarked garda cars and most of them take reg number of unmarkeds too. So your way off with your 999 people dont know or care.

999 of 1000 of the general public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

The irish garda cars are way way under speced than the uk counterparts. The mate is in the traffic corps and does a lot of driving and has just a normal 2.0l mondeo. The uk lads have 5 series beemers for the same job, its one thing that i wouldnt mind paying extra tax for every year..

malcox wrote: »
    The irish garda cars are way way under speced than the uk counterparts. The mate is in the traffic corps and does a lot of driving and has just a normal 2.0l mondeo. The uk lads have 5 series beemers for the same job, its one thing that i wouldnt mind paying extra tax for every year..

Vehicle excise and tax is much cheaper in the UK. They also get all specs.

I know but the tax and excise is going to the goverment who supply the vechiles in the first place. Its the goverment being mean they have no prob spending hundreds of thousands on a tribunal which would buy a LOT of hi spec cars not to mind a few strobe lights for the boys.

I know but the tax and excise is going to the goverment who supply the vechiles in the first place. Its the goverment being mean they have no prob spending hundreds of thousandsmillions on a tribunal which would buy a LOT of hi spec cars not to mind a few strobe lights for the boys.

Fixed that for ya.

Good man if only your name was brian cowen!!!!!

< _ <

> _ >