Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Find 20 grand!! look for the owner or spend it?

• 13-01-2010 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭

With the story of the taxi driver in New York finding 21k on his back seat and driving a good distance to find the owner and leave a note, it got me thinking.
    how many people would have done the same and how many people would have kept it?
    20k is alot of cash to loose and alot of cash to find.
    Lets say for this thread that thier was a name and number with it
    Keep it or look for the owner?

Keep it or look for the owner 73 votes

Keep it and spent it?
    0% 0 votes
    Look for the owner?
    100% 73 votes

Look for the owner, it might be an old millionaire who is so greatful that you inherit the lot! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

if it was Ireland, I'd tell my little lot to hand it in to the cops.

Last thing I'd want is for my kids to find 20,000 euro, keep it and discover later that a drug pusher is going around all the taxis in the town looking for his loot!
    Yikes!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

If I found 20,00 K I wouldn't touch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

I'd look for the owner, because I'd be sure the owner was looking for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Taxi driver had the good sense to know it was Mafia money and take it straight back.

The last thing he wanted was a horse head in his cab. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

I only found 10k.....*shifty eyes*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

i wonder if he has ever had Sarah Jessica parker in his cab

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd keep it.. if someone's dumb enough to misplace $20,000 then they don't deserve to have the money

and I'd live with the risk of someone coming after me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

20 grand in cash money is the kind of thing you should check your pockets for when getting out of a taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Not sure if this is an another urban myth but I seem to recall a similar story going back about 20 odd years ago involving a Dublin taxi driver who having dropped a foreign buisnessman off at the airport, discoverd his briefcase in the back seat with a considerably large sum of cash ( larger than £20,000 ) . Not sure what, if any the outcome was . Can anybody confirm or add anything to this ?

Not sure what I would do if I was in same circumstances .Anything over £20, 000 and your looking to become fishfood :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'd keep it.. if someone's dumb enough to misplace $20,000 then they don't deserve to have the money

and I'd live with the risk of someone coming after me too

If the boot was on the other foot and you lost 20k would your attitude change?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

TBH, as dishonest as it is, I could use 20 grand and given I am totally broke right now, I would keep the money I think. Though it would drive me insane with guilt and I would probably turn into a Philanthropist until I find the poor destitute man who lost the money begging on the streets wherein I would hand over all my money and take his place while he takes mine.

orourkeda wrote: »
    If the boot was on the other foot and you lost 20k would your attitude change?

I'm only replying to the question posted in the OP. If the boot was on the other foot though, I'd make sure not to leave so much money behind me in a taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

*yoink*

Assuming theres not an obvious way it could be traced back I'd be gone with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Link.

Seems pretty suspicious to have all that on you

I'd give it back.

Karma is a persistent bugger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i would go looling for them and if i coudnt find them i would hang on to it, although someone carrying 20k in used notes in the back of a cab seems a bit dodgy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Link.

Seems pretty suspicious to have all that on you

Not really, for a businessman, for an Italian Granny on Holidays??? WTF?

I know guys who regularily travel with that much on them, as I said, businessman, it's not all that strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Im not sure I could, not without making a fair attempt to find the owner of such a huge sum of money.

You cant say for definite if it was drug money or someones life savings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

I'd def keep it. Countless things have been found in the back of taxis by following passengers (like myself) and the drivers didn't have a clue about. Phones(which I gave back to their owners), couple of 20 euro notes which I kept and a framed photo of Daniel O Donnell, which I gave to the driver as a christmas present. :D

Anyway, if I was the driver I'd be away home with the cash and have myself a 3 month holiday! And if the guy who lost ever did find me, I'd just say I knew nothing about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

gamblitis wrote: »
    I'd def keep it. Countless things have been found in the back of taxis by following passengers (like myself) and the drivers didn't have a clue about. Phones(which I gave back to their owners), couple of 20 euro notes which I kept and a framed photo of Daniel O Donnell, which I gave to the driver as a christmas present. :D

Anyway, if I was the driver I'd be away home with the cash and have myself a 3 month holiday! And if the guy who lost ever did find me, I'd just say I knew nothing about it!
    Yeah but thats junk, trinkets, and pocket change. The stuff that matters, like phones and wallets, licenses, cards, and Twenty Thousand Dollars... I presume you would track down the owners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

It's too large an amount of money to take and get away with it. Remember No Country for Old Men? If you take that amount of money and it belongs to the mob for example, you've just put your life on the line. I'd call the gardai prob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

Overheal wrote: »
    Yeah but thats junk, trinkets, and pocket change. The stuff that matters, like phones and wallets, licenses, cards, and Twenty Thousand Dollars... I presume you would track down the owners!

I was just giving crappy examples. I would keep the money.
    Originally Posted by My name is URL View Post

I concur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

It's too large an amount of money to take and get away with it. Remember No Country for Old Men? If you take that amount of money and it belongs to the mob for example, you've just put your life on the line. I'd call the gardai prob

Yeah the cops wouldn't keep it or anything.:rolleyes: Would you stop? I'd keep it and given the economic climate people losing their jobs like their losing skin cells I'd be pretty sure that they'd keep it too. now in saying that you really wouldn't have a clue until it happened but still I'd say I'd prob keep it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

You could always give the money to those poor individuals that hang around our busy intersections with windscreen squeegees and paper coffee cups.

Assuming the money has not being traced back to it's rightful owner and handed into the gardai , you can only asume after a period that it is put to good use ie, giving to charity but you can only assume otherwise somebody , someplace , is going to put it to use /go on a spending spree .

I would definitely try to give it back. I'm not good with the whole Karma thing, I know it would get me - it always does!

I was in the car park paying for my parking last week and noticed there was 40cent change in the parking machine, I argued with myself whether or not I should take it, in the end I decided if I didn't, the next person would, so I did. I walked about 10 feet to a vending machine to buy water and put in a euro - the fecking thing didn't register. So anyway, the point is, that was Karma, I shouldn't have taken the 40cent and so I lost it along with 60cent in interest.

Imagine the bad luck that would come from 20k :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Take it, fly to Vegas, put whatever's left on black. Let fate decide whether I keep it or not. If I won, I'd come back and try to find the owner for the original 20,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Biggins wrote: »
    if it was Ireland, I'd tell my little lot to hand it in to the cops.

Last thing I'd want is for my kids to find 20,000 euro, keep it and discover later that a drug pusher is going around all the taxis in the town looking for his loot!
    Yikes!!!

And what if it wasn't Ireland? Would your children be much safer keeping 20,000 if they found it in another country? Sure it's not like other countries have drug pushers after all... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

If I found a wallet on the ground I'd take all the money inside it and then post the wallet/cards to the person it belonged to.
    If I found 20k, as dishonest as it is, I would keep it simply because I am totally broke right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭watsdstory22

not a hope would i keep it... karma is an evil evil bitch!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was in the car park paying for my parking last week and noticed there was 40cent change in the parking machine, I argued with myself whether or not I should take it, in the end I decided if I didn't, the next person would, so I did. I walked about 10 feet to a vending machine to buy water and put in a euro - the fecking thing didn't register. So anyway, the point is, that was Karma, I shouldn't have taken the 40cent and so I lost it along with 60cent in interest.

Imagine the bad luck that would come from 20k :eek:
    But what about when you have lost money youself in a coin box becuse it's faulty or say lost say 20 euro from your pocket /purse ? . Then a few months later you find 20 euro on the street .it's karma coming back to say what you lost has being returned to you . My slant on it anyways :)

Latchy wrote: »
    But what about when you have lost money youself in a coin box becuse it's faulty or say lost say 20 euro from your pocket /purse ? . Then a few months later you find 20 euro on the street .it's karma coming back to say what you lost has being returned to you . My slant on it anyways :)

Ohhhh, I've never looked at it like that :D

If it was a small amount of money on the street and definitely noone could claim it back, I'd probably buy my mammy a bunch of flowers or something. I wouldn't keep it.

I'm the same eejit who tells the girl in tesco if she's given me too much change :rolleyes:

I like your slant latchy.

Now where did I put that 20,000 I had on me this morning :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

not a hope would i keep it... karma is an evil evil bitch!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But that money could be used to buy drugs or weapons by the original owner. You could be helping someone so it could be good karma :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

I'd find them and give it back. I'd feel too guilty spendin a whole 20,000 that wasnt mine :rolleyes:

I'd expect a little reward though :D

Now where did I put that 20,000 I had on me this morning :p
    It's being put into a bank on a high return investment for tired, stressed out and overworked TD's / bankers as we speak :pac:

Ohhhh, I've never looked at it like that :D

If it was a small amount of money on the street and definitely noone could claim it back, I'd probably buy my mammy a bunch of flowers or something. I wouldn't keep it.

The opposite makes more sense to me tbh, if it was a small or medium amount I'd return it

my rule of thumb would be if it could easily fall out of your pocket/bag without you noticing it then you don't deserve to lose it

but for 20 grand you'd need to be either too stupid or too rich to care about losing such a large sum

and it's fairly stupid to be carrying that amount of money to begin with

Keep 5 grand.
    That could be somebody's redundancy?
    What the **** are the supposed to do then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Pineapple Dan

i'd spend the hell out of it :)

The opposite makes more sense to me tbh, if it was a small or medium amount I'd return it

Oh if it was in a supermarket or a building or anywhere that the person is likely to be nearby I would definitely hand it in. I meant if it was completely improbable that the owner could be found, I wouldn't actually keep it but I might use it to make someone else happy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Wow, 50/50%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

If there was some way of identifying who owned it, I give it back.

If there wasn't, I'd keep it. No way would I leave it into a police station or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

50/50, evil Ireland vs good Ireland seems to be a level battle :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Hey, I am one forgetful *****& and hence why I believe the Reminder function on a mobile phone is one of humanity's greatest achievements, but even I wouldn't forget 20 K
    during a cab ride. He must have left it for a reason. I would have kept it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

jumpguy wrote: »
    50/50, evil Ireland vs good Ireland seems to be a level battle :P

I vote we redo this AFTER the recession :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Humanity's or humanities? As in, humanity's greatest achievement OR humanities greatest achievement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I'm really suprised at the amount of people that said they would keep it,imagine you lost it((For which ever reason just say you happened to be carrying it around and lost it)).

If I found around a 50 euro note or less ya I'd keep it,If it were in a wallet then I'd try and locate the owner...If it were like 90-100+ it mght be some poor ole kids communion,Confirmation or b-day money.

In july my wallet slipped out of my pocket while in a busy park in cork city....10-15 mins later I realised after leaving the place,When I got back there my wallet was still there sitting on the low wall,it had 50+ in it and I was going to oxegen the next day so needed it :o.

One time I found a really expensive mobile phone in a taxi home,when I gave it to the driver he was so astounded and stopped the meter as he siad it never happens and people always come back lookingfor the phones but others usually take them.

Kinda weird but when I was 14 I lost a tener before a gig and then found another one about an hour or so later :D,twas delighted...havin money and no wallet aint a good idea,lost too much notes that way when I was a younger teen :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

when my dad does present shopping, he carries it around in cash. He has lost it before. Its not like he's rich, so yeah, I'd return any money that I could.

walshb wrote: »
    Humanity's or humanities? As in, humanity's greatest achievement OR humanities greatest achievement?

http://thepeoplescube.com/red/richedit/upload/2k4a7a43d7f8.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭seclachi

Id give it back, the majority of the kind of people who carry around 20k arent the kind I would like to have out looking for me. Moreover, how are you supposed to explain to people your sudden coming into cash, if you lashed that much into your bank account surely somebody would start snooping around ? Or if you had it under matress and the mammy or OH found it ? I doubt even the Bert would bother with the "i found it in taxi excuse".