Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

G36 to SL-8 conversion?

• 11-01-2010 7:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭

Ok. I was wondering lately is it possible to turn a G36 into a SL-8? It *looks* like all one has to do is swap out the stock and pistol grip/ fire control part... But is it actually possible? I want to make a 'short' SL-8 out of my G36c as a project and mount the G36k scope/carry handle on her along with the usual bipod, suppressor, VFC AN/PEQ-15, surefire, etc.

Also if I was to do said conversion (Provided it was possible to do), can I reverse it by just swapping back the parts?

Any ideas? Ger? Richie? Sam? I think it would be a 'fun' project to do :)

Or am I better off just saving up for a proper SL-8? You see, I think a SL-8 Compact could just be a fun toy to mess with :)

Thanks in advance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

There's a conversion kit available, but otherwise I'm not sure if you could get just the stock seperately, as the stock, pistol grip, etc is all one piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Phractal

Ger: If I could thank you a million times I would. THat is pretty much what I was looking for, even if it is a bit pricy... Then again I may have an idea coming on - Buy the CA SL-8 (like the one shown HERE http://www.midwestairsofters.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=211&Itemid=36), mix and match bits and pieces, upgrading them until... one has a G36c length SL-8 and a full size long G36. Buy an extra scope rail and you are ready to rock and roll...

Does that sound feasable?

Wait - see http://www.airsoftforum.com/board/lofiversion/index.php/t128284.html see the photo on that page? THAT is what I am after, except with the scoped top rail/ carry handle assembly.

OH now THIS is awesome: http://sfsairsoft.foroes.net/articulos-tecnicos-y-bricomania-f12/proyecto-locura-como-hacer-una-g36-bullpup-t329-15.htm except its in spanish ans it aint the most good looking... But it is STILL awesome.

http://www.airsoftforum.com/board/Post-Pics-G36-Variant-t137624.html has some other pics.

Don't buy CA, Thermo bought a CA aeg, and it shredded the piston on its first outing...

Ow! Poor guy! However I merely suggested the CA as a source of external parts - I would be junking/ putting away the mechbox and such as I would be getting a higher quality internals for my DMR baby!

Check out the bullpup G36c I posted when I edited my above post... I am tempted to get another G36c just to mod it like THAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭Stonewolf

What's the magwell on the SL-8 like?

They're not meant to be able to accept regular G36 mags but I'm not sure if that just means they internally can't take stacked or if the Magwell shape is slightly different.

Just wondering as the conversion kit appears to use the standard Magwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

pretty sure they use the same mags, just the SL mags are the short one, you can always get the Stang Mag adaptor and just use short VN mags like tis one

kit_015312137756054858bef5d0648.jpg

you loose about 5-6 bbs per mag, use it in my G36, just means i didn't have to buy a load of G36 mids as well :D

SL-8 and G36 mags in airsoft are interchangeable IIRC.

Now I have been thinking...That G36c Bullpup conversion is fairly awesome, and with a little bit of more shiny bits (microswitch trigger, MOSFET, V-ROF unit... Or whatever electronic goodness you want) and upgraged internals, yada yada yada... It could become a bloody epic weapon for CQB. Put one of em mag adaptors in for STANAG mags and you have a rather beautiful H&K style... Bullpup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Don't buy CA, Thermo bought a CA aeg, and it shredded the piston on its first outing...

Ah knock it off... you sound like Richie.

I had a CA36 stock for two years, and it was absolutely bloody fine.

Sl8 is tough, You get the kit, or you get the CA, or the STAR. Either way, its probably cheaper to buy a CA, and then the parts to convert back to a g36. Although the reciver is different at the back, but the motor and gearbox slot into either willy nilly.

Sl8s, also, Take g36 mags. they USE a short 10 round clip, which is buyable from ehobby for the gun (takes 20 in airsoft), a stanag adaptor and vn would look wrong... But yes, it does take g36 mags, and the short ones are available to buy for not much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

if the worst thing you have to worry about is a doggy piston then people need to re-evaluate :) bought a lot of stuff where i;ve replaced far far more out of the box

I thought the RS one wasn't supposed to be able to accept standard G36 ones.

Ok, according to the incredibly reliable source (wikipedia) this only applies to SL8s destined for the US market which accept only single stacked 10 round magazines and can't use double stacked 30 round ones because of anti-Assault Rifle laws. America is a strange place.

Stonewolf wrote: »
    I thought the RS one wasn't supposed to be able to accept standard G36 ones.

Ok, according to the incredibly reliable source (wikipedia) this only applies to SL8s destined for the US market which accept only single stacked 10 round magazines and can't use double stacked 30 round ones because of anti-Assault Rifle laws. America is a strange place.

Its not

The airsoft one isnt the real steal one.

And since when has wikipedia EVER been a reputable source?

Yes, the sl8 is a civilianisation of the sl9 sniper rifle. Its made that way on purpose for the us market. like the UMP weirdo thingy... and the PS90. Funnily, this is airsoft, and it takes the same ones because different ones has what purpose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Stonewolf wrote: »
    Ok, according to the incredibly reliable source (wikipedia)

I *really* hope that you aren't in college Stonewolf. Further, I really hope that if you are, your lecturers don't see what you just said. Wikipedia is about as reliable as a using a hairdrier in a bathtub. If they read that, you will be skinned alive with the next paper you hand up.

Also, you know that the whole point of wiki's is that anybody can edit them. Hence their remarkable unreliability. They [Wiki boards] can often be correct due to peer-review which is how they are intended to work; alas unfortunately in the scope of the internet this lauded notion fails to take into account human nature, ego, and ulterior agenda. Hence the unreliability. Case in point; go check the history of "airsoft" on wikipedia in context of Ireland.

Firekitten wrote: »
    Ah knock it off... you sound like Richie.
    Ah here, that was mean.:(

Then dont parrot, and I wont say it :)

Hmmm. I think I will go for the CA SL-8 as that means I will have all the parts I need for my two 'mongrel' guns :)

I am starting gathering funds for it now, and once I can afford it I am going to go for it. However, I am half tempted to put that on the long finger to try a Bullpup G36c build like in the link I posted.

I hear a lot said regarding CA gear. Some good, some bad. Kinda like the Ares TAR-21 eh? Some people get lemons and make a lotta noise about it, others get ones that work perfect.

Phractal wrote: »
    Hmmm. I think I will go for the CA SL-8 as that means I will have all the parts I need for my two 'mongrel' guns :)

I am starting gathering funds for it now, and once I can afford it I am going to go for it. However, I am half tempted to put that on the long finger to try a Bullpup G36c build like in the link I posted.

I hear a lot said regarding CA gear. Some good, some bad. Kinda like the Ares TAR-21 eh? Some people get lemons and make a lotta noise about it, others get ones that work perfect.

Oddly enough, the only noise about CA being crap, is in ireland. its Never come up in england... whether people just cop the feck on and fix something, i dont know... Either way... it seems ireland gets terriblely bad luck in all these different brands being ****... and g&g being awesome.... really bad luck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Thats not true at all. CA has a universal reputation for lack of quality.

In particular the SL8 I can comment on, as I owned one. and internally its a piece of cr@p.

The gearbox as per usual for a CA is really poor, bad shell, weak gears. the legendary "cheese2 piston. and to top all that off, the material they made the SP8 from is brittle and doesn't take much abuse at all.

Take what ya like from that opinion, but thats as an owner of said rifle.,

2389572947_d56124d872.jpg

PS, you'll notice the fire selector is missing in that pic, yet another poorly made part that i lost very soon after getting it.,

Richie: Is the Armalite that CA CQB thingy you reviewed for Take Aim recently?

I'll think about whether or not to get the CA SL-8 for parts, its a coin toss between that and a parts kit. Its also a coin toss between buying another G36c to make a Bullpup, or going the SL-8 route.

Anyone got any opinions on that bullpup thing?

that armalite is actually a 416, the vfc,.:)

i wouuldnt even use the CA as a donor as the main body is too brittle, id rather go with the Star instead.,

Masada wrote: »
    Thats not true at all. CA has a universal reputation for lack of quality.
    Really? Where? Where else but Ireland? Because the rest of the world quite Like CA rifles... they have had a repuation for quality infact. Sportline no... normal yes.

I believe its just 'cos most CA here is sportline :) (at least thats my guess)

Well the STAR is most likely some ridiculous price FAR out of my reach...

Looks like I will end up going with the parts kit BUT first I will have a mess around with a CA SL-8 to see if it is OK for the job.

uk, northern Ireland, america ect etc,.

airsoftforum.com, arnies etc are all proof of that,.

I believe its just 'cos most CA here is sportline :) (at least thats my guess)

Well the STAR is most likely some ridiculous price FAR out of my reach...

Looks like I will end up going with the parts kit BUT first I will have a mess around with a CA SL-8 to see if it is OK for the job.

Sportsline is cr@p, but we've had CA brand since long before the sportsline camy about.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

Sportsline is cr@p, but we've had CA brand since long before the sportsline camy about.,

In fairness though, they were pretty good before the Sportsline. One of my first rifles was a CA M16 that never let me down.

Even the first batch of Sportslines were pretty decent. Something just went wrong about 4 months after the launch of the Sportsline, and their QA reputation plummeted.

LOL Tony was that the one with the M203 you sold to yerman from (IIRC) the Ghosts?

Hmmm I am hearing lots of mixed about the CA stuff. One mate of mine swears by his CA MP5. Another, having a CA 36K, swears AT it a lot. Odd...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

LOL Tony was that the one with the M203 you sold to yerman from (IIRC) the Ghosts?

Hmmm I am hearing lots of mixed about the CA stuff. One mate of mine swears by his CA MP5. Another, having a CA 36K, swears AT it a lot. Odd...

Yeah, and then he went and sold it on.
    I want it back, and I'm currently working on its new owner :)

And dont get me wrong...that wasn't an endorsement of Classic Army by any stretch of the imagination. They used to be great, now in my opinion they're crap. Anything more than about two years old is probably ok, bar normal wear and tear.

I was badly burned by the amount of returns I had of both sportslines and prolines when we first opened the physical shop, all of them with gear and piston problems. And so were a few other retailers who were able to return them to their supplier, for credit, although they wont admit it :)

Unfortunately my supplier screwed me over, but thats another story that most longtime boards users are familiar with and no doubt are bored hearing about. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

TBH, lets not also forget that if you use, abuse, and then neglect your kit of course it's going to develop a case of temperamental-itus. There's also how often you use your kit as well and what sort of play-style you give it. Any complaint of "I had a CA and it broke as soon as I touched it" can be applied to many other brands as well. Sometimes you suffer from bad luck.

Out of the following assault rifles; guess which is the reliable gun I use time and time again;
    • CA Steyr AUG
    • VFC Scar-L
    • CA m15A4

The correct answer is the m15A4; having only ever been serviced one, a fwe months ago by Stercius. Now, this is despite being loaned to friends for skirmishes and generally treated with dogs abuse. The Steyr, to its credit is only not in use because I took it apart and bless the poor dear it hasn't been right since (and of course all my midcaps are missing and I hate hicaps; hint hint retailers. There's an order in there somewhere). The VFC now .... there's a curious one. Worked a charm, until one day deciding it didn't want to. And has been temperamental-at-best since. Which is a pity, as much as I like it.

So clearly, I mean ... one can only reach one conclusion in the court of public opinion. [please put sarcasm glasses on now]VFC are terrible and we should never buy from them again[/end sarcasm alert]

But clearly, I mean, all of this can't be so. I mean ... CA are sh*t right? So how can it be that I have not one, but TWO CA AEGs that have proven themselves reliable time and again. Further, how come others have also attested to the reliability of CA guns that they have owned. I wont name folks, instead letting them decide if they want to post. They have done in the past if you want to waste your time searching.

So .... I suspect answers sit somewhere in the middle of all of this pantomine "oh yes it is, oh no it isn't" crap. *I'm not suggesting we all run out and buy CA. Nor am I suggesting we pillory them either. Make up your own minds folks.

I have a second hand CA G36K and it's reliable enough but ...

The receiver has a bend towards the right in the middle. Not so much as you'd notice without looking very closely (or indeed the way I found out, by taking the barrel out). Now, I'm not sure how this happened but it's not exactly confidence inspiring. In general I don't like the finish on it anyway (crappy black plastic fake bolt carrier, ew), and the trades aren't great. You can't even blame sportsline for its flaws since it's a proline.

I also have a STAR I also got second hand and it's been a little flawed since day one and has just gotten more and more and more flawed ever since but the finish is lovely and it feels like a quality piece. I ordered an ARES and maybe it might even arrive before the end of time but for now the CA "does fine" (so long as you aim left a bit).

Also, you would think calling wikipedia "the incredibly reliable source" would be sufficiently sarcastic that even typing on the internet couldn't mask it. Also afaik the SL9 is entirely made up by airsoft companies.

http://www.hkpro.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=93:sl9sd&catid=10:the-sniper-rifles&Itemid=5

What was that:?

You know, i'd be entirely happy to belive your wiki comment was sarcasm if anything you said was right.

Remember the 'oh the sl8 takes single stack 10 round mags its got a different mag well'

No it doesn't. The sl8 takes high capacity double stack 30 rounders just like it takes the short mags. the Sl8-1 However, is the ATF modified limited version you had in mind.

Plus, the ca build quality I liked... the nylon fiber was a far more realistic finish than tm, Jg, or the ares bodies... ARMY code aftermarket recvers were really the only better option, still are imo.

And how is it slightly bent? did someone sluightly drop it or slightly stand on it? You said yourself ita second hand gun, yet you blame a problem that is clearly user, on the manufacturer....

*Sighs*

Feckin Internet

Someone, for 10 points, tell me why the SL9 in my link has the long scope rail? The article itself says no purpose... if someone can tell me I will feel less crap about this day already.

*goes back to her coffee*

http://www.hkpro.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=93:sl9sd&catid=10:the-sniper-rifles&Itemid=5

What was that:?

You know, i'd be entirely happy to belive your wiki comment was sarcasm if anything you said was right.

Remember the 'oh the sl8 takes single stack 10 round mags its got a different mag well'

No it doesn't. The sl8 takes high capacity double stack 30 rounders just like it takes the short mags. the Sl8-1 However, is the ATF modified limited version you had in mind.

Theres a version of the SL8 that can take regular 30rd G36 magazines but the rifle, as designed for the American market as a civilian G36 where military spec weapons cant be sold in most places, is specifically made not to accept G36s mags.

Not true...

The sl8 was developed for the german reserve forces as a basic training rifle.

It accepts 30 round magazings. The sl8-1, that version, sold for the american market, however, is 10 round, single stack.

http://www.militaryfactory.com/smallarms/detail.asp?smallarms_id=250 <- HK Spec and History.

Edit: I just checked wikipedia too... first stop for 'i saw it on the internet it must be true!' types, this ALSO states, it was originally for the german market, and a us version produced. So even a cursory google would have turned up the facts.

What the feck is it with stating presumptions and misconceptions as bloody fact in this place?

Good question, and one you could probably answer.,

what about the "reputable" site you linked to earlier? (linking to the wrong rifle)
    http://www.hkpro.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=15:the-sl8&catid=13:the-sporting-rifles&Itemid=5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

lots of funny stuff said on this thread,,,,,,,,,,

CA are good ha ha ha
    and "bullpup g36's",,,,,,,,,, a g36 is not a bullpup,,,,,,

a good read keep it up folks!

As usual the thread is brought down by Masada and Firekitten constantly bickering and in a moment The Master will come in and tell them to stop, someone will try to get the last word in, chaos ensues, the thread gets locked.

*Gets popcorn*

And usual Lefty finds his need to become the "temp mod" overwhelming, claiming "bickering" with what is essentially disagreeing opinion.

God help you if your this easily upset.

Good question, and one you could probably answer.,

what about the "reputable" site you linked to earlier? (linking to the wrong rifle)
    http://www.hkpro.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=15:the-sl8&catid=13:the-sporting-rifles&Itemid=5
    On topic, No, the link does not link to the wrong rifle. It links to the SL 8, our topic of discussion yes? Unless you're confused... because i know thats what we're discussing.

The HK pro link you provide also does not say that it doesnt accept them, it says the civilian variants, do not, accept, high cappacity magazines. Only.
    thermo wrote: »
    lots of funny stuff said on this thread,,,,,,,,,,

CA are good ha ha ha
    and "bullpup g36's",,,,,,,,,, a g36 is not a bullpup,,,,,,

a good read keep it up folks!
    Its good you found the 'Post reply' button. I had almost begin to think you only had the thank feature.
    CA, have made good rifles, this is not in question.
    You had a bad experience, sorry, **** happens.

And we know theres no real bullpup, a guy made one, why dont you read posts properly and follow links people provide and you'd see that?

This topic is going off the rails rather rapidly, however, i think theres serious merit in the discussion.

I'd like to suggest we try to keep things on topic, and avoid kicking off for no reason.

Lefty... thats to you matey... Masada and I can have a perfectly amicable debate, as we are doing, discussing facts. Not personal feelings. So let us get on with the business of the forum without people jumping in screaming that we're fighting (Oh no! Think of the children!)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

As usual the thread is brought down by Masada and Firekitten constantly bickering and in a moment The Master will come in and tell them to stop, someone will try to get the last word in, chaos ensues, the thread gets locked.

*Gets popcorn*

Please do not "back seat" mod

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

This topic is going off the rails rather rapidly, however, i think theres serious merit in the discussion.

I'd like to suggest we try to keep things on topic, and avoid kicking off for no reason.
    So let us get on with the business of the forum without people jumping in screaming that we're fighting (Oh no! Think of the children!)

Please do not "back seat" mod

Thermo: The 'bullpup G36' link I posted was merely because I found it an interesting prospect. CLEARLY there aint any REAL bullpup G36... But in airsoft it has been done already and I reckon it would be an epic contender on the CQB front - short but mantaining long enough barrel... ANd its just downright awesome :)

Back on topic for me... I have seen on airsoftforums several G36c -> SL-8 conversions while searching recently. I linked a couple. They are WAY back closer to the beginning of the thread. What do y'all think of them? Practical/worthwhile or a waste of time and money? I am thinking it would be a fun investment but thats just me.

The kit, is by all reports, rather nasty in quality actually. You're safer with the two aeg offerings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

Someone, for 10 points, tell me why the SL9 in my link has the long scope rail? The article itself says no purpose... if someone can tell me I will feel less crap about this day already.

pure guess, but maybe accomodate an NV occular in front of the scope?

can't think of any other possible reason.

extremetaz wrote: »
    pure guess, but maybe accomodate an NV occular in front of the scope?

can't think of any other possible reason.

MM, that would magnify the nightvision distortion... fun times....

No, the reason itself, is quite simple. When a gun is fired, the barrel heats up quite rapidly. This can create a mirage like haze infront of the scope that distorts the picture for the shooter. Addons are available for sniper rifles that act in a similar manner. they provide a 'shelf' almost, that blocks and diverts the rising heat from the scopes line of sight. Thus keeping things clear and funky :) This is essentially a built in version... Never let it be said that H&K are stupid...

Hmmm looks like I will be saving up big time to get a SL-8 in order to use it as a base for the project.

And jaysus them Germans are far cleverer than I ever thought (and I fugured they were geniuses), coming up with function integration like that!

Naturally, My 'SL-8c' (SL-8 compact) will be getting all the upgraded whatnots I can put in her - hopup, cylinder/piston/air nozzle and barrel at the very least...