Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are the things you like about living in Ireland?

• 11-01-2010 8:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭

In general, most Irish people ejaculate by bitchin & moanin about the country, its government and its weather mostly. And yet we are still a happy people.

What are the little things that make us think that this is still one of the best places in the world to live in tough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

It's easy to get people bitching and moaning about things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Ejaculating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sweeping generalisations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Its where my house is located.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The Weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭drunken_munky52

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Sweeping generalisations.

Well I was been specific anyway!

It's easy to get people bitching and moaning about things.

Why is that a good thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭MultiUmm

probably sounds a little bit cheesy, but there is some stunning scenery in the country.

kerry is one of my favourite places in the world, astounding landscape.

although being from cork i always feel a little dirty after saying that... :D:p

forgot to mention that irish music is brilliant as well, there's a wealth of fantastic songs to be found if you look for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

I like how the whole country comes to a standstill when it snows and people dont know what to do:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

The people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'm just in it for the Gulf Stream tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

The stink of Dublin, there's nothing like it. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

One thing I've always been happy about living in Ireland is that Ireland is not involved in any wars. I'd hate to be living in a country like Isreal or somewhere in the Middle East. I think we can count ourselves lucky that we're fortunate enough not to be involved in conflicts. Although some might say the peacekeeping missions get us involved but let's not kid ourselves. I really feel happy at the fact that I was born and living in a country that hasn't been in a war, since the War for Independence.

Anothing thing I like about living in Ireland, is that it's no different to living anywhere else. People on here bitch and moan about everything, that it really makes Ireland sound like the worst place in the world, but that's not the case. Ireland is still a reletively good country to live in, yes there are problems here but there are problems everywhere people just take things for granted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Tayto cheese and onion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

The food, the craic, the banter and the unpredictable weather!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Well I was been specific anyway!

Fair play to you. But it's generally regarded as good manners if you give your own point of view/opinion when asking the type of question you posted in your OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

In general, most Irish people ejaculate by bitchin & moanin about the country, its government and its weather mostly. And yet we are still a happy people.

What are the little things that make us think that this is still one of the best places in the world to live in tough?

Thats not how I ejaculate my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Tayto cheese and onion

Tayto Salt and Vinegar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Leprechauns, the weather and the marvelous way the country is governed. Can't think of anything else, actually there isn't anything else..........sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 irish_hotspur

no snakes or dangerous spiders, no volcanos or eathquakes,decent climate.........oh and nice pint of guinness :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

MultiUmm wrote: »
    kerry is one of my favourite places in the world, astounding landscape.
    It feels better letting the truth out doesn't it :P

I like the way we can critise others without much of a fear of being sued.

Riddle101 wrote: »

Anothing thing I like about living in Ireland, is that it's no different to living anywhere else. People on here bitch and moan about everything, that it really makes Ireland sound like the worst place in the world, but that's not the case. Ireland is still a reletively good country to live in, yes there are problems here but there are problems everywhere people just take things for granted.

Your right about the peace. I think that been a nuetral country also makes us alot more calmer and stress free than other countries, and yet we still love the drama of kicking up a fuss.

It really annoys me to hear people quoting the reasons why they want to move abroad saying "getting out of this sh!thole" etc

TheZohan wrote: »
    Fair play to you. But it's generally regarded as good manners if you give your own point of view/opinion when asking the type of question you posted in your OP.

Sure Zohan, will keep that in mind for the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭ferdyfish

Tayto Salt and Vinegar
    ma reillys cheese and onion! anyone remember them in th ninties? ya a diet of TK red lemonadeand ma riellys was the biz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

Good sense of humour. That guy's hat on the news and then the fella falling over, we're good at ripping the piss out of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

One thing I've always been happy about living in Ireland is that Ireland is not involved in any wars. I'd hate to be living in a country like Isreal or somewhere in the Middle East. I think we can count ourselves lucky that we're fortunate enough not to be involved in conflicts. Although some might say the peacekeeping missions get us involved but let's not kid ourselves. I really feel happy at the fact that I was born and living in a country that hasn't been in a war, since the War for Independence.

As someone said to me recently, there would have been a revolution here years ago if we could get someone else to do it! There will never be a war in this country because they'd spend the next 40 years talking about doing it and debating to pros and cons of it and would forget what we were fighting about in the first place.

The craic on nights out.

The way you always know someone who knows someone who will solve a problem, give you a job, get you something on the cheap etc etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Gaelic football, hurling, camogie and handball.
    I love that we have our own national sports that other countries don't generally play. It gives us an identity within our sporting culture that is completely different from the imported sports.

Plus the games are always good for a piss up.

I suppose also, we can have a conversation comfortably with a person we just met. We are good with eye contact, etc. Most cultures, eye contact at first is considered rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

i love how this country shuts down after 5mm of snow.

I also love how our "ahh sure its grand" attitude to the snow will mean that next time it snows we will have the same result - more shutting down of the country!

Sure isnt it grand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

Home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

They are things here that you just can't easily get anyway else. Like Tayto crisps, you'll miss those when your living abroad. ( I know I would )

To be honest, I think that would be one of the few things I'd miss if / when I leave the country. Chances are I'd get homesick but still, can't think of many positives to be quite honest. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭jif

because its home, and the grass is always greener. And the people who moan would still be miserable if they got to live somewhere else cause there just moaners pure and simple. You can take the moaner out of Ireland, but you cant take moaning out of the irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

I like that the country is so small that you can go to a party knowing nobody but it turns out ya probably went to school with half of them and the other half of them turn out to be related to you..everyone knows everyone in this place!

Also as Dara O'Briain once said the Irish people feel proud over the smallest things...like fyffes being the biggest exporter of bananas in Europe even though Ireland doesnt grow bananas (its and Irish company now although it was set up in London)
    ..im proud of that weirdly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

The things I love are some of the things I hate about Ireland

1. Everybody knows each other. You could probably be in outer Mongolia trekking and bump into your neighbours cousin. No other nationality on the planet experiences this phenomena.

2. Nights out are not the same anywhere else in the world.

3. We are very laissez faire when it comes to doing things, "ara sure I'll do it tomorrow".

4. The way we speak English.

4. Irish humour.

5. Irish weather.

6. Food and Tea.

7. Gossip/Scandal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Neighbours and the constancy of the same people and same families living all around me. If I were to single one organisation for supporting this strong sense of community it would definitely be the GAA. The chats about matches, about matches in the past and about great players and the history of areas and families. Banners going up in entire communities when the local team makes it to the county final. There's just great solidarity and colour around it all.

And I am really moved how Irish people get around to support you and your family when there is a death. There is something truly transcending at those times. People you might never see all year turn up to offer a simple "I'm sorry for your troubles". You only realise then how much your family member was loved and respected. This huge empathy in death or tragedy is a great, great part of our culture. Long may we cherish it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Bajingo wrote: »
    like fyffes being the biggest exporter of bananas in Europe

Thats amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

I love the food in Ireland - especially the basics like bread, butter, milk, crisps... they get them so wrong in other countries.
    I love our sense of humour, the way there's like 2 degrees of separation between every person in the country, and I love Irish men!
    Most of all I love the smallness of Ireland... I was in California and it took 9 hours to drive on a bus from LA to San Francisco, it did not compute!!
    Also the smallness makes Irish cities so easy to navigate. When I went to London the first time, I was all 'So where's the city centre?'

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Thats amazing.

..and we import all the bananas..just to export them again..it's brilliant! Off topic bit over..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

I love when the fire alarm goes in places..

and not one irish person budges..

its gas hahaha!

people jus look left and right..

if its not in there view..

its not happenin haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭nanu nanu

Has to be getting the train home, crammed in but warm, especially after waiting in the freezing cold for an age. Oh and Guinness.

Dionysus wrote: »
    And I am really moved how Irish people get around to support you and your family when there is a death. There is something truly transcending at those times. People you might never see all year turn up to offer a simple "I'm sorry for your troubles". You only realise then how much your family member was loved and respected. This huge empathy in death or tragedy is a great, great part of our culture. Long may we cherish it.

Totally agree. Even simple things like a friend bringing a cassarole around, making sure the essentials are being taken care of! Saw this in action when my Granny died years ago, people just rallied around me & my family, I'll never forget the feeling, it stays with you for life I say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭watsdstory22

gaeilge - every one can manage a scentence or 2 when abroad & very useful in certain situations!!!haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

gaeilge - every one can manage a scentence or 2 when abroad & very useful in certain situations!!!haha

Is maith liom buachaill!!
    ni maith liom cailini!

or...

''HOWIYA''

hahha

ashyle wrote: »
    Totally agree. Even simple things like a friend bringing a cassarole around, making sure the essentials are being taken care of! Saw this in action when my Granny died years ago, people just rallied around me & my family, I'll never forget the feeling, it stays with you for life I say!

Irish funerals are something else in a way... we are good at moving on... even at funerals you will see people joking and laughing with each other.

For the most part this very true..ive been at very weepy funerals but also one's where people are more 'cheery'..

I remember my friend telling me that his granny had dies and the wake was in her house. During the wake the phone rings and his dad answers, its one of the grannys nephews from Aussie.

Anyway, the nephew asks how the granny is and his da replies 'ah she's not to bad'! As ya would say when anyone asks how someones doing..he then copped on to what he said and the whole place was in stiches..the Irish are great for this kind of thing..

Yeah, we're never ones to be all 'stiff upper lip'!

What about the typical Irish wedding? Are we a fan of these?

I know I'm really like them once drinking begins and you end up dancing with beautifully dressed strangers to The Siege of Ennis

Oddly I've been to loads of funerals and no weddings... Maybe Ireland isn't so great to us 'living' in Ireland haha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Dionysus wrote: »

that's only because they want an excuse to go to the funeral. It amazes me how an Irish funeral is a bigger piss up than a wedding.

The things I love about Ireland:-

The scum haven't taken over yet, there are still young people who respect their elders and "Old fashioned" manners can still be found.

If you go outside for a smoke and there is someone else in the smoking shelter, by the time you finished your smoke you are best friends.

The amazing ability anyone and everyone who has any form of political authority in this country manages to make a complete and utter arse of themselves every time they open their mouth and the fact people vote for them again and again, because "Ahh shure, my Dah always voted for him and he was very kind to my Granny when she met him 36 years ago."