Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charity collectors standing outside shops/ post offices etc

• 12-01-2010 8:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭

The shop I go to most mornings before I go to work has a charity worker standing outside the door every single morning I go there. During the week while it was snowing she was standing there most of the day ffs!

Anyway I was wondering how legal this is exactly? I know she would have to have a permit but surely she can be moved away from standing directly outside the door?

A few times I nearly walked into her on my way out only to have her silently judge me because I didn't give her money. It's really beginning to get on my nerves that I have to nearly dance around her each morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I think you should have an altercation with her.

You know you want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'm surprised the shop doesn't tell her to feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Does she have big baps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭thebiglad

Is it really any worse than Tesco/Dunnes allowing local charities to pack your bags for you.

Much easier to ignore someone outside of a shop than a bag packed for 10 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Knock over the collection bucket..............end of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A few times I nearly walked into her on my way out only to have her silently judge me because I didn't give her money.

You're free to ignore her.. and there's no need to dance around her

no wonder she's judging you =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

easyeason3 wrote: »
    A few times I nearly walked into her on my way out only to have her silently judge me because I didn't give her money. It's really beginning to get on my nerves that I have to nearly dance around her each morning.
    Maybe she's silently judging you because you nearly walked into her ya big ninny! Hows the hell did you nearly walk into someone who has been standing in the same spot every morning since God knows how long. Ridiculous. It's like walking into the Spire. You wouldn't do it because you know exactly where it is. It should be remarkably easy to avoid.

Sorry babes but it's you that's in the wrong. The only thing she done wrong was when she silently judged you. She should have done it out loud.

thebiglad wrote: »
    Is it really any worse than Tesco/Dunnes allowing local charities to pack your bags for you.

Much easier to ignore someone outside of a shop than a bag packed for 10 mins.

Ahh I fcukin hate that, I can pack my own feckin bags!

Trying to force you into giving money, and it's always a bunch of school kids doing it, so you feel obliged to give them something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The shop I go to most mornings before I go to work has a charity worker standing outside the door every single morning I go there.

Unbutton your fly and pull your lad out, then walk towards the door in large side to side steps causing it to swing.
    I find this form of fleshy snow plough very effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Slit her throat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

mikom wrote: »
    Unbutton your fly and pull your lad out, then walk towards the door in large side to side steps causing it to swing.
    I find this form of fleshy snow plough very effective.

Oh how the worm has turned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭jaysusjones

A "No, Thank you" with a Smile should Suffice, if they take issue with anything after that- Its their issue.

I think any acknowledgement of their existence goes a long way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I hate this, especially if you ignore them and they tell you to have a nice day. I always feel like turning around and telling them where to go but I'm not that brave!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

There's these two people in town, permanently there. They come right up into your face, "GIZZA QUID FOR THE KIDS". Every time I'm there, without fail. The once, I walked past them ignoring their demands. They asked a mate my name and chased me shouting "TOM! CHARITY!".

Yeah, they really seem like genuine charity collectors...

I give to charity if I've got change though. But it depends on what the charity's for. A cancer charity is something I wouldn't hesitate to donate to; a 'save the pandas' thing, I'd be less likely.

Charity should be up to the individual. If someone wants to donate, they will.. coming up into their face and asking won't help, if anything, it'll hinder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I think you should have an altercation with her.

You know you want to.
    You couldnt do that with such a nice lady!! :(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Right. In the morning I'm going to go in to the shop for my cup of warm murky water they pass off as coffee & then on the way out I will be the one to throw the looks & eyeball the charity worker.
    I WILL JUDGE HER!

and if that fails I'll probably just drop eye contact & pretend that my phone is ringing, she knows the drill as well as I do now.

You couldnt do that with such a nice lady!! :(:(

Back of the hand is what that one needs.

Bunch of scam artists.

Why don't I give you money out of my pocket on top of the taxes that go towards what the state is giving you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

During the week while it was snowing she was standing there most of the day ffs!

How do you know if you were in work?

stovelid wrote: »
    How do you know if you were in work?

There's a few of us that use that shop & I'm not the only one talking about her & I had to pop out a few times to get stuff so I would have passed her.
    Then there were the times when I had nothing better to do but gaze out of the window & I was just about able to see her in the distance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

There's a few of us that use that shop & I'm not the only one talking about her & I had to pop out a few times to get stuff so I would have passed her.
    Then there were the times when I had nothing better to do but gaze out of the window & I was just about able to see her in the distance.

The work day must just fly past.

stovelid wrote: »
    The work day must just fly past.

It does actually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭babychuckles

from personal experience i know it is very hard to get a collection permit and to have one for "every day of a week" seems a bit unusual.
    You are entitled to ask to see a collection permit from any person collecting for a charity and on it it will have the issuing garda station, a garda stamp and the name of the garda that signed it and the dates that it covers. And it should be easy to ring the garda station to check its validity once the garda that signed it is on duty that is.
    Hope this helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Anyway I was wondering how legal this is exactly? I know she would have to have a permit but surely she can be moved away from standing directly outside the door?
    The permit is per street or postal address afaik. Beyond that, they're not allowed cause unreasonable obstruction.
    For ex, the local Spar started putting trolleys on either side of the door and because the path is only about twice their width anyway, yer wan couldn't stay standing in front of the Spar, she moved up the road to the Supervalu. :D
    Tbh though, I can't imagine any store manager wanting the hassle of getting a name for moving on charity collectors. Esp in a small town it could do more harm than good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Ah, just give her a few quid & don't be so scabby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Ah, just give her a few quid & don't be so scabby.

Oooooh....... No recession here......:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ask her how much money she collects a week and then how much the charity is paying her

Then ask if the money you're contributing is indirectly paying for her meal out on Saturday night or a bottle of wine on a night in.
    All charities have admin costs and overheads. I don't expect them to go paying collectors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

Yeah I hate chuggers. They work off commission so I never give to them. If I want to donate money I do it directly to the charity. On a related note, what do you say to them when they speak to you... I always use my 'I'm in a hurry' face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

ashyle wrote: »
    Yeah I hate chuggers. They work off commission so I never give to them. If I want to donate money I do it directly to the charity. On a related note, what do you say to them when they speak to you... I always use my 'I'm in a hurry' face.
    If it's rainy, say "Sure, walk with me and I'll give you my details." String them along for as much as possible to get the use of their massive golf umbrellas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Not sure if there is a loitering law in Ireland per se, other than loitering to solicit prostitution.

So, try and get her to solicit you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Oooooh....... No recession here......:P

5 Rand coins aren't here for nothing!