Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any golf will do at this stage!

• 07-01-2010 9:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

With the deep freeze showing no sign of abating, me and the lads have decided to give golf vision in Swords a go this Saturday. I`m curious to know how it compares to the real thing? I`ve heard it`s fairly good for the long part of the game but the putting and chipping leave a bit to be desired. Any insight would be most appreciated. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭maddogcollins

Iv tried it down in Ennis. It def is good for the long part of the game, but chipping and putting are not in the slightest bit accurate. It does however make up a little bit for not getting out on the real thing.

I was lucky enought to get out the one the my club opened and my playing partner managed to avoid a water hazzard by having the ball bounce twice on ice and back up onto fairway. Has its perks.ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

heading to golfvision aswell on sat,its great craic.putting isnt great but its defo good for the long game.At this stage anyway to get swinging the club is welcome

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Some wild swings there!!!

That reminds me, I found a few of those yellow balls, mmmmmmm!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 golfmadfootyfan

I've been to golfvision on numerous occasions and I find it great. It is extremely accurate and you can choose to play in what ever weather conditions you choose. They have over 40 golf courses you can choose including Pebble Beach and St Andrews. The putting takes getting use to for your first time but you can get advice from the screen on the putt, if its up hill, down or left to right or right to left. very enjoyable to use. and it is never called off due to weather conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Twenty10

For anyone on the Southside there is also www.metrogolf.ie in Sportsco, Ringsend.

Have tried it a few times and really enjoyed it. €30 for a bay for an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I'd say these places are doing great business just now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭thoscon

With the deep freeze showing no sign of abating, me and the lads have decided to give golf vision in Swords a go this Saturday. I`m curious to know how it compares to the real thing? I`ve heard it`s fairly good for the long part of the game but the putting and chipping leave a bit to be desired. Any insight would be most appreciated. Cheers.

did you go there today ? my two mates who went for the first time really enjoyed even though one of them had a 20 on one hole in pebble beach:eek:
    we went to subway down the road after 9 holes and there was a lad outside giving out saying it was crap and no better than playing the xbox his mate replied at least you get to swing the club,ur man said if you wanted to swing a club play the ****ing wii:rolleyes: