Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Facebook is ****e now

• 12-01-2010 4:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone notice how Facebook used to be cool?
    • It was skanger free
    • Only people you actually like were on it
    • It didn't have any stoopid non-sensical groups/quizzes/games or "Copy this onto yous status and you'll get a kiss from someone you love... etc...",
    • No kids were on it
    • It didn't have ****ing FARMVILLE!!!!
    • There was no txt spk (skangers).
    Now, it's the exact opposite!

Everyone was on Bebo. It was the cool thing.

Then some went to facebook because it was free from all those things above and was, for want of a better word, trendy.

The saps stayed at Bebo and had their way.

But now eveyone is attacking Facebook with their illiterate chatter and their stoopid non-sensical groups/quizzes/games and ruining it. People I hate are adding me, and then complaining when I don't accept them.

What's gonna be the next thing they ruin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Myspace had similar issues. All the brains went to facebook. Now it's a terrible place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

My facebook is grand because I dont add people that I don't know/like and my friends aren't losers who copy and paste things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

They'll ruin boards by talking about Facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shatners basoon

They're calling up to ruin your couch right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Fago_25 wrote: »

Boards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

All of these social networking sites are annoying.

Dancor wrote: »

who do you think you are copying my post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Pfft Facebook................im on it but i couldnt be arsed using it. Mafia Wars and Farmville can go and fcuk itself.....

...hows that for a status update.

I'm with ya OP. I just block any annoying people from my news feed! And block all games and stupid apps invitations too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 trixybell

i agree facebook has gone ridiculous! i looked at a friend of mines page i went to college with and it said i was his top follower!!! what the hell!!:mad::mad::eek::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I passively drop 'friends' :pac:

I add them if they request it then drop them a few weeks/months down the line. It takes them a while to figure this out. But they are generally ones who don't contribute anyway. Feck that if you are going to nosey into my life, we feckin hated each other in school anyway...:confused:
    I especially drop people with 250-300+ 'friends'.

They are the type of saddos that try to look popular. Same way with bebo & profile visits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Not again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

And so it's begun....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

I didn't realise there was another thread on the topic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

**** TEXTSPEAK!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

dsmythy wrote: »
    And so it's begun....

Was that a deep status update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Hate the thing... it's gone me in serious trouble before and caused far too many fall-outs.

It was good when I first joined, around Feb/March 2008; since then they've changed the lay-out a few times and added ridiculous 'applications'. Used to be good. :(

I've only a small number of people I don't know (i.e. Boardsies), don't see the problem with that. Having family is another thing though. Deleted mom, dad and uncles. They really don't need to see the stuff I put on there

Facebook is just Twitter with a few extra features..

I've hidden so many people and every single app that comes up on news feed. Even if it's the best app in the world, I won't know about it because it's gone straight away.. And if you keep posting complete tripe, you're hidden aswell.

Doing the above keeps it somewhat usable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Jesus, the sooner this place gets a facebook forum the better. If you don't like facebook, don't use it. I like it, I use it. Why the **** would you come on here whinging about it, not going to achieve anything now is it?

Edit; Could you not have posted this in the other facebook thread?

fullstop wrote: »
    Jesus, the sooner this place gets a facebook forum the better. If you don't like facebook, don't use it. I like it, I use it. Why the **** would you come on here whinging about it, not going to achieve anything now is it?

2 pages of posts agreeing with OP means the thread gets the general thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

What are you going to do about it?

2 pages of posts agreeing with OP means the thread gets the general thumbs up.

I don't see 2 pages agreeing with him....maybe I should change to 5 posts per page.

Fine, wait a couple of mins and you'll have your 2 pages worth.

You know what I meant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Now, it's the exact opposite!
    Everyone was on Bebo. It was the cool thing.

But now eveyone is attacking Facebook with their illiterate chatter and their stoopid non-sensical groups/quizzes/games and ruining it. People I hate are adding me, and then complaining when I don't accept them.

Mikom has sent you a violin via whinge-ville.

Do you wish to accept or ignore/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's a social network of people that you added or accepted as friends. They are the ones that produce content. Facebook just facilitates it.

If you're annoyed by the fact it's becoming moronic, purge your moronic mates.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

• It was skanger free
    • There was no txt spk (skangers).
    You generally only see things your friends say, so stop being friends with skangers?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

SROUSLY I CN ALREADY SEE IT HPPNNG WHR PRPR WLL FRMD SNTNCS R SHRTND INT GRBL. BFR WE KNW IT WE WLL BE AL TLKNG LKE THS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

vote with your browser address bar.

What are you going to do about it?

why don't you request to be my friend, then you'll see.

because I wont accept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

because I wont accept.
    Oooh FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!

Edit; Could you not have posted this in the other facebook thread?

Why whinge? Because I ****ing want to.

And obviously I didn't see the other thread.
    You generally only see things your friends say, so stop being friends with skangers?

Good point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

SROUSLY I CN ALREADY SEE IT HPPNNG WHR PRPR WLL FRMD SNTNCS R SHRTND INT GRBL. BFR WE KNW IT WE WLL BE AL TLKNG LKE THS

That's not text speak, that's just silly.

What is this "PRPR" you speak of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

That's not text speak, that's just silly.

What is this "PRPR" you speak of?

it's a "pair of pears" in TXT SPK!

Why whinge? Because I ****ing want to.

Good point.

Is that not what R&R is for?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I knew my not having a Facebook profile would lead to me being trendy again one day.

WP me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Pretty much the only reason why I started using it was to keep in touch with people who I have met while on my travels.

Last year I hooked up with two of the hottest women I've ever met, so I like to keep in touch. Facebook facilitates this need nicely! Sure wasn't I only speaking to one of them a few hours ago. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Fizman wrote: »

Last year I hooked up with two of the hottest women I've ever met, so I like to keep in touch.

Old lefty and righty ................... you don't need Facebook to keep in touch with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

mikom wrote: »
    Old lefty and righty ................... you don't need Facebook to keep in touch with them.

Well played Sir, well played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

hopefully social networking will die!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Kipling

facebook and bebo were never cool!

Grimes wrote: »
    hopefully social networking will die!

Nah. Hopefully skangers die!

Or ALL get arrested:

http://images.encyclopediadramatica.com/images/thumb/f/f0/Garda_on_ground.jpg/240px-Garda_on_ground.jpg
    Kipling wrote: »

Says he fella with less then 20 boards posts!

You can't judge on what COOL is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Was it? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭Fo Real

Kipling wrote: »

http://img710.imageshack.us/img710/2061/grmps.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Fo Real wrote: »

Hehe, they don't care for most things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I bet you still logged in today.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

:mad:NOBODY EVER INVITES ME TO COME ON THEIR FACE book

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Posting random stuff on the internet is for losers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

When was facebook not ****e ?

Answer - it was always ****e

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'm having great craic on Facebook today, winding up my ex and her dopey friends.

It's way more fun than any app :cool: