Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wear a burqa - face a €750 fine

• 08-01-2010 1:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Draft legislation in France

Article

Exerpt:
    Muslim women who wear the full Islamic veil in France will face a possible 750-euro (1,000-dollar) fine, according to a draft bill unveiled Thursday by the leader of the parliamentary majority.

A bit extreme, isn't it? Freedom of expression and all that?

That said, there is a woman living my housing estate in Lucan who wears a burqa while driving a car. A case for careless / dangerous driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Wear a burqa - face a €750 fine.

Oh I see what you did ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

unkel wrote: »
    Wear a burqa - face a €750 fine

Can't read my, can't read my
    No he can't read my burqa - face (she`s got to love nobody)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Freedom of expression and all that?

Im sorry, but what exactly are they expressing.
    Nowhere in the Qur'an does it state that a woman must wear one.

I wouldn't expect to be allowed to enter a shop with a balaclava on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Those crazy frogs and their mad ideas, what ever will they get up to next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Isn't it illegal to cover you face here 'cos of the whole IRA thing? If so, a similar law wouldn't be needed here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭sells

ah well the whole world is gettin too scared. I heard of a case in england where there were trying to ban people from wearing crosses in a school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

sells wrote: »
    I heard of a case in england where there were trying to ban people from wearing crosses in a school.

Well, in fairness it was a secondary school for vampires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

That takes care of only half the problem. They'll have to figure out how to fine the men as well. A beard tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭tudlytops

Well if I travel to most Islamic countries as a women I am required to wear an Islamic veil regardless of my believes, so why shouldn't they have to take it off when coming to our countries?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Anton.Mamyko

sells wrote: »
    ah well the whole world is gettin too scared. I heard of a case in england where there were trying to ban people from wearing crosses in a school.

Banning all religious symbols from schools would be a legit argument against the fine. Yer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Senna wrote: »

You work for The Sun or just read it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Zebra3 wrote: »
    You work for The Sun or just read it? :rolleyes:

I look at the pictures, does that count as reading?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭tudlytops

I look at the pictures, does that count as reading?

Well they do say a picture speaks 1000 words ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Good for them, who wants to go out looking like a post box anyway? At least France took some measure, whereas everyone is stepping on eggshells trying to appease Islam

This is actually real, try it

http://i.imgur.com/BL3Lo.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I'm all for tolerance and that ****e, but I don't like the idea of people being able to fully conceal themselves under such a large garment. You wouldn't feel safe walking beside someone wearing a balaclava would you?

I wouldn't mind the Burkas being banned anyway, I don't see it as anything other than backwards and forced upon women, if both men and women wore it at will my opinion would differ.

I bought a balaclava recently, it's the most non-threatening item of clothing ever. It's woollen knitted in different stripy colours with a giant pom-pom on top. I look like the gayest burglar ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Piste wrote: »
    I bought a balaclava recently, it's the most non-threatening item of clothing ever. It's woollen knitted in different stripy colours with a giant pom-pom on top. I look like the gayest burglar ever.

That so you stand out cycling in the middle of the road? ;)

Yes actually, I've gotten loads of stares while wearing it, it really does look ridiculous. I got it specifically for cycling as it keeps my whole face and neck warm, whereas a hat leaves my cheeks and nose all cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Some of the men are probably delighted at the thought of maybe having a hot wife. Im guessing they're all ugly though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Lol at the people outraged at the fact they cant wear a balaclava while out and about like it's their lifelong ambition!

"Oh to be free'd of the oppresor's chains so i can one day wear my balaclava in public..."

Yeah lads, it's the Muslims fault you can't wear a balaclava!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

1. The Burka is a traditional dress, not a religious one.
    2. Most Islamic women who wear a Burka do so by their own free will. It's not just the men who choose to follow tradition!
    3. Non believers are not required to wear a Burka when visiting Islamic countries. You are however expected to dress fairly conservatively. This applies to men and women.
    4. The proposed French law does seem to target people from specific ethnic backgrounds and is therefore immoral. It also fails to protect a womans right to choose to wear the Burka if she wants to.
    5. There are security concerns with people concealing their face etc, and any potential legislation should just focus on that rather than singling out specific types of clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Isn't it illegal to cover you face here 'cos of the whole IRA thing? If so, a similar law wouldn't be needed here.

nope. There's no prohibition on having your face covered anywhere public.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It's a bunch of balls and hypocrisy of the highest order. The thinking behind it appears to be "your husband shouldn't be allowed to force you to wear a burqa so we'll ban you from doing it as we know better"

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

A Google tax

Making shouting at your wife a criminal offence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

How is the French Ninja community taking this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The legislation is giving the Muslim women a chance to rights their husband will not allow them. Fair play! Boo for Burkas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Magnus wrote: »
    The legislation is giving the Muslim women a chance to rights their husband will not allow them. Fair play! Boo for Burkas!

down with burkas, up with miniskirts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Magnus wrote: »

Boo to Boo-urkas & Nae to Niqabs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

tudlytops wrote: »
    Well if I travel to most Islamic countries as a women I am required to wear an Islamic veil regardless of my believes, so why shouldn't they have to take it off when coming to our countries?

'If I get punched by a man in a track suit, I should punch every man in a track suit I see'

Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Boo-urqasss

Wayyyy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...your victims find their furniture tastefully rearranged and a quiche in the oven?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Exon

No it's not a bit extreme, it's Christian Europe!

Wear a burka face execution would be more like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

So the logic behind is that there Husbands make them wear the Burqa (with no allowances that some may very well wear it out of there own free will), so instead the government is going tell them what they can't wear instead. I fail to see much in a way of a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Nodin wrote: »
    'If I get punched by a man in a track suit, I should punch every man in a track suit I see'

Great stuff.

Not sure that's the point being made.

If you have to abide by the edicts of the religious country when there, then why not likewise abide by the laws of a secular country?

I'm undecided about the banning myself, but I assume that is the (not unreasonable) point that's been made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

1. The Burka is a traditional dress, not a religious one.
    2. Most Islamic women who wear a Burka do so by their own free will. It's not just the men who choose to follow tradition!
    3. Non believers are not required to wear a Burka when visiting Islamic countries. You are however expected to dress fairly conservatively. This applies to men and women.
    4. The proposed French law does seem to target people from specific ethnic backgrounds and is therefore immoral. It also fails to protect a womans right to choose to wear the Burka if she wants to.
    5. There are security concerns with people concealing their face etc, and any potential legislation should just focus on that rather than singling out specific types of clothing.

Did you read the article and the proposal? It specifically doesn't target an ethnic group. The right to cover your face is at odds with safety and as such isn't really a right that anybody has. Many religious teachings are not allowable in societies.

Female friends working in Islamic countries were told they had to wear the Burka when outside the offices. Tv presenters showed similar but maybe it isn't a legal requirement either way people don't have a choice in some countries. It certainly now has religious links whether traditional clothing or not.

Don't get why you would try to deny what is a reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Maybe it's the stealthy first step of a plan to remove Muslims from France all together.

If they can ban hoodies from shopping centers, they should have legislation in place to protect the owners of shopping centers also banning people with Burkas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Proper order tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

What I find scary about the Burkas is that you could be walking along side a girl in a Burka and she might be really hot, and you would never know. Infact, Burkas should probably be compulsory for fatties and ugly people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

SV wrote: »
    Proper order tbh

Sheeps wrote: »
    What I find scary about the Burkas is that you could be walking along side a girl in a Burka and she might be really hot about to blow herself up, and you would never know.

FYP ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

France has about 3.5 million muslims, this sounds like a revenue raising excerise.

mike65 wrote: »
    France has about 3.5 million muslims, this sounds like a revenue raising excerise.

~half women * At least 1 fine each = €1.3bn

Nice revenue source, we should try it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Oppressing people for their religious beliefs? Where do those French think they are? Saudi Arabia? Kuwait? Iran? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

tudlytops wrote: »

Because Islam is the true religion and us heathens that don't accept it are lower than dogs and should be put to the sword?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

fitz0 wrote: »
    Because Islam is the true religion and us heathens that don't accept it are lower than dogs and should be put to the sword?

Theres more than a sliver of truth to this i think.
    The French are right to be honest. Whatever about it being Christian Europe, its fast becoming secular Europe. When we go to their country / region, we are expected to adhere to their rules, so when they come to ours, the same principle should apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

That said, there is a woman living my housing estate in Lucan who wears a burqa while driving a car. A case for careless / dangerous driving?

I don't think removing the burqa will improve the careless/dangerous driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Draft legislation in France

Article

Exerpt:

A bit extreme, isn't it? Freedom of expression and all that?

Not extreme. They should adhere to the customs in their country of residence, like how you would be prosecuted in Oman for consuming alcohol, or Saudi for banging your mate's wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

We can't do this no more? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Kipperhell wrote: »
    Female friends working in Islamic countries were told they had to wear the Burka when outside the offices.

Unless they are living in very specific regions I doubt they were told to wear a burqa. They probably have to wear a hijab which is completely different.

Burqa. Hijab.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco