Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WWE WM 26 PPV - Pre Show Thread *Spoilers*

• 13-01-2010 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭

According to a source within WWE, Vince McMahon's mood concerning the current plans for the WrestleMania 26 card are said to be very erratic. The creative team is said to be ducking for cover at this point, as they never know how Vince will react to what the team has planned for the PPV. At times, he is said to be pleased with what the team is doing, and other times he becomes irate demanding that the creative team put something more "exciting" together.
    At this point, Vince feels that the current WrestleMania card is lacking "one more big attraction," and he thinks the PPV needs something more than what the current creative plans call for. At this point, the card looks like this:
    Triple H vs Sheamus for the WWE Title.
    Chris Jericho vs Edge. Even though Edge is questionable at this point, WWE is banking on him being able to return in time for the PPV because they want to book this match.
    Vince McMahon vs Bret Hart. This match is said to be a lock right now.
    Randy Orton vs Ted DiBiase, Jr is likely, but these plans are far from set in stone.
    Vince wants to book something big for John Cena, and he is trying very hard to put together a Cena vs The Rock match for the show, but it all depends on Dwayne Johnson's schedule, and the outlook at this point is not too good.

ok i know way way too early :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Yeah, you're right, it's a small bit early for a Mania thread but we're on the road to Mania now (well, in a week or two)

I kind of agree with Vince that the current plans for matches for Mania now is missing that 1 big name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

Will Sheamus hold the title until Mania?

Fair play to him if he is he gets a good lengthy run then is feed to Hunter at WM

Is Undertaker V HBK Part II also happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i have an idea, sack the "un"creative team ;)

if edge is fit he should return and win the rumble and challenge randy orton at mania, its fresh compared to what we have been used to, thats a bigger draw than edge/jericho or orton/dibiase and dibiase after recent interview shouldn't even be on the card imo

cena and taker should be a gimme, its money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Sheamus v HAUNTER = no buys. :pac:
    Seriously if that happens stick it in the middle of the show, or we will get another Hunter main event like 2002 and 2009 which bombed with the live crowd.
    Ideally my card would be

Cena v Taker
    Hunter v HBK
    Jericho v Edge
    Rey v Punk

The rest would not matter. :)

rossie1977 wrote: »

if edge is fit he should return and win the rumble and challenge randy orton at mania, its fresh compared to what we have been used to, thats a bigger draw than edge/jericho or orton/dibiase and dibiase after recent interview shouldn't even be on the card imo

What did Teddy say? Did he give out about Masters?

I have a horrid feeling they may waste Cena, to think of the all the money matches they could have done with him in the last few years and they dropped the ball every time. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

rossie1977 wrote: »

What did Teddy say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I'd imagine that they are going with Taker Michaels since it's been mentioned so often on screen as of late. It would seem silly to try building it up early and then not deliver. Although, they may drop it if Rock doesn't come back and switch to Taker vs Cena. Presume Michaels may become involved in the Bret Vince angle then.

Was positive that Show would get involved with Tyson on Raw. Seemed like a logical Mania matchup although Tyson looked over weight and a shadow of his former self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

JP Liz wrote: »
    What did Teddy say?

WWE Raw superstar Ted DiBiase was recently interviewed for an upcoming issue of People Magazine, where he talked about "The Marine 2" and showed signs of being interested in acting more. The following is an excerpt from the interview.
    TD: I love wrestling, I really do. I've enjoyed it since I was a kid. However, it wasn't something I wanted to do with my life. My father's parents were both wrestlers and my father made the decision to follow in their footsteps himself. In wrestling, there's sort of an unwritten rule that if two generations are involved in the business, the third generation has to be as well. My father, I love him and all, but I only got into wrestling because he wanted me to. It's because of him that I'm doing this. I wanted to be a chef when I was younger, but that was eventually overshadowed by my father's desire to have me wrestle. As I said, I grew up watching wrestling and I would always be a fan, but I didn't want to do it with my life. There are times where I really enjoy being in the ring, but to be honest, I'm not very passionate about it. When Randy [Orton, a teammate of DiBiase] couldn't do the movie, Vince McMahon asked me personally backstage at an episode of Raw if I wanted to film this movie. I thought about it for a week, decided to do it, filmed the movie, and I enjoyed it a lot. I thought to myself, "This is great. This is what I want to be known for."

PM: :So where does this leave you now?

TD: I'll probably wrestle for about two more years. I told myself when I broke in that if I ever won just one championship in WWE, my wrestling career is a success. I've won two. My father is proud of me and I've made some really good friends. I'll never regret my time as a wrestler, but acting is my calling. Besides, my brothers Mike and Brett are the 'wrestling boys' of the family, so to speak. They're the ones who have always wanted to make careers of out of pro wrestling, not me. It wouldn't be fair for me to take that way from them. I'll step away and let them fight out if to see who'll try to match our father's legacy.

source: Wrestling Observer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

I hope whoever wins MITB cashs it in at Mania this year.. just to mix it up a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,006 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Well we now know Edge (RR winner) will be in one of the world title matches but which one?

I'm thinking it will be Jericho winning the title at EC then Edge chooses to face him

And it looking like Cena/Bret V Vince/Batista

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭akenny01

the other night when asked who would he like to face this year at wm26 cena just smiled and said 'the rock' pretty sure he said we'l see what happens there.......

I know the rock is working close with wwe atm about guest hosting and other stuff out of the ring.. I read he will appear at summerslam.. but we want WM !!

akenny01 wrote: »
    the other night when asked who would he like to face this year at wm26 cena just smiled and said 'the rock' pretty sure he said we'l see what happens there.......

I know the rock is working close with wwe atm about guest hosting and other stuff out of the ring.. I read he will appear at summerslam.. but we want WM !!

Rock dont wanna wrestle Cena i think he has said this in an interview

I know, but this was before all this talk of him coming back on some sort of out of ring thing... now it looks like they might fight. but summerslam :/ f**k that lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I really really hope they go for a HHH Vs HBK mania match. It will be another showstealer for HBK, and HHH gets to say he was in the MOTN. I hope they can set this up at Elimination Chamber somehow.

But presumably Trippers wins the title there, leaving him to main event with someone else.

akenny01 wrote: »
    I know, but this was before all this talk of him coming back on some sort of out of ring thing... now it looks like they might fight. but summerslam :/ f**k that lol

i guess Cena V Rock would be a huge draw

i can wait to see back as guest host of Raw hopefully soon - i would love to see his promo on Punk and Sheamus

I'm lookin forward to austin guest hosting raw also,,, its goin to be before wrestlemania... hopefully he will be special guest ref again at WM this year....

Bret Hart vs Vince ( austin special guest ref ) that would be nice

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

just found this online

RackMultipart.7704.0_display_image.jpg

I doubt anyone wants to see Taker V Edge again and Jericho V Edge is being built nicely so i hope it does happen at WM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭cena

do ye think there well be a rematch at this years wrestlemania.

last years was such a great match. I don't remember when i last got worked up over a match. I was so into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i love a triple threat with hhh vs hbk vs taker which could be possible the way there building things with hhh being mad with hbk

The Wrestling Observer is reporting that the official theme song for WrestleMania 26 will be "I Made It" by Kevin Rudolph. "Let It Rock," another song by Rudolph, was the theme song for the 2009 Royal Rumble.

It was revealed on RAW that Edge will face Chris Jericho at WrestleMania 26 for the World Heavyweight Championship. Edge made his decision after coming to the ring and spearing Jericho.

Also on RAW it was revealed that Shawn Michaels would in fact get a second chance to end The Undertaker's undefeated WrestleMania streak, as it will be Michaels-Taker II at WrestleMania 26. However this time, if HBK loses, his career is over.

And finally, it was announced on RAW that Batista will defend the WWE Championship at WrestleMania 26 against John Cena. Cena won the rights in a match with Batista, where Batista purposely got himself disqualified to put Cena into the match with him at WrestleMania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Also on RAW it was revealed that Shawn Michaels would in fact get a second chance to end The Undertaker's undefeated WrestleMania streak, as it will be Michaels-Taker II at WrestleMania 26. However this time, if HBK loses, his career is over.

While I was initially opposed to the idea, I really don't know who's going to win this one, and that excites me.

Last year, we knew Taker was going to win. Even with all the near falls and Taker looking completely exhausted, Taker was always going to win it.

Now? HBK losing to Taker at WM 2 years running? Not likely. HBK letting Taker be the guy who retires him, while HHH is in some throwaway match with Sheamus? Not likely. But Taker losing the streak? Also not likely. Not having a clean finish in such a huge match? Not likely.

I don't think the match itself will reach the heights of last years, but the fact that its a little harder to tell what is going to happen, could make this match very special to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

The Michaels vs. 'Taker build has been epic. I haven't wanted to see a WWE match so badly as much as I want to see HBK vs. 'Taker.

yes i'm looking forward to taker/hbk now i have no idea whose going to win and it has to be the last match on the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭johnnycnandy

yes i'm looking forward to taker/hbk now i have no idea whose going to win and it has to be the last match on the show

Have to agree. I honestly haven't been this excited about a wrestling match since HBK/Angle at WM 21. The build has been perfect and there's so much on the line. And HBK is always more interesting working heel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

i predict that undertaker will keep the streak, as HHH will turn heel and screw micheals

yes i am wondering will trips will put himself - will he try and add himself to hbk/taker?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

I think mania is coming together well.

They are doing a great build for so many matches. Cena v Batista w vince and bret, Edge v Jericho, HBK v Taker even Punk v Rey is getting a big build up.

Will we get Sheamus v HHH?

DM-ICE wrote: »
    I think mania is coming together well.

What else is their for them? They could add them to Cena v Batista, but that would be silly as Cena and Dave should not need any help in getting their feud over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭michael.etc...

I would have thought so. At first, i thought they'd add them to make Cena/Batista a Four-Way. However, the build-up between Cena and Dave has been coming along so nicely, that I don't think they'd spoil the personal grudge developing.

I also agree that HHH may well face Seamus early on the card, and later screw Michaels. I'm convinced the promo before the rumble where hunter said "there are plenty of other guys for you to compete with", and Micahels said replied "not for me".. was planting the seed. HHH's facial reaction to being completely snubbed by HBK was subtle, but brilliant. Even if it doesn't happen at Mania, I could certainly see that being the spark for an eventual feud.

Rjd2 wrote: »
    What else is their for them? They could add them to Cena v Batista, but that would be silly as Cena and Dave should not need any help in getting their feud over.

I figured Sheamus nailing HHH with the razors edge and then trips pinning sheamus meant this match would happen.

How many matches will mania have anyway,

WHC match
    WWE title match
    Punk v Rey
    HBK v Taker
    Showmiz v ????
    MITB Ladder match
    HHH v Sheamus
    Orton v ???
    Diva's match/something or other

I would have thought so. At first, i thought they'd add them to make Cena/Batista a Four-Way. However, the build-up between Cena and Dave has been coming along so nicely, that I don't think they'd spoil the personal grudge developing.

I also agree that HHH may well face Seamus early on the card, and later screw Michaels. I'm convinced the promo before the rumble where hunter said "there are plenty of other guys for you to compete with", and Micahels said replied "not for me".. was planting the seed. HHH's facial reaction to being completely snubbed by HBK was subtle, but brilliant. Even if it doesn't happen at Mania, I could certainly see that being the spark for an eventual feud.

HBK v HHH one more time, post mania would work. It shows how good they are when I would pay to see them feud again!

As a follow on from that, have we had a face cena v an heel HHH? That could be a big feud if wwe used HHH v HBK to set HHH as a big time heel again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

I'd be thinking Morrison and Truth to be facing ShowMiz.

I was thinking that too.

!

As a follow on from that, have we had a face cena v an heel HHH?

We had for Mania 2006. Some may argue that Hunter was the face in that though. :pac:;):mad:

Rjd2 wrote: »
    We had for Mania 2006. Some may argue that Hunter was the face in that though. :pac:;):mad:

That what i meant. A situation where cena was really over while HHH was really disliked.

Cena's association with bret and then hhh turning on HBK at mania could set that up.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

I actually would rather a HHH vs HBK at WM one more time. I always enjoyed there rivalry

Im making this prediction right now..

Christian to win the MiTB and cashes it in against Edge in the Main Event:pac::pac:

Im making this prediction right now..

Christian to win the MiTB and cashes it in against Edge in the Main Event:pac::pac:

hope this happens also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,814 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

i'd prefer them to give it a slow build. I would even say Edge not winning could be a good move.

Set up an uneasy Edge and Christian against Jericho for a few months - Edge feeling he was robbed of the title win, for whatever reason, and not wanting Christian to take his chance. Christian playing along letting it play out. then when Edge does win it, you could either have Christian cash in immediately or start a bit of back and forth between them, with Christian threatening the cash in on a few occassions.

If you have Edge win AND Christian cash in immediately (assuming he wins MITB) then you end the Edge/Jericho feud way too quickly, and also miss out on the chance to really build an Edge/Christian feud.

Following tonight's Raw, here is the updated card for WWE's Wrestlemania 26 PPV:

WWE World Heavyweight Championship Match
    Chris Jericho (c) vs. Edge

WWE Championship Match
    Batista (c) vs. John Cena

Bret Hart vs Vince McMahon

Streak vs. Career Match
    The Undertaker vs. Shawn Michaels

"Money in the Bank" Ladder Match
    Participants: Christian, Jack Swagger, MVP, Kane, Shelton Benjamin, Dolph Ziggler and 2 Names TBD.

i'd prefer them to give it a slow build. I would even say Edge not winning could be a good move.

Set up an uneasy Edge and Christian against Jericho for a few months - Edge feeling he was robbed of the title win, for whatever reason, and not wanting Christian to take his chance. Christian playing along letting it play out. then when Edge does win it, you could either have Christian cash in immediately or start a bit of back and forth between them, with Christian threatening the cash in on a few occassions.

If you have Edge win AND Christian cash in immediately (assuming he wins MITB) then you end the Edge/Jericho feud way too quickly, and also miss out on the chance to really build an Edge/Christian feud.

Great points but tbh i reckon they'll have him cash it in at Mania for 2 reasons..

1: Nobodies done it at Mania before, and who else would be better to do it against but The Ultimate Opportunist?

2: The MiTB PPV is less than 4 months after Wrestlemania and id imagine they'd want the MiTB briefcase cashed in long before that.. Unless WWE want that PPV built around the winner cashing it in. In that case im totally wrong:pac: But i cant see anyone else winning it but Christian though.

i really hope that wwe learned their mistake from last years money in the bank and let christian win it this year, the crowd wanted him to win it last year but wwe who could've changed plans if they wanted didnt and chose cm punk.

and after last nights raw i'm definitely going to stick with my prediction yesterday that HHH will turn heel and cost micheals the chance to end the streak, which i believe will lead to a match between the 2 at next years wrestlemania.

i really hope that wwe learned their mistake from last years money in the bank and let christian win it this year, the crowd wanted him to win it last year but wwe who could've changed plans if they wanted didnt and chose cm punk.

and after last nights raw i'm definitely going to stick with my prediction yesterday that HHH will turn heel and cost micheals the chance to end the streak, which i believe will lead to a match between the 2 at next years wrestlemania.

If HBK loses he retires so how can he face HHH at next years WM :confused: unless it ends in no contest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

If HBK loses he retires so how can he face HHH at next years WM :confused: unless it ends in no contest

No one ever truly retires. They'd probably throw something in like HBK comes back after a few months or before WM27 saying that since HHH cost him the match, he didn't lose fairly, so shouldn't retire or something like that. Or he'll just come back for one final match against HHH for revenge.

shawn micheals wont retire after mania, he is taking time off, they will find a way to bring him back, my guess is they will use the fact that HHH cost him the match and he didnt lose it fair and square, so after his break he will 'invade' raw looking for revenge until they re-hire him for the match

No one ever truly retires. They'd probably throw something in like HBK comes back after a few months or before WM27 saying that since HHH cost him the match, he didn't lose fairly, so shouldn't retire or something like that. Or he'll just come back for one final match against HHH for revenge.

didnt read your post til after i posted mine, excellant post ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,814 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

an 'unsanctioned' match could be the way to go either, HBK coming back just wanting to rip HHH apart. Would mean the match needed to be one off, but the build up to it could involve HBK interfering in HHH matches, HBK vs HHH confrontations outside arena (at either ones home for instance) and the 'first/final' match could be an "unsanctioned" no-dq street fights.

All could be done under a story line where HBK is still technically retired, non an employee of the WWE, but the fight still happens. Could actually make the match seem more meaningful.

Regardless of that though, I just can't see HHH interfering in the Taker match. I just don't see the match ending non-clean, it would devalue the streak. Taker either has to win clean or lose (reckon it could be lost dirty but that is an iffy one too), I just don't think a dirty win for Taker is either the right way or the way the WWE would go.

no way should hhh be added to hbk's match :mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

no way should hhh be added to hbk's match :mad:

Sheamus will make sure of that.

whoever wins MITB as mentioned earlier will probably cash it in before too long with the new MITB PPV coming only a few months later. It could happen at mania i suppose.