Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cronin to stay at Connacht for another season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Damn, was hoping he was going to come to us.

Still, good news for Connacht.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Risteard wrote: »
    Damn, was hoping he was going to come to us.

Still, good news for Connacht.

Doubt he was going to come back tbh, Flannery has a few years left, Fogarty and Varley are there too. Munster have good depth there.

As soon as Flannery retires, he'll come back.

A one year extension keeps his future options wide open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

:D Flippin' delighted! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Doubt he was going to come back tbh, Flannery has a few years left, Fogarty and Varley are there too. Munster have good depth there.

As soon as Flannery retires, he'll come back.

A one year extension keeps his future options wide open.

Yeah but Flannery's getting injured quite a bit recently.

I am surprised he stayed at Connacht, I'd say if he had gone to Leinster he'd probably be a starter next year.

Who knows, depending on how well this new coach goes, he might even stay there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I would of thought Leinster would off had him in there sights. Would of been a brilliant signing for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Stev_o wrote: »
    I would of thought Leinster would off had him in there sights. Would of been a brilliant signing for them.

Come to think of it, that is a surprise.

John Fogarty will be 33 next October and Jackman 34 in May.

I suppose they've already signed Richardt Strauss, they were hardly going to sign another hooker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Risteard wrote: »
    Yeah but Flannery's getting injured quite a bit recently.

I am surprised he stayed at Connacht, I'd say if he had gone to Leinster he'd probably be a starter next year.

Who knows, depending on how well this new coach goes, he might even stay there.

From what I know, he doesn't want to go to Leinster. It would probably be better for his career but he really wants to play for Munster. I can understand why he (or say Keatley, vice versa) would feel that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Cuchulain

From what I know, he doesn't want to go to Leinster. It would probably be better for his career but he really wants to play for Munster. I can understand why he (or say Keatley, vice versa) would feel that way.

Why because they have a better chance of breaking into the first team with Munster?

Cuchulain wrote: »
    Why because they have a better chance of breaking into the first team with Munster?

Cronin would be first choice in Leinster in a matter of months, possibly even weeks. I doubt he'd get ahead of Fla in Munster, but if he got a run while Fla was injured, Fla could find it hard to get his place back.

Similarly, I was saying I could understand why Keatley (for example, or Carr) would turn down Munster in the hope of returning to Leinster, it's natural to want to play for the team you supported and played underage rugby for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Jackman will certainly retire at the end of this season, so the question is now if Varley or the younger Fogarty brother might come to Leinster.

The amount of young hookers available at the moment in Irish rugby really boggles the mind .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

The amount of young hookers available at the moment in Irish rugby really boggles the mind .

And Cronin is the cream of the crop. Very surprised at this. Leinster need a Hooker and Fla is getting injured alot down South. Delighted for Connacht rugby hopefully they can get Keats & Carr to stay for a third year. I don't think Connacht fans would mind their departure after 3 years but another year in Galway would do wonders for them.

It's also nice to know that Connacht will have at least one player in the Irish 22 over the next two seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

But the devaluation in sterling has lead to a drop in UK rugby fans coming over to enjoy them.

This recession is depressing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

News that Rory Best may well be back playing after the 6 Nations.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

They all seem to be from Munster though!

Podge_irl wrote: »
    They all seem to be from Munster though!

Fogarty x2
    Varley
    Croinn
    Kyraciaiu

Then Ulster add.
    Best
    Brady

Do Leinster actually have anyone in their academy who they are looking to develop into starting Hooker in the near future.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Do Leinster actually have anyone in their academy who they are looking to develop into starting Hooker in the near future.

Jason Harris-Wright? Never seen him play so no idea if he's any good. Not quite the same output though.

Fogarty x2
    Varley
    Croinn
    Kyraciaiu

Then Ulster add.
    Best
    Brady

Tbf, Kericou was only at Munster for a few months.

Leinster have a young guy called Harris-Wright, iirc, not sure if he'll make it.

Munster produce a bizarre amount of scrumhalves too. (Teirney, O'Meara, Stringer, O'Leary, Reddan all capped in the last 10 years or so and then Frank Murphy has A caps). On the otherhand, Leinster have a lot more back three players coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Jason Harris-Wright? Never seen him play so no idea if he's any good. Not quite the same output though.

Has nt made the grade yet but is still young, especially for front row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

I'm happy with this news. Cronin will get game time at Connacht week in week out. Good for his development tho i would prefer if he was playing Heineken cup rugby too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

A lot was made of Tom Sexton the last few seasons playing underage rugby but i've heard no more about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The lad is obviously lacking in ambition.

Did anyone make him an offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Onecoolcookie

Great news for Connacht but would have liked to see him move on for a greater challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Aidric wrote: »

He moved to Connacht to get games because like most others he doesn't want to sit on a bench for a few years. He has been rewarded by getting capped for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Harris Wright was hooker on the U20 grand slam team, originally a no.8 was moved to hooker due to his lack of height, he's played a bit for Clontarf this season and is very very good, mobile, fast and very strong. i'd say he's no more than 5'6 or 5'7.

Suprised Cronin didnt move back to Munster, thought Flannery's body was starting to give up on him and Munster could do with an infusion of youth in their pack. Still this time next season we'll surely see him signing for Munster.

That's a ridiculous post. He moved to Connacht because he wanted to get gametime, and challenge for a place in the Irish squad. That demonstrates ambition, rather than being content to warm the bench at Munster for a few years. Tbh, the lads content to stay at Leinster or Munster, not getting any decent gametime, are the ones who could be accused of a lack of ambition. Cronin is realistic enough to see that if he goes back to Munster he will still be behind Fla for the no. 2 jersey, so he is staying on to get another year of regular first team rugby. If you think thats a lack of ambition, you're in cloud cuckoo land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 943 ✭✭✭OldJay

bamboozle wrote: »
    Harris Wright was hooker on the U20 grand slam team, originally a no.8 was moved to hooker due to his lack of height, he's played a bit for Clontarf this season and is very very good, mobile, fast and very strong. i'd say he's no more than 5'6 or 5'7
    5"9 is his height.

Zzippy wrote: »
    That's a ridiculous post. He moved to Connacht because he wanted to get gametime, and challenge for a place in the Irish squad. That demonstrates ambition, rather than being content to warm the bench at Munster for a few years. Tbh, the lads content to stay at Leinster or Munster, not getting any decent gametime, are the ones who could be accused of a lack of ambition. Cronin is realistic enough to see that if he goes back to Munster he will still be behind Fla for the no. 2 jersey, so he is staying on to get another year of regular first team rugby. If you think thats a lack of ambition, you're in cloud cuckoo land.
    Granted, his initial move was to get playing time and develop his game, more realistic than ambitious I'd say. However, what's ambitious about him now staying with a team like Connacht? If he had ambition he would be coming back to Munster and challenging Fla strongly for the jersey. With Fla's injury record Cronin could well secure a starting berth regularly whilst also developing his game at the highest level.

There's a big if in that scenario though. If Flannery gets injured again. If he doesn't then Cronin won't get a look in except for ML games when Fla is rested - when Fla needs gametime he will get the spot. Fla would get the HEC starts so how would Cronin play at the higher level (I think you'll find Test rugby is slightly higher than HEC). At Connacht he's the first choice for ML games and ECC games, so he gets plenty of gametime and experience.
    He's a young player, and still has lots to learn. He's going to learn a lot more about playing hooker by actually playing hooker against good teams than by watching Flannery do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Munster just seem to produce more 'footballing' rugby players for outhalf.
    Is it to do with the tradition of gaelic football in the province?

There's a big if in that scenario though. If Flannery gets injured again. If he doesn't then Cronin won't get a look in except for ML games when Fla is rested - when Fla needs gametime he will get the spot. Fla would get the HEC starts so how would Cronin play at the higher level (I think you'll find Test rugby is slightly higher than HEC). At Connacht he's the first choice for ML games and ECC games, so he gets plenty of gametime and experience.
    He's a young player, and still has lots to learn. He's going to learn a lot more about playing hooker by actually playing hooker against good teams than by watching Flannery do it.
    Thanks for flagging that,never would have known! You are also making the assumption that Cronin wouldn't force his selection and that McGahan will always side with Fla. There are no guarantees and McGahan isn't afraid of big selection calls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

Munster just seem to produce more 'footballing' rugby players for outhalf.
    Is it to do with the tradition of gaelic football in the province?

Whats a 'footballing' outhalf?

Leinster are quite strong across the board development wise other than hooker but they still have two very young, promising hookers coming through.

1.Cian Healy
    2.Harris-Wright/Tom Sexton
    3.Jack McGrath
    4.Devin Toner
    5.Mark Flanagan
    6.Kevin McLaughlin/Dominic Ryan
    7.Sean O'Brien
    8.Rhys Ruddock
    9.Paul O'Donaghue
    10.Sexton/Ian McKinley
    11.Luke Fitzgerald/Dave Kearney
    12.McFadden/Eoin O'Malley/Sheridan
    13.Macken
    14.Keating
    15.Kearney/Conway/ Ian Madigan

All these players are either in the academy or recently graduated from academy in the last 3 years. Very impressive considering that list doesn't include those who left Leinster such as Keating, Felix Jones, Fionn Carr, Hagan etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Leinster are quite strong across the board development wise other than hooker but they still have two very young, promising hookers coming through.

1.Cian Healy
    2.Harris-Wright/Tom Sexton
    3.Jack McGrath
    4.Devin Toner
    5.Mark Flanagan
    6.Kevin McLaughlin/Dominic Ryan
    7.Sean O'Brien
    8.Rhys Ruddock
    9.Paul O'Donaghue
    10.Sexton/Ian McKinley
    11.Luke Fitzgerald/Dave Kearney
    12.McFadden/Eoin O'Malley/Sheridan
    13.Macken
    14.Keating
    15.Kearney/Conway/ Ian Madigan

All these players are either in the academy or recently graduated from academy in the last 3 years. Very impressive considering that list doesn't include those who left Leinster such as Keating, Felix Jones, Fionn Carr, Hagan etc.

there is serious strenght in that team, i can only imagine how strong Leinster will be in 3 seasons time

bamboozle wrote: »
    there is serious strenght in that team, i can only imagine how strong Leinster will be in 3 seasons time

unless they are all poached to Melbourne rebels of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

unless they are all poached to Melbourne rebels of course

By Rod McQueen? That well known Leinster fan? :P

Thanks for flagging that,never would have known! You are also making the assumption that Cronin wouldn't force his selection and that McGahan will always side with Fla. There are no guarantees and McGahan isn't afraid of big selection calls.

Your sarcasm knows no bounds. I was merely pointing out the flaw in your argument, namely, that Munster don't play at the highest level.
    I believe McGahan would always side with Fla for the big games, due to his experience and the fact he is still a better player than Cronin. So Cronin would be a bit part squad member, only used for ML games when Fla is rested. Another year of playing regular first team rugby will do Cronin a lot more good, and he would be much better equipped to challenge Fla for a place then than if he spent next season warming the bench in Thomond.
    As for big selection calls, only one I can think of is dropping De Villiers for the Perpignan game.

I'm quite sure Cronin will be heading back to Munster at the end of next season, a situation both parties will be happy with. In fact, I would not be one bit surprised if the decision to stay at Connacht was discussed with and approved by McGahan and the Munster Branch in the interests of both his development and Munster's long-term squad plans. The fact that Cronin came from nowhere to being back-up no. 2 for Ireland in less than 2 seasons is testament to his drive and ambition. So being derogatory about his ambition, or lack of, is ill informed and frankly insulting to him.

The fact that Cronin came from nowhere to being back-up no. 2 for Ireland in less than 2 seasons is testament to his drive and ambition

Or the fact that both Flannery and Best were injured.

I jest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,107 ✭✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Fair play to Cronin_J, it seems like only yesterday that he was playing with stillorgan :D. he's come a long way is a short space of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Or the fact that both Flannery and Best were injured.

I jest.

I believe you picked him up wrong, if both are injured Cronin is no.1 and i believe if Cronin gets a run in at no.2 for whatever reasons over the next 6 months, Rory Best will have a hard time getting his jersey back.

Cronin has the potential to be better than both Best and Flannery, but because he's from the wrong school a lot of fans are going to have to learn this the hard way.

I guarantee if he was with anyone other than Connacht there would be screams of outrage that he's not getting more International gametime.