Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Councils should ask for volunteers?

• 08-01-2010 6:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭

Watching the news now and there's loads of council workers out spreading grit and salt around the country, and thousands of burst pipes. Wouldn't it be a great idea if they allowed volunteers to help out in the big freeze? With alot of the country sitting at home either unemployed, or their workplace is inaccessible, and also with schools closed I'm sure there'd be plenty who'd be willing to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

People on the dole. The army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

Yeah public liability is turning out to be a real problem though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Feck it......where are all the Scouts now eh? Earn that snow shovel badge!!

I say call out the Scouts, the Salvation Army, The Babysitters Club, especially the local councellers and TD's...who have the "best interests of the voting populous at heart".

Get out there and grab a shovel you wasters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

People shouldn't need to be asked to help out. I cooked dinner today and brought it to 3 OAPs that live in my parent's village.

Everyone should do their bit, even if it means just having a cup of tea with elderly neighbors who live alone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

I'd volunteer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭moretothegirl

im sure the vast amount of unemployed would want to volunteer over the next week but did you know that technically they arent actually allowed officially sign up to any volunteer programme ! ridiculous, i know they need to be "actively seeking employment" but they cant be doing that every hour of every day so why not allow them put their spare time into good use to volunteer with different areas that need it?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

banquo wrote: »
    I'd volunteer.
    As would I, and well done to all who are already doing their bit. I'd be more than happy to help out shovelling grit onto roads during this extended school Christmas holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

it sounds like a good idea but im sure some a**hole who never done a days honest work would "injure" himself within the first hour and sue...then some donkey of a judge who is out of touch with the real world grand him a load of compo and the floodgates would open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

bonzos wrote: »
    it sounds like a good idea but im sure some a**hole who never done a days honest work would "injure" himself within the first hour and sue...then some donkey of a judge who is out of touch with the real world grand him a load of compo and the floodgates would open

Thats the thing, there would be a load of muppets that would be just waiting in the wings to 'slip' and all of a sudden, injury claim. RTE practically advertised how easy it is to 'slip' and claim with an injury lawyer ffs. Talk about putting ideas in people's heads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Everyone should do their bit, even if it means just having a cup of tea with elderly neighbors who live alone

Run down to Tescos and pick me up 12 cans of Bulmers.

....and then get off my lawn !! Damn hippes !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Thats the thing, there would be a load of muppets that would be just waiting in the wings to 'slip' and all of a sudden, injury claim. RTE practically advertised how easy it is to 'slip' and claim with an injury lawyer ffs. Talk about putting ideas in people's heads

Great idea,Fingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I fail to see how the 'RA could help us out with the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

People shouldn't need to be asked to help out. I cooked dinner today and brought it to 3 OAPs that live in my parent's village.

Where there's a will, there's a way.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What are you waiting for?

Those roads won't grit themselves when you're here on boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Volunteer for the council?? My capability to stand around with my mouth open breast feeding a shovel should make me a shoe in...

I'll volunteer when I see a few lard-arsed expenses fiddling councillors volunteering first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Use prisoners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ah the council

For every two man out working hard you'll find another two men standing there just watching them.
    Supervisors maybe? :confused:

Volunteer for the council?? My capability to stand around with my mouth open breast feeding a shovel should make me a shoe in...
    Yeah...that's the point. Interesting use of "breast feeding" btw, I suppose you just had to get it into the post somehow. :rolleyes:
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    I'll volunteer when I see a few lard-arsed expenses fiddling councillors volunteering first.
    More of this hate-the-government attitude. Think like that and stay bitter and you'll never do anything.
    mikemac wrote: »
    Ah the council

For every two man out working hard you'll find another two men standing there just watching them.
    Supervisors maybe? :confused:
    It's not exactly the pinnacle of effeciency, is it? But that's another topic for another day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

jumpguy wrote: »
    Yeah...that's the point. Interesting use of "breast feeding" btw, I suppose you just had to get it into the post somehow. :rolleyes:
    Apologies for attempting humour in this forum. I shall take note and follow your witty repostes with a tightened spinchter and bated breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

The farmers are the best people equiped to sort out the mess.
    And Im sure they would if asked even if they wanted pay it would
    be worth the goverment paying them.

They have tractors a to spread grit in the rural areas
    and it would suit them to have back road roads gritted.

I think what the problem is there is no bloody grit for volunteers to
    spread.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    I think what the problem is there is no bloody grit for volunteers to
    spread.
    But there's always plenty of gravel to spread.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

We are always being told we should look after and keep an eye on our old neighbours . Why the heck should we? My 93 year old neighbour is such a lazy bitch...................she hasn't taken in her milk or newspapers for two weeks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

get the unemployed out to spread the grit, and make them earn their €204 a week for a change

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

ya id have no problem taking out my tractor and spreader and spread grit once the council supplied it. id even go into town and push cars that were getting stuck just to see which cars are better than others- im fasicnated with cars. im in cork though and things arent that bad down here yet....

jumpguy wrote: »
    More of this hate-the-government attitude. Think like that and stay bitter and you'll never do anything.

It keeps the fires of revolution burning, and as an added bonus, the heat melts the ice on my drive.:P

fryup wrote: »
    get the unemployed out to spread the grit, and make them earn their €204 a week for a change

...and the lone parents. They can carry the grit in their prams and have their kids make grit-castles like they're on the beach in summer.