Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Vans Drifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Fixed your youtube tags - you just put in the bit after v=
    [noparse][/noparse]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 roadwars

Thats pretty impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

That's not drifting, that's just pulling the handbrake while going round a bend in a FWD ...but yeah ..."drifting" sounds better :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

peasant wrote: »
    That's not drifting, that's just pulling the handbrake while going round a bend in a FWD ...but yeah ..."drifting" sounds better :D

I was going to say the same thing. Strangely enough, this is becoming fairly big in Japan (or so I've heard), obviously bored of drifiting. I can't remember the name of it though.

Edit: In fairness, it's fairly good camera work compared to what you would normally see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Thats why they called it "Irish Drifting"

Anyway real drifters use the handbrake too !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Howya Limerick Man .. did ye come back for the snow ?

biggus wrote: »
    Thats why they called it "Irish Drifting"

Anyway real drifters use the handbrake too !

They do, but it's not locked up for the duration of the drift :L

Edit:
    biggus wrote: »
    Howya Limerick Man .. did ye come back for the snow ?

I said I'd come back and say hello :P

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

peasant wrote: »

you couldn't properly drift around those narrow corners really anyway, they seemed to have a good idea what they were doing with the weight shift before the bend to get the back moving.

Seemed pretty safe too with the guy with camera able to see it was safe around the bends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Cameraman is one brave mofo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Once you've had a bit of practice (and didn't break anything in the first few failed attempts) kicking the tail out in a corner with a FWD isn't THAT difficult.

Filming it well and compiling it into a good to watch video though ...hats off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

pretty cool but take note of the reg's and if you ever see them on donedeal or adverts.ie, stay well away

In fairness, they didn't crash, and handbraking on a surface that has little or no grip won't do a whole lot of damage... I'm sure people have done alot worse things that you'll never see in the "one lady owner" cars ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Only thing impressive is the editing, even at that it aint all that hot.

The auld handbrake in the snow trick is brill if ya hate doing 3-point turns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

copacetic wrote: »
    you couldn't properly drift around those narrow corners really anyway, they seemed to have a good idea what they were doing with the weight shift before the bend to get the back moving.

Seemed pretty safe too with the guy with camera able to see it was safe around the bends.

Was thinking the same. They even did the responsible thing by including a few mistakes at the end, just to show it is not as easy as it looks in the first few minutes. Also they're taking the same few corners over and over again, so they had a lot of practice. And on top, the verges all seem soft, so lightly hitting them at those low speeds would unlikely do any damage to the vans. Well done lads :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Looks like dum alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Drifting...more like dragging.....:p

Good control though...;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

I never ever expected to see a transporter use the pendulum effect to get the back end around a bend, fair play to the lads for that alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

Harmless fun tbh, and minimal wear on the vehicles in these conditions (unless they ditch them!).

Better than goons in car parks tearing up tarmac and pissing people off, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

Lets hope FBD aint seen this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Seanieke

stevenmu wrote: »
    I never ever expected to see a transporter use the pendulum effect to get the back end around a bend, fair play to the lads for that alone.

I do it in my Primastar at the moment, makes parking a doddle!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭user3

thats not drifting :D:D:D:D:D:D thats drifting!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

cool, fair play to lads doing all this in FWD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

My van is RWD and Im sideways all day but not by chioce, bet they wouldnt be able to do in a RWD van..