Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I need, you need, we all need ID

• 08-01-2010 10:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭

My friend (21) was in Lidl there today buying some booze. She had her 17 year old sister with her. She was buying and paying for the drink, and had her ID, and she was told that her younger sister also needed ID, even though she wasn't buying...

This is the second time this has happened. This also happened with my OH and her sister in another Lidl shop.

FFS, what next? your own children will need to have ID too before they sell to you? Will the person behind you in the queue need ID before you can buy? The scummers in the car park?
    When did the law change to say that you and everyone in a 2 mile radius of you need ID?

/rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

That's an absolute joke IMO. Would they ask a 10 year old for ID if you had them with you? I'd ask to see a manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Generally, bringing 17 year olds with you to buy drink doesn't end in you getting your drink. Can you think of any reasons why???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Are they hot? Pics, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

c'mon ..... they could have easily thought that the over 18 person is buying for the under 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

PCPhoto wrote: »
    c'mon ..... they could have easily thought that the over 18 person is buying for the under 18.
    If I was buying drink for someone underage I'd have the good sense not to bring them into the shop with me,and I think that most people would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭idunnoutellme

even if the over 18 person is buying for the under 18 year old, their job is to ask for id of the person buying not off the whole group with them. what happens to that drink after it leaves the shop is not their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

happened me :/
    met some friends in Lidl, they were in getting drink and was just talking to them near the till and then i was asked for ID before they got served! Im 17 so...:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭ya-ba-da-ba-doo

It's really annoying!

Is there a law against this or are they not allowed refuse?

even if the over 18 person is buying for the under 18 year old, their job is to ask for id of the person buying not off the whole group with them. what happens to that drink after it leaves the shop is not their business.

You're not making any sense. If I have 4 16 year olds standing around me at a checkout, do you honestly think the cashier is not going to assume that I am buying drink for them? Is the cold snap affecting common sense or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Similar thing happened to me a while back, friend went through with a pack of crisps, three of us were behind him with some beer, she asked us for ID(we were all 21) and told us our friend (who was half way out the door) had to aswell or she couldn't sell it to us, he was the only one of us who DIDNT have ID. Ended up going to spar, they never ask and we never tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

DarkJager wrote: »
    You're not making any sense. If I have 4 16 year olds standing around me at a checkout, do you honestly think the cashier is not going to assume that I am buying drink for them? Is the cold snap affecting common sense or what?
    They can assume all they want. Do you really think the person who is of legal age, and with ID saying "Ok." Walking out, leaving the friends outside, walking back in and getting the drink makes any difference? Or are you expecting because they were in with people under age they shouldn't be served that day? And if so, is it really effecting anything on any other day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Think this thing usually happens in the UK.

I was in Plymouth recently on a field trip with college, we were in tesco and some of the lads were buying drink, they asked us all i.d even when some people werent buying drink.

Pushtrak wrote: »
    They can assume all they want. Do you really think the person who is of legal age, and with ID saying "Ok." Walking out, leaving the friends outside, walking back in and getting the drink makes any difference? Or are you expecting because they were in with people under age they shouldn't be served that day? And if so, is it really effecting anything on any other day?

Yes, because people working in supermarkets are that stupid, they don't realise you've lost your gang of tweenyboppers and are simply buying drink for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sucks but if they have reason to believe you'll pass it on to underage kids and still sell it to you they can be held responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭idunnoutellme

YOU'RE not making any sense

Well past your bed time no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Well past your bed time no doubt.
    idunnoisitutellme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

. what happens to that drink after it leaves the shop is not their business.

actually it is; if they have a suspicion that you're purchasing alcohol for minors, then the can refuse to serve and can be held liable if they're negligent in selling it

Jev/N wrote: »
    actually it is; if they have a suspicion that you're purchasing alcohol for minors, then the can refuse to serve and can be held liable if they're negligent in selling it

Children don't understand this, so there's no point explaining it to them!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Thats nothing. Tesco won't take any form of ID other than a passport or Garda ID. Tryin to buy drink and only had my drivers licence on me. Had to get my friend (who looks about 12) to go in and buy it for me. Only place Ive ever been refused ith my licence. Its fvckin retarded like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭animan

Aodan83 wrote: »
    Thats nothing. Tesco won't take any form of ID other than a passport or Garda ID. Tryin to buy drink and only had my drivers licence on me. Had to get my friend (who looks about 12) to go in and buy it for me. Only place Ive ever been refused ith my licence. Its fvckin retarded like.

My 17 year old mate can go in in his pyjamas with his 32 year old brothers license and get served

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ContyHooks

This happened 2 black lads in the queue in front of me in LIDL, it's a bit of a stupid policy because you can just walk out and leave your friend outside, then come back in and go to a different checkout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

N-A-N-N-Y S-T-A-T-E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Yeah I can understand where they're coming from. I think they're liable if they sell drink to someone who is supplying it to minors. It makes it a total pain in the hole though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

This thread is proof that alcohol makes some people very aggressive. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Were you wearing a hoodie, or worse pyjamas while out shopping ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭dazco

yeah happened in lidl to me and a friend of mine, he was however buying drink for me and I was only seventeen so I suppose it does work in some situations........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

animan wrote: »
    My 17 year old mate can go in in his pyjamas with his 32 year old brothers license and get served
    Stupid Tesco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

This thread is proof that alcohol makes some people very aggressive. :p

NO IT F*****G ISNT

Aodan83 wrote: »
    Stupid Tesco.

Agreed. People who wear pyjamas to the shops should be slapped hard...repeatedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

In fairness though, the person who is buying the dtuff is the one who needs to provide ID, not anyone else.

Seriously, whenever anyone here has ever bought drink for anyone underage, were you stupid enough to bring them in to the shop with you? I don't think so.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

My friends has been asked in past when I was buying drink. Generally if you argue with them they just give in. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

Comin from a person who's worked in a shop sellin alcohol, we're always advised to take extra caution if we think someone is buyin drink for someone underage

The person and the manager of the store can be fined on average abt €3/4k

Some idiots had the 14 year old girl they were buyin for come in and point out what she wanted then leave the store

When I refused them and mentioned the girl, they said they asked her for advice on good wine! eejits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Happened to my but my friend was 19 and didn't look young or anything :mad: Except this was in Tesco, not Lidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

In fairness though, the person who is buying the dtuff is the one who needs to provide ID, not anyone else.

Seriously, whenever anyone here has ever bought drink for anyone underage, were you stupid enough to bring them in to the shop with you? I don't think so.......
    Ah but if they knew that and knew that you knew that and you knew that they knew that you knew that they knew that...

"Well, I'm obviously not buying for my teenage brother and his mates, shopkeep... see, I've actually brought them all with me...entirely above board because <guffaws> I'm not stupid enough to bring them with me if the drink is for them after all, now give me my 48 cans of Dutch Gold and a bottle of 20 year old Talisker."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

Sorry about the bit of a bump.New laws just came in,in the last few weeks. Im working in Dunnes and anyone that works on tills had to sign a form to acknowledge that we understand that under the new law driving licences are no longer acceptable as a form of ID. So only garda and passport are now acceptable.

On camskill, both 19 inch and 20 inch comes in at €280 and €305 respectively :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

On camskill, both 19 inch and 20 inch comes in at €280 and €305 respectively :D
    Wrong thread, think you need the motors forum :P

cian1500ww wrote: »
    Wrong thread, think you need the motors forum :P
    Brainfart has occured, please ignore :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Sorry about the bit of a bump.New laws just came in,in the last few weeks. Im working in Dunnes and anyone that works on tills had to sign a form to acknowledge that we understand that under the new law driving licences are no longer acceptable as a form of ID. So only garda and passport are now acceptable.

My sister got refused cigarettes from our local Esso garage for not having a Garda Age Card (this was about 3-4 weeks ago). I,sitting in the car,had to buy them for her. She's 26,I'm 22.

Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

My friend (21) was in Lidl there today buying some booze. She had her 17 year old sister with her. She was buying and paying for the drink, and had her ID, and she was told that her younger sister also needed ID, even though she wasn't buying...

This is the second time this has happened. This also happened with my OH and her sister in another Lidl shop.

Don't think it had anything to do with the girls,Its just a German thing(Its called the vot ist ur name? syndrome).
    Its genetic, all germans have an irresitible urge to ask people for ID.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭CheersDarlin'

I'm 19, was in Lidl and not planning on buying any drink just having a gander at prices and what was on offer.
    Security man came over and asked me for ID. I said I wasn't buying, just looking. He said if I didn't have ID I'd have to leave, couldn't believe it - I literally couldn't even stand beside the alcohol without ID?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Think this thing usually happens in the UK.

I was in Plymouth recently on a field trip with college, we were in tesco and some of the lads were buying drink, they asked us all i.d even when some people werent buying drink.
    It's ridiculous over here.

I was in the Co-op with my dad maybe a year, 2 years ago. I'd have been 14 or 15. Dad was buying some beers.

"I can't serve you if he's here?" she says, pointing to me
    "Why not? It's for me, not him :confused:" Dad says
    "Store policy" says the miserable cretin with a disdaining shrug
    "Well.. what should I do then?" Dad asks, still taken aback
    "Get him to stand over there"

The woman made me go and stand by customer services while she served my dad!

How bloody ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

I'm 19, was in Lidl and not planning on buying any drink just having a gander at prices and what was on offer.
    Security man came over and asked me for ID. I said I wasn't buying, just looking. He said if I didn't have ID I'd have to leave, couldn't believe it - I literally couldn't even stand beside the alcohol without ID?!

Jaysis, it just keeps getting better and better. They now think its illegal to look at drink now?

Brummytom - No googling Guinness and looking at the pictures....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Brummytom - No googling Guinness and looking at the pictures....

If you say so. Back to googling vaginas it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

ive got served weekly since i was 16 in shops and 15 in a pub.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was born with stubble, virtually. Always had to buy drink for the other teens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I remember sauntering into pubs in 1993 aged 15, not even that dressed up or wearing that much make-up. I think my cockiness was the key... :pac:

/little brat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Dudess wrote: »
    I remember sauntering into pubs in 1993 aged 15, not even that dressed up or wearing that much make-up. I think my cockiness was the key... :pac:

/little brat

Women are more likely to get in :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I know, but I was a kid! :eek:

It's just bizarre I wasn't even stopped for ID - must have looked over 18...