Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mrs. Robinson

• 07-01-2010 11:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone see Spotlight? Seeing as the original thread was closed.

Now, there are some facts to talk about. Anyone still feeling sympathy for Robinson, or did he come across as someone simply caught out, and trying to garner as much sympath as possible? He has to be gone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Who really cares?
    Seriously, who actually cares apart from the family?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Not sure if this is allowed to be posted, but here is a facebook appreciation page to the legend that is Kirk McCambley

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=415667265334#/group.php?v=wall&gid=415667265334

Lads keep the chat on topic and factual.

**I know the last thread was closed so if this is not allowed to be posted then sorry

EDIT: JUST SEEN THE OTHER THREAS 'MRS ROBINSON' please join this one with that one if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

easyeason3 wrote: »
    Who really cares?

Okay, so don't post if it doesn't concern you. I get a feeling that those who voted him in may well care that he hasn't been playing by the democratic rules expected of him.

Maybe you are someone who doesn't get interested by anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

What are these threads about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

That_Guy wrote: »
    We talk about facebook?

walshb wrote: »
    Okay, so don't post if it doesn't concern you. I get a feeling that those who voted him in may well care that he hasn't been playing by the democratic rules expected of him.

Maybe you are someone who doesn't get interested by anything?

I get interested by things that interest me.
    But you are right, I shouldn't have posted because it doesn't concern or interest me but I threw caution to the wind & said 'feck it' I'll post a reply.
    Apologies, continue on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

^ People living under a rock

That_Guy wrote: »

Iris robinson, wife of dup leader and northern ireland first minister peter robinson, and all round hater of anything unchristian such as homosexuality and adultery too I would imagine, was found to be having an affair with a 19 year old guy whom she also tried to lure rich friends into investing in his company, then tried to commit suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Mind you.....

If I was Mr Kirk I wouldn't be shouting about the fact I fcuked a granny....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Its hard to now what to say about the hole thing. The mods seem quite tight on this, I suspect another mcd situation aproaching

Who cares if he is the charlie Haughy of the north.The 2 of them are well matched. Irish and peter that is.

I missed the spotligh programme cos I had to take my dad to work. Hopefully it will be put on youtube later, I can't access my bbc iplayer from the south to view the replay :(

Stingy old wan

The 2 of them are well matched. Irish and peter that is.

There's nothing Irish about her.

rovert wrote: »
    ^ People living under a rock

No I don't live under a rock but I would think that it is a fairly private thing that shouldn't really be in the papers.
    Maybe I'm wrong in thinking like that but they were/ are under enough strain without being judged in a good or bad light?

No I don't live under a rock but I would think that it is a fairly private thing that shouldn't really be in the papers.
    Maybe I'm wrong in thinking like that but they were/ are under enough strain without being judged in a good or bad light?

You should read the papers as you clearly dont understand the story.

You are either illinformed or just a troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭VERYinterested

A self righteous politician (59) was raising money, £50k sterling, from two property developers so her lover (19) could open a restaurant built with council funds. She kept £5k back for herself. He was the only successful applicant in a tendering process. The relationship soured and she wanted the money paid back, but the cheques were to be paid to her and the Church her husband's sister runs. Her husband who happens to be first minister of Northern Ireland was aware of her indiscretions both financial and marital, ensured she paid the money back. Unfortunately for him, it is against the rules for public representatives not to declare such interests. Looks like he'll have to resign. She branded homosexuals as an abomination according to a verse from the Bible, the same piece also condemns infidelity.

easyeason3 thinks this a private matter :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

Peter Robinson went to his optician yesterday as his eye was watering since last March. His optician said, " I think I know what's wrong...there has been something stuck in your iris....

I'd imagine the homosexual community are loving this right now. seeing her having to try and squirm her way out of this situation. I do feel a little for the family, however she brought all the attention on herself by being self righteous and preaching what is right and what is wrong and now she must suffer the consequences.

There were already serious allegations over how much money they claimed in expenses over the past few years, by holding seats in westminister and stormount and also having members of their family working in their constituency offices and in stormount.

cloneslad wrote: »
    I'd imagine the homosexual community are loving this right now

IMAGINE if you were a drag queen in a gay club in Belfast or whatever the amount of material you have at your disposal.

You should read the papers as you clearly dont understand the story.

You are either illinformed or just a troll.

No, you are taking me up completely wrong.
    I'm not interested in the story of how this came about. I am interested in the woman in question claiming that she considered suicide due to her actions.
    I really hope it's not a publicity stunt looking for people to view her in a vunerable way. It's too much of a serious issue to be throwing around in order to gain a few sympathy votes.
    It doesn't take my interest because I feel it's something that should have been kept private.
    Simple as that.

No, you are taking me up completely wrong.
    I'm not interested in the story of how this came about. I am interested in the woman in question claiming that she considered suicide due to her actions.
    I really hope it's not a publicity stunt looking for people to view her in a vunerable way. It's too much of a serious issue to be throwing around in order to gain a few sympathy votes.
    It doesn't take my interest because I feel it's something that should have been kept private.
    Simple as that.

Nice spin, mate. Of course that is what you meant in post #2. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Imma let you's all finish, but the best alltime version of Mrs Robinson was ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭enry

if this was a 59 year old man going off with a 19 year old girl(just about an adult) we would all be giving out about the fact that he had taken advantage of her, throwing the publics money at her to knock her off her feet but because itS a woman we just see her as being a bit of a sad old b1t-h.

I feel very sorry for her husband, to be honest i even feel sorry for her. Think about her comments about gay people and her very unwise personal decisions, she is obviously neither a happy nor a right thinking person.

Nice spin, mate. Of course that is what you meant in post #2. :rolleyes:

Ah ffs.
    It's not a spin & it's a bit ****ed up of you to think so.

enry wrote: »
    if this was a 59 year old man going off with a 19 year old girl(just about an adult) we would all be giving out about the fact that he had taken advantage of her, throwing the publics money at her to knock her off her feet but because itS a woman we just see her as being a bit of a sad old b1t-h.

Way to bring up an issue no one is talking about. It is a boring talking point even if it was.

Ah ffs.
    It's not a spin & it's a bit ****ed up of you to think so.

Yeah as this explains your position perfectly:
    Who really cares?

enry wrote: »
    Think about her comments about gay people and her very unwise personal decisions, she is obviously neither a happy nor a right thinking person.

nah, she's just a christian!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I don't get why people make such a big deal about the homosexuality is abomination comment. Only bible bashers say abomination, according to the bible it is an abomination, so what's the issue?

What I don't get even more is that Robinson also said "there is no more vile an act, other than homosexuality and sodomy, than child abuse"

The second comment is far far far worse and its not in a biblical context, yet the papers always talk about the abomination line, which is true.

cloneslad wrote: »
    nah, she's just a christian!!

Im sure she'll go to the Starlight Express church on Sunday and all will be forgiven.

Yeah as this explains your position perfectly:

Exactly!
    If she did top herself were you going to mourn her? Did you know her to mourn her if something happened?
    Who do you think it would effect if she did do something?
    A random guy on the street? A random poster on an internet site?

It is a private issue that should never have made the papers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭dreamer_ire

Good summation... only thing you missed is that for an as yet unknown reason she initially decided that the property developer who died shortly after "gifting/loaning" her the 25k wasn't going to be paid back. This was the money that was to go to the church. According to Spotlight she then changed her mind and wanted it paid back into the man's estate.

A lot more to come methinks

Exactly!
    If she did top herself were you going to mourn her? Did you know her to mourn her if something happened?
    Who do you think it would effect if she did do something?
    A random guy on the street? A random poster on an internet site?

It is a private issue that should never have made the papers.

This is a great troll job or you are back peddling, good stuff. Either way your point makes little sense. Her suicide attempt isnt even within the top 5 elements of the story now. Read up on the story and come back to the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

I don't get why people make such a big deal about the homosexuality is abomination comment. Only bible bashers say abomination, according to the bible it is an abomination, so what's the issue?

What I don't get even more is that Robinson also said "there is no more vile an act, other than homosexuality and sodomy, than child abuse"

The second comment is far far far worse and its not in a biblical context, yet the papers always talk about the abomination line, which is true.
    Because she is a hypocrite and a bigot and it makes her public humiliation hilarious. Here's another one from her speaking to Hillary Clinton
    "No woman would have put up with what she tolerated from her husband when he was president."

This is a great troll job or you are back peddling, good stuff. Either way your point makes little sense. Her suicide isnt even within the top 5 elements of the story now.

Ok, Rovert, you win... I am trolling, oh wait, no I'm back peddling...Damn it I can't decide!
    Personally I feel it's making a bit of a feck of people who have commited suicide/ seriously thought about it. In my view I would think they are grasping for the publics sympathy & I have no time for anyone willing to play the suicide card in order to gain some form of ****ed up form of public affection.

End of story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭ColaBeDamned

Ok, Rovert, you win... I am trolling, oh wait, no I'm back peddling...Damn it I can't decide!
    Personally I feel it's making a bit of a feck of people who have commited suicide/ seriously thought about it. In my view I would think they are grasping for the publics sympathy & I have no time for anyone willing to play the suicide card in order to gain some form of ****ed up form of public affection.

End of story.

Then why did you say this in your second post:
    Who really cares?

Just doesnt make a whole load sense even in how youve explained thing. Anyway I think both of us are taking away from what should be a light hearted thread about a major public scandal.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

End of story.

But that makes the story even more salacious. This is a great story and very interesting. You asked who really cares? How could a person with half an interest in current affairs not find it interesting? Little gem of a story.

I also think she's weirdly hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Jigga wrote: »
    Because she is a hypocrite and a bigot and it makes her public humiliation hilarious. Here's another one from her speaking to Hillary Clinton
    "No woman would have put up with what she tolerated from her husband when he was president."

Is adultery an "abomination" ?

Anyway I don't mean to sound like I'm defending her, I'm just saying the child abuse comment is far more offensive than the abomination one. Not only to gays but also victims of child abuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭imeddyhobbs

These two are starting to sound like The Hamiltons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

humberklog wrote: »
    But that makes the story even more salacious. This is a great story and very interesting. You asked who would find it interesting? How could a person with half an interest in current affairs not find it interesting? Little gem of a story.

I also think she's weirdly hot.
    Kirk?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Kirk?

No, Peter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

bizarre story - Peter once led an invasion into the Republic in the 80s - he has mellowed with age -- he looked shell shocked and emotionally wrecked yesterday , for one who used to be so self righteous - life certainly changes , just like our weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

humberklog wrote: »
    No, Peter.
    In fairness it was 50/50. No one else can possibly find that hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jigga wrote: »

Got to love when the self righteous Christian fundamentalists get their come uppance. Same type who are will drop the "commie, pinko, liberal, pc" card at every opportunity.

Its these same "types" they are now looking for sympathy from.

Anyway, I do sympathise, but Good God, a 57/58 year old woman and a 19 yr old man?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Then why did you say this in your second post:

Just doesnt make a whole load sense even in how youve explained thing. Anyway I think both of us are taking away from what should be a light hearted thread about a major public scandal.

I said that because if she had done the deed then who do you think would feel the pain of loss the most?
    Me? You? A random colleague?

I'm not a betting person but my money would be on the family.

Yeah it's a public scandal, but that part of it should have been kept private. The only reason there was so much of a splash made was to paint them in a vunerable light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

thebaz wrote: »
    bizarre story - Peter once led an invasion into the Republic in the 80s - he has mellowed with age -- he looked shell shocked and emotionally wrecked yesterday , for one who used to be so self righteous - life certainly changes , just like our weather

he looked like a broken man on RTE news yesterday. I think it should be a private matter. She suffers from depression. So she obviously has problems, nothing she says (about gays etc) should be taken seriously in my opinion.

I feel sorry for the family if this suicide attempt thing is true, no family should have to deal with that, it's a devastating thing.

I said that because if she had done the deed then who do you think would feel the pain of loss the most?
    Me? You? A random colleague?

I'm not a betting person but my money would be on the family.

Yeah it's a public scandal, but that part of it should have been kept private. The only reason there was so much of a splash made was to paint them in a vunerable light.

I guess I didnt read your mind on your earlier posts, sorry about that. :(

Please stop.