Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monday Nights: The Step Inn, Stepaside

• 11-01-2010 3:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭

Hi Everyone

I am running a game every Monday night in The Step Inn, Stepaside.

The game is a 30euro buy in (plus 5 reg) and two rebuys at 20euro each. Were currently getting about 25runners each week.

There is free food provided at the break and we are in a private function room, with a full waitress service during the night.

The starting stack is 5000, and each of the rebuys is also for 5000 chips. A player who has not taken one or both of his rebuys at the break may take them as add-on's at the break.

A New League Begins Tonight, and will run for 10 weeks. Only your top 7 scores from 10 weeks count for the league so even if you miss a week or two you can still get into the mix. Players receive points for buying in and for making the top ten. The points are broken down as follows:
    Buy In: 2
    First Rebuy: 1
    Second Rebuy: 2

First Place: 15
    Second Place:12
    Third Place: 10
    Forth Place: 8
    Fifth Place: 6
    Sixth Place: 5
    Seventh Place: 4
    Eight Place: 3
    Ninth Place: 2
    Tenth Place: 1

So for example a player buy's in, takes one rebuy and finishes 8th will receive 6points (2 for buy in, 1 for first rebuy, 3 for eight place)

Also anybody who is in their seat before 8pm will receive a bonus league point.

Here is the charter:
    1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.): Donkey Poker Tour
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.): Commercial
    3. Date and Location of event: Mondays, The Step Inn, Stepaside
    4. Registration and Start time of event: Reg 7, Start 8
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc): None
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.): Tickets on the Day, Current Maximum is 50
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.): No Limit Hold'em Rebuy.
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc. Buy In: €35, Rebuys: €20
    9. Cost of registration: €5
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund: 100% of 30's and 20's
    10a. Is any money from the prize fund held back for future tournaments, if so, how much: Yes, between €50 and €100 will be held back for the league final
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool: No
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels: 2 rebuys, before the first break (6 levels)
    13. Starting Chips: 5000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts:5000
    15. Blind levels
    25-50
    50-100
    75-150
    100-200
    150-300
    200-400
    Break End of Rebuys
    300-600
    400-800
    500-1000
    800-1500
    1000-2000
    1500-3000
    2000-4000
    3000-6000
    5000-10000
    16. Blind timeframes: 15min
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc): Cash only
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill: Self Dealt
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules: Yes
    20. Is there a tournament director: Yes
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say: Tournament Director
    22. Are there any cash games offered, if so, please outline the rake for each limit offered: 1-1 Cash Game, €4 per player per half hour.

I Hope to see you guys there

Regards
    Ian McDonald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Nice one Ian. I played in this before xmas and it was a v good game with a nice bunch of lads/ladies. Hope to see you there next Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 bphil85

This is the only game i know that people get knocked out and can buy a dead stack,rebuy and top it up and go on and start knocking people out that have been doing well throughout the tournament.its a crap shoot,better off just going down to the bookies and putting your money on a random horse and you'd be less likely to hit a donkey!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

bphil85 wrote: »
    This is the only game i know that people get knocked out and can buy a dead stack,rebuy and top it up and go on and start knocking people out that have been doing well throughout the tournament.its a crap shoot,better off just going down to the bookies and putting your money on a random horse and you'd be less likely to hit a donkey!!

I'm sorry you feel that way but that rule has been in place since I started the game there, this is the first time I have had a complaint about it, and I will take it on board and if I have more complaints about it I may stop allowing people to buy a dead stack.

I'm sorry you did not enjoy the game, I always try and please my customers because without you I cannot run the games. I hope you have not been completely put off playing the game again.

Regards
    Ian McDonald

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

bphil85 wrote: »
    This is the only game i know that people get knocked out and can buy a dead stack,rebuy and top it up and go on and start knocking people out that have been doing well throughout the tournament.

:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 bphil85

It's grand it's just that i feel that when your going to play a tournament,you go to get through the field and that when someone gets knocked out that your getting that bit closer to the final table and the money,I played last monday and was getting closer to the final table when i got called my all-in by a player who had been knocked out and allowed to buy a dead stack and top it up straight away and I wasn't the only player knocked out by this player.Don't get me wrong I think its a good crowd,the play is a bit mad but i've won it before and cashed a good few times but I think the Stepaside game has turned into a crapshoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭corigi

Looking forward to tonight should be a good game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Saw a poster stating;

€40 buy in
    €1000 guaranteed
    Dealer dealt

All of which contradicts the OP, has the format changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭100gSoma

Got a flyer abiut this 3 weeks ago. Would be ibterested, but buying a dead stack and topping up would seriously put me off. Sounds like crap shoot territory. Any one played recently?

Guys

The format has changed:
    Buy In : €40 (inc €10 reg)
    2 x Rebuys @€;20 each.
    No more buying dead stacks.
    €1000 guaranteed.
    Dealer Dealt.
    Free Food @ the Break.
    Start 8pm.
    Normally about 16-20players.

When do rebuys end? at the level 6 break?

100gSoma wrote: »
    When do rebuys end? at the level 6 break?

Rebuys end at the Break after level 6. If you haven't used one or both of your rebuys by the break you can take one or both as an add on. Same chips as if it was a rebuy.

Ok. So if I'm chip leader at the break and haven't used any buy ins I can.get a 10000 chip top up for 40euro? Sorry for 'dumb' questions. Not played pub tournament before. Cheers

100gSoma wrote: »
    Ok. So if I'm chip leader at the break and haven't used any buy ins I can.get a 10000 chip top up for 40euro? Sorry for 'dumb' questions. Not played pub tournament before. Cheers

No such thing as dumb questions.

Yes if you haven't used your top up's before the break you can take a double top up for 40euro for 10k.

Thanks DPT. Might see u later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Penguin231

Hi Ian
    can you give us a realistic idea of how many / how few runners only pay the €40 ie neither top-up nor rebuy?
    Cheers

Penguin231 wrote: »
    Hi Ian
    can you give us a realistic idea of how many / how few runners only pay the €40 ie neither top-up nor rebuy?
    Cheers

To be honest it depends week to week but it would be relatively rare for someone to take neither a rebuy nor a top up. I would say that 75% plus of the field take both rebuys/top up's every week. But I have no hard data to back that up that's just simply from memory. Last week for instance there were 29rebuys/top up's with 18 players which works out as 1.611 rebuys per player. That's not to say that a person has never won the tournament without taking a rebuy or top up. From memory I can remember it happening twice that two different guys paid the buy in (35euro as it was then) and took no rebuys or top up's and won the tournament.

Also one other thing that I forgot to mention last week. As of about 1month or 6weeks ago we made a slight change to the structure. We doubled the starting chips and doubled each blind level so effectively its the same structure just 10k starting and 10k rebuys with 50-100 starting blinds. The guys prefer this as they feel it gives more play.

Last week we had 18runners with a total prize pool of 1120, paid out as follows:
    1st 520
    2nd 300
    3rd 200
    4th 100

The way we generally pay out the prizepool is 1place per table plus 1. So if there are 1 table we pay 2 prizes, 2 tables is 3 prizes etc.

Hope to see you all there tonight.

Regards
    Ian

Played last week for the first time and finished 2nd. Used 1 top up at break. Didn't need to, but figured it would give me a better position among the chip leaders.
    Not sure I'll make it tonight, but will be back. Good dealers, and very well run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Never been to this game wonder is it on tonight. Anyone know?

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    Never been to this game wonder is it on tonight. Anyone know?

Yes game is on as normal tonight. 8pm start.

Hope to see you there.
    Regards
    Ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

I'll be there, wouldnt mind if the snooker was watchable too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭keano007

Thinking about playing this one tonight. R ye expecting many? How many there last week?

keano007 wrote: »
    Thinking about playing this one tonight. R ye expecting many? How many there last week?

12 played last week, with an overlay of 200euro to reach the 1,000 guarantee.

I expect a few more this week as a lot of my regulars were way last week.

Regards
    Ian